Gymboree Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 57 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very sociable job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  London, ON11 July 2016
great place to gain social skills, my co workers were very friendly, informative and helpful. it didnt take long to learn tasks as training was very hands on and coworkers didnt give up on training until tasks were learned. management was great, i could seek help when needed without feeling awkward. the best part of the job was definatly meeting all the different types of people and interacting with them. i had only one hard thing that happened to me and it was when a deaf woman had come into the store but we resolved our issues by interacting by writing what we needed from eachother on a note pad and the sale went smoothly.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun to work
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 July 2016
Decent place to work for Retail. The employees and managers are nice. They gave you the chance to level up. I've been promoted to be a Team Leader.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Benefits are limited
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Babies are cute
English Teacher (Former Employee) –  长春市22 June 2016
The parents are a bit eager for 1 and two year olds to speak English and that is not going to happen quite so soon because the kids haven't even started learning or speaking Chinese yet.

Work and play. Getting the children used to an environment of sharing, caring, running, jumping and all in an English environment where all the teachers speak English and the music at the school is almost always English.

The work space is always clean!

Love children and love Teaching!
Pros
short classes
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 April 2016
Enjoyed working at Gymboree. The clothes are cute and good quality. The only disadvantage was the backroom (small and crowded). The managers and the other employees were very nice and helped me out a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with,
Leader on Duty (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 March 2016
Enjoyed the atmosphere or working there. Management and co workers were lovely and accommodating. Looking to further my life in something more meaningful .
Pros
great co-workers, manager was accomodating
Cons
retail
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers where extremely friendly and some became friends
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON8 March 2016
Typical day:
Operational duties such as morning paperwork, opening registers, checking voice mail, replenishing the store, customer service, training team, markdowns and keeping store neat and clean
What I learned:
- to give excellent customer service to everyone. Getting to know your customers made them want to come back
Management:
We had a District Manger, Store Manger, Full time Assistant manager, Part-time Assistant manager, Key holder. Everyone got along well
Co-Workers:
- Everyone was friendly and hard workers. I am still in contact with most.
Hardest part of job:
- not getting compensated for the job I did. Not having the chance to advance in my area
Best part:
- Again the clothing we sold was amazing and the customers where amazing
Pros
having fun with customers, getting to know the prodcut
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing until new DM came on
Manager Assistant (Current Employee) –  Alberta17 February 2016
Gymboree has always been amazing, to work and shop at. New management has made the District go down hill in the last couple months.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at gymboree
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 February 2016
Typical day at work is helping out customers with what they're looking for. Making sure store and cash wrap is cleaned. Merchandise is in the appropriate place and the correct signage is placed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Store Manager/Training Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 January 2016
training of new staff and managers
visual training,
multi managing 15 stores was so full-filling
great team to work with and watch the staff grow
given the opportunity to multi-manage 15 stores across western Canada
Pros
working with young adults
Cons
opportunity to grow with the company
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive learning environment
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON14 October 2015
At this job, I have learned how to be a leader in my work environment. I was hired as the youngest key-holder and member of the management team. By the end of my employment there, I had more influence in the store then I had, which shows my developed skills as a leader.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I got great customer feed back and had a fun time and the ladies working their were very patient
Stock person (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 September 2015
Awsome work place to be at with supportive group of females and i learned a few things about the work inviorment as well as stocking shevles with the new shipment of product and i loved working their cause it was such a humbling experience for me.
Pros
free coffee and lunches when the girls would offer to go get lunch for everyone
Cons
heavy boxes and would take out the trash constantly
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked well here very friendly
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS14 July 2015
met some very happy outgoing people here , felt right at home and we all worked well together to get the job done and keep our store clean
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  London, ON12 May 2015
This company is great, they stand by their products 100%. Usually a typical day is cleaning around the store and helping customers.
Cons
A lot of on call shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Oriented
Part-time sales associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary30 April 2015
A typical day at work for me would be selling clothes and working the cashier at the same time. The most enjoyable part of the job would meeting our cute little customers.
Pros
Management
Cons
Kid's store
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga30 April 2015
Investing my time working with a great team, to enhance my skills.
We need to apply all the company's standards, as a great customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly
Sales Associate & Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 March 2015
Gets busy and always multitasking
Taking care of customers first
Offering the best customer service
Replenishing the floor
Dealing with loss prevention
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work for
Part-time sales associate (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON29 October 2014
I became like family with my manager and co-workers. my days were relatively short but I learned a lot from my co--workers
Pros
great team
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, B.C.19 October 2014
The staff employed were wonderful, the management was horrible. Unrealistic expectations and no support. I learned nothing other than what environment I don't want to be employed under. For a company that prides itself on its ability to be fun and helpful the atmosphere was anything but.
Pros
Decent wages, flexible schedule
Cons
No support, unrealistic sales goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of my favourite places I have worked at
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON17 September 2014
- LOVE WORKING WITH KIDS
- customers and employees were nice
- management was very understanding
Pros
working with children
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not impressed with the way the company runs
Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC15 August 2014
I have never worked for a retail establishment that has been this poorly run and with a District Mgr that doesn't seem to care about the store. I like the people that I work with they brighten my day. The hardest part of job is the poor communication.
Pros
decent wage, good staff
Cons
poor hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gymboree Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 976 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

79%
244 ratings
Add your rating

Gymboree Corporation Reviews by Location