Gymboree Corporation Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 29 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with,
Leader on Duty (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 16, 2016
Enjoyed the atmosphere or working there. Management and co workers were lovely and accommodating. Looking to further my life in something more meaningful .
Pros
great co-workers, manager was accomodating
Cons
retail
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers where extremely friendly and some became friends
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ONMarch 8, 2016
Typical day:
Operational duties such as morning paperwork, opening registers, checking voice mail, replenishing the store, customer service, training team, markdowns and keeping store neat and clean
What I learned:
- to give excellent customer service to everyone. Getting to know your customers made them want to come back
Management:
We had a District Manger, Store Manger, Full time Assistant manager, Part-time Assistant manager, Key holder. Everyone got along well
Co-Workers:
- Everyone was friendly and hard workers. I am still in contact with most.
Hardest part of job:
- not getting compensated for the job I did. Not having the chance to advance in my area
Best part:
- Again the clothing we sold was amazing and the customers where amazing
Pros
having fun with customers, getting to know the prodcut
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing until new DM came on
Manager Assistant (Current Employee) –  AlbertaFebruary 17, 2016
Gymboree has always been amazing, to work and shop at. New management has made the District go down hill in the last couple months.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at gymboree
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONFebruary 17, 2016
Typical day at work is helping out customers with what they're looking for. Making sure store and cash wrap is cleaned. Merchandise is in the appropriate place and the correct signage is placed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Store Manager/Training Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 29, 2016
training of new staff and managers
visual training,
multi managing 15 stores was so full-filling
great team to work with and watch the staff grow
given the opportunity to multi-manage 15 stores across western Canada
Pros
working with young adults
Cons
opportunity to grow with the company
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive learning environment
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ONOctober 14, 2015
At this job, I have learned how to be a leader in my work environment. I was hired as the youngest key-holder and member of the management team. By the end of my employment there, I had more influence in the store then I had, which shows my developed skills as a leader.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I got great customer feed back and had a fun time and the ladies working their were very patient
Stock person (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 2, 2015
Awsome work place to be at with supportive group of females and i learned a few things about the work inviorment as well as stocking shevles with the new shipment of product and i loved working their cause it was such a humbling experience for me.
Pros
free coffee and lunches when the girls would offer to go get lunch for everyone
Cons
heavy boxes and would take out the trash constantly
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked well here very friendly
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSJuly 14, 2015
met some very happy outgoing people here , felt right at home and we all worked well together to get the job done and keep our store clean
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  London, ONMay 12, 2015
This company is great, they stand by their products 100%. Usually a typical day is cleaning around the store and helping customers.
Cons
A lot of on call shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Oriented
Part-time sales associate (Former Employee) –  CalgaryApril 30, 2015
A typical day at work for me would be selling clothes and working the cashier at the same time. The most enjoyable part of the job would meeting our cute little customers.
Pros
Management
Cons
Kid's store
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  MississaugaApril 30, 2015
Investing my time working with a great team, to enhance my skills.
We need to apply all the company's standards, as a great customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly
Sales Associate & Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 18, 2015
Gets busy and always multitasking
Taking care of customers first
Offering the best customer service
Replenishing the floor
Dealing with loss prevention
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work for
Part-time sales associate (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ONOctober 29, 2014
I became like family with my manager and co-workers. my days were relatively short but I learned a lot from my co--workers
Pros
great team
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, B.C.October 19, 2014
The staff employed were wonderful, the management was horrible. Unrealistic expectations and no support. I learned nothing other than what environment I don't want to be employed under. For a company that prides itself on its ability to be fun and helpful the atmosphere was anything but.
Pros
decent wages, flexible schedule
Cons
no support, unrealistic sales goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of my favourite places I have worked at
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ONSeptember 17, 2014
- LOVE WORKING WITH KIDS
- customers and employees were nice
- management was very understanding
Pros
working with children
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not impressed with the way the company runs
Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BCAugust 15, 2014
I have never worked for a retail establishment that has been this poorly run and with a District Mgr that doesn't seem to care about the store. I like the people that I work with they brighten my day. The hardest part of job is the poor communication.
Pros
decent wage, good staff
Cons
poor hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 9, 2014
Very rude management team, bullied all of their staff to quit. Would not recommend this company at all !
Cons
no hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly
Part-Time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONApril 29, 2014
When I joined the Gymboree team in Kitchener, the store had just opened. I helped get the store together prior to the opening day. A typical day at work would be talking to customers and fulfilling their needs. Somedays it could be slow but we remained productive by folding the clothing and making sure everything was neat. We greeted customers as soon as they walked in the door and gave them time to walk around before approaching them.

The management was excellent. The manager really got a long with everyone and talked to you as a friend. The co-worker dynamic was awesome. We call talked and got along.

The hardest part about the job was that because it was a new store, not a whole lot of people knew we were there so for a while, the customer flow was little.

The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to interact with the little kids that came in with their parents.
Pros
fun environment, easy going
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, productive environment working with the public in retail sales
SALES ASSOCIATE (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, OntarioApril 25, 2014
I have been employed at Gymboree Kitchener for just under two years. As a sales associate, working at Gymboree has given me the opportunity to expand my knowledge and skills working with the public and working as a team in a professional environment. My responsibilities include handling inventory, stocking shelves, pricing merchandise and processing transactions in a time-efficient manner. Gymboree provides a very enjoyable, enthusiastic environment, where I have made many long-lasting personal relationships with customers and the members of my team. .
Pros
flexible hours, friendly co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Legal aid assistant
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONApril 15, 2014
-work on people soft database
-file papers
-send letters
-work in an office environment
Pros
great environment
Cons
no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 636 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture