Find companies:
GTECH
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
89 reviews

GTECH Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deception and lies
Team Lead (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 13, 2014
Cons: overtime was expected and not paid for.
I moved my entire family from Calgary to Toronto for a Team Lead job with GTECH. Upon arriving, I was told it was a startup project that I was getting into, and that it hadn't actually started yet. Sat in training for 4 months (Actual training was about 3 weeks, we just sat around doing nothing most of the time) Was then let go because I was "unsuitable" – more... , no reason or explanation given. Had to sell my house in caglary, left all my family and friends and spent over 10,000 on relocation (No relocation expenses offered)

Inept management, has no idea how to run a call center, shady HR - Will tell you whatever they can , and then drop you on your head. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work!!!
QA Analyst II (Former Employee), Moncton, NBMarch 18, 2014
Pros: on site canteen and great environments
Cons: nothing so far....
I have worked as a QA Analyst II in SPIELO - A GTECH Company 2011-2012. Very nice people and work environments and lots of technical things to learn. People are very helpful and gives lots of rooms to learn new people. This is best company to work in Canada.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traditional
BA (Former Employee), Warszawa, MZJuly 5, 2012
Little room for grow
Trainings fairly well except when in crisis
Traveling abroad
Traditional people/culture
Not for artists or open-minded prsons
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GTECH
Multimedia Developer (Current Employee), West Greenwich, RIJuly 24, 2014
Pros: work from home available
Excellent company to work for, been with GTECH for 6 years. I enjoy the work that I do and the customers that I work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture interesting industry
Business Evaluation Director (Former Employee), London, ENGJuly 22, 2014
Great Culture interesting industry, alot of changes occurring which meant that it was a busy but rewarding environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid well paying job
Slot Technician (Former Employee), Lincoln, RIJuly 18, 2014
Pros: great pay, security, and compensation
Cons: difficult to advance from slot technician
Typical day consists of: handling guest disputes, reviewing large payouts with management, replacing faulty hardware, confirming software settings, checking printer paper in thousands of slot machines, cleaning frequently used machine parts, logging all work. I gained a vast amount of hands on knowledge while working as a slot technician with GTECH. – more... A minimal amount of computer knowledge is required, however, once employed you can choose to expand your knowledge or get by with what you know. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like Clock Work
Control Room Operator (Current Employee), Cranston, RIJune 19, 2014
Pros: really nice people who don't mind giving advice and giving insight into there past experiences, there is always room to learn something new
Cons: some days it may be boring and quiet
A typical day at work includes: Arriving at 6:00 AM and begin the Daily Checklist. The Checklist is a tool that provides time sensitive tasks that need to be completed everyday. This tasks include
• Completed Intelligen Daily checklist
o Perform System Balancing (Verify system main frames are synchronized)
o GX Vision (Monitors if Products are Live, – more... Reprocessing or Ready)
• Verify that the status of each product matches the status on the checklist.
o Daily Automated/Manual Task Checks
o Check Backups
▪ That server is being backed up to tape
o NFS (Network File System) - Needs to be mounted
• Check Database space (not over 80%)
o File system Space
▪ Table Space
• How many days the each server has been running since reboot.
• Check if Apache (web server application) is running
o How many days Apache has been running without reboot
• Sweeps and Tickets

o Receive a calls from Casino Cash rooms notifiting us that they have exported files known as Sweeps and Tickets
▪ Sweep – Financial Documentation of revenue collected by a Vendor of VLT’s (Video Lottery Terminals)
▪ Tickets - Amount of credits withdrawn from cash out ticket.
o Connect to RIVSFTP (Secure File Transfer Protocol)
▪ RIVSFTP – Acts like a medium between the Casino and The Control Room
▪ Enter into the Video GUI that pulls and processes information from FSTP.
o Lastly call and notify Casino that their files have been processed and wait for the next batch
o This is done around four or more times a day per Casino

• Backing up Server Information onto Tapes
o Enter Portal (RIVUTL1) Remote Access to Server
▪ And launch RIVESTE 1-4 (Mainframe Servers) RIVDGDB 1, 3, 4 (Stores specific financial data) RIVABI 1-2 (Stores larger amounts of specific financial data)
▪ Enter in command line
• Send commands to server to begin the backup process
▪ When completed take a screen shot and document end times in the VideoLog.xls
• Storing Backup Tapes
o Once backup has finished
▪ Go into server room and collect tapes and cases

• Security Exceptions
o Intelligen GUI (Video system Graphic User Interface)
▪ Generate Security Exception Report
• A report of Issues or significant events that the VLT has detected
▪ Document the Security Exceptions in the VideoLog.xls
▪ Email technicians the Security Exceptions of Twin River and or Newport Grand
• As well as a call to their office to notify them that the security exceptions have been sent

• Verify Keno and Bingo are Running
o Go on RILOT.com
▪ Search the winning numbers
• Confirm that keno is populating every 4 or minutes
• Confirm that Bingo is populating every 8 minutes
• Generator Check
o Go outside to Generator
▪ Open left door make sure that the values listed on sheet are equal or close to those on the generator it self
▪ Open right door check fuel gauge on floor and do a visual inspection for fuel leaks
• Throughout the day continue to monitor
o RI Cranston Ops Inbox for New Requests
o Check and verify Video & Online ROBO’s 1&2 (Error Monitoring Tools) for error messages every hour

And after all theses basic thins we have to take calls from both Venues mainly pertaining to VLT disabled, enables, snapshots and or Disable for sweep. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technology Manager at GTECH was a fun position
Technology Manager (Former Employee), Austin, TXJune 11, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: couldn't play lottery while employed by gtech.
Performed Incident, Problem and Change Management consulting for GTECH, the lottery company for the state of Texas. It was a fun place to work and the people were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment
Customer Service (Current Employee), GeorgiaMay 21, 2014
Great place to work, great enviroment, have been here for years, great benefits and 3% 401k Match. No raises and low pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro management
Services Technician II (Former Employee), LakelandMay 16, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: pay, service area way to big, drive times to calls, micro management
I worked for GTECH for a 10 years the Co-workers where good the Job not so much as a Tech you have to drive a lot when a store Lottery goes down you have them up in one hour and so many minutes Which sometimes takes over hour just to drive to the store. I know they give you a company van but The miles you drive in a week are nuts I went from 860 miles – more... a week before they made my zone bigger to over 1300 miles a week. It was just nuts and no raises on top of that and when you did get one it was only 2% We ended up getting new Management and they could care less there was a big disconnect with Management yeah it was great you did not see your boss everyday but when you work 6 days a weeks for 4 months and get burn out your boss did not care. I have to say I learn a lot from GTECH but after so many years you just get burn out on the long drives not enough equipment to go around and dealing with retailers just not worth the headache. I would have to say my other co-workers where burn out as well just afraid to speak up at the meetings I can tell you my health is a lot better not working for GTECH anymore. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Workplace with Good Benefits and Decent Pay
Lottery Sales Rep/ Operational Specialist (Current Employee), New York,NY Jamesburg, NJMay 14, 2014
Pros: good healtcare coverage, expenses covered
Cons: micromanaging in the wrong places, unorganized & non-professional, glass ceilings
Great Company to create longevity if you are stationary and only plan to do minimal advancement. Some Glass Ceilings but overall a good company. Great Benefits. Salary decent/even combined with Vehicle, Gas and Toll covered, depending on position. I'd recommend for someone looking for simple stable job/career in account management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding management and co-workers. Fantastic learning environment.
Repair Logistics Technician II (Current Employee), Madison, WIMay 6, 2014
Daily responsibilities are managed by employee to provide the output necessary for the company. Learned satellite installation, terminal repair, equipment tracking abilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOC
Network Technician-Full time (Current Employee), Austin, TXMay 1, 2014
Pros: days off
Cons: under used, no advancement, and no raises
I monitor satellite, MPLS, and cellular networks to ensure connectivity. When issues arise, I am the first line for troubleshooting. Once I have rreached my limits due to permissions, I then engage the engineer support group whom I stay engaged with until resolution
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work and team
Software Engineer (Current Employee), Chennai, TNApril 26, 2014
It is very cool to work with GTECH.I have learnt many testing techniques in this. JIRA tool has been introduced while working with it and it is very useful for bug tracking. Enjoyed each and everyday. Overall team is so helping which makes us things understand better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked a lot of hours and on call 365/7 without any benfits in return.
Sr. Database Administrator (Former Employee), Austin, TxApril 18, 2014
Pros: benifits and co-workers
Cons: poor upper managment and a lot of cost cutting.
Worked a lot of after hours during the time I was there including nights, weekends, and vacation, There were several lay offs and many good people have been forced out. Manager had been reported to HR several times without any real improvement. Company is very silo based with little kingdoms. Upper management only cares about results and not about the – more... people. At times it felt like a dictatorship. There is no real career path. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
troulbe shootoing with lottery retailers
Customer Service representative (Current Employee), Providence, RIApril 9, 2014
Pros: healthcare, hours
Cons: management, repetive
Work from 10:15 from 6:45, off day sundays an tuesday.
Trouble shoot lottery terminal with lotteyr retailers
management really not understandable
co-works are great, make my days go by faster
the job is really not hard, its just repetive
the most enjoyable part of the job is hearing how happy i can make a retailer over the phone by trouble shooting – more... with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Bad decision making
Field Service Technician (Former Employee), Tampa, FLMarch 5, 2014
Pros: holidays
Cons: compensation bad..
Technical side of job good. Management is bad and quick to judge . If you are yes man you have it easy. Would not Recommend if your looking for long term employment..Turn around high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many cooks in the kitchen
anonymous (Former Employee), Warwick, RIMarch 3, 2014
Pros: great work perks
Cons: too many managers, not enough worker bees.
GTECH has the right idea by having interesting perks, foos ball tables, nice outings, gyms, cafeterias, etc. What I found to be the downfall was too many cooks in the kitchen. The department that I was part of had a Manager, Supervisor and a Senior staff member. It was a five person department. Each of the "managers" of the department would issue us – more... tasks not knowing that the other already gave us tasks that were a priority over anything else. It was a lot of unnecessary stress and drama. The Supervisor of the department would frequently chastise other members of the department in front of all of us. I gave my rating a two because I think that GTECH really tries. If it weren't for these perks, I would have given it no stars. Very disappointing experience for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low stress environment
n/a (Current Employee), n/aFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: low stress environment
Cons: no real advancement opportunities
Great place to work. Low stress environment. Flexible hours and great health insurance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not that great!
Bilingual Team Leader (Former Employee), Providence, RIJanuary 27, 2014
typical day at work help customers with lottery issues and their terminal as well as technicians.
Reviewed complaints and helped associates with questions.

1 2 3 4 5

About GTECH

GTECH will make you happy when your number comes up -- lottery number, that is. One of the world's leading operators of lottery – Read more