Find companies:
Greyhound Lines, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
61 reviews

Greyhound Lines, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going environment
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABAugust 13, 2013
Easy going environment with very flexible hours. Really desirable shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sharing travel experiences
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 3, 2013
As a Customer Service Representative, I had to work 12 hour shifts everyday, yet time was flying by.

Working at Ottawa bus terminal allowed me to meet new people and socialized with the regulars.

I had a great relationship with the Bus drivers, the security guard, the tickets agents and the passengers.

I was always on the move, there is always something – more... to do, someone to talk to and even time do some paper works. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging multitasking
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), ottawFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: i could travel anywhere in canada for free
Cons: i worked 12 hours a day
working at greyhound as built me to overcome many challenges in every aspect of a work placce. my day was about answering all inquiries on departures and arrivals. I had to be available for all complaints tracking lost luggages, mark down every delayed departures, I was reponsible of preboarding un-accompanied children and taking care of their arrivals.
the – more... hardest part of the job was the multitasking but I have learned to take control of every situation in a calm matter. I have learn to overcome every objection I have learn how to deal with 5 different situations at the same time.
the most enjoyable part of my job was the floor support and the staff – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of experience from it
Service Person (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: far away
i gained alot from working there. for instance, my work ethics improved and my social skills became better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An easy job that goes nowhere
Freight Handler (Current Employee), Chilliwack, BCMay 13, 2012
Pros: free coffee, good co-workers, easy work
Cons: no promotions, low wages
I ship and recieve the freight and transfer lugage off the busses as well as clean and maintain the building and outside perimiter.
I've learned alot about the geography of Canada this way. I have also learned much about cleaning up after human traffic. My management
is a huge inspiration to leave Greyhound. I have great co-workers, knowlegable and – more... helpful. The most challenging part of the job is haveing patience for the public. The best part of the job is the satisfaction of getting something done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place,
Tracing Dept,Customer Service (Former Employee), Calgary, AB.March 1, 2012
Pros: mgmt buys pizzas, pot luck days one or two times a month, cake is bought for employees on birthday.
Cons: none.
Greyhound Cda is a very fast pace company,clean, friendly people to work for.I answer about 50 to 60 calls a day dealing with variety of people.Tracing lost freight,luggage,one on one with customers,helping Sales Dept.helping Couriers Drivers with there deliveries,work with Dispatch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very likeable
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 14, 2014
Pros: being on the road
Cons: management
a day is good when you get from one end to another without having a accident or a road fail
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The PITS, NO PERSONAL LIFE
driver (Former Employee), Jacksonville,FLAugust 13, 2014
Pros: discounted lunches and free bus passes
Cons: short breaks, benefits
This job was the pits,as an extra board driver you have no life,your on call 24/7 and you don't nowhere your going until you reach the terminal..The OSC(OPERATIONS Support)dispatchers are rude and talk to you like your nothing and beneath them.The managers and supervisors are all liars and tell you what you won't to hear to take a run.The hardest part – more... about this job is getting sleep and being in a different city every night,most of your co-workers are ok but some of the Sr. drivers will give you a hard time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Cashier and Cook (Former Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 10, 2014
Pros: travel for free
Cons: people would beg for money outside
I would come in and they would tell my if i could cook or work the register .Then i would clean , then i would prep my area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every paid day you earn
Mechanic (Former Employee), Detroit MI.July 25, 2014
Pros: teamwork
Cons: nothing new today
Your job was very important always, because if you fail everyone else that follows is unable to do their job. (Out of a job!) No personal time was connected with your work time, someone needed to be you whenever you couldn't be you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sale Agent (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 24, 2014
Working here your get to interact with different people from everywhere they love to tell you about their trip wheather good or bad. The management here is great its like being around your family on the holidays some people wouild dislike that or not because your get to discuss everything that goes on. the hardest part of this job is telling the customer – more... that we have no more seat available that doesnt always go over so well. I enjoy the smile i bring to people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
human resources takes the word of lying employees
management. (Former Employee), denverJuly 24, 2014
Pros: when you leave at the end of the day.
Cons: 1 shift. .bunch of back stabbers but will talk nice to your face.
Lies. ....all lies ...upper management says they care but really don't they don't support middle management . Employees can get physical with supervisors. And still keep there job get the back pay and 10 hours of overtime.and a month of vacation paid....
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always something new to look foward too
Ticket Agent/Customer Service Relation (Former Employee), dallasdtxMay 29, 2014
I really enjoyed working here I meet a lot of great people
it was very interesting in I loved being apart of the greyhound family
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greyhound Good to work for
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 7, 2014
Very busy but a rewarding job. Friendly people to work with i met many people from different parts of the world who traveled to NY
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Oriented
Ticket Agent (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 16, 2014
Pros: discount meals and free travel bus passes
Cons: security
I learned how to work with others, and handle stressful situations and to ask for help when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked & underpaid
Customer Service Supervisor/Administration (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 16, 2014
Pros: like a big family
Cons: underpaid
Great people to work with, when its busy its busy and when its slow its slow, dont pay employee's enough
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not challenging
Bar Supervisor (Current Employee), Horley, ENGApril 9, 2014
Pros: close to home.
Cons: no progression
I need to be stimulated in a job and I feel there were no challenges and I wasn't given an chance to progress which was what I really wanted to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Coach Operator (Bus Driver) (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 1, 2014
Eastern states are better to work in as the better buses are used there due to the greater competition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at greyhound
Ticket Agent (Current Employee), Albuquerque, NMMarch 4, 2014
Pros: free lunch at the monthly safety meeting
Cons: management, a lot of unhappy passenger complaints
Come into work, the ticket counter has been closed for 3 hours by management. There is a long line of angry passengers demanding to get a free food voucher and refund because there bus is a hour or more late. Management has not dealt with the issue and expect the ticket agents to take care of those problems. After that has been solved and next thing – more... is dealing with people that have tickets but failed to show up on the right day, and want to go that day instead. After explaining the new policy, the tickets are no good, passed the departing dated, and then needing to call security because you have extremely mad people throwing things of the counter and yelling at you. After that is done, you need to make a boarding call for the buses departing, and that time you get some people to the counter not understanding departure or westbound for example. Then you have to explain westbound means the bus is going west and which cities are to the west. After that you run over to the restrooms and clean them real quick before you get a line of people. This is repeated couple times through the shift until it's time to go home, but at that time the management wants you to stay later for a late bus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Driver (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: largest bus company in america
Cons: always on the road
great company for someone starting out as a bus driver
I learned how to read a map
management is top of the line
co workers are generally older seasoned guys

1 2 3

Greyhound Lines, Inc. Photos