Great Wolf Lodge Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work you to the bone
Housekeeper / Trainer (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON8 December 2017
They push you past your limits to the point many doctors in the region know the place by reputation for injured employees. If your looking for some low pay and hard work with little to no recognition or reward, this is the place for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON4 November 2017
I enjoy the job, it allows me to grow my experience in customer service. Everyone I work with is very friendly and nice to work with. They also provide a lot of hours for work.
Pros
Provide a lot of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Magi-Quest Attendant/Designated Trainer (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON22 October 2017
Depending on the department I'm sure it is different, but working in retail and attractions there was a lot of drama and poor management. Different areas of the department were ignored, communication was poor on a daily basis the rules would change because one person from management would tell you one thing one day and a different thing the next. the job keeps you on your toes.
Pros
creating the family traditions, discount to stay at the lodge
Cons
high stress, lots of drama, think highschool.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not reccomend
Water Park Attendant (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON28 September 2017
Maybe a good job if its your first job, but wouldn't recommend staying over 6 months. Employees are all young and mostly in high school. Managements kinda rude and expects too much from employees especially considering how young most of them are and that this is most of the employees first job. Working conditions suck, its always hot, loud, humid. Standing in water all day sucks. Would be an okay job is the guests who stay there aren't always rude to the employees and try to take advantage of their young age.
Pros
get to use the waterslides, easy first job
Cons
working conditions, guests
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
line cook
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON16 July 2017
prepared and cooked complete meals for the customers.cooked specialty dishes or individual dishes
cleaned kitchen and all work areas ensuring proper sanitizing methods were used
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun place to work
Laundry & Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON11 July 2017
great place to work and meet new people good team workers the hrs are good they offer deals for workers they have good days for family fun and a lot of good rewards
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
howl
Line Worker (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON7 July 2017
fast-paced; almost always busy; management give you plenty of space; scheduling is awkward sometimes; great employer; mostly great staff; good money and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its all about GWL
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON27 June 2017
have to have open availability , no regular hours, work all weekends and holidays of course, even Christmas day, if you cant work on Christmas day, you have no chance of a job.
Pros
free water park passes
Cons
not seeing your family
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with lots to experience
HOSTESS (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON27 May 2017
Working at Great Wolf Lodge is a great place to gain experience in the customer service industry because there are many different sectors to the resort which will leave you with many newly learned things. Employees are very kind and managers and supervisors understand schedule limitations due to the amount of young high school students who work there. Although working in the restaurant can be a very high pace environment at times and can become a little hectic, occasionally with tension between the customers and employees, coworkers and managers/supervisors are always by to lend a helping hand.
Pros
free meals
Cons
no reservations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Great Wolf Lodge
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON15 May 2017
Working as a lifeguard was really fun. You got to have fun with al the kids at the waterpark as well as our work team! I would recommend working here.Its a great work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace masks long-standing managerial issues
Arcade Attendant/Photo Op Attendant (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON26 April 2017
The atmosphere and culture are fantastic. If you want to keep your head in the sand and remain oblivious to the history of the system, then this place is for you.
Long term issues that returning guests are aware of and choose to avoid on later trips make being the front of line employee unnecessarily difficult.
Resolving supervisor-role issues yourself.
Very little to entice you to advance your position.
Meager prizes and no true feeling of having served the company well; until you interact with a personable family.
The customer remains right until it no longer profits the company.
Front of line employees treated like robots or furniture by the guests (understandable) but also by management (less understandable).
Course of recommendation after 5 consecutive years of employment: Management overhaul, starting with the General Manager who consistently micro-manages and denies valid employee-suggested ideas.
Pros
free food, changes in availability accepted if senior staff
Cons
management is ineffective, no one cares to improve the facility for day-day running
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horible and bad place to be
Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON15 February 2017
It sucked you did everything even at time managers duties, they sucked that's what I learned. management micro managed. culture sucked. everything. nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high expectations for low amount your paid
Arcade/Photo Attendant (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON9 February 2017
Management expects you to do so much for a job that basically pays minimum wage not worth it. not a good place to work. the customers and the management treat you like garbage, it's really not worth what you're paid.
Pros
fun co-workers
Cons
horribly run
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Slide Attendant (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON20 January 2017
i would push family and children down the slides i knew first aid in case someone had an accident on deck working at the lodge was an overall great time but i loved meeting new families and all the little kids i would always recognize faces very well and if families ended up coming back i would make sure to knowledge them each time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are not as valued, Low pay for the amount of work...
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON31 December 2016
Very busy work environment, your day goes by so fast. Alot of standing, you do NOT get a break if you work less than 6 hours. Most customers are good but there are some really demanding and rude guests.

So far I have nothing bad to say about my co-workers, mainly younger part-time students. My trainer is really great and knowledgeable and most of the senior front desk pack agents are very helpful.

The hardest part of the job is the repetitive tasks and standing on your feet for 5 hours non stop unless you work 6 hours or more then you get an unpaid 30 minutes break. The pay is not the greatest either for the amount of work you do. Forget about benefits, you get none! The supervisors are very pushy meaning every second is kept tracked and accounted for once you are on shift. Time off requests, most likely not even if your part time.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Part time, erratic days offs, Low pay, No benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lively atmosphere, flexible schedule supportive team
Room Attendant (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON27 October 2016
Fast paced high demand company flexible schedule team oriented job requires discipline many policy and procedures strict discipline procedures for work performance.
Pros
fundraisers
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers, Terrible Managers
outlet attendant (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON27 October 2016
If you're looking for a fun and enjoyable place to work at this is not the place for you. All of the staff members are fun and easy to get along with ..... but the supervisors and mangers don't know what they're doing so they treat their staff like they don't matter or as if they're invisible. I worked there for almost 2 years, and I hated going into work everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good first job.... that is it!
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON11 September 2016
Most pep talks before our day were negative. Management were really amazing and understanding when it came schedule, if you have two part time jobs. I felt like I lived and breathed the work environment. It is not a healthy job choice. It got super hot in summer. No ventilation. You breath in chemicals all day from the water. They made it a stressful job when it doesn't have to be. Very good at staying on top of training and making sure we knew our skills, a little too much. It came to a point when we see a Supervisor we would look at them more then our water. Which is not a good thing.
Pros
flexiable hours.
Cons
long days. asthma, heat rash
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON25 August 2016
Management was good, but not very considerate when it came to booking time off. Was a good job for gaining customer experience.
Pros
free buffet food
Cons
rude tourists
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Environment
Water Park Attendant (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON15 August 2016
-Typical day at work would meet, great and HOWL! Make sure everyone is comfortable and having fun but also following safety guidelines.
-I learned that you can do you job and keep everyone safe but also have a lot of fun doing it.
-Management is great they make sure to keep you on your toes, and make sure you know what you are doing.
-Co-workers have a ton of energy and it transfers to you making the environment fun and gives the a family feeling.
-Hardest part would be trying not to constantly howl.
-Most enjoyable part was for sure the howling and going down slides every now and then.
Pros
Howls, going down slides every now and then
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Great Wolf Lodge. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 603 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.5

Great Wolf Lodge Reviews by Location