Find companies:
Great Wolf Lodge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
137 reviews

Great Wolf Lodge Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Read these reviews carefully and think there is truth to them
Retail (Former Employee), Niagara FallsJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: the guests who were friendly, the kids so happy
Cons: as always management, lie about the hours
I read the review before I applied for the job I did. And I wish I took the truth from what they said. I had been a guest numerous times I had a huge passion for the place. I was ideal to be working there as being a guest I know how to treat others.

This place runs on seniority and not job performance. Typical retail environment where people are nice – more... to your face *those that even bother to acknowledge you* and talk behind your back. Preference is of course given to their friends they socialize with after work.

This job in itself was easy for me, great to talk to the guests, given responsibility right away which was great but when you are told you will be working a couple days, and a couple of evenings, and occasional and that in turn actually means you will be working every night, and every weekend. And told to suck it up it is what it is, well for a minimum wage job not worth the perks of a water park pass when its not busy and the discounts. Not even for me.

Told to put the lodge first above my family and I find that ironic bc it is a family place, and yet they treat their employees poorly. Would not work there, and will not stay there. I can now understand when I would visit the place why people looked so miserable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, bad management
Outlets Attendant (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONOctober 22, 2013
Pros: good fun environment
Cons: weird strict rules
I had a lot of fun working at great wolf lodge, but i found that some of the management had favourites and treated them differently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Room Attendant (Current Employee), Niagara Falls, ONSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: made a lot of new friends.
Cons: physically demanding.
A typical day at work would be to start by getting your list of rooms, having per-shift, going up to your floor getting your cart stocked and ready for the day. Then starting any rooms that were available, throughout the day depending on how your day went you may have to help others or receive help from others. How to be adaptable, and how to be a team – more... player. I enjoyed my co-workers and interacted very well with them. Dealing with the occasional rude and ignorant guest. The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing all the happy kids and positive messages left from customers who were satisfied with the quality of service they received. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start for first job.
Arcade Lead (Current Employee), Niagara Falls, ONMarch 24, 2013
Pros: discount rates, once a month waterpark privilege .
Cons: no included lunches, no overtime.
Since working at Great Wolf Lodge I have learned a lot of the hospitality industry and how all departments have to work together as well as the day and night shifts.

An average day for me in the arcade would include gathering tokens from 100 games, ensuring each game has a proper amount of tickets. Assisting guests exchanging tickets for prizes at – more... our redemption counter which at times can get extremely busy, and at times do small maintenance work on our games if a guest has a problem or if we noticed an issue.

The management I find is different throughout each department, each with their own issues and strongpoints.

The hardest part of the job for me was the lack of advancement possibilities. Focusing on labour, usually each department has 1 director, 1 manager , and about 2-3 supervisors at the most, and with most not leaving it is discouraging.

The most enjoyable part of my job are the people, whether it be co-workers or guests seeing each of them and making sure guests have a smile when leaving makes it worth while. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was there for four years and had to ask everyday for benifits and never got them
Cook (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: full time hours
Cons: low pay and no benifits they will say their at their quota.
management sucks,hr thinks their a union and works agains you more than with you when complaining about a manager or other staff . i was there for 4 yrs and never got benifits got my raises after fighting for them. easy to change departments if requested and applyed for
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great summer job
Lifeguard (Former Employee), Fitchburg, MAJuly 26, 2014
Pros: free pass to water park, co-workers
Cons: management
Being a lifeguard at Great wolf started as a great job. Soon after awhile, I started to dislike the job due to the management, miss communication between co-workers and mangers. Didn't work with your availability that you submitted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
Arcade Attendant (Current Employee), Grapevine, TXJuly 25, 2014
Pros: tips, food, friendliness
Cons: lowered pay
A typical day is usually spent taking orders at the register or by phone, serving appetizers then helping put together the main course and serving it to the customers table. It's a good day at the end of the day and everyone gets to go home with a tip in their pocket. The managers are kind and do their best to work around your schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent group of people to work with.
Lifeguard (Former Employee), Lake Delton, WIJuly 23, 2014
Pros: free water park usage, discounts, 401k
Cons: it requires monthly and weekly training.
To anyone trying to get a job with this company. It is a great company, everyone that works there is generally very happy and friendly. They want you to do well, and they will provide the means to move up if you show that you really want to. And even if you don't. They will always show you respect and do everything in their power to make sure that your – more... working life is tolerable with scheduling or whatever else they can offer. The hardest part of the job, is actually saving someone that's difficult to save or seriously injured. Very rarely do you encounter that. But the job is definitely an experience worth having. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly work environment
Ambassador of Fun (Current Employee), Grapevine, TXJuly 21, 2014
Pros: great pay for a teenager
Cons: being the only guy on staff
- Make customers laugh and say awwww and make kids smile. Anything from arts and crafts to bed time stories to getting in costumes could be expected to give the people what they want.

- Learned:
Adaptability
Flexibility
Patience
Customer Service
How to satisfy people in a business sense

- Management was always fun, friendly, and understandable. As – more... long as the customers were happy... the boss was happy.

- Co-workers were interesting... I was the only guy. So there was too much drama and gossip for my taste but there were moments of enjoyment. It taught me how to adapt to a difficult co-worker environment.

- Hardest part of the job is having patience and continually putting others happiness before your own.

- Most enjoyable part of the job was seeing others be happy and satisfied and knowing it was my efforts that caused such a beautiful emotion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good energy, everyone is outgoing
Lifeguard (Current Employee), Fitchburg, MAJuly 19, 2014
everyone at Great Wolf is nice and friendly.
the hardest part of the job is jumping in the water to help a kid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the Corporate Members but it lost the shine
Night Auditor/Memory Creator (Former Employee), Williamsburg, VAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: it's a waterpark! so employees got to go to it.
Cons: although i did see people move up, they started hiring management from out of house.
I started working here when it first opened in Williamsburg, the Corporate Trainers were awesome. The Great Wolf Brand was amazing. But after we started hiring more and more people who weren't being trained by corporate - the brand got lost and it wasn't as great a vibe anymore. They have been bought by another company since then so not sure about current – more... brand/training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional and fun place to work
Spa Host (Current Employee), Concord, NCJuly 14, 2014
love working with all the children that come into the spa , giving families a great experience something to always remember, great team and management, experience in customer service and retail, trained on different products to better the skin and balance a healthy life
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast-paced working environment
Gift Shop Associate (Former Employee), Mason, OHJuly 7, 2014
Pros: nice people
Cons: limited advancement
Customer service
Point of Sale
Returns
Offer credit cards and store loyalty cards
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could be very fun to work just depended on the day
Housekeeping floor supervisor (Former Employee), Sandusky oh 44824July 6, 2014
Pros: could get rooms at a discount and enjoy the water park
Cons: working all the holidays and weekends
met lots of great people while there. was sad when original supervisor retired. being a hotel you worked weekends and holidays. loved to meet up with my girls in the morning and get ready to start our day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a fun place to work
Guest and Customer Service/Hostess (Former Employee), Grapevine, TXJuly 6, 2014
Management was awesome, got along with all my co workers had no problem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Park Attendant - in the water park (Former Employee), Scotrun, PAJuly 4, 2014
Pros: help was always avaliable
Cons: indoor water park was very hot
I worked in the water park at Great Wolf Lodge. I would go to work and make sure that all of the bathrooms were cleanned and walked around the water park to make sure that there were not any wet towels on the floor.
What I have learned is that cleanness is the way to make people happy and when on their vacation that is the only way they want to feel.
Management – more... were there to make sure if there were any questions that they were there to help.
Co-workers were fun there. They were always willing to help me when walking around the park picking up wet towels.
The hardest part of the job would be that it was very hot in the indoor water park.
The most enjoyable part of the job was that the food was really good there was a snack bar in the water park. Or if you wanted to get food outside the park you could go outside the park in the air conditioner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of my job
Lead/Cook/Cashier/Order Puller (Current Employee), Grapevine, TXJuly 4, 2014
i would have to say dealing with upset customers, I know it sounds weird but i just love how i can approach an angry or upset customer and handle their issue and they leave with a smile on their face and eventually spend more money with us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Waitress/Bartender (Current Employee), Wisconsin Dells, WIJuly 1, 2014
Provide customer service, multitasking, training newly hired staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guest Services
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee), Kansas City KSJune 6, 2014
I worked in Guest Services checking guests in and out of rooms. Great Wolf Lodge taught me a lot about guest services and the importance of guest satisfaction. I really enjoyed this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like kids, it is a great place!
Nail Technician (Seasonal) (Former Employee), Sandusky, OHMay 28, 2014
It overlooked the pool, so I would see the kids playing in the water, then the little girls would come in with great big smiles on their cute little faces waiting for either a manicure or pedicure. They would get treated like princesses. The management was great, they were proactive, one lived right around the corner, so she would come in if needed. – more... My co-workers were great, also! The hardest part of my job, was that it was seasonal. I wished I could have stayed there! The most enjoyable part of the job, was that because it was such a new location, everyone got a hand in making the place work, not just corporate! – less

1 2 3 4 5