Find companies:
Great Wolf Lodge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
151 reviews

Great Wolf Lodge Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Housekeeping Room Attendant
Room Attendant (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONAugust 27, 2014
Overall a disappointing experience, the management is very unfair at times and definetly play favourites.They do not look out for their employees or their best intrests. In terms of co-workers their is a lot of good people you get to work with! All of the room attendants are welcoming and warm. The hardest part of the job is dealing with the unfair – more... management and strict rules. If the management treated the employees the way the treated the guests the would have a lot more success in keeping people on their staff. Many managers use their power too their advantage and treat lower employees like dirt. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Eventful Work Environment
Arcade Attendant (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONApril 17, 2014
A typical day at work consists of providing prizes for children in the arcade. I would fix games when problems arise and tend to guest needs. Cashier experience was gained on a daily basis as I had to sell tokens and prizes. The hardest part of the job was the patience required when you have the most indecisive child. I found that giving a child some – more... suggestions on prizes and getting to know them a little better helped in the decision process. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the smiles on all of the childrens faces adn the parents appreciation given by thanks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Read these reviews carefully and think there is truth to them
Retail (Former Employee), Niagara FallsJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: the guests who were friendly, the kids so happy
Cons: as always management, lie about the hours
I read the review before I applied for the job I did. And I wish I took the truth from what they said. I had been a guest numerous times I had a huge passion for the place. I was ideal to be working there as being a guest I know how to treat others.

This place runs on seniority and not job performance. Typical retail environment where people are nice – more... to your face *those that even bother to acknowledge you* and talk behind your back. Preference is of course given to their friends they socialize with after work.

This job in itself was easy for me, great to talk to the guests, given responsibility right away which was great but when you are told you will be working a couple days, and a couple of evenings, and occasional and that in turn actually means you will be working every night, and every weekend. And told to suck it up it is what it is, well for a minimum wage job not worth the perks of a water park pass when its not busy and the discounts. Not even for me.

Told to put the lodge first above my family and I find that ironic bc it is a family place, and yet they treat their employees poorly. Would not work there, and will not stay there. I can now understand when I would visit the place why people looked so miserable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, bad management
Outlets Attendant (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONOctober 22, 2013
Pros: good fun environment
Cons: weird strict rules
I had a lot of fun working at great wolf lodge, but i found that some of the management had favourites and treated them differently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Room Attendant (Current Employee), Niagara Falls, ONSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: made a lot of new friends.
Cons: physically demanding.
A typical day at work would be to start by getting your list of rooms, having per-shift, going up to your floor getting your cart stocked and ready for the day. Then starting any rooms that were available, throughout the day depending on how your day went you may have to help others or receive help from others. How to be adaptable, and how to be a team – more... player. I enjoyed my co-workers and interacted very well with them. Dealing with the occasional rude and ignorant guest. The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing all the happy kids and positive messages left from customers who were satisfied with the quality of service they received. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start for first job.
Arcade Lead (Current Employee), Niagara Falls, ONMarch 24, 2013
Pros: discount rates, once a month waterpark privilege .
Cons: no included lunches, no overtime.
Since working at Great Wolf Lodge I have learned a lot of the hospitality industry and how all departments have to work together as well as the day and night shifts.

An average day for me in the arcade would include gathering tokens from 100 games, ensuring each game has a proper amount of tickets. Assisting guests exchanging tickets for prizes at – more... our redemption counter which at times can get extremely busy, and at times do small maintenance work on our games if a guest has a problem or if we noticed an issue.

The management I find is different throughout each department, each with their own issues and strongpoints.

The hardest part of the job for me was the lack of advancement possibilities. Focusing on labour, usually each department has 1 director, 1 manager , and about 2-3 supervisors at the most, and with most not leaving it is discouraging.

The most enjoyable part of my job are the people, whether it be co-workers or guests seeing each of them and making sure guests have a smile when leaving makes it worth while. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was there for four years and had to ask everyday for benifits and never got them
Cook (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: full time hours
Cons: low pay and no benifits they will say their at their quota.
management sucks,hr thinks their a union and works agains you more than with you when complaining about a manager or other staff . i was there for 4 yrs and never got benifits got my raises after fighting for them. easy to change departments if requested and applyed for
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really disliked working here
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Scotrun, PASeptember 17, 2014
really unprofessional. over worked and under paid. told to do impossible task in a short amount of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Wolf Lodge
Public advisor (Former Employee), MasonAugust 31, 2014
Working for Great Wolf Lodge was magical and it is a great place for kids to go to. I am glad to say that Great Wolf Lodge has a fun safe place to spend time with kids and family !
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with a water park!
Crew Member (Current Employee), Mason, OHAugust 30, 2014
I work with the food in the outlets. I have learned great customer service skills and how to make a grumpy customer into a happy customer. The hardest part about my job is making sure that everyone is on the same page as you. I love working in the water park part, because it is just a really fun environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace and working in a water park
Life Guard (Former Employee), Scotrun, PAAugust 30, 2014
Pros: free food, get to ride rides, meet new people and swim
Cons: not being able to talk to the guest while your working
A typical day at Great Wolf Lodge would start off with a meeting with all the life guards and manager. we would practice our C.P.R and discuss any issues we had. Next we would go to our pool areas that we were assigned to for the day and guard our pools
At Great Wolf, iv'e learned C.P.R, how to properly rescues someone from drowning and what to do in – more... a situation where someone was unconscious.
In the water park where i worked, there were about 30 other guards on duty with me and we all looked after each other.
The hardest part of the day was making sure we looked at every square inch of the pool with over 50 guest in it to make sure everyone was safe.
The most enjoyable part of the day was closing time because once all the guest left the park, the employees were able to ride some of the rides before we left for the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing workplace
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Stroudsburg, PAAugust 29, 2014
Pros: free lunches, great managers, great amount of hours
Cons: dirty job
I did laundry so I had to maintain the laundry in the shoot where all the used dirty laundry falls into. It'll be pool towels, sheets, pillow casing, bath towels and washcloths etc. I like to work hard and it was a hardworking team full of people like me so it was great. We loaded and unloaded washers and driers with tons of stuff all day then folded – more... it. It'll be thousands of cycles ran a day so it was a lot of lifting and work that had to be done in a certain amount of time. The hardest part was when maybe all the guys were off because I'd handle the shoot room alone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of Energy
Public Area Attendant (Former Employee), Williamsburg, VAAugust 28, 2014
This place is full of life and the guest are incredible. There is always something new to explore and see
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting place fast paced clean honest people
HOUSEKEEPING (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSAugust 26, 2014
Great place to work honest people always clean overall experience was cool
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospitality
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee), Mason, OhioAugust 24, 2014
Entry job, great for people in high school or college. Must be quick and very friendly. Overall, great atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Already did this
Public Area Attendant (Current Employee), Mason, OHAugust 6, 2014
This is the second review I have done for this company. Management could be loads better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making a difference in customers life
Reservation Agent (Former Employee), Madison, WIAugust 4, 2014
Pros: holiday dinners
Cons: one lunch and one break
At Great wolf lodge I learned how to deal with irate guest and handling reservations that were incorrect. I enjoyed fixing those problems and making my guest happy. My co workers were willing to help with any issues I had any questions with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people thats about it
retail (Current Employee), grapevineAugust 1, 2014
Tons of people not that much enjoyment. People there are nice to work with and fun only thing that makes it worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work if you like kids and water parks.
Receiving/Purchasing Supervisor (Former Employee), Grapevine TxJuly 29, 2014
Pros: free water park access, cheap employee room discounts
Cons: to much micro managing, no room to really grow.
I learned a lot about hospitality and resorts. Management is ok but they start to care about the bottom line more than their employees. The most enjoyable part of the job were the co workers. Great place to be part of a team. Hardest part of the job is during holidays and we had a ton of shipments coming in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great summer job
Lifeguard (Former Employee), Fitchburg, MAJuly 26, 2014
Pros: free pass to water park, co-workers
Cons: management
Being a lifeguard at Great wolf started as a great job. Soon after awhile, I started to dislike the job due to the management, miss communication between co-workers and mangers. Didn't work with your availability that you submitted.

1 2 3 4 5