Find companies:
Great West
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
70 reviews

Great West Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Senior Client Service Representative (Former Employee), Halifax, NSJuly 26, 2012
Pros: travel throughout ns
Cons: you had to work hard to get advancement.
Worked over 17 years, advancement was good, pay could have been better. Not unionized or covered by workers comp. Management changed alot due to production numbers with sales. Coworkers were great. Hardest part of job was changing as the industry changed. Enjoyed helping my clients who appreciated all I did for them. Miss this job alot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very accomodating and fun loving atmosphere
Book keeping Clerk (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 20, 2012
This is an MGA for Insurance. I have been working with them for some time now though only part time. , I can go whenever and do my data entry, account payable and account recieveable work. I even do their filing work, handle their faxes, call the advisors and I work 2-3 days and that too for 2-3 hours so they have made it flexible for me to come anytime – more... between ten to six.
The Staff is so good and helpful and I look forward to the next day.
The Manager is a gem of a person.
As I am a licensed Insurance Advisor I understnd their work and I enjoy it too. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Junior Clerk
Junior Clerk (Former Employee), Winnipeg,MBJuly 16, 2012
Pros: location
Great West Life was a great place to work, the people that you work with are very nice and friendly. I did not have any problems working there. Great people and great location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great people
Transaction Processor (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBJune 26, 2012
Pros: gym
Amazing company that really takes care of their employees
Great people
Beautiful facilities
Programs to aid in advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company to work for
Claims processor (Former Employee), London, OntarioJune 17, 2012
Pros: make your own hours
A typical day at work was to get your claims from your drawer and key them in quickly and accurately.

The management and my co-workers were very easy to work with.

I enjoyed my time working with GWL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work aside from less oppertunity of advancment
Cleaner/Maintenance (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 14, 2012
Pros: mountain view, 2 bedroom, on call every second weekend.
Cons: wage, recognizing my accomplishments.
started out working with a great team. From Senior management to My co-workers. one of the senior management personnel left, and as did the rest leaving just me. After almost a year exactly it being there I was called by an old coworker, who offered me the position with Transglobe and wage increase. This job here with GWL, was great in most aspects – more... aside from wage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Job
Customer Service and Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMarch 27, 2014
Dr. offices and hospitals and other facilities will call for medical benefits and I would quote the benefits and also notate the account of what I relayed to the customer on the line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Java Developer (Former Employee), Denver, COMarch 16, 2014
Pros: friendly, helpful and great working enviroment.
Cons: no remote working
A have always love myself being part of the company and would like to recommend to anyone who seeks any kind of positions in future at GWL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WFM…watch out...
Scheduling Analyst (Former Employee), Greenwood Village, CoMarch 4, 2014
Cons: manager runs the team like its her household and your her child, the teammates will throw you under the bus every chance they get.
This company was nothing what i thought it was. If you applying for WFM…beware of the management and the team. Hands down one of the worst places I've worked in my entire career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great West is not a good place to work
Relationship Manager (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIJanuary 22, 2014
Lots of downsizing and job elimination going on - and when they eliminate your job they blame you for poor performance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CIGNA daily routine
Eligibility Analyst Associate (Former Employee), 8505 E Orchard Rd, Greenwood Village, CO. 80111January 1, 2014
Pros: parking garage. pto arrangements. work environment and location close to home.
Cons: multiple platforms that required secuity passwords to be regularly changed.
Daily duties varied from week to week. Phone contact, meetings, report and data evaluations were a day to day requirement. Management is based in CT.

Job duties became more difficult in the process of coordinating outsourcing the job functions to overseas employees who were not proficient in English which required drafting template letters and standardized – more... responses verbal and written.

Most details to the job are confidential and cannot be shared as part of a confidentiality agreement between Cigna and their employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No loyalty to employees
Plan Technical Support (Former Employee), Glendale, WIOctober 16, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: schedule, unattainable goals, management
Unattainable goals - goals were often set too high to meet resulting in failure. Management will set a person up to fail and then terminate them rather than fire them up front. Much favoritisim towards certain employees while others are left out. No loyalty to the employees what so ever. If you work here, just know that you can always be replaced and – more... will be at the drop of a hat. Management acts like they are in high school - they talk about each other and employees with no respect. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome location but there is not too many chances for advancement.
Check Team Administrator (Current Employee), Englewood, COSeptember 24, 2013
Everyday I comply with the policies and plans to make sure the checks are disbursed correctly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are better companies to work for.
Client Relationship Manager (Former Employee), VirginaSeptember 5, 2013
You work from home. You manage a book of 200 to 300 clients.

You handle enrollment meetings, plan reviews, and annual reviews.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great flexible hour schedule
Case Manager (Former Employee), Englewood, COAugust 27, 2013
A typical day- first 6 months was 1/2 day of training
Management-was probably the best management I've seen so far in my work history. All Management is required to go through an approval process to lead.
Hardest part of the job-More work than the 7 hour work day and no paid overtime.
Most enjoyable part- Ice cream was delivered to our desks on a cart – more... 1 day every month.
Benefits-were excellent except for the salary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place you can learn a lot
Development DBA (Former Employee), Englewood, COAugust 19, 2013
You can move around and learn a ton here. Loads of nice co-workers, managers and a decent life to work balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best team work and learning environment for future goals
Administrator Processor - Broker Compensation (Former Employee), Denver, COAugust 13, 2013
Pros: training was subperb and able to change work load and expand knowledge
Cons: n/a
Daily goals for workflow that was imperative to setup, entry adjustments, research and correct any issues before close of business. Answer phone calls from internal and external clients to solve issues.

Management and co-workers were always available to talk through and and help solve issues.

Used many type of computer programs and constantly learning – more... new technical products.

My favorite part of my job was performing yearly & monthly audits and finding and solving problems. Especially enjoyed contacting a client to inform them of an issue that was solved in their favor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
IT Lead Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee), denverMay 8, 2013
..Great ..

Great

.....

a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Although Great-West Financial Services was a good place to work, the job was very stressful and demanding.
Retirement Plan Account Coordinator (Former Employee), Glendale, WIApril 18, 2013
Pros: good benefits and great salary.
Cons: job very stressful and demanding.
A typical day at Great-West consisted of assisting employers, participants and Third Party Administrators with questions and problems regarding thier retirement plan. Assisting employers, participants and Third Party Administrators navigating the Great-West Financial Services website. Assisting Account Managers with thier block of retirement plan business. – more... Updating retirement plan contacts, information and investments. I learned alot about the retirement plan industry. I enjoyed working with my co-workers, they where very knowledgeable and outgoing. The hardest part of the job was the stress and the demands. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping people with the questions they had about thier retirement plan. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, secure work environment.
ACCOUNT RESEARCHER (Former Employee), Greenwood Village, COApril 12, 2013
Great West Life was a fantastic company to work for. It had great pay, great benefits, and job security which is hard to come by. My duties changed from day to day which I really enjoyed. I was challened each day by being faced with new problems,

About Great West

Great-West FinancialSM helps millions of Americans, their companies and employers build greater financial security. Headquartered – Read more

Great West Photos