Great Clips Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 22 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible workplace, do not waste your time
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 24, 2016
Having been a previous manager, I received little to no appreciation for my extra work. My wage was the same as every one else's but I had twice the work load. Staff members are very friendly and supportive. Employer is only concerned with what they are going to profit.
Pros
amazing staff, short hours, tons of clients
Cons
low wage, unreasonable expectations, little apprieciation
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working at Great Clips
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Ashland, NBJanuary 6, 2016
I absolutely love my job. It is a great place to work and everyone treats you great. It has a very laid back atmosphere. Everyday is a great day at Great Clips. Everyone is very nice and I really like my Manager.
Pros
laid back atsmophere
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managment is not good
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BCJanuary 4, 2016
This company is not a very good place to work at. A typical day at work was basically pounding out clients at a ridiculously fast pace for not a very great amount of money. I did learn how to pick up my speed but I felt as though I was just not taking the proper time to really focus on what my client wanted. Management was terrible. The head manager there acts as though she is in high school and doesn't really seem to care for her employees. The coworkers were very nice. Over-all I would not recommend this place to anyone to work at.
Cons
bad managment, not the greatest pay for what you're doing.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, high energy job
MANAGER (Current Employee) –  British ColumbiaDecember 23, 2015
On average, myself and my employees would do between 17-25 haircuts per day. I learned to do quality haircuts in a short amount of time. The hardest part of my job was accomodating the staffs scheduling needs. The most enjoyable part was the customer interaction.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient team workers
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABDecember 17, 2015
Typical day at work would be to set your station up clean and proper be professional for your customers gives outstanding customer service. The management was great at this location its like a small family connection basis, great team work/support. I love to cut hair so I would say that's the most enjoyable part.
Pros
free food & coffee:)
Cons
could be more pay but no cons about this job!
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor establishement
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, ABJuly 27, 2015
lots of drama
nothing that i already new
poor management
great people
looking at other do bad work
leaving at night

i company that hires new stylist fresh out of school
Pros
free time for lunch
Cons
not pleasant to work in
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work at
receptionist (Former Employee) –  Oshawa ONJune 9, 2015
Great Clips was a great place to work at the staff was supporting of me being new and willing to teach me anything so that i can do my job right and properly
Cons
good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work place
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Bowmanville, ONApril 30, 2015
Great Clips has a good working atmosphere with a team of staff who are driven and professional. You are always busy as there are always returning customers and new customers who walk away happy with their hair cut. It was a wonderful opportunity to work in such a great work environment and have the customers leaving happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable but stressful
Hairdresser (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 28, 2015
Too much drama between co-workers especially with moving from store to store.
Manager was not present often enough.
Fighting over stations was a problem.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre work places
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Maple Ridge BCFebruary 23, 2015
I was a receptionist not a hair dresser so the work was easy and the pay was sufficient. Fellow employees often bickered and made for a tense work place.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its alright
Apprentice Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ONJanuary 12, 2015
You are pushed really hair to get your haircuts done in 15 minutes. You cannot style the hair with any brushes, so you dont gain a whole lot of clientele because they dont walk out looking like they just came from the salon.
Was this review helpful?Yes20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to start out
Inventory, cashier and customer service (Former Employee) –  maple ridge, british columibaNovember 19, 2014
worked there for 2.5 years and had a great time with staff and clients, and getting to know every one who came through the door
Pros
busy times.
Cons
(some locations managements) and some locations are slow
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff, Enjoy the Customers, Comfotable
Stylist/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BCNovember 18, 2014
Opening & Closing, Efficient Cutting Practices
A high level of productivity required, and I enjoyed the challenges of meeting the requirements for the shop.
The staff were easy going and enjoyable to work with
Pros
l.e.a.d.s training
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUn, fastpaced workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONAugust 10, 2014
I had a great time working as receptionist. There were great staff and it was a very clean salon.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is nice place to work
Hair Stylist (Current Employee) –  North Vancouver, BCAugust 2, 2014
I learned to communicate with clients and costomer services
Pros
tip and bonous
Cons
permanent work
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for beginner stylists
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 30, 2013
- Lots of hair cutting experience
- Really push for stylists to finish haircuts in 14-17 mins
- It's a busy environment with walk-ins being the main clientele
Was this review helpful?Yes15No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my fun workplace is beautysalon
Hair Stylist (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BCSeptember 16, 2013
the most enjoyable part of job is, to make the clients happy with my own creativity in the hair cuts &i am really good in management .I prefer to get days of work wednesday,saturday & sunday. English is my second language if i wrote anything wrong

please forgive me

Thanks
Cons
part time
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace environment, fast paced and fun.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BCSeptember 9, 2013
I usually enjoyed going into work, meeting new people and hanging out with the coworkers, I learned how to work a touch screen register and how to have excellent customer service. My coworkers were great, everyone is very friendly there. The hardest part of the job was the slow days, hardest part was standing for eight hours with no chair.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Hairstylist/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 19, 2013
a day at work for me is a day at home , where you would welcome all your clients to come in and have a great time and experience and walk out with a smile , my co -workers were amazing everyone was there to help each other out .
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with this company has taught me alot and is a very rewarding job!!
Manager/Hair Dresser/Stylist (Former Employee) –  Courtenay, BCJuly 20, 2012
I worked with Great Clips for 7 yrs and was very happy at my job and treated with alot of respect and gratitude..
There is alot of room to grow and learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 893 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3