Find companies:
Great Clips
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
524 reviews

Great Clips Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to start out
Inventory, cashier and customer service (Former Employee), maple ridge, british columibaNovember 19, 2014
Pros: busy times.
Cons: (some locations managements) and some locations are slow
worked there for 2.5 years and had a great time with staff and clients, and getting to know every one who came through the door
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff, Enjoy the Customers, Comfotable
Stylist/Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Abbotsford, BCNovember 18, 2014
Pros: l.e.a.d.s training
Cons: non
Opening & Closing, Efficient Cutting Practices
A high level of productivity required, and I enjoyed the challenges of meeting the requirements for the shop.
The staff were easy going and enjoyable to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUn, fastpaced workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee), Ajax, ONAugust 10, 2014
I had a great time working as receptionist. There were great staff and it was a very clean salon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is nice place to work
Hair Stylist (Current Employee), North Vancouver, BCAugust 2, 2014
Pros: tip and bonous
Cons: permanent work
I learned to communicate with clients and costomer services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for beginner stylists
Stylist (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 30, 2013
- Lots of hair cutting experience
- Really push for stylists to finish haircuts in 14-17 mins
- It's a busy environment with walk-ins being the main clientele
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my fun workplace is beautysalon
Hair Stylist (Current Employee), Coquitlam, BCSeptember 16, 2013
Cons: part time
the most enjoyable part of job is, to make the clients happy with my own creativity in the hair cuts &i am really good in management .I prefer to get days of work wednesday,saturday & sunday. English is my second language if i wrote anything wrong

please forgive me

Thanks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace environment, fast paced and fun.
Receptionist (Former Employee), Maple Ridge, BCSeptember 9, 2013
I usually enjoyed going into work, meeting new people and hanging out with the coworkers, I learned how to work a touch screen register and how to have excellent customer service. My coworkers were great, everyone is very friendly there. The hardest part of the job was the slow days, hardest part was standing for eight hours with no chair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Hairstylist/Receptionist (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 19, 2013
a day at work for me is a day at home , where you would welcome all your clients to come in and have a great time and experience and walk out with a smile , my co -workers were amazing everyone was there to help each other out .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with this company has taught me alot and is a very rewarding job!!
Manager/Hair Dresser/Stylist (Former Employee), Courtenay, BCJuly 20, 2012
I worked with Great Clips for 7 yrs and was very happy at my job and treated with alot of respect and gratitude..
There is alot of room to grow and learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good starting salon
stylist (Former Employee), abbotsford bcFebruary 12, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: your a pawn for the company
if you want a wage not a commision based job this is it. Its a fast paced salon definatly geared for the young at heart.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great salon and excellent job training!
Hairstylist (Former Employee), Whitehall Township, PADecember 14, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, base pay plus tips, continuing education
Cons: lack of hours, no medical benefits, can only perform hair cuts and perms
Great Clips hired me right after I graduated from Cosmetology school and let me use my Temporary License to its fullest extent until I received my state license. Being hired right out of school, without any real world experience was such a great opportunity for me. Upon being hired, I quickly learned that working in an actual salon was completely different – more... from beauty school. I felt unprepared for the stylist position that was given to me, but my co-workers and manager helped me SO much with my confidence and my hair cutting abilities. In a typical work day, I could perform about 10 hair cuts which may not sound like a lot to some people, but for me, it was a huge accomplishment. I never would've been able to complete such a task without the guidance of my co-workers. The company offers continuing education as well. When I was first hired, I was sent to the Great Clips Hair Cutting Academy for a couple days worth of training. I absolutely loved it. On top of that, my co-workers would always work with me and try to teach me new techniques and styles. It was overall a really great learning experience and I'm so thankful for the opportunity to work for this company. The only downfall was that the company, like most salons, could not provide full-time hours or any employee benefits. I expected this going into the cosmetology field so I was not completely crushed by it, but still, it counts as a downfall in my opinion. The pay is to be expected. You get a base pay rate, plus whatever you make in tips which can vary every day. If you're looking for a company that will help you to grow as a stylist who specializes in hair cutting, this is the place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co workers were great
Stylist/Customer Service (Former Employee), sioux cityDecember 13, 2014
Pros: did alot of volunteer work
Cons: not enough hours during the winter
cut or permed hair

open and closed salon
bank runs
drawer count
sold products
answered phones
computer entries

Great Clips does alot of volunteering work for like the salvation army free haircuts for kids before school and fundraisers for certain organizations so that was alot of fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Normal, ILDecember 12, 2014
Good place to work. I have learned a lot by watching other girls. Great co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed independent work place
Receptionist (Former Employee), Manhattan, KSDecember 8, 2014
I loved working alone, It really tought me how to be self starting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with great group of girls just not the greatest team work
Stylist -2nd Assistant (key Holder) (Current Employee), Rapid City, SDDecember 5, 2014
Pros: product bonuses, productivity bonuses, good tips, we all get along
Cons: no health care benefits besides dental, no consequences, not the best pay, hard to make a living
A typical day at work is focused on my clients that sit down in my chair. I've learned a lot over this year working with this company. Such as new ways to do haircuts or different customer service ideas to help better customers. As far as my store goes my manager is very helpful and an amazing women to work with, My co-workers and I get along pretty – more... well and its a fun environment. I enjoy the clients that come in and the fact that a group of girls can get along like we do is a big plus. The hardest part of my job is that there is no consequences to anything that happens. For example if people call in or are late a lot nothing gets done about it. Another example is we have requirements we have to meet and when people don't meet those requirements nothing gets done. I.E, haircut times are a big deal so some of the girls aren't meeting those so there are a few of us that have to do double the work. Its hard to have a good team when there are people who don't really try. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay place to work
Receptionist (Former Employee), Coral Springs, FLDecember 4, 2014
Pros: comission with hair products you sell
Cons: hardly any breaks unpredictable schedule
the pay was good but the management was not great but I learned a lot of administrative duties like making appointments and cashing out costumers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Receptionist (Former Employee), Woodhaven, MIDecember 4, 2014
I loved working there it was a amazing experience. I learned a lot and a, grateful to the ladies i worked with for teaching me a lot of tips and tricks of the trade.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Haircuts all day long
Hairstylist/Cosmetologist (Former Employee), Columbus, OHDecember 4, 2014
You have a limited amount of time to work with the clients. Management was great. Just wasn't a job I saw myself staying at for a long period of time. Did numerous cuts daily. Co-workers were ok to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Busy place to work.
Stylist (Current Employee), Billings, MTDecember 3, 2014
A typical day a work would be at least 15 hair cuts. Lots of laughs and possibly meeting someone inspiring. I love the fact that i have the potential to meet and impact so many people. I learn something new each and every day. My manager is amazing and very understanding. My co workers have become like my second family and are very important to me. – more... The Hardest part of my job is when I cannot please a client and there are some people out there in no matter what you do you will never please them. the most enjoyable part would be the laid back environment and the amazing group of girls that I work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and rewarding
Stylist (Former Employee), Springboro, OHNovember 20, 2014
clean and fun environment. I like that the hrs. are flexible. I like the continuing education. I met a lot of great people and became friends with some. Everyone works as a team. I can not think of anything hard about this job.

1 2 3 4 5