Great Canadian Casinos

Great Canadian Casinos Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting since there were lots of guests internal nor external
Card Dealer (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BCMay 4, 2016
Day at work or should i say night work will always be fun, exciting and clueless afterwards. Fun meeting new guests; exciting wherein you'll find out which table and guests gonna win more or loose and who gonna tip you and not tip you and give rewards for your hardwork and for cheering them which one better; clueless since you don't know will happen later of your shift. If its busy or not and you will just stand on the table and keep n eye to your table for safety and security of your chips.
I've learned and I still keep on learning different language, how to deal and dealt more with a guests that has lots of money, how to control more and manage your patient and how to comfort and convince guests that are loosing more instead of winning. Management were helpful especially on schedule and table games. They were fair and there were equal treatment at all times. Co-workers were great. They will keep on teaching you and supporting you and motivate you until you'll be the one to do the same to the newly hired dealers or new comers in any Department. Hardest part of job was like repetitive job so sometimes injury will come along but then still you'll keep working for your family. Most enjoyable part over all is meeting different types of people from different countries and became good friends later on. The more you have friends the more you'll enjoy life and discovered new things from them and learned from each other.
Pros
good benefits and great food
Cons
long travel time
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, good benefits and salary. Work shifts are hard as I work night/graveyard shifts.
Surveillance Operator (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BCMarch 30, 2016
My work is a fun place to work at. We do a lot of multi-tasking, answering phones, radio calls, computer work, such as entering new data, checking on patron's information in order to authorize large money transactions, opening Incidents at Casino, checking on self-excluded patron status.
It is hard to have a good balance with life and work, as we work night/graveyard shifts for 10 hrs per night.
Pros
free breakfast, lunch and dinner. Good health benefits.
Cons
Long hours. Graveyard shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better if changes were made.
Cook 1 (Former Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BCMarch 19, 2016
Not the greatest place to work. The managers in f&b hide through out the day. They can be hard to find, so staff is left poorly managed. Many people are unhappy with their job and talk about leaving all the time.
They hire bodies, some staff whom don't have experience leave those with experience to work 2 to 3 times harder in a given day.
Cons
Poorly managed /most staff hate their job
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive, Friendly Team Atmosphere
Assistant Food & Beverage Manager (Current Employee) –  ChilliwackOctober 21, 2015
From day one working for this company I felt welcomed, appreciated, and supported from everyone there. This feeling has only increased with time. The more I learn about the company values, policies and benefits, the more sure I am that this company cares about both it's employees and guests. There are great medical benefits, profit sharing, and employee recognition programs. The company is active in many charities, and encourages their employees to be involved as well, which adds to the atmosphere of caring. Most people working in this location are friendly, positive and helpful; all working as a team. I have never before in my life enjoyed going to work as much as I do here. I work in the restaurant (the Well), and it is such a welcome change to be serving food of a high quality for a reasonable price. It makes customer service so much easier when you are proud of what you are selling, and when your company stands by your level of service, which this one does. I hope to be with this company for a very long time, and would strongly encourage hardworking, friendly, helpful people to join this team. You won't regret it!
Pros
Great benefits, promotion from within, employee recognition programs
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Canadian Casino
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BCAugust 9, 2015
It is quiet a well paying job because of the tips you make on top of your wage. All the dealers pool there tips for an hourly wage which ends up working out to about $20 an hour. The hardest part of the job is the standing and the hours because the casino is open 24hr/365 days a year.
Was this review helpful?Yes26No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recomended as an empoyer at Dawson Creek
security officer (Current Employee) –  Dawson Creek, BCOctober 30, 2014
The company has a terrible time keeping staff. Its really disheartening to work with cowokers who all want to leave. the only way to make money in this place is to work the gaming floor which is riddled with long hours, no overtime and no happy employees. The security job starts $14.65 an hour while 80 kms away the same job in FSJ makes $17 an hour to start but is run by a different company. they have benefits but they have been getting smaller and smaller as years go by. You cant blame the management of the site for low pay job but some of the penny pinching is too much. I do NOT recommend this employer unless you get into gaming. Also the other company's Pay for the GPEB application which requires a passport photo. $70.00
Pros
friendly coworkers, paychecks have not bounced
Cons
no overtime, long days, not enough pay for the northern living
Was this review helpful?Yes39No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superior core values and a great stepping stone.
Security Officer, River Rock Casino resort (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BCDecember 20, 2012
I don't like casinos and don't gamble, yet for a year I had enjoyed an extraordinary experience on a professional and personal level. As a security officer I had the pleasure of sensing comradery and teamwork (resembling my military service). From my supervisors and managers I received objective support and guidance in times of need. Great Canadian Casinos and River Rock Casino in particular believe that hard work and dedication deserve rewarding and truly know how to utilize the unique sets of skills accumulated by its professionals.
If you're honest, trustworthy and customer service oriented you probably will find a home there for a long time. Having said that RRCR is a demanding, competitive (and fun) work environment, most of the people have high work ethics and take pride in their jobs, if you don't take your work seriously you might have a rough time making friends. If your applying for a job with Security bear in mind this is NOT your regular security gig, be prepared to resolve problems with diplomacy...
Hope you enjoy your experience as much as I did.
Pros
3 meals a day, great benifits, good pay and rewarding work environment
Cons
long hours, fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes57No54
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, with good benefits, great interaction with guests.
Guest Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BCNovember 30, 2012
Fun place to work. Lots of Guests, with different needs to fulfill. Explain current promotions, get guests excited about their participation in promotions, up date points cards, encourage sign up of said card. Telephone reception which includes transfering calls to other departments, explaining promotions, and any information caller may need regarding casino, the address and how to drive to our location. Interaction with guest is the most enjoyable part of my day, Great supportive co-workers, I have learned to do my job very well and be a souce of help to both guests and co-workers. The most difficult part of my job is working different times of any day. eg: one day I could work a day shift and another day I could work evenings or even graveyard. But generally I have adapted but would like more consistency in this regard/
Pros
benefits, profit sharing
Cons
scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes30No32
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting, fast paced competitive environment.
Slot Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BCAugust 27, 2012
A good company that provided opportunity to advance and improve ones skill set.
Was this review helpful?Yes28No42

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture