Great American Insurance Employee Reviews

Showing all 24 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly workplace environment
Receptionist/Administrative (Former Employee) –  PromenadeJune 27, 2016
This is a temporary position as I am covering as relief for a staff on long leave. The environment here is perfect with great views, nicely setup new office premises and nice friendly colleagues. Work station and work area, board room and all documentation is very organised and systematic. It is not difficult for me to take over the duties and not to disrupt the flow of work.

I've learn how to use a franking machine and their systematic paper work system. Communication skills with all level as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive culture
Claim Director (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 7, 2016
Great American specializes in niche products and my years with the company has exposed me to a culture of creative marketing and a global reach. The organization strongly supports a good work life balance. While I have experienced professional growth, including 2 promotions, I am interested in returning to my home base location and that is simply not feasible with this employer. I work with a great team; including managers, peers; direct reports.
Pros
Positive culture
Cons
Average benefit pkg
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate peacoks
Corporate Underwriter Trainee (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHSeptember 16, 2015
The culture is great and wonderful IF you fit in. Employees are judged by their appearance, demeanor etc. you get the picture. Most people are hired into the company because they know someone their or they have a family member there.

Always smile, don't speak about controversial topics and collect your paycheck.
Pros
Work Life Balance
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Intern with a lot of projects
Intern, Specialty Human Services Business Unit (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHAugust 13, 2015
Great American was such a fun place to work as an intern. There were many luncheons I had the opportunity to attend, and many projects. I worked with another intern over the summer of 2013 and this was my first professional experience. I worked in a gorgeous office, and all my co-workers were very friendly and appreciative of my work! I got to dabble with marketing, audits, sales calls, and more.
Pros
Beautiful office, friendly co-workers, great pay, many different projects
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the work and co-workers
Accountant II (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 14, 2015
I enjoyed my co-workers. All were helpful and became life long friends with most.

Manager was a micro-manager and none of the co-workers could stand it. We knew what we were doing, so stop looking over our shoulder all the time. Very stressful.
Pros
Great Environment
Cons
Terrible Supervisor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Contracting Specialist (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 8, 2015
I worked for Great American for 13 years I really enjoyed working for them. I loved the people in the company. They have a wide range of wellness options for people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall place to work
File Clerk (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXJanuary 7, 2015
I was a file clerk and got my start into the adult world workplace. It was a great opportunity and everyone there was very professional and sincere. They all helped me when learning my position. The company even paid for me to get my GED to be able to become fulltime!
Pros
overall awesome
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for a huge company that was family oriented
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHDecember 27, 2014
Called insurance agents to confirm that our client was carrying auto coverage and the correct amounts.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!!!
Insurance Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Jonesboro, ARDecember 9, 2014
The people at Great American are a great group to work with!!! I always enjoyed my work with this company. They made it easy to learn and thrive in this job field. They were always willing to help when needed. I could always count on my supervisor to be there if I had an issue with anything.
Pros
flexible schedule, every day is an adventure, never stuck in a rut.
Cons
no insurance bebefits for part time, not many full time positions available.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Claims Underwriting Analyst Trainee (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILNovember 19, 2014
Methodist is a great place to work. While working for this company, I learned that team work is important in the workplace and have carried that trait thru my career.
Pros
great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Investment Accountant (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 22, 2014
Offers great benefits. Has a wide variety of resources available to employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very large insurance company. Great to learn a new industry.
Statistical Analyst II (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 2, 2014
Taking a break from accounting led me to Great American Insurance. It was great to learn about a new industry. Culture was very good.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work.
Senior System Administrator, Messaging Team (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 2, 2014
I was always busy whether working on a project task and correcting a problem. I learned quite a bit while working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
took inbound insurance calls
Customer/Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 9, 2013
handled policy questions
inbound customer calls about policy
Pros
great pay
Cons
co was down sizing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the job.
Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSJuly 22, 2013
Great people and wonderful support and continued education.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a lot of room for advancement
Work (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 19, 2013
The culture is fine, and the people are great, but promotions seem to go to those who have tenure.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Lead backup (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 1, 2013
Busy; customer service; understand some insureds; enjoy working with co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Atmosphere
Agribusiness Intern (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 31, 2013
Loved the people I worked for and with and learned so much. The atmosphere was relaxed and non-judgement, and very comfortable. The hardest part about the work was not understanding all the terms and hearing them consistently.
Pros
paid internship
Cons
doing same thing most of the week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy workplace
Office Clerk Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHFebruary 16, 2013
Was very bus,y work was repetitive. low key environment,
the most enjoyable part of this job was knowing the customer was satisfied with the output of work that we completed for them on a daily basis.
Pros
the incentives
Cons
not feeling appreciated by management for your works efforts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked the room for advancement
Claims Technician (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OhioJanuary 12, 2013
Used Systems Pro, FoxPro, and I360 to reference individual claims

Back scanned files for paperless EFC system

Assigned loss claims to adjusters, and handled glass and deductible buyback claims
Pros
everything
Cons
that i had to leave to be closer to home
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.0
Culture
4.3