Find companies:
Graybar Electric Company, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
95 reviews

Graybar Electric Company, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding workplace
Quotation Specialist (Former Employee), Portland, ORFebruary 21, 2014
Management problems in understanding needs of employees on the upper levels. I have always been friendly and helpful to my co-workers. The hardest part of my job was not able to give services
that I know my customers needed due to management regulations. I really enjoy meeting customers, architects, engineers, contractors and designer in all fields. – more... I have a very solid relationship with them and I am well known and repected in this community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A stable work environment
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Norcross, GAFebruary 20, 2014
Graybar is a long established company with a proven track record in grow and stability
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get your feet wet.
Finance (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 18, 2014
Great co-workers.
Wide variety of management techniques.
Chance to build relationships with people all around the country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros and Cons
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Columbus, OHFebruary 18, 2014
Great company with exceptional benefits. Position was stressful, but also provided employees with freedom. Managers would tend to micro manage. I did not see much career advancement within our department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Fresno CaJanuary 31, 2014
I enjoyed working at Graybar it was the best Job I have ever had !
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They take care of there employees
Warehouse / Driver I (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: they buy lunch from time to time
Cons: nepotisem
Good place to work.Advancement seemed to go to those related to other employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A sense of famiy.
Assistant Branch Administrator (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: job stability
Cons: i would have enjoyed staying at this company
Always a good time. Never a dull moment. Bring trained to do other job tasks was perfect. Being able to multitask was great. Developing a sense of friendship with repeat vendors and customers felt great. I wanted to go to work every day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee), Denver, COJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: benefits and hours
Cons: management
Always busy, there is no time to stand around. Learned how a warehouse operates and how to make it more efficient. Management were a little bipolar and thee co-workers were great. Dealing with management was difficult but in the end it wasn't too bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace
Warehouse Specialist/Material Handler (Former Employee), El Paso, TXJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: ok schedule
Cons: unpredictable/ lots of back staving/low pay
El Paso Graybar, is all about production, management does not care about the needs of employees and they do not support Veterans.

I can say that other Graybar locations are great places to work but not El Paso Graybar.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a place to work
Accounting Services Representative (Former Employee), Bel-Ridge, MOJanuary 2, 2014
A typical day at work was sitting in front of a computer all day. I didn't learn much. Management only treated the people they liked right. The most enjoyable part of the job was leaving at the end of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co-workers, fun customer base.
Outside Sales (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: great benefits, good job security.
Cons: not enough team support for comm/data.
Main function of position was to build comm/data sales through an assigned territory. Average day was heavy phone calls both in office and on cell phone. More time was always needed to spend with customers out in the field on job walks or site visits. I learned a great deal about relying on others to help close sales from beginning to end. Truly enjoyed – more... working a project for a specified amount of time and closing the deal. Was frustrated when parts of the in-house team broke down and caused loss of sales. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Orlando, FLDecember 11, 2013
Pros: great co-workers, some talented and supportive managers, employee owned means private stock options, great vacation plan
Cons: inconsistent management, employee owned means promote from within which often leads to nepotism in hiring and promotions, reluctance to acknowledge competitors, struggles between one-size-fits-all nationwide inventory/regional and local inventory preferences, reinventing the wheel problem solving
Graybar Electric is a good company overall. They strive to be progressive. However, there is plenty of old-guard sprinkled throughout the company to thwart real change. You can always tell when a high-placed manager reads a new business book and uses the company as a controlled experiment.

Plenty of "golden-boys" that get on the fast track for promotion. – more... Tacit agreement to tow the line to remain in the good graces of surrogates keeps everyone in line. However, there are some very talented people and co-workers in this company. The work-life balance is pretty good and the vacation benefits are fantastic. Compensation (including bonuses) seems to run lower than the competitors.

The company is more logistics than sales focused which can drive a sales rep bonkers in competitive bid situations. Stingy credit lines for customers (even in good times), and the financial manager (FM) seems to have the real power and has a lot of latitude on granting credit based on "how they feel about the customer".

One interesting conversation I had with an FM was when he told me he met with our competitors FMs for breakfast each week to discuss accounts. He heavily weighted these breakfast meetings in his decision to extend credit to our customers. (I guess he never thought that our competition might "play" him for a stooge?) Graybar has massive corporate expenses and a lot of "specialists" (affectionately called by field personnel as: "corporate expense"). This corporate expense is fed by overinflated board costs and negotiated cost recoveries with vendors. The result is that corporate gets fed and the field suffers from not being competitive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ok company to work for
Warehouse Leader (Former Employee), Lafayette, INNovember 23, 2013
Pros: good hours and vacation time
Cons: co-workers
Very high in demand job alot of responsibility. Manager was not a good person and the other co-worker was extremely lazy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strong organized company.
Shipping and receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Cranbury, NJNovember 13, 2013
Pros: great health care, good retirement benefits. great warehouse equiptment
Cons: sometimes we would enter the busy season and we had so much work the trucks would go out late.
Graybar was very organized company and had a system for everything. A typical day at work would be getting orders at the order table and selecting them. This could require obtaining hundreds of pipe or hundreds of thousand of feet of wire which would require calling up a special carrier. Or if I was packing I would Pack the material up and place it – more... in the corresponding palitainor. If I was working LTL trucking I would select the orders, pack them up and schedule a pick-up from certain trucking freight carriers. I learned how a well organized warehouse works. The management was awesome, they knew the company well and provided excellent training. The hardest part of the job was getting the large pipe which would be stored up to 35 feet high on shelves, it was time consuming and would sometimes require two employees. The most enjoyable part of the job was making new friends, the employees there were very friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremly laid back , fun work environment
Shipping/Receiving Clerk/Delivery driver (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKOctober 21, 2013
We would take care of daily incoming and outgoing freight and deliveries along with other duties. Was a goo place to work , pay was ok , was laid off shortly after 9/11/01. Which at that time period many companies had to cut back do to lack of business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 17, 2013
Excellent pay. Good management. Great opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Material Handler/Forklift Operator,warehouse lead (Former Employee), Tacoma, WASeptember 30, 2013
good training clean,nice workplace.Good benefits and stock options
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Financially stable company with Good retirement benefits
Project Manager (Current Employee), Omaha, NESeptember 26, 2013
Graybar is a fun and fast-paced working environment that changes and challenges you daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Material Handler (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: great work environment
Cons: dependent upon the construction business.
Graybar was one of the best companies I had a chance to work for. I only lost my job there because of the stock market crash and the major crashes in the economy. If things had picked back up there, I could have had my job back and I would have taken it. Most of the people there were great to work with; especially my co-workers in the warehouse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trying to paddle upstream with only one oar.
Pricing Specialist/Data Analyst (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: one hour for lunch and cubicles and 15 minute breaks (one in the am & pm) and i have a job.
Cons: little to no training; others take recognition for your work b/c we are a team.
A typical day at work is overwhelming because we are working more than one person's positions. It's like a smorgasbord of jobs and only be able to do them decently b/c everything needs to be done yesterday.

The hardest part of my job is not having the training/resources that I need to DO my job. To work more than one job position and feeling overwhelmed, – more... but everyone else is just as overwhelmed, so they can't really help you either. To receive praise (lip service) but not any incentives - pay increase. To have issues/complaints falling on deaf ears. When we don't have the resources to complete a job request, management is promising customers that it can be done - no problem. Of being told to "be patient and good things will come your way" (promotions) and it doesn't get any better.

The most enjoyable part of my job is learning about myself and what I am capable of when there is "a light at the end of the tunnel" when something is accomplished/learned. I enjoy working with my co-workers. We are each others' listening ear in a stressful situation.

This is my overall experience, not just certain people here and there.
While I've been there, I've learned how to motivate and train and help people. How not to take things too seriously nor too personally, but still give 100% and do the best I can. How to treat people with respect no matter what position or who they are. – less

About Graybar Electric Company, Inc.

There's no gray area when it comes to¬†Graybar Electric: it's one of the largest distributors of electrical products in the US.¬†The – Read more

Graybar Electric Company, Inc. Photos