GRANT MACEWAN UNIVERSITY Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Full-time Student (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 28, 2016
Love the university! Great place to learn and grow as a student.
I enjoy the work environment, it's calm and engaging.
I am a student and it's a good school. What more can I say?
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooperative and best employment culture
Sr. Business Intelligence Analyst (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 28, 2015
Lots of training opportunities.
Very Co-operative Management.
Less pressure.
High salary, benefits and pension plan
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Research Assistant Experience I could have hoped for
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  City Centre CampusMarch 23, 2013
This was a fairly informal job position. Essentially I had to directly work for a professor, recruit summer students for interviews, then conduct, record, and transcribe the interviews.
There were other students also working, but we rarely needed to interact, and when we did it was usually via email.
Hardest part was time management as I had a high level of discretion with this job. Another difficult aspect was learning to transcribe interviews quickly, but it was a VERY good experience.
Most enjoyable personally was being able to work from home (when transcribing) and working with students in a face-to-face context.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is gymnasuim, it is very nice, because it helps inreducing stress.
MacEwan Ambassador (Volunteer) (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 18, 2013
A typical day at work, was when I was asked to do a public speaking without pre- notice. It was a challenging, but I nailed it by rendering a powerful and educative speech. I learned to be always prepared, know much about your job and be willing to uphold your company at any time any day. The hardest part of the job, was the time management. I was a full time student with full school work load. It is not easy to manage the both. The most enjoyable part of the job was the 5 mintues impromptu speech with your colleagues.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience in working with faculty
Instructional Designer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, Alberta, CanadaJuly 7, 2014
I've had great experience working with faculty of all backgrounds in designing and developing online courses and advising faculty on pedagogy and technology in teaching and learning. Had great work relationship with people I worked with here.Left the college for US job opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, artistic culture.
Print Centre Attendant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 14, 2014
- The time I spent employed GMU was an excellent way for me to mange my school curiculum and learn how to better teach and learn from others. The job being only a temporary one during the school term I was asked to come back again and again. It was an excellent oppourtunity that I am grateful for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving Sports Photography!
Photographer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 2, 2014
Working with this company has been an excellent experience.
They allow me to photograph freely throughout the game. Everything can also be used on my personal website.
Pros
really fun! also, personal exposure.
Cons
not many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual job Faculty of Health Department
administrtion - conference department (Former Employee) –  EdmontonAugust 28, 2012
Wrking in the conference department, organizing and hosting 3 major conference held by the University.
Pros
meeting people
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Researcher/Writer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 3, 2014
This was a short-term contract. As a contractor I was treated with respect and supported to get the project completed on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Voting Clerk
Elections Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 23, 2014
Great Place to get employed. Only worked a short period as it was a temporary job, Great management and got along with my co workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Interesting position with an amazing boss.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJanuary 3, 2013
It is a wonderful place to work. There is a great life work balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport

Overall rating

4.8
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.9
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
4.9
Culture
4.9

GRANT MACEWAN UNIVERSITY Reviews by Location