Granite Services International Employee Reviews

Showing all 47 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace with a lot of team work.
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Bonifacio Global City, TaguigFebruary 10, 2016
A typical day at work is you get to do your work based on your own time management with minimal supervising.

I learned much about Integrity whilst working in Granite.

The management gives opportunities to work abroad or travel for those who excel at work.

The hardest part of the job is during peak season because you want everything to be finished before the actual deadline for a certain project. As well as the regional billing closing because you have to troubleshoot errors and assist several departments.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the teamwork and the "bonds" during and after work.
Pros
Free Rice, Free shuttle service
Cons
Promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-Learn new productivity tool for skill upgrading .
Mechanical Technician (Current Employee) –  KuchingMay 30, 2016
-Every task can learns all type of Ge Gas Turbine and work with different country.
-Learn new thing and skill from another person for skill upgrading.
-The hard work ethic for each task.
-Bring good relationship with co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun in work place
Mechanical Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Gurgaon, HaryanaApril 29, 2016
Its really very nice with working granite. I have learnt so many thing things from there. People are moving friendly. management treating like a friend and intimate to go assignments.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long time hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had more learning and improved my skills as a buyer
Buyer (Current Employee) –  Manila, PhilippinesApril 18, 2016
Granite is a fair-employment company that is not only focusing on the achievement of the revenues generated but the company cares for the safety of its employees and considering it a top priority.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i like hard work i like granite management i like cowork
overhead crane operator (Former Employee) –  saudia kuwait muscat indiaApril 7, 2016
always i am happy on good permance i work in granite in saueia arabia kuwait muscat and india the most enjoyable part of the job
Pros
good
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice working place with friendly environment
Oracle ERP Lead Consultant (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJune 13, 2016
working at Granite Services is a great experience, it has nice working environment with friendly management. i learned a lot from this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company to work for
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 25, 2016
Advancement opportunities, fun company to work for. Very employee oriented. Good benefits. Education opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New challenges everyday
HR Generalist (Former Employee) –  AlmatySeptember 13, 2015
Big and strong company with a network of offices around the world. It accounted work closely with England, Italy, Turkey, Russia, Hungary, India and Philippine. Valuable experience formation of international groups. Strong polices of data protection and the life safety.
Pros
The opportunity to gain experience in an international corporation
Cons
During major inspection working in stress regime
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Traveling Wind Turbine Technician (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 6, 2015
Travel technician in power generation. Inspection and repair of components. Safe working environment. Employer is concerned with employee welfare
Pros
Compensation, Safety, Advancement and Training
Cons
Travel
Was this review helpful?Yes20No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mechanical Assistant
Millwright (Current Employee) –  TexasDecember 14, 2014
A typical day as a traveling mechanical assistant begins at 7am and ends at 7pm. Work is continuous but very worthwhile if you are looking to learn the business and progress to other positions within in the company or to another company. Sometimes management in the office response time is lagging if they respond at all. Co workers are very knowledgeable, some are more patient than others. the hardest part of the job is the tight spaces you have to climb in. the most enjoyable part of the job is when the job is finished.
Pros
great compensation. opportunity to learn and progress
Cons
short breaks. tight places to work
Was this review helpful?Yes30No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Installation and Commissioning/Field Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLSeptember 16, 2014
Gained vast knowledge of power plant operation and construction in a fast pace dead line driven environment. Manage day to day operations including EHS compliance report writing drawing review. Collaboration between engineers, client, contractors and suppliers. This job required 98% travel for long periods of time away from home. Satisfaction was to see the completion of the power plant and the operation success.
Pros
benefits
Cons
stability of a contractor
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no security
CRD exchange Technician (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCMay 12, 2014
got fired based on bad reviews given by managers i had never worked with.
i got a low review during a training week despite being the only person to ace the written and passing the practical with a hung over partner. their reason; i didnt look like i was paying attention...

that about sums up my experience with them, no sense but if they like you then you will go places.
Pros
decent pay, they support you on the road and will repay nearly any expense
Cons
no telling what they think of you till you get promoted or fired
Was this review helpful?Yes23No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent for learning opperation of wind turbine
Wind Electrical Field Technician (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 24, 2014
Responsible for the repair, maintenance, retro fit and troubleshooting of 1.5 GE. WTG’s (Wind Turbine Generators). Duties includes troubleshooting various systems in the WTG such as: The pitch systems (SSB and Salem pitch). Electrical Systems ( 575v, 400v, 240v, 24v). Battery charging systems and safety chain.
Also mechanical system, includes brakes and yaw drives, removal, replacement, and reparation of all electrical and mechanical systems. Able to commission and shutdown towers.
Pros
travel
Cons
travel
Was this review helpful?Yes13No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Granite is an excellent company to work for and I have enjoyed it and knowing the people who make it such a great company.
Prod.Safety&Life Cycle Reliability Eng.(PS & LCRE) (Current Employee) –  Greenville, SCSeptember 1, 2012
Granite is an excellent company for anyone to work for. I am only seeking new employment now due to a PSA contract change in which Granite will no longer participate. With a seniority of almost 18 years, I can not say a disparaging word against anyone I have had the pleasure of meeting while employed by Granite on either a professional or personal level.
Pros
great company, flexibility, pay, benefits, good people
Cons
contract work
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Field Services Technician/Technical Advisor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 16, 2012
12 hours shift on oil rig out to sea. Very high tech environment there is alot to learn. Very knowledgeble about the business and co-workers are hard worker as well. To learning all there is to learn about the job. The ability to travel.
Pros
traveling to other countries, learning about the lastest high tech equipment.
Cons
being three months away for your family.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A mistake
Control Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TexasFebruary 4, 2014
This was a contracting position with ExxonMobil. At ExxonMobil, at least in the division I was assigned to (high Throughput is what they called themselves) if you are a contractor, you are treated as less than a person. This culture was terrible. Additionally, Granite Management was non-existent. There was a plethora of issues within the ExxonMobil folks that if human resources found out about, that entire division would be scrubbed clean. Additionally, that particular division, from the ExxonMobil side, had terrible management practices. I don't think anybody their had greater than vocational level of school. This is good if you want work to be performed; but the person directing the work needs to have skills at managing!
Pros
the money was decent
Cons
poor resource management; worked with people that had low skill levels
Was this review helpful?Yes17No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for establishing a name in the industry
Commissioning (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJune 9, 2014
Work is here and there. Management are basically figure heads as GE tells them everything they need to do. They do hire "off the street" so you get people like BW. Advancement is reserved for the good ol' boys. Pay is near the top of the industry. You will work 60 hours and put in 15 hours a week in unpaid drive time.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay
Wind Turbine Technician and Installation Manger (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLMarch 6, 2015
Great pay. No home life. No room for advancement. Constant travel. No set off time. Laid off every year but always called back.
Pros
pay
Cons
home life
Was this review helpful?Yes38No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salaried Position
Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  USAFebruary 8, 2014
Granite Services is a subsidary of General Electric Corporation. Granite is the non-union side of GE. The hardest part of this job was getting the craft mangement to understand that safety should be the most important tool the craft uses.
Pros
time off
Cons
craft supervision not buying into a safety culture
Was this review helpful?Yes7No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Field Service Representative (Current Employee) –  United StatesMarch 19, 2013
While I have only worked here less than two years, I have found it to be a fun job that I really enjoy. The travel is nice, and they really try to take care of you. The job itself is rewarding since I enjoy working with my hands striving towards a finished product.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 47 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture