Grand and Toy Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABOctober 18, 2015
My day here included answering incoming and making out going calls to customer. I placed orders, tracked orders, created new accounts and answered emails on a daily basis.
Pros
fast pace environment
Cons
terrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massive cuts, no retail stores anymore
Shipping and sales (Former Employee) –  Ft mcMurrayOctober 9, 2015
Really, my dad ran this store when i worked at it, and it acted like an independent store at the time, so I can't reasonably rate the corp.
The company keeps changing CEOs and parent corps, so, it looks like it migh tbe going under. Its kind of an antiquated business type and offers poor customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
ACCOUNTS PAYABLE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 12, 2015
great place to work, if I did not relocate would still work there. Great work life balance. Great learning environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMay 20, 2015
A typical day would consist of answering customer calls

I learned that they are very customer care oriented which I liked

Management was excellent

co- workers were excellent

there was no hard part

the most enjoyable part would have to be how great of a working environment it was.
Pros
the occassional bake sale
Cons
working area but it was renavated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was busy work place.
Accounts Rep. (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 10, 2015
It was a good experience. Reconciliations throughout the months-preparing of journal entries for all Grand & Toy stores in Canada.
Did some Impress accounts for the company. Management was mot too bad. Friendly atmosphere. I find no hardest part of any jobs.
My stay was an enjoyable one.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional,Challenging,open to new processes and good communication with colleagues.
Sr. Financial Analyst (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 19, 2014
Deadline oriented.Assisting co works to meet deadlines.
How to resolve issues dealing with different people.
Work as a team brainstorming to resolve issues when needed.
Getting information last minute fore deadline.
The challenges and problem solving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical fast food
Crew Chief (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, ABJuly 7, 2014
Standard fast food job environment. I did enjoy working for the franchise owners, they took good care of their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Downtown, easy for me to get there from school
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONApril 23, 2014
no overnight shifts, closed during the weekend.
i just helped customers find their office needs.
Order products for them either online or from the warehouse.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy as hell
Print Center Lead (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 2, 2014
it was very busy during the transition from retail chain to business center
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
labourer (Former Employee) –  seal winnipegDecember 13, 2013
grand and toy had a good family system in place however lack of organization in the warehouse limits efficiency
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opening and closing for the store
Senior Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 8, 2013
Handle customer order over the phone and provide quick and appropriate customer service. Answering questons from staff and customer concerns.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a Job
Employee (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONNovember 5, 2013
It was nothing special really. A boring but stable place to work. Managers were not very inventive, there wasnt a lot of room for fun or creativity. It paid the bills but was not challenging, there was not a lot of growth in the business.
Pros
stable, good hours
Cons
poor culture, poor advancement, boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BCJuly 2, 2013
Worked with a great group of individuals who were very knowledgeable with the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a Distribution Center and it has a Union
Shipper (Current Employee) –  VaughanDecember 7, 2012
There is no room for improvement. This is a unionized warehouse therefore I am stuck in an enviornment just to pay my bills but cannot make this my future. Job security depends on seniority basis and people are being bumped from their job positions to another or out of the door and this causes best friends to be enemies. In a warehouse a person will be doing heavy lifting and can get a back injury easily and this will stay with you forever as I saw with some of my co-workers. This is a very good place for someone who do not want to improve and move foreward.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace, great co-workers
Warehouse Duties / 5 Ton Truck Driver / Helper (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, OntarioJuly 28, 2012
Had the chance to do warehouse work including assembly of furniture for deliveries..worked as 5 Ton delivery driver soon after hiring... Worked side by side with a driver who had been there 10 years previous. Responsible for setting up our deliveries for the day / week.... Enjoyed meeting new costumers as well as our regulars...
Pros
able to set up our own schedule for deliveries....
Cons
some hard, heavy lifting at times required
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Call Centre Customer Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 31, 2012
It is a busy environment to work in. People and culture is great, there are always things happening and a fun place to work in.
Pros
mon - fri, all stats off - work.home balance
Cons
opportunities to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
2.8
Culture
3.6