GRAND RIVER HOSPITAL Employee Reviews

Found 29 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hours and Great People
Patient Registration Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ONFebruary 4, 2016
I loved completing my placement at Patient Registration, GRH. Everyday I would come in contact with new, interesting people and hear their stories, which I enjoyed fully. The work is very fast paced, which is an environment I thrive in. I love the people I worked with as well.

An aspect of the job I didn't enjoy was the fact it was unionized because I feel like since advancement is based on seniority, employees do not get recognized for their hard work and dedication, only for the hours they put in. That being said, I would not completely exclude the possibility of a unionized position.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative Work Environment putting patients needs above all
Clinical Secretary (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONJanuary 21, 2016
Everyday can be different as far as work load however quality of care provided to patients is always exceptional. A supportive environment to work in. Management is very approachable. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing what you do has a direct and positive impact on the most vulnerable of people, children.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
IT Professional (Current Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ONJanuary 20, 2016
Excellent place to work.
I've enjoyed working to solve issues and come up with new ways to do thing better with new motivation.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Schedular (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONNovember 29, 2015
I have enjoyed working at. Grand River Hospital as an RPN as well as a scheduler but I want to retire and am looking for part time work else where to top up my pension.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management ever
Clinical Secretary (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONNovember 17, 2015
This may be specific to the particular department I worked in, but miscommunication and backstabbing was so abundant .... i'm literally still in disbelief.
Bottom line: I think GRH has gone the way of the corporation, ie too big for its own good. It's faceless and inefficient.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Part Time MRT. Areas (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONOctober 23, 2015
Great place to work servicing Kitchener-Waterloo. The staff are great to work with! Lots of services offered within the hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe workloads. Bullish administration. Non-existent union. Keep away.
RN (Current Employee) –  Grand River HospitalOctober 22, 2015
Very budget oriented administration and management. All they care about is money. Many units work unsafe due to the workload. Sick calls not replaced. People are burned out, constantly forced to work sort. Administration is bullish. Union non-existent and pocketed by the administration. I feel the only thing that keeps me at work is my coworkers. Keep away, if possible.
Pros
Good coworkers
Cons
unsafe workloads. Bullish administration. Non-existent union
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Hospital
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, OntarioOctober 17, 2015
The best part about this job is knowing that at the end of the day, all the hard work you put in may have helped at least one person.
Pros
social club benifits
Cons
very loud
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company to have my placement at
Student (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONOctober 7, 2015
A typical day at Grand River Hospital Consists of answering the phone lines and processing requests of patient information to either the patient themselves, Doctors office's, Other hospitals or people within the circle of care of a patient and following the privacy act while completing these tasks.

I have learned how to use a few computer programs within our department (WinRecs), filing patient charts, signing out patient charts to different floors upon admission, assembling charts, QA charts, and who has rights to patients files according to HIPA and PHIPA.

My manager within my department has such a positive attitude and is always willing to listen and help fix any issues you have, she is a very good role model and boss to the employee's within this department and I'm so pleased to have had her as my manager during my placement for college. She was never negative to me or any employee within the time frame I was there which I though was outstanding.

My co workers always made me feel apart of there team and never made me feel left out, always willing to show me new things and I'm sure they learned some stuff from me as well.

the hardest part of this job was knowing what the privacy act allows you to send to doctor/hospitals and patients

Most enjoyable part of the job was working with such amazing people and learning many different roles within the department. I learned so many new things that I would have never thought happen within this department and I am glad I am going to walk away from here with some new knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Day Surgery Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONJune 1, 2015
Staff goes above and beyond to help patients. Volunteers are appreciated. Current updates to the hospital shows that they want to make things as easy as possible for patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual dress and for the most part fun!
Accounting Clerk 6 (Former Employee) –  Patient AccountsMarch 18, 2015
Had a variety of additional extra duties on my desk (11) on top of my own job.

The day was always extremely busy but a good busy! I learned accounting practices and Ministry of Health practices as well.

Management was good, hard job to do with the financial cutbacks from the province.

The hardest part of my job because it was one of the most time-consuming, was the MOH upload.

The most enjoyable part was coming in to work 5 days a week to the same people and enjoying my time with them even in a very busy environment.
Pros
enjoyed my job
Cons
extremely short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I need more opporntunity
Medical Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee) –  Student PositionJanuary 14, 2015
This Hospital as well as many others are going through a automation process where by they will be letting go and ceasing hours, so with me just getting hired last october, I stand no chance for advancement, which is sad
Pros
experience
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating and demoralizing
Part-Time Clerk - Health Information Management (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONOctober 14, 2014
Unfortunate work environment, needs strong and supportive management, needs improved schedule, more focus on retention in the department
Pros
able to build seniority within the union
Cons
uncertain hours and difficulties with scheduling department, competition for hours creates friction, low morale and unhappy staff
Was this review helpful?Yes20No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, great staff and environment
Associate Vice President (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, OntarioOctober 3, 2014
Strong focus on patient care and quality whilst also attention to staff satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No16
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work for those who do not mind shift work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONSeptember 29, 2014
I am happy with my current job but feel it is time to move on as the night shifts were effecting my health. Otherwise I have nothing but good things to say about Grand River Hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, great staff and environment
Department Secretary (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONAugust 20, 2014
The atmosphere in the unit where I work is great. It's a pretty laid back environment and everyone is very friendly. Working at a job like mine makes it easy to want to come to work everyday. There is no stress and going home at the end of day without any stress is a very positive thing. The hardest part about this job is that my contract is coming to an end very soon and it's difficult to obtain a full time permanent job due to the number of people applying for jobs and also it's a union job so therefore seniority rules have to be followed.

I love, love, love the job here and I am hoping that someday I will be a full-time employee of Grand River Hospital.
Pros
day shift hours of 8:30 - 4:30 are wonderful!
Cons
hard to obtain a full time permanent position
Was this review helpful?Yes8No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, great people that I worked with
Clinical Secretary (Current Employee) –  kitchener ONJuly 23, 2014
Days at work were usually very busy and on the go, there was always something that needed to be done. I enjoyed working at Grand River Hospital because I was able to utilize a lot of the skills I learned while I was in school.
Pros
flexible hours, great people to work with
Cons
almost impossible to gain permanent employment, or advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Chief of Psychiatry team is different every day.
Executive Secretary - Contract 1 year (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, onJuly 23, 2014
A typical work day is taking minutes, transcribing dictation, scheduling meetings. My managers are all friendly and helpful and have a good work ethic. My co-workers are also friendly and will always assist me. The hardest part is taking the minutes and trying to learn all the medical terms. The most enjoyable part is knowing I'm assisting people.
Pros
working in a great environment with friendly people
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for with advancement
Records Management/ Ward Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, OntarioMarch 19, 2014
I really enjoyed working at Grand River Hospital. I had left there for another position and regret it. If I had the chance to be employed there again, I would definitely take the position.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  WaterlooMarch 12, 2014
Good place to work/ physicians are good. As usual there are always workload issues in a large hospital setting but it has a good positive culture
Pros
good salary and benefits
Cons
always calling to ask you to work every day
Was this review helpful?Yes10No11

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture