GRAND RIVER HOSPITAL Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 31 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management, decent pay
Environmental Services (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONMarch 16, 2016
From a crazy sick policy, to favoritism, Grand River Hospital defines a nightmare work environment. If it wasn't for the above average pay, I would have quit long ago.

A typical day includes cleaning, moving patients and dealing with politics. Co-workers are for the most part, great but management is unbearable.

The job is not necessarily hard but requires a lot of repetitive movement and boredom. There is not much a competent person can learn (at least in the environmental services department).
Pros
There is a union to protect you
Cons
Employees are treated with disrespect
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience with vast medical knowledge about systemic approaches in canada.
Clinical Observership/ Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ONMarch 10, 2016
A typical work day begins at 8 AM. Firstly, meeting for grand rounds for specific patient information is discussed with the entire medical team. All the members and the physician agrees to the best treatment plan possible for the patients.

Further, as the day progresses. Observing the physician with each patient encounter and writing clinical notes. Also, few days of the week, patient care is needed and attended at the cancer clinic within the same hospital facility.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hours and Great People
Patient Registration Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ONFebruary 4, 2016
I loved completing my placement at Patient Registration, GRH. Everyday I would come in contact with new, interesting people and hear their stories, which I enjoyed fully. The work is very fast paced, which is an environment I thrive in. I love the people I worked with as well.

An aspect of the job I didn't enjoy was the fact it was unionized because I feel like since advancement is based on seniority, employees do not get recognized for their hard work and dedication, only for the hours they put in. That being said, I would not completely exclude the possibility of a unionized position.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative Work Environment putting patients needs above all
Clinical Secretary (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONJanuary 21, 2016
Everyday can be different as far as work load however quality of care provided to patients is always exceptional. A supportive environment to work in. Management is very approachable. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing what you do has a direct and positive impact on the most vulnerable of people, children.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe workloads. Bullish administration. Non-existent union. Keep away.
RN (Current Employee) –  Grand River HospitalOctober 22, 2015
Very budget oriented administration and management. All they care about is money. Many units work unsafe due to the workload. Sick calls not replaced. People are burned out, constantly forced to work sort. Administration is bullish. Union non-existent and pocketed by the administration. I feel the only thing that keeps me at work is my coworkers. Keep away, if possible.
Pros
Good coworkers
Cons
unsafe workloads. Bullish administration. Non-existent union
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management ever
Clinical Secretary (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONNovember 17, 2015
This may be specific to the particular department I worked in, but miscommunication and backstabbing was so abundant .... i'm literally still in disbelief.
Bottom line: I think GRH has gone the way of the corporation, ie too big for its own good. It's faceless and inefficient.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
IT Professional (Current Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ONJanuary 20, 2016
Excellent place to work.
I've enjoyed working to solve issues and come up with new ways to do thing better with new motivation.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Schedular (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONNovember 29, 2015
I have enjoyed working at. Grand River Hospital as an RPN as well as a scheduler but I want to retire and am looking for part time work else where to top up my pension.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Hospital
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, OntarioOctober 17, 2015
The best part about this job is knowing that at the end of the day, all the hard work you put in may have helped at least one person.
Pros
social club benifits
Cons
very loud
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Part Time MRT. Areas (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONOctober 23, 2015
Great place to work servicing Kitchener-Waterloo. The staff are great to work with! Lots of services offered within the hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual dress and for the most part fun!
Accounting Clerk 6 (Former Employee) –  Patient AccountsMarch 18, 2015
Had a variety of additional extra duties on my desk (11) on top of my own job.

The day was always extremely busy but a good busy! I learned accounting practices and Ministry of Health practices as well.

Management was good, hard job to do with the financial cutbacks from the province.

The hardest part of my job because it was one of the most time-consuming, was the MOH upload.

The most enjoyable part was coming in to work 5 days a week to the same people and enjoying my time with them even in a very busy environment.
Pros
enjoyed my job
Cons
extremely short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Day Surgery Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONJune 1, 2015
Staff goes above and beyond to help patients. Volunteers are appreciated. Current updates to the hospital shows that they want to make things as easy as possible for patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I need more opporntunity
Medical Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee) –  Student PositionJanuary 14, 2015
This Hospital as well as many others are going through a automation process where by they will be letting go and ceasing hours, so with me just getting hired last october, I stand no chance for advancement, which is sad
Pros
experience
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating and demoralizing
Part-Time Clerk - Health Information Management (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONOctober 14, 2014
Unfortunate work environment, needs strong and supportive management, needs improved schedule, more focus on retention in the department
Pros
able to build seniority within the union
Cons
uncertain hours and difficulties with scheduling department, competition for hours creates friction, low morale and unhappy staff
Was this review helpful?Yes21No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, great staff and environment
Department Secretary (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONAugust 20, 2014
The atmosphere in the unit where I work is great. It's a pretty laid back environment and everyone is very friendly. Working at a job like mine makes it easy to want to come to work everyday. There is no stress and going home at the end of day without any stress is a very positive thing. The hardest part about this job is that my contract is coming to an end very soon and it's difficult to obtain a full time permanent job due to the number of people applying for jobs and also it's a union job so therefore seniority rules have to be followed.

I love, love, love the job here and I am hoping that someday I will be a full-time employee of Grand River Hospital.
Pros
day shift hours of 8:30 - 4:30 are wonderful!
Cons
hard to obtain a full time permanent position
Was this review helpful?Yes8No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Chief of Psychiatry team is different every day.
Executive Secretary - Contract 1 year (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, onJuly 23, 2014
A typical work day is taking minutes, transcribing dictation, scheduling meetings. My managers are all friendly and helpful and have a good work ethic. My co-workers are also friendly and will always assist me. The hardest part is taking the minutes and trying to learn all the medical terms. The most enjoyable part is knowing I'm assisting people.
Pros
working in a great environment with friendly people
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, great people that I worked with
Clinical Secretary (Current Employee) –  kitchener ONJuly 23, 2014
Days at work were usually very busy and on the go, there was always something that needed to be done. I enjoyed working at Grand River Hospital because I was able to utilize a lot of the skills I learned while I was in school.
Pros
flexible hours, great people to work with
Cons
almost impossible to gain permanent employment, or advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High School Atmosphere
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Patient Accounts and FinanceNovember 3, 2013
Stress level was very high. I worked at Grand River Hospital for over nine years in Patient Accounts and the day I left was the happiest day ever!!!!

Management was very unprofessional, staff were worse then high school children. Work load was ridiculous. No coverage for holidays and sick days (left for a mountain of work to catch up on) made holidays not even worth taking.

Pay level was one of the lowest in the entire hospital. My suggestion is really consider if you are the kind of person that can go to work not looking to make friends and can leave work at work.
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes37No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding!
HUMAN RESOURCES ASSISTANT 2 (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONOctober 18, 2012
The typical day in HR at the hospital was always busy. Having the ability to multi-task and remain focused could sometimes be a challenge, especially with the constant interruptions that took place. I had to always juggle more than one task while being the front-line representative to walk-ins as well as hospital staff. The experience I gained during my time there is invaluable; I wish I had been able to stay so I could keep learning-working in HR in a hospital is fascinating!
Was this review helpful?Yes5No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like drama this is the place for you.
Engineering (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONOctober 15, 2012
7.5 hours , good place for retirees , management is the down fall of the engineering dept. Good team work with co workers and support from staff . If your a plumber or electrician your value is highly rated.
To much red tape and politically motivated direction that will confuse and baffle the best of people. Big separation between management , union and staff. Double standards and inconsistency by management. Slowly starting to contact out work.
Pros
nice people and staff
Cons
must pay for parking
Was this review helpful?Yes25No4

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 39 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture