GRAND RIVER HOSPITAL Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 33 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient Accounts
Collections Representative (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ONJune 22, 2016
This was one of the WORST places I have ever worked in my life. Some of my co-workers were the meanest people I have ever met. My department was full of drama every day. Management was part of it too. I would consider myself outgoing with a positive attitude and this place literally drained me of all of that. I cant lie the pay and benefits were really good but it was not worth being bullied and feeling sick to my stomach every single day i walked in the doors. My suggestion to anyone who is looking to apply to this specific department is to not do it. I think that it's something you would regret. The only thing that would make that department better is if they hired new management and got rid of any of the bad seeds who work there. I should also mention that if you do decide to work here you better know exactly what you are doing before you start. There is NO training provided and if you ask a question be prepared to not receive a straight answer. Management loves to talk in circles and leave you feeling even more confused.
Pros
Salaray, benefits, vacation, pension
Cons
Drama, terrible management, no training, workplace bullying, depressing environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management, decent pay
Environmental Services (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONMarch 16, 2016
From a crazy sick policy, to favoritism, Grand River Hospital defines a nightmare work environment. If it wasn't for the above average pay, I would have quit long ago.

A typical day includes cleaning, moving patients and dealing with politics. Co-workers are for the most part, great but management is unbearable.

The job is not necessarily hard but requires a lot of repetitive movement and boredom. There is not much a competent person can learn (at least in the environmental services department).
Pros
There is a union to protect you
Cons
Employees are treated with disrespect
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience with vast medical knowledge about systemic approaches in canada.
Clinical Observership/ Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ONMarch 10, 2016
A typical work day begins at 8 AM. Firstly, meeting for grand rounds for specific patient information is discussed with the entire medical team. All the members and the physician agrees to the best treatment plan possible for the patients.

Further, as the day progresses. Observing the physician with each patient encounter and writing clinical notes. Also, few days of the week, patient care is needed and attended at the cancer clinic within the same hospital facility.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hours and Great People
Patient Registration Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ONFebruary 4, 2016
I loved completing my placement at Patient Registration, GRH. Everyday I would come in contact with new, interesting people and hear their stories, which I enjoyed fully. The work is very fast paced, which is an environment I thrive in. I love the people I worked with as well.

An aspect of the job I didn't enjoy was the fact it was unionized because I feel like since advancement is based on seniority, employees do not get recognized for their hard work and dedication, only for the hours they put in. That being said, I would not completely exclude the possibility of a unionized position.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative Work Environment putting patients needs above all
Clinical Secretary (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONJanuary 21, 2016
Everyday can be different as far as work load however quality of care provided to patients is always exceptional. A supportive environment to work in. Management is very approachable. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing what you do has a direct and positive impact on the most vulnerable of people, children.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
IT Professional (Current Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ONJanuary 20, 2016
Excellent place to work.
I've enjoyed working to solve issues and come up with new ways to do thing better with new motivation.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Schedular (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONNovember 29, 2015
I have enjoyed working at. Grand River Hospital as an RPN as well as a scheduler but I want to retire and am looking for part time work else where to top up my pension.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management ever
Clinical Secretary (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONNovember 17, 2015
This may be specific to the particular department I worked in, but miscommunication and backstabbing was so abundant .... i'm literally still in disbelief.
Bottom line: I think GRH has gone the way of the corporation, ie too big for its own good. It's faceless and inefficient.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Part Time MRT. Areas (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONOctober 23, 2015
Great place to work servicing Kitchener-Waterloo. The staff are great to work with! Lots of services offered within the hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe workloads. Bullish administration. Non-existent union. Keep away.
RN (Current Employee) –  Grand River HospitalOctober 22, 2015
Very budget oriented administration and management. All they care about is money. Many units work unsafe due to the workload. Sick calls not replaced. People are burned out, constantly forced to work sort. Administration is bullish. Union non-existent and pocketed by the administration. I feel the only thing that keeps me at work is my coworkers. Keep away, if possible.
Pros
Good coworkers
Cons
unsafe workloads. Bullish administration. Non-existent union
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Hospital
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, OntarioOctober 17, 2015
The best part about this job is knowing that at the end of the day, all the hard work you put in may have helped at least one person.
Pros
social club benifits
Cons
very loud
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company to have my placement at
Student (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONOctober 7, 2015
A typical day at Grand River Hospital Consists of answering the phone lines and processing requests of patient information to either the patient themselves, Doctors office's, Other hospitals or people within the circle of care of a patient and following the privacy act while completing these tasks.

I have learned how to use a few computer programs within our department (WinRecs), filing patient charts, signing out patient charts to different floors upon admission, assembling charts, QA charts, and who has rights to patients files according to HIPA and PHIPA.

My manager within my department has such a positive attitude and is always willing to listen and help fix any issues you have, she is a very good role model and boss to the employee's within this department and I'm so pleased to have had her as my manager during my placement for college. She was never negative to me or any employee within the time frame I was there which I though was outstanding.

My co workers always made me feel apart of there team and never made me feel left out, always willing to show me new things and I'm sure they learned some stuff from me as well.

the hardest part of this job was knowing what the privacy act allows you to send to doctor/hospitals and patients

Most enjoyable part of the job was working with such amazing people and learning many different roles within the department. I learned so many new things that I would have never thought happen within this department and I am glad I am going to walk away from here with some new knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Day Surgery Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONJune 1, 2015
Staff goes above and beyond to help patients. Volunteers are appreciated. Current updates to the hospital shows that they want to make things as easy as possible for patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual dress and for the most part fun!
Accounting Clerk 6 (Former Employee) –  Patient AccountsMarch 18, 2015
Had a variety of additional extra duties on my desk (11) on top of my own job.

The day was always extremely busy but a good busy! I learned accounting practices and Ministry of Health practices as well.

Management was good, hard job to do with the financial cutbacks from the province.

The hardest part of my job because it was one of the most time-consuming, was the MOH upload.

The most enjoyable part was coming in to work 5 days a week to the same people and enjoying my time with them even in a very busy environment.
Pros
enjoyed my job
Cons
extremely short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I need more opporntunity
Medical Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee) –  Student PositionJanuary 14, 2015
This Hospital as well as many others are going through a automation process where by they will be letting go and ceasing hours, so with me just getting hired last october, I stand no chance for advancement, which is sad
Pros
experience
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating and demoralizing
Part-Time Clerk - Health Information Management (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONOctober 14, 2014
Unfortunate work environment, needs strong and supportive management, needs improved schedule, more focus on retention in the department
Pros
able to build seniority within the union
Cons
uncertain hours and difficulties with scheduling department, competition for hours creates friction, low morale and unhappy staff
Was this review helpful?Yes21No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, great staff and environment
Associate Vice President (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, OntarioOctober 3, 2014
Strong focus on patient care and quality whilst also attention to staff satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No16
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work for those who do not mind shift work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONSeptember 29, 2014
I am happy with my current job but feel it is time to move on as the night shifts were effecting my health. Otherwise I have nothing but good things to say about Grand River Hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, great staff and environment
Department Secretary (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONAugust 20, 2014
The atmosphere in the unit where I work is great. It's a pretty laid back environment and everyone is very friendly. Working at a job like mine makes it easy to want to come to work everyday. There is no stress and going home at the end of day without any stress is a very positive thing. The hardest part about this job is that my contract is coming to an end very soon and it's difficult to obtain a full time permanent job due to the number of people applying for jobs and also it's a union job so therefore seniority rules have to be followed.

I love, love, love the job here and I am hoping that someday I will be a full-time employee of Grand River Hospital.
Pros
day shift hours of 8:30 - 4:30 are wonderful!
Cons
hard to obtain a full time permanent position
Was this review helpful?Yes8No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, great people that I worked with
Clinical Secretary (Current Employee) –  kitchener ONJuly 23, 2014
Days at work were usually very busy and on the go, there was always something that needed to be done. I enjoyed working at Grand River Hospital because I was able to utilize a lot of the skills I learned while I was in school.
Pros
flexible hours, great people to work with
Cons
almost impossible to gain permanent employment, or advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 41 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture