Grainger Employee Reviews

Found 98 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Moosomin, SK21 August 2017
more online now but good organization to work with. lots to learn as there are lots of products to look up in all types of different work places here and other provinces.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 August 2017
why on earth wold I have to do this just trying to apply for another position and if this is confidential does this matter what I put here I don't think it would would it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unstable future
Branch Manager / Lead Inside Sales and Service Rep (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON2 August 2017
The company paid well for the location but with resent changes in the company, long term employment seems to be up in the air. The company wants to go to online shopping whether the customer wants it or not.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place too work
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 July 2017
Open and inclusive culture
Supportive management.
Developed strong communication and analytical skills during my tenure there.
Structured work environment
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Thornhill, ON19 July 2017
Good place but stumbling.
Too much wrong business decisions.
Unorganized.
Too much change.
Too much cross border (from US) influence.
In some fields no opportunity for growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Branch Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK17 July 2017
Well structured company that allows you to be the best you can be thought support and mentoring. there were a lot of changes while I worked there, but I would recomend this company to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture among co-workers
Inside Account Manager/Acting DSM (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 May 2017
I was always excited to come to work. Great Culture among sales professionals and colleagues.

KPI's were 30 customer calls per day and 2.5 hours of talk time.

Sales budget expectations of roughly 1 million dollars in revenue annually.

Some Opportunity for advancement.
Pros
Good work life balance
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of changes
Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 May 2017
Can be a great place to work. Company going through many changes so may be tricky to navigate. However, overall they compensate well, they are serious about growing, and you can find some cool people here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
order picker
Volunteer and Personal Interests (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 May 2017
picking orders,
moving product into loading bay
driving a forklift
driving an order picker
cleaning up warehouse
organization
unloading trucks
shipping and receiving
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work. People are friendly.
Senior J2EE Developer (contract) (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON16 May 2017
The office is well organized. People are friendly and easy to get along. However the productivity is low due to team's lack of proper experience. Also it's hard to get help from help from other department.
Pros
Good and free coffee
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The branch I worked at was great... can't say that about others
ISSR (Former Employee) –  Weyburn, SK26 April 2017
Overall good company. Inconsistent on firing practices in my opinion. People still employed after blatantly breaking company policies and laws, which affects job performance and customer service, while others make a small mistake unrelated to job performance and are let go.
Pros
Local branch management fantastic
Cons
Upper management inconsistent
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acklands Grainger Edmonton
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 April 2017
Good place to work, people are treated fairly good but there is zero accountability on the sales side of the business. The people that you worked with make or break the job there but the culture use to be strong but i'm know going forward it's going downhill.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Balance
National Business Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON30 March 2017
Over worked, lack of leadership and direction.
Extremely corporate and beholden to share holders. Customers needs are not taken seriously, making it hard to build trust and partnerships
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy my work their
Warehouse Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Canada6 March 2017
Management and decision changes on routine. Employees get confused. Fast pace and unpredictable environment. Too much favoritism on top level. On lower level job is more secure. you will see worker with 30 years in the company and management not more than 2 yrs.
Pros
job security
Cons
You cant trust management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was great
Counter Attendant (Former Employee) –  Mount Pearl, NL22 February 2017
the people are so friendly and help you if you need it. they take you under their wing and make sure you understand the things that are going on in the work place.
Pros
Amazing people
Cons
Late nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun, also stressful times as well
Central File Maintenance Control Desk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 February 2017
Our team was very productive, worked hard, got along with one another, enjoyed each others company, as well as having great fun. We acknowledged each others work as well as helping each other when needed. My manager was awesome to work for. The hardest part of my job was the many fields that needed to be updated to see the final result.
Pros
Going out for lunch on company time.
Cons
was very stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and easy co workers
Lead the way (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 January 2017
Co workers and most staff easy to work with. Work was easy to adapt to and most days were busy and workable. Most enjoyable part of the job were the day to day relationships with co workers.
Pros
Had opportunities to plan and execute large gatherings
Cons
May have pursued more training.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy my work, too much change and uncertainty
Technical Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 January 2017
In the 2 years I have been there they have made so many changes and removed so many long term employees it doesn't make me feel like this is a place you can have a long term career. Especially if you are located in western Canada.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect Balance of Work and Fun While Meeting Goals.
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Lac La Biche, AB6 January 2017
Shipping Receiving, Order picking, Inventory management, customer service. As long as the job was getting done on time and safely it was ok to have fun while doing it.
Pros
Company dinners, Northern Living Allowance.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acklands is going downhill
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON4 January 2017
Morale is horrible, laying off people all over the place and closing branches. Constantly telling staff closures and re-structures are completed and then more come. Unstable - management doesn't know how to support staff... I would imagine it to be similar to working in a zoo lol
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Grainger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,351 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7