Grainger Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a horrible place to work with horrible manager, supervisors. Manager and supervisors were so fake! It was a very unsecured work place.
Shipper (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 February 2018
It was kind of busy and fast pace work place but horrible management, horrible supervisors! New ideas how to do the work everyday but nothing ever worked! It just made workers confused and caused more mess and mistakes! Manager and supervisors were faking! They pretended to be nice and carefulness to workers but deep down they were horrible!!! They did not treat workers fairly!!! It was a very unsecured work place! I ended up had to find another job because you would never know when will you become a permanent employee or when will you loose your job there. Most of people were okay but some people were bad!
Pros
None
Cons
Yes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but rewarding work
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Stafford, tx13 February 2018
Working at Grainger is fast paced, and (at times) demanding.
They offer in job training and work around college schedules.
Management is serious about employee feedback.
The hardest part of the job is that the management can be extremely micromanaging when corresponding with customers.
The most ejoyable part of the job is that the customers are usually contractors, so they usually already know a great deal about how to do their jobs, and are just looking for Grainger to provide a solution.
Pros
Competitive Pay, great customers
Cons
Micromanagement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Massive changes and more to come"
Inventory Control Analyst (SAP) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 February 2018
Excellent Salary, Fast paced environment.
My friend got me a job here.
I was making less than market before I started with AGI.
I now make more for Monday to Friday job.
It’s easier to get promoted if you are working Smart.
They encourage you to work independently and give you chance to make your own decisions.
Leaders are almost never around so lots of opportunity for …..
Pros
Good salary and benefits, mostly good people
Cons
Company unable to roll out new compensation package for sellers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy place
Overstock Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 January 2018
I had a blast working there.
Unfortunately they went through a great many managers and the feel became very insecure.
I wanted to feel more secure about my future so, as many others, I left to seek better employment.
Pros
all the OT one could want
Cons
managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fast work place
Inside Sales (Current Employee) –  Timmins, ON18 January 2018
Acklands has been a learning process, a very fast and busy work environment. I currently work with KIDD Operation maintaining the safety supply shop in the concentrator at the Met-Site.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only worked a weekend for inventory
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Mount Pearl, NL12 January 2018
I helped out my Uncle for the Inventory weekend twice so I have only actually worked here for 6 days, therefore I feel I can't actually provide the best input. But from those 6 days everyone was very friendly, lunch was supplied to us, and I felt for a kid who was just working a weekend I got paid fairly well.
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Timmins, ON2 January 2018
My typical day at work is getting boring due that I do the same routine everyday.

What I've learned is that you have to be safe and careful.

Management would need some improvement.

Workplace culture is not best for your health.

Hardest part is driving up and down the ramp.

Most enjoyable part is being able to talk with different people and take some advise.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
On Site Services Manager - Ontario (Former Employee) –  GTA, ON29 December 2017
Acklands-Grainger was a great company to work for. They had an amazing company culture that was inspiring. It allowed learning and the opportunity for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
front counter sales (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB20 December 2017
Acklands grainger is a fun place to work. Its to bad that they are closing down the medicine hat branch in April. My job is mainly taking orders over the phone and dealing with customers on a daily basis .I really enjoy working here .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay
Senior Manager - Finance (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 December 2017
It's an okay place to work. I'm part of management, but executives are pretty easy-going. Company isn't doing very well right now so tension is pretty high.
Pros
work life
Cons
no culture
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report

Want to know more about Grainger?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Inside Sales and Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Brandon, MB21 November 2017
Our branch had a great atmosphere to work in. Everyone gets along great. We all work together well and it makes it easy for the employees who have kids and need a little flexibility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ummm interesting
Territory Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 November 2017
storied company beginning a major change to embrace e commerce as opposed to retail storefronts and a traditional methodology. Company seems to have a hi degree of integrity towards clients & employees. Definitely will be in a state of flux which will result in a stronger culture & entity. Another company trying to deal with the forces of governments intent on driving business out of canada
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
INDUSTRIAL CLIENT SERVICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON13 November 2017
Great pay. Great people. Great employee benefits. My job was as a warehouse associate. Truck comes in everyday and you are responsible for putting it up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work if you can avoid the office politics
Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 November 2017
Typical day involes managing multiple requests for a board range of products.
Improved my time management skills, learned about various applications for products, increased knowledge of the MRO market.
Senior management is never seen and seems to be more about self preservation than the overall well being of the business.
Owner by Grainger who does not understand the Canadian market place
Pros
good pay for the level of responsibility
Cons
Poor senior leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très bonne envirronement avec une équipe excellente
Commis d'entrepôt (Former Employee) –  Saint-Laurent, QC30 October 2017
Une journée chez Acklands Grainger pour ma part consistait à faire du "shipping" c'est-à-dire place les commandes et les expédier aux fournisseurs avec l'aide de mes collègues qui m'aidait s'il y avait un petit problème.
Pros
ambiance parfaite, tâche prise à effectuer
Cons
pas vraiment de points négatifs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many chances to learn and improve
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Thornhill, ON25 October 2017
Top managers thinking paradigm is centered around customers and all departments are always encouraged to focus on serving the customer the best way. With the new SAP system, the job is done more professionally and there are lots of opportunities to learn.
Pros
professional work environment
Cons
Salary and benefit are not competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
change is good, but not managed well in this environment
Previous employee (Former Employee) –  Ontario24 October 2017
Unorganized on-boarding
Autocratic management, not leaders
No Autonomy at branch level
Many long tenured employees are 'tired'
No gauge on the network/fields ability to absorb changes

Great selection of products
Customers want to see them succeed
Corporate office becoming for like wizard of oz behind the curtain...
Pros
dedicated employees and loyal customers
Cons
mostly listed below
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A facility we love to be part of
Inventory Analyst (Current Employee) –  Thornhill, ON23 October 2017
As a Canada`s leading Industrial Supply Distributor, the company has one of the best corporate environment with amazing team culture. Very often, the company organizes various refreshing activities involving various departments thus creating a rapport between cross-functional teams.
Pros
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a positive place to work
Inside sales representative (Current Employee) –  Rocky Mountain House, AB4 October 2017
A good place to work. The workplace culture is positive and safety orientated. A typical day consists of satisfying customer needs and supporting fellow staff members in their tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its more politics then work
Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 October 2017
to many work related injury no safety
also the management is giving us incorrect stat on production and work related
some workers are being discrimination
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Grainger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,632 reviews
5517
4559
3372
2117
167

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture