Government Of Alberta

Government Of Alberta Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 81 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helicopter Initial Action Firefighting
Wild land firefighter type 1 Helitack (Current Employee) –  High Prairie, ABSeptember 18, 2015
Fire Suppression
Educating the public on wildfire prevention
Proficient use and maintenance of hand tools, chainsaws and pumps
Reliability and dependency between crew members
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guideline/Policy Oriented Work
Human Resources - Recruitment Specialist - Intern (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABOctober 6, 2015
I personally did not feel like a good fit in this position. There is little room to develop and implement your own methods of getting the work done.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Consumer Mediation Officer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 1, 2015
Productive and fun workplace, amazing, wonderful, pleasant, energizing, stupendous, would love to work there again
Was this review helpful?Yes11No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working here can reach your potential
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  EdmontonAugust 11, 2015
Helping the vulnerable people makes me feel very happy. We are having a lot of teamwork activities in our workplace such as building Legos, bake sale for fundraiser, helping set up with communities BBQ, blood drive etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management and moral
Systems Analyst II - Lead (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, ABJuly 27, 2015
Loved working for and with the people in the GoA. People were always very happy to see me and more than cooperative. There was little room for advancement and the political decision to contract out was beyond my control
Was this review helpful?Yes15No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No two days were the same
Correctional Peace Officer (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, ABJuly 16, 2015
Was a great place to work. No two days were the same and you you never new what was going to happen. Always learning new skills.
It was a very close team, the people you worked with became your friends.
Pros
great pay, great benefits
Cons
could be violent
Was this review helpful?Yes24No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a scope oriented work environment
Java Developer (Contractor) (Former Employee) –  EdmontonAugust 7, 2015
you do your job, control your progress and report your status.
good manager and co-workers and very polite and respect your professional area.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Good salary and benefits
Communications Professional (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 3, 2015
- Decent place to work
- Lot's of opportunity
- Good place to improve your skills
- Very good compensation package
- Interesting subject matter
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Difficult work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coordinated support services for a new application introduced for social workers.
Manager Support Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 19, 2015
As manager of the support service desk my main responsibilities were to ensure that social workers had all the support they needed to use the new computer application. This included coordinating 8 support staff in the day to day duties needed, ensuring on-going training, and documentation was up to date.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Management, No Security
Temporary Applications Entry (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 3, 2015
The department I worked in closed shortly after my contract ended. While the people were nice, it was frustrating that people got constantly shuffled around.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for a summer job with the Government of Alberta
In province and Out of Province Claims Unit (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 3, 2015
I starting working for the Government of Alberta as a summer job, before attending my first year of school with Norquest College.
I worked hard and learned alot about the claims submissions, filing, and inputing information into the claims program. The co-workers were very helpful and enjoyed the over all work atmosphere.
I left to start my schooling but, took alot of training and understanding of the government enviroment with me. Would like to be able to apply and work for the Alberta Government again one day.
Pros
monday to friday work week, great co-workers and leads to work with.
Cons
when days were slow, finding more work to do!
Was this review helpful?Yes15No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this job
File Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 18, 2015
This job was one of my favourites. Love typing, typing legal documents and other documents, answered phones, transferred the phone calls to the appropriate social worker, open the mail and distributed it to the right person, love enjoy the time with my co-workers. It was too bad that it was just a 6 months contract job.
Pros
breakfast meetings with nice co-wokers
Cons
6 months contract job
Was this review helpful?Yes9No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cohesive work environment with minimal stress
Policy Analyst / Project Manager (Former Employee) –  ABMay 3, 2015
- Conducted financial analysis on department’s annual budget.
- Restructure and the creation of a new interdivisional statistical analysis system within the department of Maintenance and Enforcement.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short term assignment
POLICY AND COMMUNICATIONS INTERN (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 21, 2015
I worked as an intern with Alberta Health and Wellness when I was an MBA student. I enjoyed my time working with Alberta Health and Wellness and learned a lot about how the government works.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for personal growth and advancement
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton ABNovember 18, 2014
You never know what the day will bring, with absent upper level management cover off on my part. I've learned something new everyday, and I absorb it all in! Management were there to assist in problems, employees were having. The hardest part was the working with different work ethics. I enjoyed the many great people I have met along the way.
Pros
paid time off
Was this review helpful?Yes17No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, decent work life balance
Corporate Incident Manager (Current Employee) –  EdmontonMay 14, 2015
Good employer, respect, accountability, Excellence and integrity are the main pillars. you get great experience working with high level clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and fast paced work environment
Policy Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 12, 2014
The Government was an excellent place to work, I did a lot of individual projects where I got to decide how and when I wanted to do it. I spent a lot of time doing information management.

I learned a lot about government processes and how decision making is done.

I was a part of many teams and I liked everyone I worked with, people were excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and responsible enviromemt with fun employees
Corrections Admin Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AlbertaSeptember 12, 2014
My job with Goverment of Alberta was very intresting and challenging . My typicall day would start with answering emails from previous day and going in doing payroll fo180 employees. I was responsible for supervising employees and handling onfidential matters. Yet being stressfull our team always made an effort that our day goes by without any to minimal stress.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace, Collaborative and Highly Learning Environment, Corporate Culture.
System Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 14, 2014
Fun working environment, Co-workers are friendly and management is always there to help, Decent compensation and benefits, and earned days off.
People who talk big and more are not essentially more trusted and knowledgeable.
Pros
work life balance, good hours, flexible timing, corporate culture.
Cons
slow or no advancement in career.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and stable work pcace
HP Service Desk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABDecember 26, 2013
- Excellent training and work experience in Government environment
- Work consisted on providing Tier 1 and 2 support go GoA employees
- Able to handle multiple calls the same time
- Manage difficult cases while under pressure when staff shortage
- Hardest part of job was successfully handle critical issues with Incident Manager(s)
- Most enjoyable past of job was to quickly provide first call resolution and meet SLA
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
night and stat holidays shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 81 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

Government Of Alberta Reviews by Location