Find companies:
Government Of Alberta
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Government Of Alberta Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Senior Systems Analyst (Former Employee), EdmontonMarch 30, 2014
Pros: benefits, interaction with others
Cons: stressful conditions during tight timelines
excellent work environment with abundance of opportunities for new learning experiences.
excellent interaction with peers, management and subordinates.
wide variety of job functions and duties.
continuous educational opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provincial Court Criminal
JUDICIAL CLERK (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: in court all day love the judges and lawyers that i worked with.
Cons: lack of respect, sometimes long hours, trying to get a break or someone to cover was really bad, communication was terrible
Very much like high school had to watch your back because people would take you out to make themselves look better. This included supervisors.

Loved working in court. The lawyers and Judges were amazing. Loved how everyone in the court room worked together.
Although the work was stressful (you had to make sure everything was right so you weren't keeping – more... someone in jail or releasing them by mistake) I love working in the courtroom itself.

The office dynamic was very poor. No respect for the work that employees did. Supervisors never show appreciation.

Had to continually message supervisors to have people relieve you for a break. Messaging up to 10-12 times before even getting a response and getting reprimanded if you go to an co worker asking to be cover instead, as that was prohibited

A supervisor in this dept was at was so nice to my face (we would chat about everyday things, have coffee together ) but stabbed you in the back when you weren't looking. Told people in different depts not to hire me because she was mad I went over her head on an important issue that wasn't getting a job.

Respect and Integrity was always preached but never initiated by example of Senior staff.

Only one good Supervisor at this location and if you have the chance to work with her you're gold. She's amazing.

I had the opportunity to work in other depts to help out and they also treated their employees quite well. I feel bad for people who have to get treated they way they do at PCC – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work outdoors, and enjoy nature.
Labourer (Former Employee), Canmore, ABJanuary 26, 2014
Work outdoors, and enjoy nature. Not much more to say here...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people and a busy productive area.
Administrative Assistant/Accounts Payable (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 25, 2014
Ok place to work as I am learning quite a bit but the uncertainty if there will be something permanent in the area I wish to work in - Purchasing - concerns me as I am told this A/P will only go to the end of March this year. Can't comment any further as I am only a Temp.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and stable work pcace
HP Service Desk Analyst (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 26, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: night and stat holidays shifts
- Excellent training and work experience in Government environment
- Work consisted on providing Tier 1 and 2 support go GoA employees
- Able to handle multiple calls the same time
- Manage difficult cases while under pressure when staff shortage
- Hardest part of job was successfully handle critical issues with Incident Manager(s)
- Most enjoyable – more... past of job was to quickly provide first call resolution and meet SLA – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Variety of Work
Institutional Aide 1 (Former Employee), Wetaskiwin, ABDecember 3, 2013
I liked the various different tasks and training I was required to give. The salary and benefits were excellent. The hard part about the job was in the beginning of it when it was cleaning only. It became more enjoyable to me when I was also able to plan and prepare meals, do laundry, and most of all, be and work with the clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical government environment. Employees are treated fairly well. Continuous training.
Helitack Crew Leader (Former Employee), ABDecember 2, 2013
Typical government environment. Great co-workers, and work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Administrative Support (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 30, 2013
Worked on contracts of the sustainable resource department. Alongside contract review and data entry, basic financial auditing was also done on a daily basis. Review and ensuring that the financial transaction were completed correctly and that there were no errors in the numbers and if so that they were reported. Lots of opportunities to take on more – more... roles was always there, which was a great way to learn more, also was one of the best parts of the job. Management was extremely helpful when it came to training and guidance at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fair place to work
Branch Head, Technology Integration (Current Employee), EdmontonNovember 4, 2013
Pros: international travel, networks
Cons: bureaucracy
very dependent on your team and leader - a great place to launch your career as good opportunity is given for networking and understanding broad economic drivers for western canada
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alberta Law Courts good to work for
Amdministrative Support 2 (Contract Position) (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 7, 2013
Pros: steady time schedual
Cons: only contract work
You need to be well organized and be able to deal with stress. Co-workers are well trained and are willing to train and help new staff. Hard part of the job is to stay on track of dead lines. Most enjoyable part of the job after knowing what tasks are to be done, is to work independently. The hardest part of the job was to get full time work. I was – more... wanting to stay in the postion that I had at the Albert Law Courts, but I was only hired on a contract basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a productive and fun workplace to always be
Administrative Support (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 1, 2013
Pros: free summer barbecue
- Attending to client, coding mail in database and other assign
duties.
- To be organize and meet schedule deadline.
- I managed my time and resource well, make a follow-up for
my client to achieve their goal.
- My co-workers are so helpful to achieve the soft skill and culture
in Canadian office.
- Difficult client to please.
- Be able to solve client – more... issue and make him or her happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's what you would expect.
Office Administrator (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 30, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: very political
Great company to work for - unfortunately, the area I am looking to enter, there is nothing available, so I am having to look outside.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Deployment Analyst (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 10, 2013
Challenging projects.
Get to work with different ministry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 5, 2013
I loved working for the Government of Alberta. There was always plenty of work to do which kept me very busy. It was not usually tedious repetitive work, but rather a variety of different tasks. I definitely gained more skills from this style of job than I had expected.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thoroughly enjoyed the job, rated job security lower because it was a contract.
Admin Assistant to Senior Health Benefits Planner (Former Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaMay 29, 2013
Pros: extremely busy.
Cons: contract work, not permanent.
Day started at 730 am.
Received on average 20 requests for health benefits daily. Confirmed that each request was valid and met all listed criteria. Liaised with medical and dental authorities across Alberta. Liaised with Alberta Blue Cross, Alberta Dental Services Corporation daily.
Co-workers were wonderful and always willing to share their expertise.
The – more... hardest part of the job was that I could not provide for all of the clients who requested medical/dental/optical assistance.
Most enjoyable part of the job was that I was extremely busy and I could provide for the majority of the client's requests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, however little chance for advancement
Asst. Provincial Wildlife Disease Specialist (Current Employee), EdmontonMay 16, 2013
Pros: work with wildlife
Cons: mis management of assets
The work conditions at the GOA are great, however, I find that management has little interest in developing their employees and tends to mis-manage their employee assets. I have had over 15 years of experience working with caribou, however, given that I work with disease, I have never been considered as an asset toward caribou work in the province. – more... Pigeon holes are widely accepted here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people, structured organization, opportunities for learning
Grant Policy Advisor, Alberta Municipal Affairs (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 16, 2013
The Government of Alberta provides a friendly and encouraging environment. You are provided with a plethora of training and the opportunity to move within.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed meeting many kinds of interesting and sometimes obnoxious people.
Secretary (Former Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaMarch 26, 2013
Pros: enjoyed my day.
Cons: no longer able to stand on feet that long.
Thoroughly enjoyed meeting people as well as taking orders for weddings, parties, etc. Filling out liquor permits and ordering the stock and liquor for the bar.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work life Balance and a very good working culture
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 22, 2013
Extremely good working culture with a very good balance in personal and professional life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to introduce me to the work force
Limited Company Registry Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: opportunities to advance
Cons: temporary position
Great Government temporary position. There was room to advance and the work load was fair for a temp. position.

About Government Of Alberta

The Government of Alberta is organized as a parliamentary democracy with a unicameral legislature. Its unicameral legislature—the – Read more

Government Of Alberta Photos