Government Of Alberta

66 reviews

Government Of Alberta Employee Reviews

Showing all 66 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the Government of Alberta was a very rewarding experience.
Senior Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  ABFebruary 3, 2016
A typical work day with the Government of Alberta offered me many opportunities to experience varied tasks and skill sets. I truly valued the environment of working within a team that strives to make a difference in the lives of the people of Alberta. Working with a purpose fits into my personal values setting, and was provided within this organization.
Pros
Training was encouraged in areas that benefit your working environment.
Cons
None that I can think of at the moment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Culture
Project Manager (Employee) (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 22, 2015
Not the best culture for someone who is innovative. Poor Leadership, vision. Very difficult to move up but stability is extremely good.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Consumer Mediation Officer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 1, 2015
Productive and fun workplace, amazing, wonderful, pleasant, energizing, stupendous, would love to work there again
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the GOA
POLICY ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABOctober 27, 2015
Great opportunity growth with amazing people to work with! There are a lot of training opportunities to move laterally. Many people I've worked with have been fun yet highly motivated to influence change.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration 4
Administrative Support (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABOctober 26, 2015
I've never had so much fun at a workplace. Working for GOV was a very good experience. I would welcome another opportunity.
Pros
Administration for 20 employee's
Cons
Short contracts
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Work Place
Timber/Audit Support (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AlbertaOctober 25, 2015
High paced work environment with supportive management. Always tasks to be completed. A work environment where I have lots of colleagues, and a few monotonous tasks, as well as new ones.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guideline/Policy Oriented Work
Human Resources - Recruitment Specialist - Intern (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABOctober 6, 2015
I personally did not feel like a good fit in this position. There is little room to develop and implement your own methods of getting the work done.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
social committee fun
HUMAN RESOURCES PROGRAM ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 29, 2015
Co-Chair of the social committee was so much fun, got to network and bring the team together.
I loved all the training provided by the gov.
Work life balance was amazing
Pros
birthday celebration
Cons
hard to coordinate
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helicopter Initial Action Firefighting
Wild land firefighter type 1 Helitack (Current Employee) –  High Prairie, ABSeptember 18, 2015
Fire Suppression
Educating the public on wildfire prevention
Proficient use and maintenance of hand tools, chainsaws and pumps
Reliability and dependency between crew members
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working here can reach your potential
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  EdmontonAugust 11, 2015
Helping the vulnerable people makes me feel very happy. We are having a lot of teamwork activities in our workplace such as building Legos, bake sale for fundraiser, helping set up with communities BBQ, blood drive etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a scope oriented work environment
Java Developer (Contractor) (Former Employee) –  EdmontonAugust 7, 2015
you do your job, control your progress and report your status.
good manager and co-workers and very polite and respect your professional area.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management and moral
Systems Analyst II - Lead (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, ABJuly 27, 2015
Loved working for and with the people in the GoA. People were always very happy to see me and more than cooperative. There was little room for advancement and the political decision to contract out was beyond my control
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No two days were the same
Correctional Peace Officer (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, ABJuly 16, 2015
Was a great place to work. No two days were the same and you you never new what was going to happen. Always learning new skills.
It was a very close team, the people you worked with became your friends.
Pros
great pay, great benefits
Cons
could be violent
Was this review helpful?Yes20No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Management, No Security
Temporary Applications Entry (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 3, 2015
The department I worked in closed shortly after my contract ended. While the people were nice, it was frustrating that people got constantly shuffled around.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Good salary and benefits
Communications Professional (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 3, 2015
- Decent place to work
- Lot's of opportunity
- Good place to improve your skills
- Very good compensation package
- Interesting subject matter
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Difficult work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short term assignment
POLICY AND COMMUNICATIONS INTERN (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 21, 2015
I worked as an intern with Alberta Health and Wellness when I was an MBA student. I enjoyed my time working with Alberta Health and Wellness and learned a lot about how the government works.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, decent work life balance
Corporate Incident Manager (Current Employee) –  EdmontonMay 14, 2015
Good employer, respect, accountability, Excellence and integrity are the main pillars. you get great experience working with high level clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cohesive work environment with minimal stress
Policy Analyst / Project Manager (Former Employee) –  ABMay 3, 2015
- Conducted financial analysis on department’s annual budget.
- Restructure and the creation of a new interdivisional statistical analysis system within the department of Maintenance and Enforcement.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coordinated support services for a new application introduced for social workers.
Manager Support Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 19, 2015
As manager of the support service desk my main responsibilities were to ensure that social workers had all the support they needed to use the new computer application. This included coordinating 8 support staff in the day to day duties needed, ensuring on-going training, and documentation was up to date.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this job
File Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 18, 2015
This job was one of my favourites. Love typing, typing legal documents and other documents, answered phones, transferred the phone calls to the appropriate social worker, open the mail and distributed it to the right person, love enjoy the time with my co-workers. It was too bad that it was just a 6 months contract job.
Pros
breakfast meetings with nice co-wokers
Cons
6 months contract job
Was this review helpful?Yes8No7

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 66 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture