Find companies:
Gottlieb Memorial Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Gottlieb Memorial Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice work environment
staff X-ray technologist (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: co workers
Cons: nothing
taking X-rays
transporting patients
i love working with patients
helping out the front desk when needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to make people feel better
Intern (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILSeptember 3, 2014
This was and experience opportunity i got in my high school to help out in the medical field in Gottlieb Memorial hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall not bad place to work if you keep your head down
Food Service Worker (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILAugust 20, 2014
Pros: supervisors are nice and hands on
Cons: management is very distant from department; doesn't have good knowledge of employees
Typically work is the same everyday. There are various jobs that needed to be done, therefore work is divided up with the co-workers who come to work. If your short supervisors do great with picking up the slack and giving a helping hand. Co-workers a typical people you meet everyday, nice people everyone means well. Hardest part of the job is clean – more... up, at the end of the shift. Management isn't hands on which hurts when needed. Management is hard to work with and isn't helpful. Although they do want to have an open door policy it doesn't really work that way. Its best to work with supervisors, they are the best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace that's workable and is always making changes to improve on patient care and expanding new ideas to promote better use of companies policy.
Housekeeper Aid (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILJuly 26, 2014
Pros: earning magis stars or pens. and feeling good about completing your assignment(s) for the day.
Cons: clocking in and out for breaks and not being given a reasonable lunch schedule.
A typical work day is one that's not always a steady flow. I work in the Environmental Services Department and its a challenge on a daily basis. I'm not always assigned to the same unit(s). I prefer to float sometimes but rather be stationed in a one unit area. Its typically challenging.

Management is not up to speed nor trained properly to maintain – more... daily operations to help make a work day flowable. Why? We are always getting new managers to come assist to make operations better but their whole idea is almost as not good as the former management not to negativley speak. Improvements are being made but not fast enough.

Co-workers are typical and you have to work around attitudes and remain friendly even if you don't want to so that you can be a better person for yourself. For the most part all other co-workers are very loveable and easy going.

The hardest part of the job is being able to complete assigned assignments if you are not called away or pulled away from it to the new assignment because co-workers decides to call off or just don't show up for work. Organization is the biggest task but all is fair just having a job.

The most enjoyable are the patients, the staff throughout the hospital, the guests and the E.R. Also doing a job and getting to complete it before the end of the shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so good with too many changes
RN (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILJune 8, 2014
It got worse when other institutions took over. It has gone from feeling like family to feeling like a number. Your loyalty is inconsequential. Your opinions are asked but do not really matter. Benefits and pay have been reduced. Morale has been low for a long, long time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
constent walking cleaning rooms
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILMay 8, 2014
Cons: always short staff and low pay
• Maintain a sterol environment
• Follows detailed worksheet for each room cleaning Completes inventory of rooms contents on form provided.
• Provides information on any missing items to the manager.
• Daily maintenance of hot tubs. Clean building floors and walls by sweeping, mopping, scrubbing, or vacuuming them. Change bedding and make beds as directed.
 – more... Stock room food supplies (coffee, tea, sugar, etc.) as needed. Replenish supplies such as drinking glasses, linens, writing supplies, and bathroom items. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environment with various diagnoses to help strengthen all nurses' skills
RN, BSN, orthopedic/surgical/med surg nurse (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: autonomy
Cons: remembering to stay hydrated
Showing up for work early to obtain pertinent patient information, such as labs, abnormal test results, and the patients' overall goals for the day. After introducing myself with my favorite phrase, "Hello, my name is Jennifer and I will be your nurse caring for you today." I believe this establishes a good rapport with the patient and myself, and may – more... alleviate anxiety related to being in the hospital or feeling alone. I consult with doctors during their briefing and learn about diagnoses, plan of care and new medications. I respect management, and I am flexible if needed due to census changes. Teamwork with co-workers helps build professional relationships, but also trust to obtain the best outcome for our patients. The hardest part of being a nurse is seeing a patient give up hope for personal reasons. The most enjoying part of nursing is helping patients reach their goals towards recovery, and feeling as though you made a difference by helping a person in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice, Clean place
Intern (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: good benefits, pay rate
Cons: long hours
This was just an experience i had it wasn't a job.

Scheduling appointments
Ordering supplies
Helping patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great athmosphere and people to work with but understaffed
Computed Tomography Technologist (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: close to home, free holiday lunches
Cons: no lunch break during my ct shift
There no such thing as a typical day at work at Gottlieb Hospital. Every day was different and presented new challenges. A typical day can consist of walking through the doors and having a line of patients waiting to have their exam performed or just simply having a stead flow of patients throughout the day. We never knew how busy or slow the ER or – more... O.R can get so every day brought new challenges. Gottlieb Hospital was always being bought out either by Loyola or Trinity so are management was always implementing new rules. I couldn't say anything bad about any of my co workers since all of them are great people and great workers, most of them became some of my good friends over the years that I worked with them. They always had my back during work and outside of work and we always worked as a team. The most enjoyable part of my job was actually helping any patient that walked through the door and receiving a Thank You and a warm smile from them at the end of our exam. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biased
Environmental Services (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILOctober 23, 2013
Manager biased, otherwise co-workers are supportive and easy toget along with/team enviroment. ...Team lead supervisor very helpfull and supportive......manager biased regarding promoting from within,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace and very friendly
Certified Nurse Assistant/Unit Secretary (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILOctober 17, 2013
Pros: meeting new people everyday
Cons: very short breaks and no schedule flexibility
answer and transfer phone calls, page dr's, call back patient with surveys.
I learned to be very very patient
My coworkers were easy to get along with and we all had great communication skills
The hardest part of my job was to take care of lonely senior citizens with no families
The most enjoyable part was making my patients smile and making them feel – more... at home – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, respective environment
Medical (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILAugust 29, 2013
Pros: good benefits and raises
Cons: short breaks
Great opportunities for career enhancement, Respectful co-workers and open minded management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational
Access Specialist (Former Employee), melrose park ilJune 11, 2013
Learned something new every day. Enjoyed seeing new faces everyday and working with people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place to start off at.
Access Control Specialist (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILJune 6, 2013
Pros: great benfits
Cons: not enough pay
Under new management ,but professional environment work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environmental Services Housekeeping Department
Housekeeper Aide 1 (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILJune 4, 2013
Pros: budget your time and be prompt.
Cons: assist in all areas of customer service and satisfy your customers.
I have been working for this hospital for over a year and its great being here at this establishment. I require the happy atmosphere of the customers and staff that work here at Gottlieb. We as a community based facility provide assistance in all areas of customer service and emergency care. My job is to make sure that customers are satisfied with the – more... work you perform and the friendly attitude that comes along with it. My job is a fun job and you have to make your job fun and enjoy doing the work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My productive on my job is B
Patient Account (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILMay 28, 2013
Pros: hour lunch
Cons: no overtime
My day start with me pulling my work from the medtech system; following up on all reminder. after that is done, I start with the Epic system make sure every reminder is done in that system, and after that done i write up my charity application, making sure the patients has provide me with all documents thats need to process the application , if not – more... make a call to them and let them know what is missing.I make calls to all commerical (Blue Cross, United Health care, Aetna) insurance companys that has under paid, and make sure they pay us according to the contracts and explain to them how we should have got paid. Once that is done I follow up on workers' compensation claim and make sure they pay us according the workers compensation guidelines.The hardest part of my job is making sure each patient give me the documents i need to process the application. The most enjoyable part of my job is help the patient and making sure the hospital get paid for the service that was provide. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to do what I am passionate about.
Charge Nurse (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILMay 27, 2013
The most enjoyable part of the job is the patients, and help care for them and meet their needs during their stay on my unit. A typical day at work is caring for the patients, passing out medications, attending to their needs, consulting with the doctors, addressing family concerns, admitting new patients and discharging as well. I adore my co-workers, – more... we make a pretty solid team. When I need them they are there to help me in any way, and I for them. We all want what is best for the patients, and to give them the care that they deserve. I have really great coworkers. The management team is not as strong as I would expect, but with the lack of management assistance, I think it makes the staff stronger to pull together and work as a team. The hardest part of the job is sometimes being assaulted by the patients, but in this field, it is to be expected that not everything is going to run smoothly, and it is a daily learning lesson on how to overcome new obstacles. Working in this field has broadened my horizons and given me more skills to move forward within my career, such as team building skills, time management, and being quick to adapt and conquer any challenging situation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was very pleased with my internship experience at Gottlieb Memorial Hospital
Student Internship (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILMay 14, 2013
Gottlieb Memorial Hospital provided me with an excellent experience for my internship. I was able to shadow the nurses and other staff there and gather knowledge from their daily nursing tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't take road kill there and neither would the paramedics
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILMarch 17, 2013
Pros: good salary
Cons: your staff rns did not help you
A typical day is chaotic. There are no in-services compared to other top rated hospitals I worked at. Management did not listen to the concerns of the staff and how short-handed we were. Co-workers left you on you on. This hospital is rate #30 in US World News and I think this is generous but I don't believe you can go down further. The doctors do no – more... examine their patients nor exhibit concern especially in the ER. As a patient I was thoroughly disgusted, they spelled my name wrong on my paperwork I wanted transferred to my regular physicians. I won't take road kill there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy neighborhood Hospital
Staff Nurse/Charge Nurse (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILFebruary 22, 2013
Pros: newest emr - epic
Owned by Trinity Healtchare/Loyola Medica Center. Busy 12 bed Gero-Psych Unit. EPIC trained.