Find companies:
Gordon Food Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
192 reviews

Gordon Food Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, the harder you work the more you make
Sales service driver (Former Employee), Wyoming, MIApril 22, 2014
Pros: good compensation, good benefits, management was always fair
Cons: make up days after the holidays
Best job I ever had, regret leaving every day. As a sales service driver you can work at your own pace if you want to get out early work fast, if not take your time. You start early / between 3:00 and 5:00 mon- fri and go home when your truck is empty. The work is hard but rewarding. Management was very understanding and flexible
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company!
Menu & Vacation Route Specialist (Former Employee), Mishawaka, INApril 18, 2014
A great group of people to work with! Managers have an open door policy. Had to leave company due to relocation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
Leader (Current Employee), Ocala, FLApril 8, 2014
Pros: dedicated to its customers, excellent owners, great benefits
Cons: lack of faith in leadership in plant city
As a shipping lead I would normal arrive to work about a half hour early to complete my time and attendance duties, my credit calls and respond to emails before the shift starts at 11:20am.

After that, I would conduct on occasion the morning meeting with the shipping/loading teams giving them updates on the previous nights work and any other pertinent – more... information necessary. At the conclusion of the meeting, I typically would finish my spread sheet on the previous days errors that we received and then browse the routes for the night from transportation. This was to see if there were any changes benefitting both the warehouse and the driver with each of our daily motions.

For the rest of the day I would periodically checking on my grocery selectors and my emails to see if there were any issues that needed my attention. If there were any issues that needed more than my attention I would pass them along to my direct supervisor.

Over the course of 7 years working for GFS, I learned how to build relationships, manage more people than I ever thought I could at one point in my career and how to serve my employees, and customers, with the best service possible.

When I was a leader in our Ocala facility, the management team there was flawless. We had a perfect unity and understanding on how we all wanted the warehouse to perform and how we wanted to satisfy our customers. We executed that understanding daily, monthly and yearly, year in and year out for 7 years.

When we were presented with the challenge of merging with our Plant City facility, the management there was not willing to be on the same understanding, level of performance, or level of willingness to change as my previous management team was. This led to a lack of cohesion despite numerous attempts at such.

The hardest part of working for GFS Plant City as a leader was the lack of faith in the leadership team the employees had when we arrived there and trying to mend that. It was very hard to hear my first month or two that the leadership there did not care about their employees and coming from a facility that dedicated themselves to excellence, I knew that was going to be a challenge.

The best part of my years at GFS was when we were working at the Ocala facility and received praise one afternoon from our GM. It was the nicest thing I have read in a long time coming from a GM. He seemed legitimately happy that we were doing an excellent job there. GFS never lacked on the praise or recognition of its team members, its employees, nor its customers. I thoroughly enjoyed working there and I could never speak bad about the company as a whole. One bad egg doesn't spoil the whole meal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, good working atmosphere
Stocker (Current Employee), Erie, PAApril 5, 2014
Pros: great working atomosphere, great co-workers
Cons: its work
Working at Gordon Food Service, your working with your family. Everyone works well with each other. The management is very well taking care of its staff and the work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job that keeps you on your Toes.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), MichiganMarch 29, 2014
Pros: normal retail
Cons: job on the line for customer complaints, and staff doesn't like it if you go on your 30
A typical day of work consists you stocking or being on cash. I have learned that the management at GFS doesn't care so much for the sales associates, and would put their job on the line for a customer complaint. The management however is nice at times and teaches you right from wrong. The hardest part of the job is dealing with customers, while the – more... enjoyable part is meeting new people and business opportunities from all the companies that come in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going and fun work place
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Altamonte SpringsMarch 19, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, friendly staff, mangers who want to help you.
Cons: can often feel redundant, sometimes hard to move up in the company.
GFS is a great company to work for, through the years I've been working for GFS I've learned a lot about customer service and also about what it takes to obtain a managers position. This job teaches you great skills to have to further your job advancements. The people you work with are always friendly and so are the managers. On top of that everyone – more... is always there to help you out. The best part of this job is how flexible it is with your hours, but also how great the work actually is. Being able to help out customers with their needs and being able to satisfy their wants is such a rewarding thing. The hardest part of this job is that it does occasionally require manual labor, lifting boxes, and putting them up onto high shelves, but even that isn't that hard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Fairview Heights, ILMarch 17, 2014
I would recommend this job to high school students that need the experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Friendly Environment
Business Efficiency Analysis Intern (Current Employee), Wyoming, MIMarch 13, 2014
Everyone is very nice and welcoming. The company has excellent values and treats employees well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Enviroment
Customer Development Specialist (Current Employee), Miami, FLMarch 6, 2014
Very good company to work for, great work atmosphere and great management support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun at times
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brooklyn, OHMarch 5, 2014
Pros: free sampling of food
Cons: pay and hours
Stock and organize freezers, load and unload trucks, collect data inventory, interact with customers , assist customers with any question they need to be answered, pull carts, shovel the snow, take trash out, labeling merchandise, complete special task. Management was fine a little bit un professional at times but overall good people and just wanted – more... the job done the correct way in a proper time setting. The hardest part was putting away pallets of food and assisting customers at the same time. Most enjoyable part was interaction with customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swell
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Clarksville, TNMarch 5, 2014
Each school that I work upon brought great delight. The staff was great. The students were as well. If i could do it over again I would. Simple task everyday. Students brought a smile to my face everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Assiatant Manager (Current Employee), Boardman, OHMarch 1, 2014
Pros: working with great customers and associates
Cons: long days. constant roatation of days to evenings.
GFS is a very customer service oriented company. Customer is King. We work a 10 hour work day. I roate shifts from opening the store to closing the store. We do not have a set schedule. We rotate weekends and evening. We wear many different hats. We work with customers, help them with problems, find new products for them to use. Look at menu ideas, – more... help them save money. We create selling stations, create demo products and ideas, help restock the shelfs, hire and train all associates in all aspects of the job. GFS is a very growing and good company to work for. We enjoy wonderful profit sharing and a great benefit program. The hardest part of the day is long shifts and changing from days to evenings.I enjoy all the wonderful people I have met and continue to meet. I enjoy working and training of associates and building relationships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment.
Store Associate (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: bonuses, holiday pay, 401 k
Responsible for maintaining entire store. Some days would be spent working on floor, stocking shelves and filling customer orders. Trucks would come in two days a week and stock would have to be place on sales floor. Most of my responsibility would be in the freezer maintaining stock and filling shelves. Managers were excellent always willing to work – more... around school and family. Great work environment were breaks were always encouraged. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever!
Office Services (Former Employee), Wyoming, MIFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: got to take home new products.
Started in Office Services went on to Customer Service. The people were the best,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Maumee, OHFebruary 11, 2014
Did a variety of tasks. Cashiered, stocked, answered phones, cleaned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Southfield, MIFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: 30min lunches
Fun coworkers, you come in contact with a lot of different business owners
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful job with the perfect company.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Heath, OHFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: great environment, quarterly bonuses, excellent company, good benefits, 401k
Cons: none.
A typical day at work, I'll show up and count my drawer. Then I'm assigned a register and I spend the day having great interactions with a variety of customers. In down time, I'll carry out any tasks the managers give me, varying from cleaning to restocking to making phone calls.

I've learned to go above and beyond for the customer, every time without – more... question. There is always an answer for every question the customer may have, and if it takes a while to find it, you keep trying. I've learned how to handle difficult customers and how to graciously thank the nice ones. I've learned the proper way to give great customer service.

Management is always wonderful. They care about you as an employee and a person. They make sure you're healthy, and that any concerns you have are dealt with immediately. If you want to learn something or discuss an aspect of the company, they will always find the time to teach you or talk to you. They have a good clear communication amongst themselves and all of the employees. They make sure you are recognized when you do something well. And if you do something less than satisfactory, they make sure they discuss it with you privately and in a constructive manner.

My co-workers are the best co-workers I could ask for. Everyone that works there is friends. We talk outside of work, and we make each day fun. Everyone works together and everyone is willing to help one another no matter what. If you're going through a rough time and need a shift covered, you're never stuck without help. Someone is always willing to help you out, and willing to pay you back if you help them. I've personally had a coworker buy me lunch because I covered a shift for her when she was having a difficult family situation. I love each and everyone of my co-workers here.

There is honestly no hard part to this job. You just have to work hard and give the best customer service possible.

The most enjoyable part of the job is working for a company that cares about their customers. We know our major customer's by name. Everyone gets a happy genuine greeting. We make a point to talk to customers about their personal lives. We know their kids, we know their spouses, we know their birthdays. Its all a part of giving a good overall experience, and that is what I love about GFS as a company and my store as a whole. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Cashier/ Stocker (Current Employee), Charter Township of Clinton, MIFebruary 4, 2014
my typical day at work is standing on my feet all day and lifting heavy boxes which is awesome because i get a good workout from it, and the management is good. the hardest part about the job is not getting enough hours. the most enjoyable is working with some really nice people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Overall Company
Customer Development Specialist (Current Employee), Tri-Cities of East TennesseeJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great people
Cons: disloyality of the food service industry, commission only job
A day includes servicing existing customers, and prospecting new clients. I have learned to open new business through overcoming objections and fulfilling needs. Management has been very supportive and provides resources to be successful. Fellow co-workers are very supportive and help create a team atmosphere. Hardest part of the job is the lack of – more... loyalty from some of your customers and shady competition. The most enjoyable part of the job is fulfilling the needs of your clients and making them more profitable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great company
Cashier/Stocker/Inventory (Current Employee), Peoria, ILJanuary 22, 2014
GFS has great benefits for their employees. I have been a seasonal worker during the summer for the past 2 years.

About Gordon Food Service

For more than 110 years, Gordon Food Service has been honoring our promises to our customers and our employees. As the largest – Read more

Gordon Food Service Photos