Find companies:
Gordon Food Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
199 reviews

Gordon Food Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place, fast pace work environment, very detailed work
sales associate (Former Employee), Middletown, OHMay 20, 2014
Pros: breaks too short, low pay
Cons: sales challenge, great incentives, great moral, motivated job
I enjoyed working for this place, because they worked around my schedule, was very sympathetic to household emergencies. They also had many meetings in which incentives and rewards were given. Great bosses and employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for GFS
Customer Development Specialist (Former Employee), Holland, MIMay 20, 2014
Pros: if you go hungry thats your fault
Cons: on call to customers needs all the time
When I joined the company they were still being run by two of the Gordon Brothers. about 3 years ago that changed as they stepped away from day to day operations. With the new management the culture changed and became much more like Sysco and US Foods. The benefits are awesome. The working on Saturdays and sundays got old after a while. There is a brotherhood – more... with coworkers that is second to none. The training is the best in the industry. One of the best jobs I have ever had in my career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brooklyn, OHMay 15, 2014
Good workplace if you just want a part time job. Management is very nice. Good work environment. Always stay busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for first timer in a warehouse environment
Fork Lift driver (Former Employee), Plant City, FLMay 13, 2014
Pros: great co workers
Cons: horrible bosses and warehouse conditions are poor
Compaired to publix ware house this place is a dump but with a little work and better management this place could be awesome. The hours can be very long like any warehouse during the holiday seasons. The management team will work with you on any issues you have as long as you prove to be an import an asset to the company. If you get the job, accuretely – more... selecting and working hard you will have no problem securing your position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Class A CDL Driver (Current Employee), Plant City, FLMay 12, 2014
Pros: great experience
Cons: away from home
Gordon food services is a very good company to work for. they do take care of their employees in ever way possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Battle Creek, MIMay 11, 2014
Pros: fun work environment
Cons: not enough hours
I learned a lot about each business owner who purchased their products from our store. I enjoyed knowing them on a level that made me familiar with all their wants and needs. I enjoyed my job very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Cleveland, ohApril 28, 2014
It was a great experience to work there. The customers were the best and enjoyable part of my job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, the harder you work the more you make
Sales service driver (Former Employee), Wyoming, MIApril 22, 2014
Pros: good compensation, good benefits, management was always fair
Cons: make up days after the holidays
Best job I ever had, regret leaving every day. As a sales service driver you can work at your own pace if you want to get out early work fast, if not take your time. You start early / between 3:00 and 5:00 mon- fri and go home when your truck is empty. The work is hard but rewarding. Management was very understanding and flexible
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company!
Menu & Vacation Route Specialist (Former Employee), Mishawaka, INApril 18, 2014
A great group of people to work with! Managers have an open door policy. Had to leave company due to relocation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
Leader (Current Employee), Ocala, FLApril 8, 2014
Pros: dedicated to its customers, excellent owners, great benefits
Cons: lack of faith in leadership in plant city
As a shipping lead I would normal arrive to work about a half hour early to complete my time and attendance duties, my credit calls and respond to emails before the shift starts at 11:20am.

After that, I would conduct on occasion the morning meeting with the shipping/loading teams giving them updates on the previous nights work and any other pertinent – more... information necessary. At the conclusion of the meeting, I typically would finish my spread sheet on the previous days errors that we received and then browse the routes for the night from transportation. This was to see if there were any changes benefitting both the warehouse and the driver with each of our daily motions.

For the rest of the day I would periodically checking on my grocery selectors and my emails to see if there were any issues that needed my attention. If there were any issues that needed more than my attention I would pass them along to my direct supervisor.

Over the course of 7 years working for GFS, I learned how to build relationships, manage more people than I ever thought I could at one point in my career and how to serve my employees, and customers, with the best service possible.

When I was a leader in our Ocala facility, the management team there was flawless. We had a perfect unity and understanding on how we all wanted the warehouse to perform and how we wanted to satisfy our customers. We executed that understanding daily, monthly and yearly, year in and year out for 7 years.

When we were presented with the challenge of merging with our Plant City facility, the management there was not willing to be on the same understanding, level of performance, or level of willingness to change as my previous management team was. This led to a lack of cohesion despite numerous attempts at such.

The hardest part of working for GFS Plant City as a leader was the lack of faith in the leadership team the employees had when we arrived there and trying to mend that. It was very hard to hear my first month or two that the leadership there did not care about their employees and coming from a facility that dedicated themselves to excellence, I knew that was going to be a challenge.

The best part of my years at GFS was when we were working at the Ocala facility and received praise one afternoon from our GM. It was the nicest thing I have read in a long time coming from a GM. He seemed legitimately happy that we were doing an excellent job there. GFS never lacked on the praise or recognition of its team members, its employees, nor its customers. I thoroughly enjoyed working there and I could never speak bad about the company as a whole. One bad egg doesn't spoil the whole meal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, good working atmosphere
Stocker (Current Employee), Erie, PAApril 5, 2014
Pros: great working atomosphere, great co-workers
Cons: its work
Working at Gordon Food Service, your working with your family. Everyone works well with each other. The management is very well taking care of its staff and the work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job that keeps you on your Toes.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), MichiganMarch 29, 2014
Pros: normal retail
Cons: job on the line for customer complaints, and staff doesn't like it if you go on your 30
A typical day of work consists you stocking or being on cash. I have learned that the management at GFS doesn't care so much for the sales associates, and would put their job on the line for a customer complaint. The management however is nice at times and teaches you right from wrong. The hardest part of the job is dealing with customers, while the – more... enjoyable part is meeting new people and business opportunities from all the companies that come in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going and fun work place
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Altamonte SpringsMarch 19, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, friendly staff, mangers who want to help you.
Cons: can often feel redundant, sometimes hard to move up in the company.
GFS is a great company to work for, through the years I've been working for GFS I've learned a lot about customer service and also about what it takes to obtain a managers position. This job teaches you great skills to have to further your job advancements. The people you work with are always friendly and so are the managers. On top of that everyone – more... is always there to help you out. The best part of this job is how flexible it is with your hours, but also how great the work actually is. Being able to help out customers with their needs and being able to satisfy their wants is such a rewarding thing. The hardest part of this job is that it does occasionally require manual labor, lifting boxes, and putting them up onto high shelves, but even that isn't that hard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Fairview Heights, ILMarch 17, 2014
I would recommend this job to high school students that need the experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Friendly Environment
Business Efficiency Analysis Intern (Current Employee), Wyoming, MIMarch 13, 2014
Everyone is very nice and welcoming. The company has excellent values and treats employees well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Enviroment
Customer Development Specialist (Current Employee), Miami, FLMarch 6, 2014
Very good company to work for, great work atmosphere and great management support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun at times
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brooklyn, OHMarch 5, 2014
Pros: free sampling of food
Cons: pay and hours
Stock and organize freezers, load and unload trucks, collect data inventory, interact with customers , assist customers with any question they need to be answered, pull carts, shovel the snow, take trash out, labeling merchandise, complete special task. Management was fine a little bit un professional at times but overall good people and just wanted – more... the job done the correct way in a proper time setting. The hardest part was putting away pallets of food and assisting customers at the same time. Most enjoyable part was interaction with customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swell
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Clarksville, TNMarch 5, 2014
Each school that I work upon brought great delight. The staff was great. The students were as well. If i could do it over again I would. Simple task everyday. Students brought a smile to my face everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Assiatant Manager (Current Employee), Boardman, OHMarch 1, 2014
Pros: working with great customers and associates
Cons: long days. constant roatation of days to evenings.
GFS is a very customer service oriented company. Customer is King. We work a 10 hour work day. I roate shifts from opening the store to closing the store. We do not have a set schedule. We rotate weekends and evening. We wear many different hats. We work with customers, help them with problems, find new products for them to use. Look at menu ideas, – more... help them save money. We create selling stations, create demo products and ideas, help restock the shelfs, hire and train all associates in all aspects of the job. GFS is a very growing and good company to work for. We enjoy wonderful profit sharing and a great benefit program. The hardest part of the day is long shifts and changing from days to evenings.I enjoy all the wonderful people I have met and continue to meet. I enjoy working and training of associates and building relationships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment.
Store Associate (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: bonuses, holiday pay, 401 k
Responsible for maintaining entire store. Some days would be spent working on floor, stocking shelves and filling customer orders. Trucks would come in two days a week and stock would have to be place on sales floor. Most of my responsibility would be in the freezer maintaining stock and filling shelves. Managers were excellent always willing to work – more... around school and family. Great work environment were breaks were always encouraged. – less

About Gordon Food Service

For more than 110 years, Gordon Food Service has been honoring our promises to our customers and our employees. As the largest – Read more

Gordon Food Service Photos