Find companies:
Gordon Food Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
199 reviews

Gordon Food Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Accounts Payable/Customer Rebates (Former Employee), Milton, OntarioApril 23, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short term position
Was a nice workplace with kind and polite employees and managers who wer always willing to help you out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfair
Finance (Former Employee), CalgaryMarch 21, 2013
Pros: benefits good
Cons: will ask you to stay bec, they need your skills....
laying off all finance -accounting... then they posted jobs again
then we reaaply.. saying we dont have much experience for the same job were applying .. and have worked with them for 4 yrs>>..
they should reasses managers job.. (they are not working just chatting always in the phone..)
being loyal to gfs is not worth it.
unfair management and favoritism, – more... politics... too much! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Delivery service Rep (Current Employee), Victoria, BCMarch 15, 2013
Pros: great equipment great benifits
Cons: long hours
pick up trailer deliver food
Management great with very small exception
co workers great!
dealing with some of the loads and how they are built
some arogant chefs out there thinking you are beneath them
satisfaction of an empty trailer and the pay check!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place. little values
Driver (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJanuary 12, 2013
Terminated for an eye infection that prevented me from being able to work/drive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Swamper (Former Employee), Westbank, BCDecember 19, 2012
I enjoyed working for GFS. long day and hard work and good pay. Makes you feel like you earned your money. Was treated good by bosses and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great place to work
Worker (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 29, 2012
Senior Management unqualified and disconnected from the market/industry. Laid-off employees last year and more are imminent (outsourcing to the US). They do not follow their Cornerstone Values, just words on the wall. Pride themselves on being family owned but don't act as such. Micro-manage employees. Expect increased results with decreased resources. – more... Push till you break mentality. The atmosphere is very negative and unhealthy to be around. Pay is not competitive to the market. Used to be a great place to work. If Management was replaced it could again be a great to place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, they cant make up their minds and lots, lots of politics.
DSR (Former Employee), OttawaNovember 18, 2012
Cons: car allowance sucked, huge territory and they dragged me to milton whenever they felt like it.
I had to listen to stories that involved senior mgmt being stars all through training and when I got in the field found out it was an "old boys club" at the top and they were all essentially incompetent and discrimatory towards employees in a sneeky and under hande3d fashion. Those were the words of current top achievers in the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 months contract
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee), Delta, BCOctober 23, 2012
That was my first job as an accountant, I was doing my practicum there and after that they hired me as a contract , handling A/P , data entry for about more than 100 invoices, bank rec.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge pressure to increase sales in a down market
District Sales Representative (Former Employee), British ColumbiaOctober 11, 2012
Pros: daily autonomy, customer relationships, travel
Cons: performance pressure, declining remuneration
Job culture had changed drastically in the past five years. Poor over-all employee moral as many employees have been laid-off as much of the internal transactions have been relocated to US head office. Remaining employees worry about loosing their jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Lumper (Former Employee), Milton, ONSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: ...
Cons: everything else
Couldn't stand the place, Half the building didn't get along with the other half, everybody was always doing something wrong in the managers eyes and you got worked 20 times harder than the people on the lift trucks who make almost 2x as much as you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gordon Food Service
Driver (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONAugust 15, 2012
Pros: consistent work
Cons: long hours.
Overall a ok company to work for. Lacks certain values of employee/employer relationship. Same run and work everyday. Lots of heavy lifting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Environment
Camp Sales Representative (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 20, 2012
This has been a great place to work. A great team of people working towards a common goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Lansing, MIOctober 12, 2014
Pros: fun at work
Cons: long days
I enjoy GFS. We are a family there and treat everybody like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed the work experience
warehouse selector (Former Employee), Ocala, FLOctober 11, 2014
Pros: bonuses
Cons: short breaks.
I enjoyed working there. they treated really well and they worked with my school schedule even though it was difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
order selector
Forklift operator (Former Employee), columbia scOctober 8, 2014
pull orders on order also ride fork lift to pull the product in the rite area
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 24, 2014
I EARNED HOW TO OPERATE A FORKLIFT, I BECAME A CERTIFIED MEAT SLICER, I LOVED STOCKING
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company with tremendous growth that promotes from within,
QUALITY MANAGER (Former Employee), Taunton, MASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: great benefits, profit sharing is unmatched
Cons: corporate office is in michigan - too cold
Gordon Food Service is a great place to work. This privately own company treats both customer and employee as # 1. They are in the process of tremendous growth, investing in acquisitions, new technology and employee training. There is a strong team atmosphere with all members equally treated
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, The Job never ends 24x7
Customer Development Specialist (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 22, 2014
I found the Job to be easy but nonstop. Also practices of price raising when customer turns an eye.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned how to open a store from the ground up.
Sales Associate / Cashier (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: greeting customers and gaining their trust.
Cons: i wish it was a full time position.
I appreciated seeing how hard it was to start a new store from the ground up.

I gained a new respect for every store that I have been into every since.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management plays favorites
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Melbourne, FLSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: lack of hours, management
I was a cashier at this place for only a few months. I was still in high school and I quickly realized that in order to get more hours, I had to flirt with the managers. The managers were very inappropriate around employees, especially minors. They spoke about intimate encounters, and I even had to file a harassment claim against a shift leader for – more... inviting me to his place. Instead of taking my side, they blamed me for it, and said I was being inappropriate too. Which I wasn't. I had proof, the shift leader went through records and started texting me from his personal phone. After showing my other managers, nothing happened. That shift leader continued to work and harass me. They even put me on schedules with him and I would be afraid to go to the break room by myself, or even walk to my car. I eventually had to quit because I felt like I was danger. – less

About Gordon Food Service

For more than 110 years, Gordon Food Service has been honoring our promises to our customers and our employees. As the largest – Read more

Gordon Food Service Photos