Find companies:
Gordon Food Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
175 reviews

Gordon Food Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great place to work
Worker (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 29, 2012
Senior Management unqualified and disconnected from the market/industry. Laid-off employees last year and more are imminent (outsourcing to the US). They do not follow their Cornerstone Values, just words on the wall. Pride themselves on being family owned but don't act as such. Micro-manage employees. Expect increased results with decreased resources. – more... Push till you break mentality. The atmosphere is very negative and unhealthy to be around. Pay is not competitive to the market. Used to be a great place to work. If Management was replaced it could again be a great to place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, they cant make up their minds and lots, lots of politics.
DSR (Former Employee), OttawaNovember 18, 2012
Cons: car allowance sucked, huge territory and they dragged me to milton whenever they felt like it.
I had to listen to stories that involved senior mgmt being stars all through training and when I got in the field found out it was an "old boys club" at the top and they were all essentially incompetent and discrimatory towards employees in a sneeky and under hande3d fashion. Those were the words of current top achievers in the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 months contract
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee), Delta, BCOctober 23, 2012
That was my first job as an accountant, I was doing my practicum there and after that they hired me as a contract , handling A/P , data entry for about more than 100 invoices, bank rec.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge pressure to increase sales in a down market
District Sales Representative (Former Employee), British ColumbiaOctober 11, 2012
Pros: daily autonomy, customer relationships, travel
Cons: performance pressure, declining remuneration
Job culture had changed drastically in the past five years. Poor over-all employee moral as many employees have been laid-off as much of the internal transactions have been relocated to US head office. Remaining employees worry about loosing their jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Lumper (Former Employee), Milton, ONSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: ...
Cons: everything else
Couldn't stand the place, Half the building didn't get along with the other half, everybody was always doing something wrong in the managers eyes and you got worked 20 times harder than the people on the lift trucks who make almost 2x as much as you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gordon Food Service
Driver (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONAugust 15, 2012
Pros: consistent work
Cons: long hours.
Overall a ok company to work for. Lacks certain values of employee/employer relationship. Same run and work everyday. Lots of heavy lifting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Environment
Camp Sales Representative (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 20, 2012
This has been a great place to work. A great team of people working towards a common goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Manager (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIJuly 22, 2014
Pros: good benefits and culture (at least what is strived for)
Cons: pay, hours, workload, expectations, upper management communication/understanding
Retail management at GFS is better then at other retail establishments but it is still retail and thus is chaotic and stressful. Work load and expectations are high and continue to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Associate
Cashier and Stocker (Former Employee), Findlay, OHJuly 20, 2014
Stocked shelves, sliced meat, cashiered, and worked to assist customers with party planning and special orders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company overall but very poor work/life balance
Sales and Service Manager (Current Employee), Bowling GreenJuly 20, 2014
Pros: great benefits and weekly pay
Cons: long hours and very little free time
A typical day would be assisting customers with products and ensuring orders are filed correctly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working together to comple assignments
Receiver/Lift Operator (Current Employee), Plant city, FLJuly 6, 2014
Pros: free food at times
Cons: n/a
good place to work, Great people, caring management.....................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Brooklyn, OHJune 24, 2014
Pros: free food on friday's and saturdays
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work consists of unloading trucks, stocking shelves and assisting customers. The management team is a good team to work for. The co-workers are mostly hard workers and give a helping hand. The hardest part of the job is sometimes trying to keep up with rush of people. The most enjoyable part of the job are the co-workers. They are very – more... personable and warm. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Family Like
Cashier (Former Employee), Niles, ILJune 17, 2014
I worked with this company for over a year and when I needed personal/medical time off they had no problem adjusting to my needs and holding my job for me while I was gone
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Comapny
SCEDULER AND RECEIVING CLERK (Current Employee), Plant City, FLMay 31, 2014
Pros: incentive checks
Excellent company to work for. Ample avenues to grow within this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIMay 22, 2014
Pros: steady work, no layoffs, and merit raises + incentive bonuses
Cons: long hours ... no sleep :-)
A typical day started at 230pm , where I would begin to set-up for the 2nd shift Produce Processing Dept. I used a forklift to locate and deliver raw product to the dept. It was my responsibility to monitor and replace product as the shift progressed, and to fill out a shift report along with usage and throw-out sheets to be handed in prior to end of – more... shift. At times I was called on to assist in the warehouse as needed, which often resulted in a lot of overtime. I learned much from this job in terms of warehouse management, and the importance of paperwork to ensure accurate data for the company database. Also, I learned how to structure my workday to ensure efficiency and smooth flow of production which ensured cash bonuses for production goals.
The best parts of the job were the benefits, such as a retirement fund(self directed investment) safety and attendance bonuses, and profit sharing. Also a great crew to work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced work environment
Stocker (Former Employee), Monroe, MIMay 21, 2014
It was a nice place to work.. it was my first job.
management was strict but we got the work done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place, fast pace work environment, very detailed work
sales associate (Former Employee), Middletown, OHMay 20, 2014
Pros: breaks too short, low pay
Cons: sales challenge, great incentives, great moral, motivated job
I enjoyed working for this place, because they worked around my schedule, was very sympathetic to household emergencies. They also had many meetings in which incentives and rewards were given. Great bosses and employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for GFS
Customer Development Specialist (Former Employee), Holland, MIMay 20, 2014
Pros: if you go hungry thats your fault
Cons: on call to customers needs all the time
When I joined the company they were still being run by two of the Gordon Brothers. about 3 years ago that changed as they stepped away from day to day operations. With the new management the culture changed and became much more like Sysco and US Foods. The benefits are awesome. The working on Saturdays and sundays got old after a while. There is a brotherhood – more... with coworkers that is second to none. The training is the best in the industry. One of the best jobs I have ever had in my career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brooklyn, OHMay 15, 2014
Good workplace if you just want a part time job. Management is very nice. Good work environment. Always stay busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for first timer in a warehouse environment
Fork Lift driver (Former Employee), Plant City, FLMay 13, 2014
Pros: great co workers
Cons: horrible bosses and warehouse conditions are poor
Compaired to publix ware house this place is a dump but with a little work and better management this place could be awesome. The hours can be very long like any warehouse during the holiday seasons. The management team will work with you on any issues you have as long as you prove to be an import an asset to the company. If you get the job, accuretely – more... selecting and working hard you will have no problem securing your position. – less

About Gordon Food Service

For more than 110 years, Gordon Food Service has been honoring our promises to our customers and our employees. As the largest – Read more

Gordon Food Service Photos