Find companies:
Gordon Food Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
190 reviews

Gordon Food Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place. little values
Driver (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJanuary 12, 2013
Terminated for an eye infection that prevented me from being able to work/drive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Swamper (Former Employee), Westbank, BCDecember 19, 2012
I enjoyed working for GFS. long day and hard work and good pay. Makes you feel like you earned your money. Was treated good by bosses and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great place to work
Worker (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 29, 2012
Senior Management unqualified and disconnected from the market/industry. Laid-off employees last year and more are imminent (outsourcing to the US). They do not follow their Cornerstone Values, just words on the wall. Pride themselves on being family owned but don't act as such. Micro-manage employees. Expect increased results with decreased resources. – more... Push till you break mentality. The atmosphere is very negative and unhealthy to be around. Pay is not competitive to the market. Used to be a great place to work. If Management was replaced it could again be a great to place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, they cant make up their minds and lots, lots of politics.
DSR (Former Employee), OttawaNovember 18, 2012
Cons: car allowance sucked, huge territory and they dragged me to milton whenever they felt like it.
I had to listen to stories that involved senior mgmt being stars all through training and when I got in the field found out it was an "old boys club" at the top and they were all essentially incompetent and discrimatory towards employees in a sneeky and under hande3d fashion. Those were the words of current top achievers in the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 months contract
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee), Delta, BCOctober 23, 2012
That was my first job as an accountant, I was doing my practicum there and after that they hired me as a contract , handling A/P , data entry for about more than 100 invoices, bank rec.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge pressure to increase sales in a down market
District Sales Representative (Former Employee), British ColumbiaOctober 11, 2012
Pros: daily autonomy, customer relationships, travel
Cons: performance pressure, declining remuneration
Job culture had changed drastically in the past five years. Poor over-all employee moral as many employees have been laid-off as much of the internal transactions have been relocated to US head office. Remaining employees worry about loosing their jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Lumper (Former Employee), Milton, ONSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: ...
Cons: everything else
Couldn't stand the place, Half the building didn't get along with the other half, everybody was always doing something wrong in the managers eyes and you got worked 20 times harder than the people on the lift trucks who make almost 2x as much as you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gordon Food Service
Driver (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONAugust 15, 2012
Pros: consistent work
Cons: long hours.
Overall a ok company to work for. Lacks certain values of employee/employer relationship. Same run and work everyday. Lots of heavy lifting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Environment
Camp Sales Representative (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 20, 2012
This has been a great place to work. A great team of people working towards a common goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned how to open a store from the ground up.
Sales Associate / Cashier (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: greeting customers and gaining their trust.
Cons: i wish it was a full time position.
I appreciated seeing how hard it was to start a new store from the ground up.

I gained a new respect for every store that I have been into every since.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management plays favorites
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Melbourne, FLSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: lack of hours, management
I was a cashier at this place for only a few months. I was still in high school and I quickly realized that in order to get more hours, I had to flirt with the managers. The managers were very inappropriate around employees, especially minors. They spoke about intimate encounters, and I even had to file a harassment claim against a shift leader for – more... inviting me to his place. Instead of taking my side, they blamed me for it, and said I was being inappropriate too. Which I wasn't. I had proof, the shift leader went through records and started texting me from his personal phone. After showing my other managers, nothing happened. That shift leader continued to work and harass me. They even put me on schedules with him and I would be afraid to go to the break room by myself, or even walk to my car. I eventually had to quit because I felt like I was danger. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goof stable company
Route Delivery Driver (Current Employee), Aberdeen, MDAugust 27, 2014
Good stable company good place to make good money employees and managers help you and give you all the tools you need to learn your route
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), North Olmsted, OHAugust 20, 2014
Pros: employee discount and holiday party
Great place to work. Management is very accommodating to varying schedules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, fun place to work
Cashier/Cooler (Current Employee), Villa Park, ILAugust 17, 2014
Good place to work part time, very flexible with the scheduling, and very understanding management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life At The Marketplace
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Lighthouse Point, FLAugust 17, 2014
Typically slow customer wise but I always have something to do. I've learned so much and have grown tremendously in Customer service. Day in and day out its usually regular customers so its pretty cool getting to know each of them and having them know me rather than just another grocery employee. I've learned to stand out and go that extra couple of – more... inches to keep that customer coming back and having a comforting experience every time they come in! Management and co-workers are a little weird to be honest. Nobody really talks to anybody. End-cap changes are probably the hardest part of the job only because it can be time consuming. They do always try to keep things fresh such as having contest with our goals to see who can hit it first or who can over achieve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok pay management is diffucult to deal with
SALES SERVICE DRIVER (Current Employee), chicago, ILAugust 13, 2014
work as fast a possable for 10-12 hrs a day and then get asked what takes you so long well its the mis management by the local team upper managenmt seems to do a good job but is rarely seen
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job to work in high school.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Farmington, MIAugust 10, 2014
Pros: with a lot to do, the time can sometimes go by quickly, some cool coworkers.
Cons: one break during your entire shift (10min or 30), overworked and underpaid, inconsistent hours.
This job is for a younger person that is willing to run around and do a bunch of things in the store for minimal pay. In most retail stores there are cashiers, stockers, lot attendants, janitors, etc. When you work at Gordon's, you will be all of those at once. There are different managers that like things done in their own way, and that causes many – more... inconsistencies from a day to day basis. You are required to do all of the things mentioned above, as well as reaching out to every customer you come across, walk them to the product, and sometimes do store carry outs. They want all of this done in a timely manner, and it causes newcomers to get overwhelmed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Customers Service (Part-time) (Former Employee), Grove City, OHAugust 9, 2014
a typical day at work consist of customer service stocking and unloading trucks. CO-workers work well together and help when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy day. Demands are very high. Ever changing company.
Employee (Current Employee), Grand Rapids MIAugust 8, 2014
Pros: customer service. work hard. build great relationships
Cons: very demanding
Most enjoyable part of the job is the customers and growing sales through working with the customers.
53 + hours a work week.
Need to be very strong in time management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GFS is a wonderful place to work and creates a positive working environment for all of their employees.
Customer Development Specialist (Former Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 4, 2014
While the job I have can be a difficult one, being employed by a company that appreciates you and the job you do every day makes it much easier to bear. I actually left the company for a couple of years, but after working for a company who puts their employees and customers needs above their own, it was difficult to work in a culture different from – more... that of gfs. The benefits are some of the best you can find in the workforce and the environment is so positive that you want to do a good job for them everyday! – less

About Gordon Food Service

For more than 110 years, Gordon Food Service has been honoring our promises to our customers and our employees. As the largest – Read more

Gordon Food Service Photos