Gordon Food Service Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work.
Order Selector (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 October 2017
Management does not have a clue and micro manages, I would say moral is low but there is none. Very hard work and get treated like garbage. 90% of the shifts are at night and very toxic environment with very selfish peers. Work out of back of truck or in the warehouse and inhale toxins all the time from the pesticides, great place to get cancer. They have a revolving door and are constantly hiring.
Pros
None.
Cons
Long Hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people to work with
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON17 October 2017
This company may not be perfect but it certainly strives and aims for it. A group of workers that are driven for high performance and rewarded for it. A culture that cares for its hourly employees, and a management team that explores every opportunity to improve your experience by taking suggestions from those on the warehouse floor. Loads of great events planned around the year for both team building and family inclusion.
Pros
pay, benefits, bonuses
Cons
some shifts take time to adjust to
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC16 October 2017
Tough work but fair company and wages. Good work environment and excellent benefits. The hours can be challenging but you will get used to it and they get better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, well-paid if you work for it
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON7 October 2017
The main selling point is the amount of money you can earn if you're willing to work hard and fast. The hourly wage is the minimum wage for you at Gordon. Factoring in your speed and accuracy, you can easily double your annual income - even more. You just need to get very, very good at the job.

Perfect for young men who are all hustle.
Pros
High wages (if you work for them)
Cons
Hard to get a good shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad employer
Az Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON25 September 2017
Rude management and immature HR stay away because you will have no life working here , long hours , no family life ,messed up loads and they still want you to finish the runs when you leave 4 hours late
Pros
Good money
Cons
Long days and management sucks they only care about the customer even if your hurt
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC14 September 2017
I have a great time working at Gordon Food Services, all the employee they all work as a team helping one another, benefits are great, Management they all treat the employee as equal,
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Family Oriented Company
Senior National Operations Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON8 September 2017
I love working for GFS. An awesome company to work for. Plenty of opportunity and a lot of great people. I would prefer working for Gordon Food Service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely hard work with bad management
Driver Helper (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON30 August 2017
Extremely hard work with bad management. No work life balance but the pay is amazing and the benefits are good too. I would do the job again but only if I had to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Body takes a pounding
Sales Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON8 August 2017
I would say the best thing about working here is once your done your load you go home and sometimes it's early
But that's not enough
There is constant loading that's late which makes your day late
Routing is still bad
No communication between ..... anyone actually
Pros
BBQ s for appreciation day
Cons
No fairness in formula pay late loading times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
aide livreur de nuit
Aide-livreur (Current Employee) –  Quebec City, QC27 July 2017
Tout a très bien commencé, j'ai commencé a travailler pour Gordon en juillet 2016, j'avais 3 mois probatoire pour voir si j'aimais l'emploi et si j'étais capable de bien effectuer le travail. A chaque mois ils m'ont évaluer et tout allait super bien. Puis 4 mois plus tard j'ai eu une entorse légère au dos. Je l'ai soigné, tout étais correct. J'ai recommencé à travailler puis la journée de mon retour ils m'ont congédié (illégalement).En disant que je ne répondait plus au exigence. voilà
Pros
travaille dehors
Cons
mange dans camion
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for
Delivery Driver and customer service (Former Employee) –  British Columbia8 July 2017
I really enjoyed the freindships made a GFS the company has a good thing going. The best thing was the customers on my route and the scenery .

Good equipment made my day easier as well and everything was kept in excellent shape.

Management was kinda all over the map but aren't they all
Pros
the customers you get to know
Cons
absent minded management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC28 June 2017
Good start up company to work for to gain experience driving and understanding the lower mainland. you do things on your own pace and work in a safe manner. i learned how to be a great individual in the customer service field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 June 2017
I was working as a part timer while going to school. Unfortunately they have to let me go because of industry slow down and recession in Alberta. I really hope I could work for them again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of time working hard here!
Driver, leadhand (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC15 June 2017
Good employees but horrible management! Pretty much all the management is boys club not actually good leaders. None of them are organized and dont really care about the employees. Worked there for over 15yrs and went to p/t for awhile and management stopped returning calls and instead sent a letter saying services no longer needed. Too chicken to answer the phone or even call back!
Pros
Good employees
Cons
Management a joke!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gfs
Driver Assistant / Office Staff (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 May 2017
Great People, awful management.

Typical day in transportation involved going out on runs and delivering food, or in the transportation office making calls.

I learned to respect semi drivers that work with awful companies like this one

Hardest part of the job was not being able to work without management breathing down your neck while they twiddled their thumbs doing nothing.

The most enjoyable part was seeing all my friends and co-workers and talking about our mutual distaste in the management.
Pros
Freedom of the Road. No management on the road.
Cons
Extreamly long hours, sometimes from 5 am to 9 pm at night Depending on how heavy the day and traffic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge earning potential
Operations Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 May 2017
I honestly love this company and miss it very much. Great team environment, great benefits, great money, and in non-recession times, pretty secure! If you are willing and able to show up and work hard, it is an extremely rewarding job.
Pros
pay, co-workers, can be fun
Cons
management, hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Material Handler
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC7 May 2017
In general, working at this company is a nightmare. You will have to give up your regular life and dedicate yourself to pick up boxes all night long. Your seconds are counted, its true you get the incentives but still, its not worth it when you have to be working in the freezer -30 for full shift. Management is pretty unorganized, schedules based on seniority. They bring new people every month, not even half of them last the first month.
Pros
compensations
Cons
Work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good workplace
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC5 May 2017
I'm happy and enjoying cutting fruits and have a good and friendly co workers,,,have good supervisor and kind and good manager.. I worked here almost a year..
Pros
Barbecue gatherings
Cons
Half day
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice to work
material handler (Former Employee) –  calgary alberta canada5 May 2017
Good employees and superiors, all compensation has been paid on time, treatment for all employees are fair, happy working at Gordon Food Services Calgary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace based on commision and salary
Order selector/forklift operator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 April 2017
It pays decently and the workforce makes the job bearable. Management and advancement is based of politics. The hours are not ideal and you will start on nights. But in a bad economy its not the worst place to work. You get paid an incentive for the work you've done but don't expect any reasonability with regards to time off or vacation. Its based on seniority.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gordon Food Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 736 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6