Find companies:
GoodLife Fitness Clubs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
109 reviews

GoodLife Fitness Clubs Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive, friendly environment
Member Ambassador/Motivator/Fitness Advisor (Current Employee), Fredericton, NBApril 20, 2013
Pros: free tanning, gym membership, discounts
Cons: not enough hours/pay
I enjoy working at GoodLife Fitness, but I need a change. A typical day a work consists of answer the phone, motivating members, selling memebrships, touring new members, and providing top customer service to valued members of the gym. The best part of the job is interacting with the members. It is the best feeling I have after leaving work because – more... I feel like I accomplished something and made a difference in someones life. This job also does not give me enough hours or pay to make a full-time job of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
CSR (Former Employee), Wasaga Beach, ONApril 15, 2013
Pros: got to work out for free
Cons: couldn├Ęt be in two places at once; but i tried!
I greeted each and every person that came into the club and assisted each of them to their needs.
I sold products and encouraged customers to take advantage of promotions taking place.
I answered phones and took messages for other co-workers in the club.
I also took care of paper work regarding tans, inventory, appointments, events etc...
I assisted – more... our trainers with their paper work to they could attend to their clients in a timely fashion.

I learned that health and fitness is great in our everyday life. Working out with other members brought so much joy to me knowing that I could help them succeed their goals.

My co-workers were a great goup of people. They inspired me each and everyday.

The hardest part of my job was having to leave.

Seeing the smiles on our clients face is and was the greatest part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast moving workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 10, 2013
Goodlife Fitness is a fast moving workplace, many people coming in and out of the gym each day and you must be ready for any situation at hand
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Value but very draining position.
Sales Assistant General Manager (Former Employee), Kingston, ONApril 3, 2013
Pros: free gym membership and free tanning.
Cons: working 60hrs a week and only getting paid for 40hr.
I was a Sales AGM. My daily goals were to talk to for 50 people a day to get 25 names and phone number to talk to 10 people and make 3 appointments. I managed the JUMP! Program (daycare) and employees. I was responsible for hiring, firing, and scheduling employees. I dealt with member and employee complaints and kept a positive attitude. My favorite – more... part of the job was the management of the staff. They were a great staff and easy to keep on track. Helping them hit their monthly target was a huge success. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun energetic place to work
Group Ex Instructor (Current Employee), Woodstock, ONApril 1, 2013
Pros: the wonderful relationships built
Cons: a lot of personal prep time for classes that are unpaid
I love teaching and working at the Goodlife. I enjoy the different members that I get to interact with on a daily basis.
Getting to know some members personally and see them make great successes in their fitness journey is so rewarding.
The staff are just like family. Everyone is great at their jobs and we work very well together by supporting each – more... other and helping each other out when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Corporate Culture
Club Administrator (Current Employee), Lower Sackville, NSMarch 24, 2013
This is a great position with lots of flexibility, great management and staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, lots sales pressure
Sales Representative/Membership Coordinator (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 14, 2013
Pros: get to work out for free, meet lots of people, promote fitness, work in a healthy environment
Cons: lots of sales pressure, were not supportive with work- school balance, not the greatest work- life balance
A typical day would be to start day with a group meeting, drive sales, make call and perform activities to generate sales leads.
I much preferred working in my Managerial role in 2012 rather than this role as Sales Representative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee), Markham, OntMarch 3, 2013
Pros: free membership
Cons: started late
- clean the bathrooms
- do the laundry
- arrange all the weights
- clean the equipments
- keep the place tidy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch out Brunswick Square, Saint John: terrible management, terrible atmosphere
Sales (Former Employee), Saint John, NBFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: free membership
Cons: general manager is a bully
If you value your self-esteem and mental health, you will regret applying for any position at Brunswick Square, Saint John.

Management is terrible, head office knows and they will not do anything to improve the situation. The current manager has been there for years, she is not an appropriate or capable manager and should have been let go a long time – more... ago.

She is unable to foster a good working environment, encourage staff or keep staff long term. She is abrasive, rude, moody and a bully.

Goodlife is more concerned about locking in memberships then they are about their staff. – less

May 29, 2013

I prefer to workout in my basement - they add interest onto past due amounts and will then send to collections. Does this sound like a company interested in having people live the "goodlife"?

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good-life
Personal Trainer (Former Employee), Hamilton, OntarioFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: working with clients
Cons: to much sales
-Prospecting new clients
-Sales training
-One-Hour sessions with clients
-Complete daily paper work
-Set schedule for next day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Windsor ONFebruary 13, 2013
Great environment to work in. Had lots of fun, while helping people reach their goals. Enjoy working with the public and having customer interaction every single day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with friendly coworkers
Daycare Worker (Current Employee), Fredericton NBFebruary 9, 2013
New ways to entertain children
watch children color, watch movies
great staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic Enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Dartmouth, NSJanuary 23, 2013
I loved working at Goodlife! It was fun to motivate people and watch the changes people made. I never struggled with the tasked asked of me I enjoyed it all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
checking proper form and helping ladies achieve their fitness goals
Personal Trainer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: seeing the self esteem and the feel good looks on peoples faces
Cons: some of the negitive and uncaring attitude of management towards the members
I loved the interaction with all the members of the club weither they were my clients or not. I put my all into it and I received the same type of positive response back from everyone I met there. The harderst part of the job was at times accomidating clients that were not able to keep scheduled times because I was very busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Personal Trainer/Nutritionist (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: changing lives, free membership, great people, ability to advance knowledge
Cons: long hours, getting paid per client, no work/life balance, lack of benefits, no stability
I work at a womens only club, so its a small team therefore we are quite tight. They are like family to me. I thoroughly enjoy working as a team and playing off of each others strengths, As far as GoodLife company goes, they have some requirements that I do not agree with. I believe employees should get paid for the hours invested into the club and – more... not just purchased by the client. I also do not agree that in order to be eligible for benefits we have to work a min of 120hrs for 3 months straight. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job with room to move up
Personal Trainer (Current Employee), Cambridge, ONDecember 6, 2012
GoodLife is a great workplace for those that are willing to work hard and independently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you like to be bullied and harrssed by management!!!
CA (Current Employee), St. John'sNovember 18, 2012
Pros: some of the best co-workers i have met
Cons: see below!!!
This company talks about living the Goodlife and talks about core values and work/life balance. That is all it is! TALK!!! Once they rope you in to work there they bully and harass people into what they think is you doing your job! They will lower your self esteem and make you feel that you are inadequate at doing your job!

If you want to feel like – more... a number for the company that you work for, you want to be bullied, harassed and feel inadequate about your work abilities, and work for less than min. wage (for the hours they require you to work and for what they pay you AND they don't follow labour standards) and poor management - then this is the company for YOU!!! – less

January 3, 2013

And the trouble with that is, when it is your manager and they create false reports and set you up - you have no chance! Then they offer her a part time position, hours and pay cut.y'know ...a lateral move...because management feels threatened by this person!!!! If i worked there - I would fight back! contact the labour board! I told this person not to let them make her feel inadequate because they have poor management skills - as long as she knows her self worth that's all that is important! Good Life????? not likely......

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about sales
Fitness Advisor (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBNovember 8, 2012
Pros: commission ?
Cons: constant pressure to sell
Good Life is all about sales... They take the time to train well on what to say for every situation in sales calls, appointments etc. But then they lack on training on every other aspect. Management is always hounding you to sell, so they make their quota and so on. Some of the other staff are great, others not so much. The job is just geared 110% to – more... sales and meeting quotas, although the potential to make great money is possible if you a great sales person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Personal Trainer (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 3, 2012
My co-workers and managers are a lot of fun to work with. I am constantly learning and improving myself with this company. I have a million great things to say so to save time and space I'll just say the bad. The company is far to sales based - to make a decent earning you have to get clients to commit to expensive long term health investments. Your – more... selling a great product (health and fitness) but its difficult to sell something that isn't tangible - you can test drive a car but you can't experience a better life style without the time and financial commitment first. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job's just not for me (:
Fitness Manager, Personal Trainer (Current Employee), Pitt Meadows, BCOctober 31, 2012
Pros: great opportunity for bonus'.
Cons: no time in the day to do my own workout.
The job is extremely challenging which I dearly love, but the downside is that there is more pressure on sales than there is on service. I work many more hours than anybody should but the rewards are not enough.

About GoodLife Fitness Clubs

Goodlife Fitness is the largest health club company in Canada with over 275 clubs. The company is 100% Canadian, and was founded – Read more