GoodLife Fitness Clubs

GoodLife Fitness Clubs Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 267 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work
Membership Consultant/Fitness Advisor (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONJanuary 13, 2016
very motivating to do better and work hard to achieve your goals
Working as a motivator was the best part of working there you really just get to enjoy the company, the gym and the people.
Pros
free membership, and great classes
Cons
if in sale your life belongs to them
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy my job
Fitness Trainer (Current Employee) –  Country Hills Village, ABMay 11, 2016
Do in joy my job , I have learned so much and how far I have come to apply my skill why skills to the next job I may go into. You really don't get good benefits or salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job relies on ability to promote yourself
Personal Trainer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 23, 2015
Expect to spend at least 20 hours a week at the beginning 'prospecting' or directly promoting yourself to the public.

You will not be paid for these hours, they will instead advance you minimum wage/hour out of your eventual commission.

Expect to not have any sort of personal life for the first three months (or you will very likely be quitting).
Pros
Get to set your own schedule
Cons
Long Hours or split shifts are frequently needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love interacting with members to make sure they are reaching their goals.
Club Administrator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONFebruary 28, 2016
Fun place to work, staff are great, enjoy my current position, but very difficult to advance into a management position.
Pros
Free membership
Cons
wage
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GoodLife Summary
Motivator (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONDecember 14, 2015
I learned alot of independent work skills while working with GoodLife.
The management was hard to work with because he was very biased with concerns and issues. The hardest part of the job was dealing with upset customers. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing friendly faces (members that come in every day).
Pros
N/A
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of opportunity
Fitness Manager (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONMay 4, 2016
Performance Based company allows you to move as quickly as you want to.

Can work across Canada

New locations opening all over
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good start into the fitness industry
Personal Trainer (Current Employee) –  Bradford, ONFebruary 21, 2016
Overall, good place to work as a start but feel as if I have grown since I began and am ready to take on more of a management position as well as further my experience and learning
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Motivator (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABJanuary 17, 2016
• Greet visitors or callers and handled their inquiries.
• Scheduled and confirmed appointments for clients, customers, or supervisors.
• Maintained proper cleanliness in the studio.
• Responsible as a key holder for opening and closing the studio.
• Met daily sale quotas.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Brand Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BCFebruary 10, 2016
It was really fun working with these guys however it was rather too short for a campaign position for marketing.

there was little supervision however, we all performed above expectations.
Pros
membership
Cons
too short of a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people to work with
Fitness Advisor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONFebruary 5, 2016
The most fun and most stressful job I've ever had. Fun people to work with, amazing feeling to see a member see results. But commission levels suck big time. Very repetitive meetings at 11am and then again at 3pm.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a horrible place to work
Fitness Advisor Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 14, 2016
Job Sucks it was horrible no life balance. I had no day my co workers are great but manager tamer is no good. I had to work 9-9 basically all the time and the manager always told me to get a new haircut. I didn't learn anything.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales driven
Membership Coordinator (Former Employee) –  North York, ONJanuary 30, 2016
very competitive and sales driven. I learned alot about myself and a person and grew in confidence. It taught me alot about the fitness industry and what it takes to be successful in sales
Pros
working out
Cons
pushing sales
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are a fitness enthusiast
Fitness Advisor (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONFebruary 15, 2016
Can make as much money you want, salary is $11 an hour and rest is all commission, depends on which location you are working , if its busy one lots of money can be made
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Works for some not for others.
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 21, 2016
Excellent work place for someone who wants to dedicate their whole life to fitness and isn't aspiring to be a high level athlete or something that will also be time consuming. Long hours and highly sales driven.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Big
Personal Trainer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 27, 2016
In smaller clubs its fun as a PT. In a larger club the vet's get overlooked and hard to give clients to.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth potentail
Marketing Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ONMarch 11, 2016
In my role I have autonomy over scheduling and planning. We had support of our management. A lot of travel. I would recommend entry and moving up.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic workplace, terrible work-life balance, no room to grow.
Certified Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NBOctober 16, 2015
An average day as a personal trainer at GoodLife fitness included meeting new gym members to get them started on training, walking the floors to make sure the gym was tidy, and meeting current clients to train them.
Motivating people towards their goals felt great, but the work-life balance was very hard with the rate of pay.
Pros
Met tons of new people, felt energized at work, best shape of my life.
Cons
long hours, unprofessional management, rate of pay nil for first few weeks of working for them (until you build a client list)
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good staff and a fun environment
Motivator (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BCJanuary 29, 2016
*help customers
*sort/ file paperwork
*sell memberships
*deal with fiancées
*great management
*help customers with gym equipment and usuage.
Pros
Free gym membership
Cons
long hours on feet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun lively energitic workplace
Customer Service Coordinator / Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONJanuary 6, 2016
Best place to work as a young adult
helped make people healthy each and every day
sales training is beyond measurable
a place to smile everyday
lots of ladders to climb
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GoodLife is a great place to work!
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 7, 2016
Very well structured company that compensates well. Sales oriented so you may spend several hours a week there which is why Work/Life balance is low for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 268 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.8

GoodLife Fitness Clubs Reviews by Location