GoodLife Fitness Clubs Employee Reviews

Found 350 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love fitness and making money this is the club for you.
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON28 March 2017
I loved working here. I could not of asked for a better team to of been with. Everyone wants to see you succeed. It's a fun atmosphere did not feel like a job. Thank you Goodlife!
Pros
The people
Cons
Money based business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but a lot of work
Fitness Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 March 2017
Need to have strong work ethic and not be afraid of sales in order to do this job successfully. It is great when you are seeing the results of your clients and hiring/developing your trainers to be successful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Data entry of client information (Current Employee) –  Calgary Trail Edmonton25 March 2017
Typical Day a Goodlife requires a bunch of multi-tasking, which include: answering phones, greeting members, Data entry, cashout, paperwork, filing, handling money, cleaning equipment, customer service
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Unhappy members due to online payments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to start, not the best place to stay
Personal Trainer (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON23 March 2017
Work is sporadic, basically its a sales job, with training being the product. Works for some, and not for others. Culture is good depending on the club, and the job can be fun. A constant hustle is required, without that you wont go anywhere in the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great, place to work with good people
Fitness Advisor & Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON22 March 2017
everyday was new, meeting new people and new experiances.
everyday began with the sales meeting in the morning to get our head sharp. We would then focus on daily targets and decide how we were going to meet them.
Pros
free gym
Cons
long days (split shifts)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great clients
Fitness Instructor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 March 2017
I enjoyed working at goodlife, because the clients were great. I love working in a gym and staying fit. I was able to constantly learn and teach new material.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pt/fm
Fitness Manager/Personal Trainer (Current Employee) –  Ancaster, ON21 March 2017
Great corporate culture, great training and development, opportunities for advancement for staff. Not for the faint of heart. Must be a highly motivated self starter.
Pros
Flexible schedule, unlimited income potential
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underpaid
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 March 2017
The co-workers are great for the most part
Very underpaid in comparison to other fitness facilities
Forced to annoy customers outside of GoodLife Facility (wasn't part of my job description)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON16 March 2017
fun place to work, you get to meet lots of new people, you can take time and get to know the basics of excersising equpiment all while on the job. loved this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Motivator (Casual) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 March 2017
Loved working here, probably one of my favourite jobs! You build relationships with members, get into a healthy active lifestyle, and have great networking opportunities.
Pros
free membership, opportunity to move around
Cons
terrible benefits and job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm very dedicated passionate and enjoy working
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC7 March 2017
Withe every company I have worked with following and upholding company culture is important to me.
I enjoy working with people and helping them grow within the facility and believe in going the extra mile to help where I can.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Personal Trainer and Boot Camp instructor (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON3 March 2017
Learned how to sell training packages
Too many long hours
Most enjoyable part was training clients.
Workplace culture is dependent on your team of employees
Management is great
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales before service
Massage Therapist (Former Employee) –  Regina3 March 2017
Company emphasizes high pressure sales to build a massage clientele. Also is moving to fixed massage rates nation wide. Pricing therapists in smaller towns and cities out of the local market. Company also seems unable to effectively promote health centre services so you will be required to sell and self promote in addition to your services.
Pros
Free gym membership, discount on personal training, generally a fun friendly group of co-workers
Cons
High stress with income being commission base, many unpaid hours required to be successful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job Experience
Motivator (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON2 March 2017
You have your regular people who are great, there's some people that are a pain and stupid and complain about the most ridiculous things - it's disgusting how people don't have any respect to clean up their own equipment. Managements a joke, very bi-polar. The culture is amazing with the location I'm at. Hardest part? Dealing with management over stupid things. Most enjoyable part of the job? The members.
Pros
Free membership
Cons
No other benefits for employees, their benefits is equivalent to that of the members of the gym
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place To Work
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON1 March 2017
Awesome Place To Work & I Hope To Work There Again Soon

All The Staff Where I Worked Were Awesome & Easy To Get Along With

Typical Work Day For Me Was Sometimes 8am-6pm

Management Was Awesome

Hardest Part Of My Job Would Have Been Trying To Make Sales When I have Very Little Sale Experience

The Most Enjoyable Part Of My Job Was Meeting New People Everyday & Getting To Know Them On A Personal Level
Pros
Availability To Unlimited Learning
Cons
Not All Clubs Are 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros and Cons
Fitness Advisor (Full-time Sales Position) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 February 2017
-Great environment to learn people skills
-Healthy environment (fitness)
-Motivated people
-Decent pay and compensation plan

-Long hours
-Micromanagement
-Lack of leadership based management style
Pros
Opportunity to meet many people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super pushy sales job
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 February 2017
Work as a Personal Trainer for 7 month, crazy schedule 5-9am and 4-8pm split shifts training clients the rest of the time prospecting, 60+hours a work week to meet the goal, no overtime pay, pay for your own training, very little training provided by GL, management is always on your case to hit numbers, get written off every week, workplace culture sucks - everybody for themselves, no help from anybody. The hardest part is finding time for family and friends, staying happy working long crazy hours. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people and socializing.
Pros
Free Membership, meeting new people, making friends
Cons
Long hours, no work/life ballance, unpaid OT, very little training, pushy sales tactics, early hours, split shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overworked their trainer not enough income for the amount worked
Personal Trainer Level III (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 February 2017
A typical day at work was to meet new clientele and give them free fitness assessment (2-5 hrs with no pay ) to gain clients. personal i had a really bad experience working with goodlife with the 4 years i was working with them . The hardest part was management was no help when you needed their help and made me work overtime because needed to hit current hours to make a living. The most enjoyable part of the job was training clients and seeing amazing results.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, upbeat environment, great team members
Motivator - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Fredericton, NB25 February 2017
Working at GoodLife Fitness isn't like you're going to work. It's such a friendly, upbeat environment. The associates and management are so welcoming, and you make great relationships with members of the gym.
Pros
Commission when you sell memberships
Cons
Standing for long periods of time
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere with great people to work with.
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 February 2017
They are very pushy to have their goals met and do not allow you to take breaks when needed if you are not where they need you to be
Pros
You get to make your own schedule, workout anytime you want, You get to teach members how to workout properly to avoid injury, watch them progress in their journey to their goals
Cons
Extremely Long hours, must spend all day in the gym, make sure you do not fall below a certain amount of hours, or there will be repercussions to deal with
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 351 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.8