Golden Arrow Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall I wouldn't give this company any good reviews
shop helper (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 December 2017
Lousy place to work.The owners seem to love tfws.You can expect frequent breakdowns. Another reviewer said something about karma?Karma is when you discard good employees and instead have goofballs that allow air filters to fall out due to incompetent servicing.You can also expect high turnover.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company family
Coach operator (Current Employee) –  Fort Hills, AB9 November 2017
Do your job and all is good . Be cooperative and work hard.great ceo and the bartels are good people. Be ready to be flexible , be easy going and you will do well
Pros
Easy
Cons
Ever changing schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Bus Driver - Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 November 2017
Great place to work the most enjoyable part of the job is the working independently. If you want extra work all you have to is ask for charters and you can get lots of hours
Pros
Split Shift
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked the job, terrible management
Coach Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Hills, AB4 May 2017
I worked with Golden Arrow at Fort Hills, and it was very poorly run and by certain new hires from other bussing companies, who tried to run it like the companies they were previously at, Very poor management skills, and Suncor should really do a criminal background check on some management people in charge,

I enjoyed my job of operating the coach and did enjoy the camp life and camp that I was at, got along with most of my fellow employees..

Alot of favortisim towards certain drivers and certain people who sucked up to management,

Was let go for unknown reasons, days before probation was done, with lies and deciet. I have worked off and on with GA for the past few years at different sites, and had no complaints, write ups or any safety infractions and perfect driving record,

So would I recommend this company for long term employment,,definatly not, but to get experience and jump ship,,most definatly, very very poor manaegement,
Pros
Free Accomadations
Cons
poor Management, Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place with lots of friends
No experience (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON23 March 2017
i learned a lot of things like working with others helping each other and respecting the boss and those who are incharge i have learned that i have to work for what i want and i'm willing to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paycheck collection
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Edmonton13 February 2017
My husband worked there. When he was supposed to get permanent statis he was terminated. No reason.
To make a long story short we are still fighting for last paycheck. He has been lied to numerous times and been given the run around. He has been told not to phone back. Lousy way to run a business. Poor management. Complaint has been filed with Employment Standards.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Lousy management
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet alot of great co workers and clientelle
Motor coach /Bus operater (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB7 January 2017
A great place to meet people from all over Canada. The wage is very good. If you can keep to yourself and not speak up it might be ok.
Pros
wage up north is great
Cons
Away from family/friends, to many company double standards
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company to work for, but has management problems
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Base plant24 November 2016
Not a bad outfit to work for. However management has some serious issues. Suncor should demand criminal record checks for all key management personnel. I think what they will find will not only be interesting but pertinent to the duties of the staff.

Suncor has been shafted before by other bus companies. I would hate to see the company suffer because of one bad apple.
Pros
Benefits, good pay and pretty decent equipment
Cons
Management problems
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and easy to work for
Tour Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 May 2016
Good job for part time worker. Very fair and helpful. Training program lacking and needs improvement.Overall- I enjoyed working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst managed company I have ever worked for.
retired (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB27 October 2015
If you have no pride in your work, this is the place to work.All new equipment but no one cleans them.If you need a job use this as a temporary stepping stone to a better job. Turn over in personal is as high as 50%.Wages are below industry standards.
Pros
There are none
Cons
Worst managed company I have ever seen.
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 October 2015
When researching this company I asked fellow drivers about reputation. Everyone advised me this was a good company.
I'm glad I took their advice. This is a family run company which has grown quite large in the 4 years I've been here.
Yes there could be improvements and yes the money could be better, however in this day of recessions and job losses, this is a very good company to work for.
A good loyal employee is treated well. Those who shirk their jobs and hide and expect others to do their work for them are the ones who find this hard to live with.
Don't always believe the opinions of disgruntled employees .....form your own opinion when you get hired
Pros
Food and accommodation
Cons
Away from family for 14 days
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I think its a great company to work for
driver (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray31 July 2015
Every one has the right to express there opinion. But to express things that are not true is just wrong and as a believer in karma some times it will come back at you
I Have worked with Golden Arrow for a while now and yes theres ups and down as is in every job but I haven't been lied to or been ask to work over designed times and they have a high standard of Safety in place and management has been professional with me in all regard to work
Pros
a job with a future at Suncor
Cons
no flights as of yet out east
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fort McMurray manager not deserving of position
Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, Edmonton18 July 2015
Poorly run family company, no incentive to do well.
Constantly being threatened with termination by the manager in fort McMurray
Absolutely no regard for hours of service laws, poor maintenance of buses, fort mac manager lies thru his teeth, forces people to work past their agreed time (14on/7off) because of bad dispatching.
DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY!!!
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Lying manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 49No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pathetic company, no honesty or integrity.
Bus driver (Former Employee) –  Ft McMurray4 July 2015
Learned drivers are a dime a dozen, all drivers feared job cuts on a daily basis, no job advancement unless you work for free. No overtime paid, hours of service exceed what is legal by DOT standards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 63No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ridiculously poorly Managed operation where management will pay absolutely no respect. What ever you do just make certain that you do not get hurt.
Driver. (Former Employee) –  Edmonton18 June 2015
Wow just make certain that you never become ill or injured. And if you do become ill or injured DATA, Do not report! Do not tell anyone. Just find another site with another organization First. Then do what you have to and get attention / help / get better. On site Report Nothing or you will be let go. D.T.A. Don't Tell Anyone! Management is an oxymoron. Disgusting lack of Professionalism.
Pros
Respect from CUSTOMERS. NICE.
Cons
Complete lack of respect from Management and Dispatch. Profuse dishonesty is mind numbing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 70No 10Report

See more Golden Arrow reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Golden Arrow. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.6
Culture
3.1

Golden Arrow Reviews by Location