Find companies:
Godiva Chocolatier, Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
58 reviews

Godiva Chocolatier, Inc Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good food
Manuel J. Michael - Gen. Manager (Former Employee), Skokie, ILJuly 20, 2013
Pros: good food/ unique environment
Cons: business was slow somedays/boring at times
Had 401 K with company.
Food is good and easy to sell to those who are willing to pay for the quality. A good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Keyholder (Former Employee), Farmington, CTJuly 15, 2013
Godiva was such a fun place to work. Unfortunately at the time, they didn't have any full-time opportunities for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Godiva
Overnight Crew (Former Employee), Reading, PAJune 29, 2013
This was one of my favorite places to work. I really enjoyed it here. I always try to get back in but haven't been hiring lately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Clean and Professional Working Environment
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Reading, PAJune 12, 2013
Pros: excellent pay
Cons: short breaks
Godiva Chocolatier is one of the premier employers in the area. They offer excellent pay with matching benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mismanaged, Unorganized environment with a tendency to bully staff. No promotional opportunity.
Senior Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 28, 2013
Pros: cheap chocolate.
Cons: non-profit making company leading to unmanaged and changing priorities.
This organization is scrambling to make a profit after 5 years of EBIT losses in North America. The environment is toxic, and it uses bullish tendencies to ensure staff perform.
There is zero company culture and Executive Management lie, to cover themselves.

Books have been cooked to make it look profitable for the holding company, although the North – more... American business continue to bleed. There has been only consistent losses over the last 5 years.

Training and Promotions are almost non-existent, because the company can't afford those expenses.

An AWFUL organization to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and energetic workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Memphis, TNMay 9, 2013
Pros: a fair and equal work place
Cons: it is very cold in the store at all times
A typical day at Godiva would consist of helping customers find the exact chocolate they are craving with humor to go right along with it. This is a very fun and energized job. Management is very ethical and holds to core values. The hardest part od the job is not eating all of the chocolate, while the most enjoyable part of it is makin sure your customers – more... leave satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive family like enviornment
Chocolatier Key Holding, Supervisor (Former Employee), Miami, FLApril 21, 2013
Flexible and supportive of your goals. The family like environment supports your ideas, and advancement. Flexible with work schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment dedicated to growth.
Global Quality Improvement Manager (Current Employee), Reading, PAApril 14, 2013
A company with with a strong trademark, striving to to make it even more dominant in the minds of consumers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a new and fresh experience for me.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 8, 2013
My first day working there was more hectic than I thought, but I loved it. Everything was fast paced and I learned wonderful things about myself that not only am I a fast learner and I pick up quick, but that I can also multi-task. Working at Godiva has bought out traits in me that I knew I had and what I didn't know I have. The hardest part of the – more... job for me was working in such a confined space but I managed. The most enjoyable part was learning about my environment and picking up lessons on the way. I learned that a personality, hard-work, and determination with motivation will get you anywhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lynnwood, WAMarch 18, 2013
Pros: chocolate tasting
Cons: i gained weight (their stuff is so good you can barely stand it)
A typical day involved prepping cash registers and tempering chocolate immediately after entering (this was a very popular mall location, and you had to have a quick, concise routine). You had to greet customers and be ready to 'upsell' to each and every customer who came into the store, occasionally having to 'catch-&-grab' (sales technique) to bring – more... customers into store on slow days (this is not a job for shy people). You had to be willing to clean at the end of your shift, which involved emptying of all trash, mopping entire store, washing all dishes and utensils for dipping and displays, and you had to restock entire candy case for the next shift's arrival. Knowledge of POS systems and how to complete till paperwork was required of all employees.

The management at the Godiva where I worked was totally awesome. I learned quite a bit from them, and sincerely enjoyed working for and with them.

Co-workers were mostly pretty young, (as most retailers are these days) and so often there would be a employee who did not show up or call in. That was where I became a full-time employee. I was extremely reliable.

The hardest part of the job would probably be when it was a rush during holiday season, or when it was a nice day and we just got a lot of customers (store was outside in a 'strip-mall' set-up where customers enjoyed strolling around during warmer months).

The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to work with so many different types of people, in an awesome beautiful setting, right at the mall. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Sales Associate (Current Employee), breaMarch 8, 2013
I absolutely love this job and the company. I have met some awesome people, and have learned how to do some cool stuff with chocolate. My favorite part of my job was dipping the chocolate covered strawberries. Management was amazing, and since its a small store, you have a small staff, everyone is supper friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for retail
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 9, 2013
Pros: experience
Cons: pay
It was a great part time job for a college student. I have learned a lot and the customer base was amazing/
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start accounting career.
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Reading, PAFebruary 2, 2013
Pros: co-workers, management
Cons: pay
A typical day consisted of examining invoices, sorting invoices, and entering invoices into excel spreadsheets.

I learned the basics of accounting and how to work with the companies accounting software.

Management was friendly.

My co workers helped me get started and were helpful if I had questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A outstanding Place to work
Owners Representative/Construction Management (Former Employee), Redding PAJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: great team
Cons: company sold and shut down our construction dept.
Responsible for the onsite coordination efforts of all new store development and existing store remodels across the Godiva Retail chain. Assisted and supported all construction activities, which include but are not limited to, ensuring project cost (budget) containment, vendor relations, and adherence to construction procedures, policies and regulations, – more... and regular project status updates to the Construction Manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had good days and bad days as with any job.
Accounts Receivable Specialist, Credit Collections (Former Employee), Reading, PAJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: receiving discounts on seconds in company store
Cons: promoting jobs within the company
Started out packaging candy. After all school requirements were met, proceeded into office, acknowledged all involved in paperwork and how the company is run. Loved accounts receivable and all work involved with this job. Was my favorite out of all the other jobs I accomplished which were payables and credit collections.
Co-workers were all very very – more... nice and comfortable to work with.
Management expected duties to be done that was not involved with the current job placement I was hired to do. The good side of that was I learned so much more than I ever thought I would know for running a business and did so in my husbands business. I was his bookkeeper and manager of our office duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A delicious place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee), Edina, MNJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: the variety of chocolate, of course!
Cons: i felt like we never had any positive feedback, only negative
It is easy to sell a product that is the finest of its kind. I enjoyed helping customers, educating them about chocolate and how to enjoy it. My difficulty came when I was expected to make outside sales calls in addition to keeping the store operating. I just didn't have enough payroll hours to cover all they expected of us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to learn and grow
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 27, 2012
- Excellent employee perks and discounts.
- Teaches great sales technique and approach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chocolatier
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Arcadia, CADecember 26, 2012
Pros: great place to learn and grow
Cons: benefits not for everyone
I Love My Job!! Honestly any job can be enjoyable or a nightmare. Your Team makes a big difference. Management team was awesome. You take what you can get from any experience its up to you to take full advantage of that. Once you make the effort Management will guide you and train you in the right direction.
You can really get great work experience – more... from working here. You learn how to communicate to your costumers and to run a business efficiently. Like with any job you have your cons and unfortunately it can sometimes can be our very own costumers giving us a hard time from the smallest things. Health care is not offered to everyone other than that I really have no complain. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Bad Apple
Sales (Current Employee), East CoastNovember 29, 2012
Pros: decent pay and hours. great product and location
Cons: lazy employees not into teamwork. payroll stealing.
I've been employed at Godiva for a long while and I still like it, but that feeling is slowly fading. I am called on for a numerous amount of tasks there. It is made apparent by management I am the best at tying boxes(presentation is key), I am one of a few people who can go to work and find things to do instead of standing around on my cellphone or – more... making 30+ minute personal phone calls in the back without taking a break. I don't LIE about coworkers or managers. I cover shifts when needed because sometimes I would rather be at work. The job itself is fairly easy, but we do a lot of tasks. We dip and package goods, prepare goods like cashew bark, make drinks, stock cases and shelves,... we are all involved in every aspect of the job, but some more than others. Although I still like my job, I do not like the underhanded activities involving coworkers. There are people so jealous that they will say anything to get you in trouble. One person has tried to tell management that a few of us were hostile/rude/bullies. This person has started nothing but trouble with everyone and is getting rewarded for it. Management can't trust her, but they keep her around. Things that this person does and says effects our customers as well. We deal with people who have $$, but just because they have money doesn't mean you should take advantage. I have never asked a customer for tickets to a show or any other event, but this person constantly does. It's against the way of Godiva AND the facility in which our shop is located. When guys come in our store, it is a nightmare watching her ignore other customers just to get attention. She literally throws herself at them sometimes bouncing her chest in their face.... We get customers who won't shop when she is there, because she makes them uncomfortable and invades their personal space. There are days when she is behind the register reading thru emails and will tell customers to wait at the other register although there is a line over there and she's free. Supposedly management doesn't see this type of behavior from her a lot, but they see it. I can't stand working with someone who takes 4-5 breaks a shift and then tries to act like they are the star employees. I've worked there longer than her and I don't even do that kind of stuff. Reporting issues does nothing. When problems are addressed, it is done in a way like; " Why did you take a 45 min. break?... Okay, well you didn't clock out and the store was busy... Well why didn't you help them as soon as you came back... Your projects have to wait until the customers are all set especially when the store is busy and I will have to clock you out for your break." The time adjustment never happens and that person keeps repeating the same actions. I don't like to not see results when I bring up problems. This girl would've been let go anywhere else, but for some strange reason she is still employed. I don't want to leave because of her, but it seems as if I am getting overlooked as a leader for someone who's laziness and knack for trying to start trouble is shining brightly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great smelling store, cute, and easy going
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Dallas, TXNovember 10, 2012
Pros: free chocolate
Cons: my manager
My time at godiva was always so wonderful. I liked my job there period. they are a great company to work for unless your manager is a tight wad

a typical day at work for me was trying to get customers inside of the store, and selling chocolate

my manager sucked, she didn't really understand that I had two jobs and could not focus all of my time at – more... Godiva because it was taken away from my 2nd job at that time. The manager also schemed up a plan to get my fired because she thought I was talking about her *rolls eyes* she was pathetic but other than that everything else was magnificent. I love chocolate so working there was also a highlight of my day – less

About Godiva Chocolatier, Inc

Riding into the hearts of chocolate aficionados everywhere, Godiva Chocolatier makes and sells premium chocolate concoctions, – Read more

Godiva Chocolatier, Inc Photos