Find companies:
GNC
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
557 reviews

GNC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Shaw AFB, SCApril 28, 2014
Commission based and cut throat job. People care about numbers and not your health.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow and learn.
Manager (Former Employee), Duluth, GaApril 28, 2014
Pros: exposure to diverse clientle, product knowledge
Cons: short breaks and long hours.
Lots of customer interaction. Along with a decent amount of time merchandizing and floor maintienance. Wonderful learning conducive environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work enviroment
Store Manager (Former Employee), san angelo, txApril 26, 2014
helping customers and learning about products never got boring enjoyed the job extremely
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work while in school.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Cooper City, FLApril 25, 2014
Pros: commission
Cons: only person in the store
I worked here as a sales associate while in school during the Summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring shifts
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Happy Valley, ORApril 25, 2014
Pros: commissions, and flexible hours
Cons: not enough hours and our store was really slow
You got to make your numbers or get in trouble for it.
Typical day is just cleaning around the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work for But Promotional Raises Are Scarce
Marketing (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAApril 25, 2014
Great company to work for, but they generally do not pay well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, and learn about so many products.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Killeen, TXApril 25, 2014
I make sure my work area is clean and products are neat and stocked up on the shelfs. I take quizes on new products and the procedures of the job online on my down time. I would say that the hardest part is maintaining all the information of all the products GNC offers. But I do enjoy learning new things and the opportunity to advance in my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hayward, CAApril 23, 2014
You learn quite a bit of supplements, homeopathic remedies, and basic health. Quiet place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company for health and wellness benefits.
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee), Frankfort, KYApril 22, 2014
Overall a pretty good place to hold down a part-time job. I love talking to customers about their health goals and the benefits of them taking supplements to help improve their lifestyle. However I do struggle to try maintain any kind of managed focus at this position. I am approaching only my first year with this company and I will have already gone – more... through five different managers which makes me believe that they do not get compensated well for their work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hard job to live up to.
Sales Asst (Current Employee), Twenty nine palms, CAApril 22, 2014
Pros: learning about supplements
Cons: micro managment from higher levels
As a GNC employee we were judged on what we sold and how much of it we did. So even if the customer didn't want our brand we were inclined to at least make the suggestion. I believed that you should always sell what's best for the customer with minor benefits to the company. That's why we all wanted to work in the store, to help the customer. My co-workers – more... and entry level management were the best I could of ever asked for. My bosses really did a top notch job in making it a fun and ever learning experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GNC Review
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Chula Vista, CAApril 21, 2014
As a key holder a typical day for me would be to open or close the store depending on the shift. I learned a lot about vitamin and nutritional supplements as well as herbal supplements and the different uses. The manager in store was a delight to work with, however the RSD at the time left much to be desired in the management department. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job I would say was learning what customers needed and matching them to the right supplements. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst training I've ever received.
Sales associate (Former Employee), Apex, NCApril 17, 2014
Cons: lack of training, pay, old equipment.convenient selection of places to buy lunch.
I've never been less prepared for a job in my life. The manager at the Hwy 64 location in Apex was unwilling to prepare me for this job. There is a training session to take on the register. However, she didn't have me taking the correct courses until weeks in to the job. I was left alone in the store without knowing how to complete basic transactions, – more... and with very little product knowledge. It would take several minutes to lock and unlock the broken lock on the front door. The face plate on the safe was loose, making it difficult to operate. The restroom was deplorable. Product and basic operational questions often went unanswered, as she didn't seem to have a clue. The pay is ridiculously low, and you'll be lucky to get 15 hours in a week. You do get an employee discount, however the merchandise is so over priced that it really is a wash. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved helping people but un-professional management.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Waco, TXApril 16, 2014
Pros: customers results.
Cons: management.
I loved working for the "nutrtion" business but when it came down to management, it was very sketchy. Honestly, it depends who you work for but if your manager is going to skip out of work early and get paid for those "missed" hours and sleep with one of the co-workers then say something, don't think your manager is "God", he's more afraid of you then – more... you are of him if you have the same situation I was in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time job
Sales associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 15, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: hours, no benefits
Awesome meeting different types of people. Learned a lot about supplements and diet. Co-workers were all awesome and made amazing friends here. Hardest part was the inventory. Loved getting the discounts even though its only about 10-20%
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow-pace workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Gurnee, ILApril 14, 2014
GNC is a great job and you gain a lot of knowledge from this job. I find the hardest part about the job is the slow pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for sales experience
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Tampa, FLApril 13, 2014
Pros: half hour lunch
This job was amazing for gaining sales experience. I enjoy helping customers meet their dietary needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my time at GNV
Assistant Key Holder (Former Employee), Simsbury, CCTApril 11, 2014
As a part time worker I felt very unprepared for the job in which I was hired. I received poor training and also felt unprotected. my manager would not switch shifts with me even when I expressed that I didn't feel safe closing the store alone at nights. The company it seemed cared more about the products moving than it did its employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on your area and management this is a great place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Dexter, MIApril 10, 2014
GNC is fun and very interesting work. You learn a lot during your training and the discounts are great. The downfall is area and management. If you're in a poor area or an area that isn't very busy you wont make much money. if you have a dumb manager he can also make working suck. but given the right situation GNC can be a dream job for the right person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has been fifteen years since I worked there
Store Manager (Former Employee), Paramus, NJApril 8, 2014
Pros: my immediate superiors were good to work with
Cons: upper management was hard to work for
I would open the store and check to see if it was neat and clean. If not then I would have my crew straighten and clean those areas in need of attention when they came in. I would open the registers and prepare for the coming day. During the day I would assist customers while making certain the salespeople were also helping customers. Before leaving – more... I would check with my assistant to make certain She understood what needed to be done before closing especially getting the money to the bank. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Store Manager (Former Employee), Lanham, MDApril 8, 2014
Pros: pay and commissions, free and discounted products, good job
Cons: lack of support which was attypical in my instance.
was thrown into a failing store with minimal training and staffing during a store reset and the largest ad set change of the year. I was underprepared and under experienced for the challenge. Management and their growth predictions are impossible. Good pay and good balance. Free products from reps. Hardest part was getting support from SSM that worked – more... an hour away and a lack luster RSD. – less

About GNC

What's good for the GNC customer is great for the company's bottom line. GNC Holdings operates the world's leading nutritional-supplements – Read more