Find companies:
GNC
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
597 reviews

GNC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm a GNC girl!!!
Store Manager (Current Employee), Gadsden, ALJuly 21, 2014
As a store manager for General Nutrition Centers, I am able to do what I love: teach others how to become healthier! The best part of my job is meeting new people and reconnecting with customers who have previously shopped with me. I am able to learn about new products and which ingredients work best together for any lifestyle! The hardest part of my – more... job would be watching those who are sick and unable to financially help themselves; however, I do my best to match them to the healthiest lifestyle I can provide within their budget. My associates work extremely hard to deliver the best results for the customers, the store, and themselves. I love what I do at GNC, and I know the career with this company is just going to get better and better!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers and decent managers
Sales Associate (Current Employee), LAs Vegas, NVJuly 17, 2014
Pros: decent pay. flexible hours
Cons: short breaks, not a lot of job security
I absolutely loved most of the clientele I worked with. I worked on the strip so I got to interact with a lot of different cultures and just really interesting people. I had a few issues with my original manager but did not let it affect my work performance and then was later requested to help open a new high traffic store and fell in love all over – more... again. The hardest part of the job is remembering everything, you have to learn a lot, not just about basic functions of the store but about the products they sell and it really is a lot, I personally would get a lot confused, but always had someone to call or ask for hlp when I needed a second opinion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained lots of knowledge
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Saint Marys, GAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: 30% discount. free products
Cons: no benefits, no insurance, no breaks, you work alone.
I really enjoy working at GNC. You have to be knowledgable to help customers out and I'm glad I have been able to impact consumers lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun active inviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Casper, WYJuly 11, 2014
Pros: great learning experience
Cons: aggresive customers
training and learning new products are an everyday thing, helping people find out what they need

i learned about how to communicate well with others
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Minneapolis,MNJuly 9, 2014
This company has poor management and is too focused on sales and not focused enough on the customers. They push GNC brands only even if it is not the best brand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy job to have
Store Manager (Former Employee), Sumter, SCJuly 9, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: most the time by yourself
Good pay but lots of hours to put in and most the time by yourself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and stimulating work environment
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Montgomery, ALJuly 7, 2014
Pros: awesome management, gaining information i can use throughout my life
Cons: no breaks
A typical day at work would begin with greeting and engaging each customer that enters the store. Usually the customers come in with a health or fitness goal, and I find products that fit their needs, explain these products and why theses products are beneficial to the customer, and then complete the sale. Many of the customers that come into the store – more... are frustrated with products they felt didn't work. I ask customers life style questions, and use my knowledge of both fitness and supplementation to help them achieve their goals. In my store my coworkers and I have an attitude of teamwork and camaraderie, because we're all working to improve the store's sales numbers. Usually only one employee is in the store at a time, so in between shifts, we typically inform the other employee about sales and promotions and effective sales tactics we used we may have used that day. The most enjoyable part of my job is helping the customer achieve their goals. There's no greater feeling than when a customer leaves the store with a smile, feeling like they have gained the information they need to be successful in their fitness regiment. Sometimes it can be difficult and intimidating to strike up a conversation with a complete stranger, but that makes finding a connection with customers even more satisfying. Another difficult aspect initially was trying not to let having a bad day interfere with my enthusiasm as a salesperson. In sales one has to maintain a positive and confident attitude, regardless of what is happening outside of the workplace, because they will be unsuccessful if they do not. I'm very glad that I've had this experience at GNC, because it has taught me how to approach strangers and make connections with them. It has taught me how to have a positive attitude despite outside circumstances. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sheboygan, WIJuly 6, 2014
Pros: discounts on supplements
Cons: long hours, quotas, angry customers
A lot of standing, a lot of sales pressure. Can be interesting in the sense of supplemental knowledge. Have to deal with a lot of angry customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer oriented, fun place to work.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Carol Stream, ILJuly 3, 2014
Pros: deals on supplements
Assist customers with all their health and wellness needs. Make suggestions and write out regimens for individuals with special needs. Constantly moving around, completing merchandising/ inventory control/purchase orders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Milford, OhJune 30, 2014
Pros: management, room to grow
Cons: boring at times
I would assist customers with whatever needs they came into the store with. Also, i would try to upsell items as needed. It was not commission based only hourly. Management was great. Everyone was pleasant to work with and was always there to lend a helping hand when needed. The hardest part of the job was sometimes there was hours before a customer – more... would come into the store. Overall, it was an easy job and I could have done well had I stayed there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience, horrible company
General Nutrition Consultant (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 30, 2014
Pros: learned a lot!
Cons: ignorant upper management
I learned so much while I was there! It was awesome! My manager was my best friend and a past co-worker from Gold's Gym. GNC is really out to SCREW the little man, even the store managers. My store was located right next to the Gold's gym that had closed. They put a new GNC store 2mi down the road, and had another less than 5 miles down the road in – more... the other direction. This store was going down in sales because of circumstances out of the companies hands. Well, they were trying to reprimand me and my manager (even though I had the top sales in the region for the past 5 months in a row.) The store just east of us, all the employees quit, so they had my SM manage that store, ALSO, and staying within 45hours. So, they tried to suspend myself and the other associate because the overall sales have gone down compared to last years (when the gym was still open and the other GNC wasn't open.) They demoted my manager because he wasn't able to get sales up above what they were last year. They also fired other ASM and SM around the region because of numbers. I'm sorry, but the economy is going down. People here in Indiana A) aren't huge on nutrition and fitness like any states on the coast and B) the people in the community we were located in, were the same people that fret over paying anywhere from $9.95 - $24.99 at Gold's Gym right next door to my GNC store. Company needs to do their research, otherwise they are going to be another failing business in Indianapolis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a great experience with customer
Store Manager (Current Employee), Glendale, AZJune 28, 2014
Pros: learned new skills in management
Cons: pay, benefits, no lunch break, hardly any bathroom breaks, alone for 8 hours no team environment, low customer count
Slow pace environment being a manager working 8 hour days. I typically get all my paperwork and store tasks done early so there is a lot of leisure time in between customers which is not always a good thing considering i love to be busy and always have something to do. My co workers are amazing. I hand picked them and trained them and we have a very – more... professional but laid back work place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for gaining knowledge in Nutrition and Sales.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Peachtree City, GAJune 26, 2014
Pros: great hours, not exhausting
Cons: unrealistic sales goals at times
GNC has been a huge part of my life for the past two years, and it will be hard for me to leave. This corporation is great for learning sales techniques and great customer service. If you're interested in Nutrition or just living a healthy lifestyle, you will enjoy this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Victorville, CAJune 26, 2014
loaded un loaded shipments. great learning experience with teams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fitness orientated retail store. Customers share common interest.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJune 21, 2014
The most enjoyable part of working at GNC was being able too successfully convince a customer in buying a product that your 100% sure is going too help them in their goals. Up on the list of enjoyable parts was being able too enlighten customers in how and why things work in the body and how different ingredients directly effect their body, leaving – more... them well informed and better prepared.
i learned so much in a very short amount of time, i learned everything from what the body needs too function properly too all the different products for preventative nutrition for every body part. there was no short supply of out of date training modules. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
keeping busy through the day
Customer Service/Inside Sales (Former Employee), Greenville, SCJune 19, 2014
Pros: hour breaks
Cons: rotate 12 hr days
5 days a week sitting in your desk with a headset assisting customers. The hardest part is tracking your goals. Making sure you reach them. I would say the pros of this job being able to put in more hours if you like, and helping the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interacting with customers and supplying them with sufficient and credible information
Manager (Current Employee), 2040 Forest PlazaJune 19, 2014
I simply enjoyed working with my co sales representatives and supplying my customers with the correct information to help meet their needs. I enjoyed the challenges of helping each customer find the right product for them at the right price.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Upper Arlington, OHJune 19, 2014
Terrible place to work, awful benefits, poor pay. I would not recommend that anyone consider working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a temporal or part-time job
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Miami Lakes, FLJune 17, 2014
Pros: easy to do
Cons: low salary. (for me was only a temporal part-time)
A typical day at GNC starts with cleaning and organizing the store; the rest of the day include sales, stocking and customer service. I learned about different products, and another kind of sales; store was easy to manage just order and sell the different products, inventory control and manage cash. The co-workers (Two Managers) used to do the same – more... job, and we used to work alone, but we had a good coordination, I didn't find any worst part at this job and the best part was reach our sales and have a good inventory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bureaucratic environment
GNC SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), IAJune 17, 2014
Pros: learned a lot about sales, interpersonal dynamics, and myself
Cons: horrible work environment and negative feedback loop
During a typical day, one would generally be belaboured with a number of usual sales associate tasks. The unfortunate part of this job is that you must meet key indicators or risk termination. My personal manager was a scheme-y con artist, who would make a sale regardless of the consequences for the customer. I vowed not to work in this manner.

About GNC

What's good for the GNC customer is great for the company's bottom line. GNC Holdings operates the world's leading nutritional-supplements – Read more