Find companies:
GNC
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
609 reviews

GNC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great part time job with possibilities to advance
Manager of store #3820 (Former Employee), Warrenton, MOAugust 25, 2014
Pros: fun, competitive, less stress
Cons: constant sales goals, cleaning, and odd and ends hours
constant sales goals met, commission sales make most of paycheck
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work, helping people better themselves.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Rohnert Park, CAAugust 22, 2014
A typical day at work would involve opening or closing the store as normal duties. Aside from the business aspects to take care such as setting daily goals, reviewing previous day reports and so on, I would also be involved in sales with customers. At this job I was really able to get a grasp on what its like to build relations with customers, learned – more... sales tactics, and achieve the feeling of successfully landing a sale, or even better an upsale. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good sales job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), East Brunswick, NJAugust 22, 2014
gnc was is a good sales job you can make a lot of money with commission good hours and work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun while it lasted.
Nutritional Consultant/ Assistant Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 22, 2014
Pros: fun while it lasted.
Cons: no job security.
Competitive, plenty room for advancement if you can show your aptitude for sales. fun if the right manager is above you, stressful at other times. sometimes "KPI" goals are unrealistic and management, many of which never actually worked in store, cant see that each store location is different and cannot be judged the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to help provide the right information to customers
(GNC), Sales Associate (Current Employee), West Jordan, UTAugust 21, 2014
Pros: helping people get the results they want
Cons: management that doesn't care about employees
Customer service
learning new health products that came out
treated poorly by management
Great coworkers, Awesome relationships
Worst part is how the company works
Love helping customers with their fitness goals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Enviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 18, 2014
During the day I was in charge of serving the customers, making sure their visit was a pleasant one; Block and facing(neatly stacking) the items in the store. At night, I was in charge of closing the store by myself, locking up and also dropping the money off at the bank’s drop box. An in spare time during lunch hours find ways to attract customers – more... to our store. (I insisted) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customer Service Goes A Long Way
Store Manager (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYAugust 17, 2014
Help customers improve their quality of life! Work with others that enjoy the health and fitness industry. Great benefits and flexible scheduling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this job was good
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALAugust 14, 2014
Pros: fun and great customer service experience
Cons: low pay, unstable work environment
*cashiering
*front end assistance
*the hardest part of this job was dealing with the other co workers
*the most enjoyable part of this job was working with people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and friendly atmosphere
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Stansbury, UtAugust 14, 2014
Everyone was very friendly and enjoyable to work with. The hardest part was making sure the price tags rung up correctly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Inventory control assistant (Former Employee), Camarillo, CAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: breaks
Cons: n/a
different jobs for diffrent people. hard work keeping on task is important.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company with a focus on sale indicators
Assistant Manager/ Sales Representative (Current Employee), Joplin, MOAugust 13, 2014
Pros: great benifits
Cons: working holiday hours
Typical day at work includes direct interaction with customers in order to find nutritional supplements to better the customers overall health. I have learned how to manage a sales team in order to exceed sales indicators while also providing the customers with the correct advice and products. Management and co-workers worked as a team to make the work – more... day progress in a positive manner. All employees know what to expect and what goals are to be met on a day to day basis. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with customers and thinking on your feet in order to exceed customer expectations and sales goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was a learning process
Manager (Former Employee), Wisconsin Rapids, WIAugust 13, 2014
Pros: loved working with the customers
Cons: travel
pick up bank statements , open the store, balance the safe, set up the cash drawers. GNC was a learning experience as you were always training and learning about all of the items in the store as the job required a lot of product knowledge. inventory items and date checking was a daily mission. ordering merchandise was also input daily and sent in weekly. – more... I would also check messages and e-mails daily. the store was set according to a plan that was set for all of the stores and reset was done often. As a working manager I put out freight, ran the register, and spent a lot of time with the customers helping them with products . I also cleaned made bank deposits, closed the store at night. Conference calls were also a daily thing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick advancement
Senior Store Manager (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 12, 2014
The most difficult part of this position was the hard sales. Daily sales quotas on selected merchandise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Cape May, NJAugust 12, 2014
Pros: pay was great
Cons: short lunches
Loved working at GNC, great people to work with! Commission was excellent as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Product
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Mansfield, MAAugust 12, 2014
The majority of the day is making the store appear presentable to the oncoming consumers. Speaking with customers and appealing to what they want is a huge part of being successful in making a sale to not only benefit the store but that customer's life and well-being.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complete nutrition
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Athens, TNAugust 8, 2014
A retail store providing complete body support and nutritional supplements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Nutrition Centers
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fremont, NEAugust 8, 2014
Pros: management experience, benefits, and vacation.
Cons: little to no training, and preparing for my position. low income.
My afternoon shifts would start at 2:30pm Monday - Thursday, 10:00am on Saturday, with Friday and Sunday off "unless I covered a shift for a co-worker".

They offered me a wide variety of management training, and product marketing experience. Shipping and Inventory was done at the end of the Month last weekend. This was my first opportunity at being – more... a independent business member. There was very little supervision and I answered to the district and state representatives. I prepared my own sales and quarterly finance reports, and reported them to my superiors. The benefits were nice and vacation time plenty when earned.

The only thing is having to learn the product and studying to understand over 300 various health and wellness products we offered. There was very little training, so I had to pretty much self teach myself. The pay was not very good either. But benefits and vacation time made up for the lack of income. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store managers not paid enough
Store Manager (Former Employee), Roswell, GAAugust 5, 2014
They do not pay store managers enough. Since they are logistics, human resources as well as product trainer you truly wear 15 different hats and not paid very competitively. Although, you find yourself staying to help the customers out the customers and products you sell are the positives of work for GNC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic retail job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Glastonbury, CTAugust 5, 2014
Pros: comission. flexible work schedule.
Cons: not much of a productive work environment. they mainly care about sales, not employees. also the base pay is minimum wage.
GNC is a typical retail job however has a high emphasis on sales.

- I learned how to persuasively engage with customers for the purpose of store sales numbers
- I also learned much about healthy living and dietary practices
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Customer Service, Sales (Former Employee), El Paso, TXAugust 4, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: pay, management, lack of support
Management required employees to push our own products even when it was not was the customer needed. No room for advancement. No lunch or break. Worked 12 hour days sometimes without a break or lunch.

About GNC

What's good for the GNC customer is great for the company's bottom line. GNC Holdings operates the world's leading nutritional-supplements – Read more