Find companies:
GNC
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
559 reviews

GNC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The challenge day at work is how to receive shipment, block & face shelves
Store Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 26, 2014
Pros: good bonus
Cons: working on satusdays
The challenge day at work is how to receive shipment, block & face shelves
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and exiting workplace
Franchise (Current Employee), North York, ONApril 23, 2014
Pros: celebrating success
Cons: high traffic
Head Pharmacist
Hiring/ firing
performance reviews
inventory control
productivity
scheduling
working along with other departments
dispensing meds & counselling patients
Cross training staff members within the same store
Working within parameter of budget ( wages & expenses )
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time theft, bad management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Langley, BCApril 23, 2014
Pros: high comission
Cons: bad management, corrupt, time theft, no loyalty
This is the worst job to work at, your hard work is not appreciated the moment your sales go down. You are automatically threatened with getting your hours cut or even losing your job. Corporate is always breathing down your managers neck, causing your manager to constantly reem you out. Worst work environment to work at. STAY AWAY.

The only good thing – more... about this job was that I met amazing people and developed my social skills. Learning about health and fitness was the best thing I could have done. It's too bad the people up above don't know how to keep their employees happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Pickering, ONApril 5, 2014
A typical day at work was basically attending to customers needs answering questions about products, Merchandising products and cleaning. Management was really good, understanding and easy to talk to. Great co-workers who help a lot!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, just looking for a change.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ottawa, OntarioJanuary 30, 2014
Great job, just wasn't what I wanted career wise. .................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to develop interpersonal skills
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Mississauga, OntarioDecember 27, 2013
Pros: learning how to deal with all types of individuals
This is a great part-time job where each day I encounter different types of people that challenge me to think critically in an instant. Management is very fair and gives hours based on individual performance. The hardest part of the job is meeting sales targets on days that are not very busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with GNC.
Manager (Former Employee), 100 Bayshore DriveDecember 9, 2013
Pros: promotial money's were offered.
Cons: perfect standards were expected w/ minimal training.
My satisfaction came from long term clients and personal training clientele who came in to seek advice. Through their results I gained lifetime consumers. I took the managing position to keep the original staff. You're only as strong as your team. The hardest thing I had to deal with was with politics from the higher authority; because we are corporate, – more... we need to hit certain standards, or stats I should say. GNC pushes GNC products although my research pointed at times to other ones, I hit the stats but gave my clients options. Being part of a Crew or should I say a team environment is what kept me going there. Not meaning the other stores but the particular one I was in charge of. When a corporation decides to compromise good customer service for their corporate gains-well let's just say that as an employee it's good as management, you get to see the real picture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast pace, informative environment with many opportunites to learn.
Store Manager (Current Employee), Novato, CAJuly 9, 2013
Pros: great discount on products.
In my current position, a balance must be maintained between sales and management. While being responsible for personal as well as over all sales, I am also responsible for the focus and direction of the sales to meet company goals. This requires proper training and education of all employees, as well as retraining for new products and promotions. The – more... sales floor merchandising and sales promotions are continually changing which requires great organizational skills. There is also a large amount of training material and product information that must be kept up to date, organized and readily accessible. There are many other aspects, such as communication and creating a clean and inviting environment, that make up the fast pace day to day operations at my current position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Pharmacy Technician, Supervisor (Former Employee), Jeddah Saudi ArabiaMay 10, 2013
Multi Tasking

Apart from my profession like contruction and store decoration

Management was ok

To be 100% productive due to understaff

Productivity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great knowledgement in nutrition
Sales Key Holder (Current Employee), Markham, ONApril 6, 2013
Pros: enjoyable workplace
- help costumers with their daily needs in supplements
- I learned greatly in how to care one's self in terms of health and fitness
- great co-workers, enjoyable interactions
- learning new products and its benefits and able to share it with costumers
- able to meet new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great chance to make money but terrible management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: great comission, great place to work if you like fitness/nutrition
Cons: poor structure and management, treated sales reps like disposable items
worked for two years as a sales associate, but managers changed three times while i was there. Two were terrible and whoever hired them obviously didnt know what they were doing. The only good manager we had stuck around for a month before he was promoted. Constant head butting with the manager made a bunch of us quit, turnover rate is ridiculous at – more... small locations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent part-time job when also going to school
Sales Associate (Former Employee), North Bay, ONNovember 5, 2012
Pros: opportunity for commission
Cons: balancing school with work
Provide courteous, professional customer service when promoting products and services.
Conversing with customers on what they would like to do with regards to working out and having a healthier life. Steer them towards a path that will help them accomplish those goals.
There were few other co-workers which was good at establishing friendships within – more... the workplace.
The hardest part of the job would be that there were times where you would be the only one working, and when the store would get busy it would be a challenge to handle all priorities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with the associates at this location.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Barrie, ONJune 13, 2012
Assisted customers in need of herbal products, to obtain their goals. Was trained in various levels of digestive health, and completed GNC University, class 1 The Nutrients. Management was good to the employees at this site, allowing them the freedom to do their jobs correctly. Enjoyed working as a team with other associates or independently. The hardest – more... part of the job, was multitasking, weather dealing with customer, relining the store, dusting and basic merchandising, along with daily emails and other management assignments. The most enjoyable part was seeing a customer go away with a smile on their face, completely happy with their choices and experience within the store, and knowing that you would see a happy customer again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love working with the public
Counter Sales Rep (Former Employee), amherst nsMay 23, 2012
awesome i love supplements and the atmosphere and working with the public
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales job where you have to put the company's ideas before the customer's needs.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaMay 15, 2012
Pros: enjoyable, social environment
Cons: sales quotas
Great place to work. Talking with customers was fun and enjoyable. However, the company had stats to be met for selling specific products that didn't always match up with what a customer may need. This creates issues between selling what the person needs and what the company feels they should buy.
I learned a lot about the types of products and how – more... they can aid in people's health. Co-workers were fine, it's always a toss-up, but most of the time I was on my own anyway.
GNC places too much importance on stats. Get rid of the stats and sell what the customer needs and this job is perfect, but until then, it's not quite there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great large company with excellent job duties
Manager/Sales Associate/Promotional Coordinator (Former Employee), Forest Lake, MNJuly 29, 2014
Pros: great flexibility, fun job perks
A typical day at GNC could consist of multiple things. From going out to a large promotional event at a gym, convention, or sporting event taking place to managing the store and assisting customers.

I learned how to tailor your sales approach to each individual customer or business to best provide a solution that would be suitable to the situation. – more... I also learned how to develop relationships with new businesses, customers, and suppliers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace experience with a great team
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), West Hollywood, CAJuly 27, 2014
Pros: learned a lot about sales, learned more about nutrition for a healthy life, and received commission for selling certain products.
Cons: store location
A typical day at work would consist of receiving customers with great customer service, helping them find the product they needed, keeping the store clean and presentable, and taking care of inventory. All of my co-workers were very friendly and hardworking so a day at work would fly by. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the occasional difficult – more... customer, which did not happen very often. I enjoyed almost every aspect of this job. Promoting a healthy lifestyle and helping people live a healthy life with the right nutrition is something I truly enjoy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shift Manager
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Derby, KSJuly 27, 2014
Pros: commission, working alone, ability to get tasks done
Cons: poorly run company, extremely long workdays, unreliable upper management
Associates were required to open and close store independently adhering to all standards set forth by GNC. Associates were also mandated to possess extensive product knowledge. Duties included assisting customers with purchases, recommending purchases, answering product questions to the best of the associate’s ability and to rotate stock monthly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing place to work, help people with their bodies and health.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Pembroke pines, FlJuly 26, 2014
Pros: free supplements.
Cons: 30 min break
a regular day starts by organizing all supplements and herbs, take well care of all customers, make sure that every single one of them walks out happy and with the right supplements and confident about their expectations and the results they want after following all the advises i provided them. the worst part of the day was receiving shipment, about – more... 40-50 boxes full of supplements to put and arrange them in the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding but stressful
Senior Store Manager (Current Employee), Brattleboro, VTJuly 25, 2014
great job to learn. Toughest part comes from the stress of hitting numbers, even for some of the best sales guys.

1 2 3 4 5

About GNC

What's good for the GNC customer is great for the company's bottom line. GNC Holdings operates the world's leading nutritional-supplements – Read more