Find companies:
Global Pet Foods
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

Global Pet Foods Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun when the boss wasn't around
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Alliston, ONSeptember 9, 2014
I loved the customers and helping them with their pet's needs, and the environment was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just another day at work
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Pierrefonds, QCMay 23, 2014
day starts at 9;30 in the morning and finishes at 6:30
Monday to Wednesday is the same routine
get in the store pass the broom, check the shelves see if everything is faced properly and at the same time deal with customer looking for food
Thursday is delivery day so unload trucks check order put order out onto the shelves.

supper fun co worker to deal – more... with all the time
the most enjoyable part of the day is dealing with customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Drayton Valley, ABApril 14, 2014
A typical day at work would be facing, restocking items, dusting shelves, cleaning up any messes animals have made, answering any questions a customer may have had, putting away merchandise that have been delivered and sweeping/washing floors at the end of the night. I haven't learned anything by working at this business. My co-workers while i worked – more... at this establishment were kind and very helpful when needed. There was nothing really that hard about the job. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing all the animals come into the store and the friendly conversations you have with people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Retail Staff (Former Employee), Ajax, ONJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: pet food at a discount/cost
I enjoyed working with the Global Pet foods team for over 2 years. I learned a great deal about pet food and the different kind and ingredients. The management was great as were all the co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Salesperson (Former Employee), Trenton, ONAugust 30, 2013
I learned a lot at this workplace and I loved having a variety of tasks from salesperson, janitorial and animal care duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn!
Sales and Advice (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONMay 16, 2013
Pros: very friendly pleasant atmosphere
Cons: the owner
If you work hard here, the manager will care. She's a sweet woman, interested in you, and will do whatever she can to get you days off you need.
The place is a great opportunity to learn about pet nutrition, both scientific diet styles, and Holistic nutrition.
It does require heavy lifting, as one of the key parts of this customer service driven store – more... is carry outs. And lets face it, customers enjoy a hand out with their 30lb bags of dog food, and 40lb bags of cat litter.
Customer service is major. I can not stress that enough. This store, under the newer management, has gained many customers from service alone.
While if you work hard, job security is great, advancement is non-existent. The Manager is awesome, the owner a fool.
Benefits are also non-existent, and while there is a monthly bonus opportunity, its not guaranteed, and not very big. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lindsay, ONMarch 4, 2013
Pros: franchise owned so experiences will vary mine was very good
Cons: franchise owned so experiences will vary
Good place to work if your a student but they are franchise owned so experiences will vary, my job there was perfect for while I was in school mangers are great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that needs to improve their hiring techniqes.
I was hoping it to be sales associate. (Former Employee), I was hoping it to be Halifax.February 6, 2013
Pros: great products.
Cons: bad hiring process.
I would of liked to of worked for Global Pet Foods but when I applied for a position with them they didn't give my application the "time of day". I could maybe understand that if I had no experience but I have over 17 years of customer service experience and I love animals and own a beautiful dog. My husband and myself had also been regular customers – more... at another location which was another reason I applied to work for this company. It seemed like it would be a really nice place to work. Any ways It didn't happen and because of that I will no longer be a customer as well. This company needs to look strongly at the way employees are being hired and by who. If this company wants the best employees possible they truly aren't showing it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Management
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), AllistonOctober 2, 2012
Pros: great training for products
Cons: management, lack of training for staff, 12 hour shifts, unsafe practices
Took a major pay cut to work at Global as a sales clerk. Thought it would be a great place to work as I would like to become an animal nutritionist. The job itself was fine, lots of interaction with customers, which I quite enjoyed. Management on the other hand was very lacking. With customers she was great, with staff, not so much. I was told not to – more... discuss my pets with customers because they don't want to hear about it. It is a pet store, right? Management talking about other staff, unsafe practices like climbing high ladders with no one else in the store, the bathroom is located in the basement, which the public has access to - when you work by yourself, that is very unsafe. Left to work in store alone without proper training on store procedures. I could go on & on.I left before my probation was finished and found out that management had told staff at other stores she had fired me!! How unprofessional! Still considering going to the labour board over their unsafe practices. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good start in the retail world
Salesclerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 3, 2012
Pros: pet stores are fun
Cons: not a good lifetime career choice.
Each business is privately owned, differences between stores are many. Little opportunity for advancement. You may or may not get discounts for store items.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global Review
Customer Service (Former Employee), Sydney, NSJune 18, 2012
Pros: working with the customers, including the 4 legged ones, helping decide on products
Cons: management lacked experience.
I loved my job at Global Pet Foods. I am an animal lover and took pride in helping customers make the right choices for their pets. I learned that there is a lot of things to consider when choosing products for your pet. A typical day included receiving orders, stocking shelves, entering new product into database, explaining the pros and cons of foods – more... and accessories for particular animals based on breed, size, age and needs. Hardest part of the job was nothing. I didn't find anything hard about this job.

Management was under experienced. The manager could do the paper work but lacked experience in dealing with employees, scheduling and wasn't much of an animal lover which I think is key in this type of business. Only 3 of us worked in the store, the manager, myself and the manager's son. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, fun, knowledgeable place to work !
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Orangeville, ONMay 23, 2012
Pros: great learning experience !
Cons: nothing
Amazing company to work for ! I gained so much valuable knowledge while working for Global Pet Foods. Not to mention the useful sales experience gained while working there.