Find companies:
Girl Guides of Canada
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Girl Guides of Canada Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leader
Volunteer - Leader of 54th Sparks (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 22, 2014
I loved working with the girls. The most rewarding part was watching as they accomplished tasks that were new to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun
Girl Guides of Canada (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 18, 2014
Pros: free program
Amazing organization with incredible programs and a wonderful place to meet new energetic youths.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Girl Guides of Canada Job Review
Volunteer (Former Employee), Courtice, ONApril 16, 2014
Pros: fast past & clean environment, working with children, friendly co-workers, on a schedual.
Cons: honestly, there were no cons to this. i found it very enjoyable and fun to do every week.
From when I first started volunteering with Girl Guides of Canada I was quite pleased on how they ran each session. When you first walked into the building it was very welcoming and it made you feel at home. On a regular base, the young girls would normally start off class by making a craft followed by their opening ceremony. Afterwards I would help – more... assist the Brownie Leader by setting up games or other crafts or helping the girls earning their badges. After each session we would end the night by doing a closing ceremony. The sessions were every Wednesday for an hour and a half. In that time I would be able to accomplish many things that were assigned to me without wasting time. My co-workers (other volunteers) were also very friendly. They as well as the Brownie Leader made me feel like I was apart of their family. The hardest part of this was trying to keep 20+ seven to nine year olds under control all the time, however with training and knowing what to do, after the first few weeks it became way easier to handle them all. Everything that I put towards this volunteer work has benefited me greatly. It has opened my eyes to the world around me. This experience working with the 3rd Courtice Brownie Unit has helped me greatly when it comes to very young children. It has also helped me gain more knowledge and experience that I can help put towards a part-time job. Overall, I would recommend this work to anyone who loves children and 'being on their toes'. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive amazing scenery amazing enviroment friendly co-workers and staff
Cleaner (Former Employee), Clifford, ONJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: schedule flexibity
Cons: the amount of gas to travel back and forth
I loved working for the girl guides, schedule was open , went into a natural flow for working in all areas , never had a problem with staff or kids staying at the camp. Was a little out of the way but with a more economical vehicle , that would have been not as taxing as it was. Another thing is the supplies and tools needed were always up to date. – more... Yes I would work there again if needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to learn and teach
Ranger Leader (Current Employee), Victoria BCJanuary 1, 2014
Girl guides is an organization that allows Girls of all ages to interact with each other in a safe and welcoming environment. this is also a place they can have fun, learn new things and get opportunities they would normally not have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 24, 2013
Pros: nice to have free tea, coffee and cookies
Cons: working long hours and travelling
I enjoyed working at CDI as the staff and management was professional and still easy to work with.

The coworkers were very helpful and welcoming.

I learned to use Raiser's Edge.

The hardest part of the job was the very high demand and steady pressure. The most enjoyable part was working with a great and finishing tasks in a timely manner
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: cooperative and friendly staff
Cons: long hours and high demand
A typical day at work was setting projects for the day and completing them.
I learned to use Raiser's Edge database.
Management was supportive
Co-workers were friendly
The hardest part of the job was the high demand
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting the goals in a normal pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bookkeeper and Camp Cook
Bookkeeper (Former Employee), Surrey BCNovember 13, 2012
Pros: working with other volunteers and the girls
Cons: long hours at camps
This was a volunteer position that I enjoyed doing for 12 years while my girls went through guiding. It would be highly recommended for others to get involved in this organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bookkeeper
Bookkeeper (Former Employee), Surrey B.C/September 10, 2012
Pros: wonder people... loved working with the girls and helping them learn
Cons: camps were long and hard work...
I was in Guiding for 12 years as my girls went through the program.
I volunteered to do their books for 6 years as well as being the camp cook and volunteering at the meetings for 12 years. Overall wonderful experience