Girl Guides of Canada Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 13 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Organization for young girls and women!
VOLUNTEER (Current Employee) –  anywhereMay 30, 2016
Girl Guides of Canada is a volunteer organization that has partners all over the world! With it I have gone to Mexico, and another group in my district is planning a trip to London and Paris. Even more importantly, this organization helped me to build confidence as a young girl and to learn things like knots or how to light a fire without matches or paper. So I would highly recommend becoming a leader or sending your daughters because without Girl Guides I would not be who I am today.
Pros
training opportunities that count as work experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome placce
N/A (Former Employee) –  Port Credit, ONMay 17, 2016
I loved volenteering witrh the girl guides. it was so much fun helping plan stuff for the younger girl guides to do and it was just a lot of fun
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 24, 2013
I enjoyed working at CDI as the staff and management was professional and still easy to work with.

The coworkers were very helpful and welcoming.

I learned to use Raiser's Edge.

The hardest part of the job was the very high demand and steady pressure. The most enjoyable part was working with a great and finishing tasks in a timely manner
Pros
nice to have free tea, coffee and cookies
Cons
working long hours and travelling
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 10, 2013
A typical day at work was setting projects for the day and completing them.
I learned to use Raiser's Edge database.
Management was supportive
Co-workers were friendly
The hardest part of the job was the high demand
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting the goals in a normal pace.
Pros
cooperative and friendly staff
Cons
long hours and high demand
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN
VOLUNTEER (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 4, 2015
Working with the girls to help them improve themselves is an incredible experience. Planning for the year is interesting trying to balance every girls different needs but it is all worth it in the end to see the smile on their faces every week.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bookkeeper and Camp Cook
Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Surrey BCNovember 13, 2012
This was a volunteer position that I enjoyed doing for 12 years while my girls went through guiding. It would be highly recommended for others to get involved in this organization.
Pros
working with other volunteers and the girls
Cons
long hours at camps
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive amazing scenery amazing enviroment friendly co-workers and staff
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Clifford, ONJanuary 5, 2014
I loved working for the girl guides, schedule was open , went into a natural flow for working in all areas , never had a problem with staff or kids staying at the camp. Was a little out of the way but with a more economical vehicle , that would have been not as taxing as it was. Another thing is the supplies and tools needed were always up to date. Yes I would work there again if needed.
Pros
schedule flexibity
Cons
the amount of gas to travel back and forth
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bookkeeper
Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Surrey B.C/September 10, 2012
I was in Guiding for 12 years as my girls went through the program.
I volunteered to do their books for 6 years as well as being the camp cook and volunteering at the meetings for 12 years. Overall wonderful experience
Pros
wonder people... loved working with the girls and helping them learn
Cons
camps were long and hard work...
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
o Brownie and Girl Guide Leader (Current Employee) –  Leader, SKFebruary 9, 2014
A couple of hours a week working with the girls on achieving assorted challenges in the Program Book. Team Work, Seeing the girls accomplishment different skills and knowledge.
Pros
seeing the girls joy in what they have accomplished
Cons
not enough hours in the day
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leader
Volunteer - Leader of 54th Sparks (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONSeptember 22, 2014
I loved working with the girls. The most rewarding part was watching as they accomplished tasks that were new to them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to learn and teach
Ranger Leader (Current Employee) –  Victoria BCJanuary 1, 2014
Girl guides is an organization that allows Girls of all ages to interact with each other in a safe and welcoming environment. this is also a place they can have fun, learn new things and get opportunities they would normally not have.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun
Girl Guides of Canada (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJuly 18, 2014
Amazing organization with incredible programs and a wonderful place to meet new energetic youths.
Pros
free program
Was this review helpful?YesNo

See more Girl Guides of Canada reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture