Gilead Sciences Employee Reviews

Showing all 70 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly working experiecnce
Scheduling Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Foster City, CAAugust 12, 2016
Working at Gilead is an great experience getting to know people through different departments. Sometimes a day can be very busy to a calm day like on a Friday. Lastly enjoying the happy hour on Friday and just catch up with your friends at work. It something good to feel about coming to work everyday.
Pros
Happy hour
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Worst Company You Can Imagine
Senior Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, CAAugust 10, 2016
The most discouraging place I ever worked, A company chock full of individuals that are not collaborating, and encourage a trickle down system of information.
A telephone game of long hours, on call, and pour treatment.
My supervisor once told me that a coworker could not be sleeping on the job, he was " A good Christian Brother" and this was just another day on the job!
This place is terrible.
Pros
No
Cons
Alot
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
$1000 per pill?
DIRECTOR, ENTERPRISE CONTENT MANAGEMENT (Current Employee) –  Foster City, CAAugust 2, 2016
Nice very expensive cars all across the campus.Really bad culture that claims " it all about the science" when in reality its all about the profit. Need a new CFO ASAP.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promotes strong support of company's mission and vision
Regulatory Affairs (Current Employee) –  Foster City, CAAugust 1, 2016
A lot of one-on-one opportunities to really talk about your goals, your future, and also the future and state of the company itself.
Pros
Food, Flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Punitive and narrow-minded
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Foster City, CAJuly 29, 2016
Not a place to go to develop in a role. You are on your own. There is a very negative company culture that applauds over working until the point of burn out.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50/50 on Most areas
Empower CDS Administrator (Current Employee) –  Foster City, CAJuly 20, 2016
A typical day at work is a mixed bag of lulls and a deluge of challenging tasks.
What I've learned is to expect anything.
Management is autocratic; this is unfortunately consistent with the industry, and shows no signs of abating.
Co-workers are on edge, most are contractors and are pre-occupied with job security.
Hardest/unpleasant part of the job is that communication style from management is uni directional.
Most enjoyable part of the job thus far is the cafeteria, If I'm being hones. But I'm fairly new so there is hopefully room for that to change.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hierarchical company
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Foster City, CAJune 16, 2016
Fast growing company with small company mentality. Constantly feeling understaffed. Many employees have to take on multiple roles all the time. Too many directors / managers who only directs.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working over there
Service-Now Developer (Current Employee) –  Foster City, CAJune 9, 2016
Best place to work i loved working over there all employeeres are friendly. management was excellent. The best part of my job is My team. I am so fortunate to be part of a team that, despite everyone’s differences and eccentricities, manages to make every day at work seem like an episode of tosh.0.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, Great Place to Work with a Mission Second to None
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Foster City, CAMay 6, 2016
Gilead is a challenging place to work, there is a high shake out rate. The mission of Gilead Sciences and its ability to consistently deliver make this a rewarding place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely amazing place to work
Systems Engineer (Current Employee) –  UxbridgeMay 4, 2016
Working Working in a team within a team of 6, providing implementation, development, guidance and support services to UK and EMEA-based business users, Global IS teams, Global Service Desk, and 3rd party support providers.

• Supervising all IT functions relative to 400 VIPs, Directors, Scientists and Sales Reps.
• Active Directory administration, VMware (VMSphere) administration , Horizon Client and VDI administration.
• Escalation point for other IT members reporting to directly to Gilead Management HQ in Paris.
• Worked closely with External Vendors with Major audits and compliance regulations.
• Working involvement of Microsoft Exchange Administrator, Active directory management and Mobile Iron device management, with heavy exposure to CISCO IP Telephony including administration of Cisco call manager Version 9.
• Vodafone site administrator, functions relating to Asset Management of all Mobile devices, associated billing accounts and identification codes for all devices.
• Procurement troubleshooting, administration and deployment of all Microsoft, iOS and Android devices.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Culture
Quality Specialist 3 (Current Employee) –  Foster City, CAApril 27, 2016
The people and policies reflect a culture that is toxic to professionals. Asking questions is prohibited and career advancement is at the expense of personal dignity
Pros
good food
Cons
employees
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Clinical Project Assistant (Current Employee) –  Foster City, CAApril 26, 2016
I learned a great deal about clinical research conduct within the US and globally. I had the opportunity to work with a great individuals who shared their wealth of knowledge and support for my growth and progression.
Pros
Learning Opportunities
Cons
Limited room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oracle EBS Consultant
Oracle Apps SCM/OPM System Analyst (Current Employee) –  CAApril 18, 2016
Oracle EBS Functional and Technical.Good Job Culture.Participated in all Design phases of this project.
Learned more anout OPM and had adapted to different project reuirements,
We have a team size of 5 with developers and Functional consultants.
The harderst part of the job is to meet the complex req's which are solely in OPM .
The most enjoyable part of the job is despite stringent deadline we could meet all the req's and development with minor issues during Golive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredibly talented team & great work environment!
UI/UX Designer (Former Employee) –  Foster City, CAApril 6, 2016
I was originally brought on as a Front-End Developer, however after working with management and assessing user needs based on UX analysis methods it was clearly evident that the current UI wasn't addressing the complex user needs. Gradually my position transitioned to redesigning the UI and conducting UX design research to gather data.

Overall my experience was great! I had the opportunity to work with and learn from talented and seasoned developers. A typical day would consist of brief in depth meetings to assess daily workloads & how to implement and leverage technologies such as Angular JS, JAVA, javascript libraries, UI design sprints and timelines.
Pros
Company subsidized gourmet food!
Cons
Contract position
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No career mobility
Biology, Senior Scientist (Former Employee) –  San Francisco Bay Area, CAMarch 24, 2016
Gilead Sciences does not encourage career mobility, if you stay in one division, you have little chance to move to other division, no matter you are good or not, no matter your skills fit in other division or not.
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Clinical Trial Manager (Current Employee) –  Foster City, CAFebruary 23, 2016
fast paced environment, high expectations, not enough work life balance, no WFH policy, different rules for different folks, not enough focus on employee development from managers due to pace of organization (managers themselves are swamped, and don't always know or have patience to understand employee's needs), not always objective, emphasis how one's image is portrayed to the team rather than collaborative approach of working together towards common goal, significant turn-over within organization
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
80 hour weeks
Java Lead Developer (Former Employee) –  Foster City, CANovember 18, 2015
Good pay but required burnout. People were good to work with. Housing was expensive. Weather was good. Silicon valley is good to put on resume.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Contractor, Finance - Biometrics (Former Employee) –  Foster City, CAOctober 30, 2015
Overall good work environment and company culture. Growing company with many opportunities. The company has a deep organizational structure that may inhabit fat paced problem solving and solution implementation. The people i worked with are very knowledgeable about the jobs and are easy to work with.
Pros
company culture to develop employees
Cons
very deep organizational structure that hinders fast paced problem solving.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great IT Team
IT Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Foster City, CAOctober 20, 2015
Was in a corporate environment with 3,500 end users. Had nice happy hour Fridays with food so we could meet other employees on a social environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company and Products - Little Development
Associate Manager (Current Employee) –  Foster City, CASeptember 22, 2015
Overall, I love working at Gilead. I love the people. I love the products. I love the work they do in emerging markets and indigent domestic markets.

Advancement is gradual and consistent with an established companies.
Pros
People - food - products
Cons
Bay Area requires higher pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 70 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3