Find companies:
Gildan
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

Gildan Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work enjoyed it very much
Picker (Former Employee), Eden, NCAugust 27, 2014
wasn't really to hard you have to be moving constantly which is a plus for me because I am always on the go
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't recommend it, to strict.
Material Handler (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, SCJune 30, 2014
Pros: easy work
Cons: short breaks, little pay and to strict
Do to much work for little pay! You're not even allowed to leave work on your lunch break which is 20 minutes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warhouse
Material Handler (Former Employee), Charleston, SCJune 14, 2014
As a material handler at Gildan I operated a reach forklift in the storage department of the warhouse. I learned where to place pallets for others to pick up for storage and witch pallets to were ready for shipping. Management directed the work flow. I worked with other reach drivers to keep the 589 drivers moving. The hardest part of the job was knowing – more... which 589 driver needed help because there was more of them then reach drivers. But this was solved by management calling us over to where the pick up was need. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with a diverse group of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Material Handler (Former Employee), Charleston, SCMay 12, 2014
This was a great job, you basically got put where you was needed but it was a great learning experience. This was a very laid back job and very enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive
Material Handler (Former Employee), Charleston, SCFebruary 27, 2014
I enjoyed working for this company for multiple reasons. I enjoyed the environment, i enjoyed the people that I worked with and the supervisors that were over the floor was really reasonable and helpful. I liked the way that they ran the floor and the way that they gave you the ability to broaden your horizon within the plant. They would allow you to – more... learn how to do different things throughout the warehouse. I was allowed to learn how to place orders in the computer, check the orders, and be sure that the truck was being labeled and counted correctly. They gave you a chance to do what it was that you felt you were able to do to help you to possibly move up to a higher position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Charleston, SCFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: hour long lunch, great healthcare
Cons: i do not really have a con, great company
A typical day at work would include pulling in orders electronically or manually, running order summaries for all of the retail accounts that I handle. I usually would drop one to two orders a day to our DC for shipment.
Management is always available for assistance with anything that I needed assistance with.
I have learned alot about retail account – more... management and working closely with other "teammates".
The hardest and the most enjoyable thing about my job is satisfying the customer. Some customers are hard to please but I aim for more than satisfying the customer, I like to make them feel as if they are my only customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodcution
Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Charleston, SCAugust 6, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: short breaks
Great environment to work, Great Co-Workers, Great Benefits, Great Hours and good pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Packaging Buyer (Current Employee), Newton, NCJune 12, 2013
A typical day at work would be reviewing my emails for purchasing needs and then placing orders for those items. .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with delivered lunch
Material Handler (Former Employee), Charleston, SCMay 22, 2013
-Very steady, continuous work
-First warehouse job;learned the basics of manufacturing
-Management was fair and dependable
-Co-workers were helpful in assisting
-Hardest part was the manual labor
-Most enjoyable part was the co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Team Lead/Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Charleston, SCApril 9, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: depends on shift
Great pay great pay lots of overtime when season is busy room to grow and develop all upper management take care of their employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Charleston, SCApril 1, 2013
Pros: good hours and resonable lunches
Cons: it was temporary and far away from my living space.
A typical day at work is decent. I've learned how to label and and package boxes on pallets to be shipped off to different companies. Management was very helpful. Well spirited and willing to help whenever needed. Co-workers all worked the same and treated each other like equals. the hardest part of this job is getting all the boxes on the right pallet – more... at a sufficient time. The most enjoyable part of this job was everything about the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work for
Lead Technician (Former Employee), newton ncFebruary 4, 2013
run a line of machines up to 30 fix and maintain machines. keep shift production. help knitter inspect and keep machines running fun exciting job good people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started off great
Clerk for Customer Service (Former Employee), Martinsville, VANovember 27, 2012
Pros: great people they showed that they cared about their employees
I really enjoyed working at Gildan when I was in the office working with the manager of customer service. When the economy went it was hard because had to go out in the warehouse. At the end I had got the hang of it and knew that I can do anything I put my mind too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse
Material Handler/Elevator Operator/Packer (Former Employee), Charleston, SCOctober 26, 2012
a typical day at work would be working handerling materials. i learned how to operate a forklift. the management when i was working there was terrible and unorganized. my coworkers was alot of fun to work with. the hardest part about my job was dealing with the management. the most enjoyable part about my job was the people i worked with to be honest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gildan Industrial Engineering Department
Industrial Engineer Technician (Former Employee), Newton, NCSeptember 24, 2012
Pros: vacation time
Cons: healthcare cost
Gildan is a great global and diverse textile company with employees around the globe. They are always looking for ways to reduce cost and still be efficient in production areas. They are always helping in the communities with charitable contributions. Gildan is very much into sustainability with efforts to protect our environment and reduce carbon footprint – more... of company.
Overall I would have to say my career at Gildan has enabled me to become a better Engineer through my experience with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Janitor
Janitor (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, SCSeptember 21, 2012
well at Gildan my job was fun an easy really all i a to do is take out garbage and clean restrooms
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always Busy
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Newton, NCSeptember 11, 2012
Enjoyed the diversity of my job . Was able to establish a reputation as the maintenance man who got things done , ask Mike he will know how to fix it was what I would hear from most . I performed routine maintenance Ex. ( HVAC , forklifts , boilers , conveyors , etc.)
Made repairs on same . I was used more for repairs than any thing , so every day was – more... different . This is also the best part of the job along with the satisfaction of making someone elses job easier . Hardest part of the job was not enough help in Maintenance Dept. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job
Merchandise Inspector (Former Employee), Fort Payne, ALAugust 27, 2012
Pros: great people and you could make good money
Cons: they closed the plant and we all lost our job
I worked at Gildan for 15 years I had plan to work at Gildan forever. It paid good and I worked with a great team of people.
I liked the fast pace I worked it made the day go by so fast.and the faster you worked the more money you would make.
when I started it was VI prewett& son . They sold the company to Gildan and after about a year the closed the – more... plant. me and my coworkers often say how we wish we could go back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to be
Packer (Current Employee), Mebane, NCJuly 28, 2012
Standing on your feet for long periods of time.Very fun.Hot
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
me gusto demasiado
encargado de turno (Former Employee), Monclova, COAFebruary 13, 2014
me gusta estar alli, aprendi creo que mas que llendo a la escuela
mis jefes se portaron de lo mejor
me enseñaron demasiado, sobre refrigeracion, electricidad, la soldadura, el trato con el personal que estaba acargo del departamento de mantenimiento, excelente

About Gildan

For casual day, Gildan Activewear has you covered -- from top to bottom. It makes T-shirts, tank tops, sweatshirts, and golf shirts – Read more