Giant Tiger Employee Reviews

Found 294 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lakefield, ON20 April 2017
My boss was always very considerate to everyones schedules and personal needs. If there was ever an issue between employees it was always delt with very proffesionaly. very great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK18 April 2017
It was fun and the people there were very nice to work with, very helpful and respectful. The hourly pay wasnt in my interest, but the co workers were good people. They were somewhat clean. The manager wasnt very talkative and polite looking.
Pros
Nice co workers
Cons
Not long enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad but not good
Store Set Up (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON18 April 2017
Good work environment, bad management, very laid back work environment, no communication between corporate and employees Do not appreciate good staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworkers and responsibilites
Grocery Stocker (Former Employee) –  Orleans, ON18 April 2017
Working at Giant Tiger was a nice starter job. Not too many responsibilities to overwhelm you but enough that you were always busy. Nice coworkers and customers were always friendly as well.
Pros
Good hours, reasonable pay, nice benefits
Cons
if not a starter job minimum wage is not very good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Place To Work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 April 2017
this company was a great one to work for, everyday working there was enjoyable. the management was supportive in teaching you things you were interested to learn about to further your knowledge about the company. You would be able to grow even more if you had knowledge in French and English both. It was amazing company to work for.
Pros
enjoyabe work environment
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail sucks no matter where you are
Cashier, customer service, stock maintenance (Former Employee) –  Acton, ON13 April 2017
Customers are often rude, the managers are on a weird power trip, cashiers are expected to do everything perfectly every time while the people who work in the back are pretty much just required to show up. Also it is not a very accommodating work place when it comes to management (maybe i just had bad luck), but the owner was a great guy and is very receptive to complaints.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB5 April 2017
I really enjoyed the staff I worked with , and our mascot we have to wear for the kids sometimes , they rerenavated store and fixed Camaras so that's a bonus .
Pros
Free food In break room
Cons
Have to stay later
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Fashion Associate / cashier (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON31 March 2017
prepping the fashion. making sure its hung up and put in its proper department , assisting customers and processing customers orders and recovering the store at end of shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor job long term job
Cashier & customer service (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK30 March 2017
great for highschool students.
pays minimum, not a lot of shifts given per week
management fairly understanding of time needed off
customers can be difficult due to area of city
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Lindsay, ON28 March 2017
Great hours, great people to work with, management is exceptional, happy and safe environment, good training program, and great customer service by everyone who works there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, fun and friendly employees.
Retail associate / Cashier (Current Employee) –  Kings Point plaza28 March 2017
Very welcoming community amongst Giant Tiger associates. It's like a family. So many regular customers that you always seem to crack a smile though the your shift. My favourite thing about working at Giant Tiger is that we are very jolly and celebrate almost every holiday and birthday. The team at Giant Tiger is very hard working and dependable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Shelf Stocker (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK27 March 2017
This place was fun to work at. Everyone worked hard and was nice. the manager never gave me a hard time. The work was easy and fun. I would work here again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB27 March 2017
SHow up at least 15/20 minutes before my actual shift.
I learned about handling cash.
Managment was good.
The hardest part of the job is showing up each day working different shifts.
The most enjoyable part of working there was meeting new people.
Pros
Meeting new people.
Cons
Working various shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON24 March 2017
This was a nice placement. Mmy co-workers were very helpful. My manager helped me learn how to do my job with efficiently. We wirked as a team and got through the day with little issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Family Enviorment
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 March 2017
In my time being part of the Giant Tiger Express family I have built a strong work ethic and interpersonal skills. It is a very welcoming community with a wide range of people of different ages and ethnicity. The staff is always willing to help one another out to produce a fluid and efficient store experience. I have gathered a great deal of skills from my time here and built many strong relationships.
Pros
Friendly Enviorment
Cons
Low amount of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with the staff there.
Stock Clerk (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 March 2017
Duties Include:
Stocking shelves
Maintaining an overall clean & tidy appearance in the store
Assisting customers in locating products
Assisting with receiving shipments including unloading and unpacking of merchandise
Collect & organize shopping carts from the store parking lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environment negative
Cashier (Current Employee) –  St. Paul, AB22 March 2017
Le pire endroit pour travailler im un étudiant d'école de hight et quand j'ai besoin des jours de congé pour mon éducation le directeur toujours outs moi vers le bas à son sujet. Elle me fait manquer mes événements scolaires et je ne me sens en sécurité au travail ive lui a dit et ils ne se soucient pas. Mon safty n'est pas là problème comme elle m'a dit
Pros
aucune chose positive
Cons
the gestion et comment les gens se fon traité
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good student job
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Alliston, ON16 March 2017
Worked here for 3yrs as a student. Went from a stocker to supervisor in a short time as a student. Learned valuable job competencies to further my self for other jobs. Flexible with school and good management. Min. wage job but as a student no complaints ever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers, terrible management
Cashier/Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON16 March 2017
Managers need updated training on how to handle certain situations. They are all about making money, not about the employees or customers. The customers are great.
Pros
co workers are fantastic people
Cons
Managers don't care, not many hours each week because it cuts into the managers bonuses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and pleasant workplace
Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON13 March 2017
The staff and workplace was great, everybody was always happy and there were many things to do throughout the day without it becoming mundane. People were very nice to work with daily.
Pros
Friendly Staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Giant Tiger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 295 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7