Giant Tiger Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 214 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun, team work atmosphere with kind staff and happy customers.
Cash, Customer Service, Stock, Cleaning (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NBMarch 4, 2016
My experience at Giant Tiger has helped me improve my customer service skills, greatly. The team work abilities and comunication skills were very helpful in the workplace and i have learned a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working style
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Thompson, MBJune 4, 2016
I learned about accounting, Invoices, Vendors, Making payments, working style in stores. Totally a learning experince.
Pros
Interesting work
Cons
They had special season when they visit their home country
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cash Office Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJune 1, 2016
I enjoyed working at this store.My co-workers were all very supportive. The pay was not great cause it's retail and retail does not pay very good wages.
Pros
Fun place to work
Cons
Pay was no good
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First employment as a student
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Port Dover, ONMay 3, 2016
Typical workday included:
Maintaining inventory levels
Assisting customers
Working with cash
Ordering inventory when needed
High-school part time employment for nearly 7 years
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast
Warehouse (Former Employee) –  London, ONMay 16, 2016
i was only here temporarily but i had lauds of fun working here it was very great on teaching lessons and it was for a co op program when i was in high school
Pros
good company
Cons
to dark in the warehouse
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, freindly staff
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ONNovember 10, 2014
I worked there just over a year and never had a problem with any of my co-workers or superiors. Booking time off for dental or medical appointments was never a problem and as easy as filling out one piece of paper. Being a retail establishment, the scheduling was very flexible, but part time staff typically were scheduled less than 16 hours per week, and only employees averaging more than 25 hours per week were eligible for benefits.

Mostly my job centred around stocking the shelves, doing cash, ensuring grocery stock was properly rotated both on the sales floor and in the back storage areas, and to verify deliveries, making sure to note deviations from the order (shortages or overages).
Pros
flexible part-time scheduling
Cons
short hours, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJune 25, 2016
All good things. The management are respectfull. There not afraid to give you a chance to see what you can do. Lots of fun working in receiving area.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the people I work with
Cash Lead (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBDecember 17, 2015
I meet a lot of nice people here, But on the flip side when a customer is having a bad day they always take it on you.
My co workers are awesome. And management is good to the staff.
Discount is definatly a bonus.
Pros
feel appreciated by Manager, and discount
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Fashion Department Associate (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONApril 2, 2016
A lot of the employees I worked with were very kind. I gained people, independence, and organization skill from working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on personality
Cashier Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONNovember 30, 2015
I worked there for 4 years as a cash supervisor and in my opinion its a great job for people just starting out in retail or for students with a busy schedule but its not something I seen my self continuing long term. there were a few problems with employee and attitude but every store has a different owner and operates slightly differently so you cant blame the franchise.
Pros
good discounts, friendly customers.
Cons
certain employees at the location i worked at specifically
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing work place
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONJune 8, 2016
I worked at Giant Tiger during the summer (2014) and it was the best place I ever worked, everyone was so nice and friendly and I had no problems at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Softgoods Supervisor
Softgoods Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Laurier, ONAugust 26, 2014
With each day came new ways to try and improve the impact my department made on the customers. Featuring high profit items. Relocating for better visibility. Marking down items and products that generate no profit. I learned how to actively ensure all customers get the attention required to fulfill their shopping experience. I worked hand and hand with the management in ensuring all staff respected all the codes and methods of retail and customer service. My co-workers and I all worked great as a team or individual. I personally trained several to ensure the companies needs were always met. The hardest part of the job was never being able to stop in the middle or new processes or displays. I was totally dedicated and gave more then my 100% at all time. The most enjoyable part of the job was constantly meeting new people and seeing them always leave happy and satisfied.
Pros
fast paced, customer service, friendly co-workers
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  The Pas, MBMay 31, 2016
nice to a job with giant tiger
learn so many new things which are good for success
good management
good co workers
enjoy a day when work with my duty
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONApril 14, 2016
Giant Tiger was overall a fun place to work at the fellow employees were great to work with, they were very flexible and it was always a joy going into work!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good on some level
Head Department of Visual (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONFebruary 16, 2016
If it was manage by a different owner, the staff would not be senior and that my contract wouldn't of been renewed I would deffinently stay.

The company is a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high expectation and low pay
Supply Chain (Former Employee) –  Head OfficeJuly 23, 2014
working at head office in a demanding understaffed atmosphere, the slack was expected to be picked up by the already existing staff.
not all management, but the management I worked under were very insecure and would often take this out on staff.
coaching did not exist
coworkers were decent but every man for themselves attitude
hardest part of the job: feeling like you did a good job
most enjoyable part of the job: going home
company itself has good benefits and a solid community attitude.
too bad it was not something that all departments believe in.
Pros
free lunches and family days/tournaments
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes12No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Customer Service/ Stocker/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 15, 2015
Giant Tiger is a enjoyable workplace with supportive management. I learn new things each and everyday I work there. I get a long with my co-workers very well. Each and every one of my co-workers are friendly and supportive. I enjoy talking to customers and helping them with what they need. I am always happy while working at Giant Tiger.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the fast pace and the people
Grocery Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 24, 2015
unload truck and put away stock. Learned merchandising and cash office
schelduling of staff and their needs
long hours was the hardest part
loved working with my co workers
Pros
great atmosphere and good co workers
Cons
long hours on salary
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giant Tiger
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ONFebruary 18, 2016
I had a great time here working at Giant Tiger . They treated me with respect and taught me all the information i needed to come on board with their team .
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast moving enviornment
Back up Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  winnipeg manitobaSeptember 16, 2015
My day started out working the cash register and stalking shelf's
I learned how to deal with costumers. Management wasn't the greatest there. my co-workers were great nothing but great attitudes
I think the hardest part of the job was stalking shelf's because the things were sometimes heavy, other then that it was a good experience for a job.
Pros
discounts
Cons
not enough breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 215 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture