Giant Tiger Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Grocery Associate, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lakefield, ON1 January 2018
Fun to work here but frustrating - some unfair opportunities and unjustified actions from management. Most enjoyable part was gaining new friendships while understanding that the job is truly not as important as I initially thought.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot from Giant Tiger
Retail Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Walkley Road,Ottawa28 December 2017
my seven years working in Giant tiger was amazing I love the people there and they are just like family but the hours there is not stable that’s why am looking for a stable job,
Pros
I learned a lot from Giant Tiger
Cons
shorter hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shelf stocker
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC21 December 2017
I've passed a nice periods working there. I had learned many things ans I''ve got too many experiences working with the group. I really hope that I could receive the common things there.
Pros
not free lunch
Cons
full-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time off is difficult
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, ON19 December 2017
Management has not replaced any staff that has left, and every employee is working 6 days a week unless you request time off. Then it is a request and not always guaranteed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
day at work
Fashion Associate (Current Employee) –  Ajax, ON13 December 2017
everyone who works at Giant Tiger are amazing, our manager is really nice and good at his job. sometimes people can be harsh, which can cause your day to be very stressful. I enjoy working with everyone at Giant tiger, shifts are good, pay is always on time and schedule are posted consistently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and energised work place with great managers and staff
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK12 December 2017
ive learned to be quick on my feet and be able to adapt to any situation. the staff and management are amazing to work with. it s over all an enjoyable workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON11 December 2017
typical day would consist of assisting customers at change room with their items in changing size or style, keeping sales floor and change room areas clean and tidy
Pros
great environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun at first but gradually turned into blad and boring.
Customer Service Specialist Grocery Clerk Cashier (Former Employee) –  Wasaga Beach, ON, Orilla ON,9 December 2017
Was with company 5 years 4 of them Partime then final 5th year was given fulltime then after that year was told I had to be put to Partime again I said nope I quit (slap in the face) 😔💩👿
Pros
Friendly Co workers
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, everday is new
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sutton, ON7 December 2017
I started as administration supervisor, oversee all departments, company is fair. Like family.
always learning something different everyday

learn how to order merchandise,
Pros
busy
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, management is exceptional.
Cashier/ Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 December 2017
The owner of this company has created such an incredible environment to work and grow. The family aspect is unreal and you look forward to going to work. The hardest part of the job was the neighborhood and customers but the fellow staff and policies and culture made it worth it.
Pros
Family environment, accomodating.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun and growing work place
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON29 November 2017
love working with this company and wish I never left and glad that is had the opportunity to work there and amazing work atmosphere and great working associates
Pros
free lunches
Cons
not enough space for everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a decent working inviorment
Shelf Stocker (Former Employee) –  Espanola, ON27 November 2017
The owner was a very nice man but the management to me wasn't so much as I would ask questions they would not be answered correctly or at all at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accuracy and fast attention to customers
Cashier and Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 November 2017
cashier and stocking, price tagging and scamming, changing shelves and restored inventories.
winning customers, fast responded to any requests.
great co-operating with all the staff.
Pros
Recognization letter
Cons
loose hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasant place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  The Pas, MB22 November 2017
busy place to work
learned to work with multi-aboriginal people in a new country
Had a very great manager in 2005 to 2009
it was difficult to deal with shop lifters and alcoholism customer
Pros
good manger
Cons
staff roll over was high
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at giant tiger
Hard Goods / Part-time (Current Employee) –  Sydney, NS18 November 2017
typical day at giant tiger is cleaning stocking shelves helping customers making sure that are finding everything alright i learn something new everyday the management is amazing they get along with everyone and you get along with everyone there is no hard part about the job giant tiger is like a huge family the most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that you are working with amazing people. there is nothing bad that i can say about giant tiger cause its just an amazing work place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working
Cashier/Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Canada15 November 2017
Walking and talking to the customers makes the day go faster and learning some new becomes the most enjoyable day. It’s hard to stand on the feet different culture and people are all over the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday Labour Job
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON14 November 2017
Just an every day labour job. You go in knowing what there is to do, and you leave knowing you will do the exact same thing the following day. Fellow staff and management are friendly enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fonthill, ON11 November 2017
I liked the people and environment here. No room for advancement and didn't like there policy that you can only work for them as they mostly only offer part time and how is that possible as an adult to survive on one part time job. Other than that i would go back. Wish i could have gotten full time
Pros
empoyee discount
Cons
Hardly no full time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Summerside, PE9 November 2017
A typical day was ringing things in and putting merchandise into appropriate bags. I learned how to work quickly, how to work a till, and to be open and talkative. The hardest part of the job was keeping up when things got really busy. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting all sorts of people.
Pros
The pay
Cons
Hours weren't set
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff that want to get the job done
Shipper (Former Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON5 November 2017
Job completion is is the goal , team work is positive and the warehouse is clean and organized. I worked the night shift here would loved to worked day shift if hired.
Pros
Positive workpkace, great people with a sense of purpose for completing a task.
Cons
Night shift was dificult was the only con.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport