Giant Tiger Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 200 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the work place is alright.
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ONOctober 30, 2015
This work place is more like a high school then a company. Some staff are very kind and nice, while others done work and spend more time gossiping than working.
Pros
nothing
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Customer Service/ Stocker/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 15, 2015
Giant Tiger is a enjoyable workplace with supportive management. I learn new things each and everyday I work there. I get a long with my co-workers very well. Each and every one of my co-workers are friendly and supportive. I enjoy talking to customers and helping them with what they need. I am always happy while working at Giant Tiger.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to work
Produce Associate- Giant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 14, 2015
this is a dead end job that you can only do for a short amount of time. all you do all day is stack shelves with cans or cash people out. and their is nothing you can take away from this job for the future
Pros
easy job
Cons
dead end
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stocking shelves
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bradford, ONOctober 11, 2015
I learned product placement and suggestive upselling based on display appeal by putting certain products in the same area it gave customers ideas of additional items they could purchase together
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Smiths Falls, ONOctober 9, 2015
I enjoyed working at G.T. always meeting old and new people.

Hours are not dependable but if you can come in on short notice, you can get more hours
Pros
n/a
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Work Place
Cashier and Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kirkland Lake, ONOctober 3, 2015
This place I would requiem to everyone! The co-workers who are there are amazing and I loved working there. Everyone is very understanding and this job helped me grow and become much more responsible.
Pros
Amazing co-workers
Cons
Not enough time to do homework
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Cashier Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONOctober 3, 2015
Great work environment

Great learning opportunity

Supportive staff

Great team atmosphere

Fast-paced

Great low-prices for families
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a new experience
Stock girl (Former Employee) –  Niagara FallsSeptember 23, 2015
Had a great time learning the world of department store working with a great group of employees. The hardest part of the job was in the first week learning too much in too little of time to really know what it was you were learning. The management team was great and very understanding. The easy part of the job was cash.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
Too many tourists
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and exciting place to work
Stock person/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Porcupine, ONSeptember 17, 2015
This was a great place to work with great people and under respectful and understanding management. a typical day at work would include stocking the shelves, cashing the customers out and cleaning the whole store from shift start to finish.
Pros
Frequent breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast moving enviornment
Back up Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  winnipeg manitobaSeptember 16, 2015
My day started out working the cash register and stalking shelf's
I learned how to deal with costumers. Management wasn't the greatest there. my co-workers were great nothing but great attitudes
I think the hardest part of the job was stalking shelf's because the things were sometimes heavy, other then that it was a good experience for a job.
Pros
discounts
Cons
not enough breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
womens department
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  hamilton ontAugust 28, 2015
I loved working at giant tiger cause the environment was very good and the hours was great for my ablities and the co-workers was also great to work around beause known that i was a new worker everyone respected me and really god by helping me if needed
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Part-Time Cashier (Former Employee) –  New Minas, NSAugust 27, 2015
worked long hours and treated unfairly too many clicks if you ask me. I found some ppls nosy and all about drama. the customers were very friendly when they came thru my line cuz I was pleasant to them. but other then that I did not enjoy working with Giant Tiger
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great place to work amazing staff
Grocery Clerk (Customer Service, Cashier) (Former Employee) –  Ingersoll, ONAugust 26, 2015
I loved my job at Giant Tiger it was a great place to work. The staff was a team. We had to pay for our benefits and you could not get full time but we did get a lot of hours during certain times of the year
Pros
10% discount on all your purchases
Cons
the rountine at closing time
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
Frozen Associate (Former Employee) –  embrumAugust 24, 2015
even though i start the review with good people, they never last cause the management is poor. they are more concerned with the mighty dollar and not the people they step on to make it
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Department Head - Food and Grocery (Former Employee) –  Port Dover, ONAugust 7, 2015
lots of hard work always dealing with trucks and stock I really enjoyed this job to bad they had to close the store down Live in tourist community not much work
Pros
10% descount on food products
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have worked at Giant Tiger since High School.
Shipping & Receiving - Customer service (Current Employee) –  KemptvilleAugust 2, 2015
It is a great company to work for but it is not my passion. They have been very support of me and allowing to adjust my hours while I attended college. Working with the public. I have learnt how listen to the customer needs and respond in a manner that solves thier issue.
Pros
Learning to listen to the customers needs and leaving them with a strong feeling of satisfaction
Cons
It is not move passion. My passion is to help those that need me more.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social and fun workplace
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chatham, OntarioJuly 1, 2015
A typical day at work would include putting away groceries.
I've learned how to work with different people and how to deal with difficult customers.
Management was very flexible with making sure hours did not conflict with school hours or personal engagements
My co-workers made the work experience fun
The hardest part of my job was getting my job done while the store was busy. The most enjoyable part of my job was interacting with customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad but not Great at the Giant Tiger
Floor Stock Clerk (Produce/Grocery) (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONJune 17, 2015
You will meet some really nice people.you will learn quite a bit. that all I got to say about that... Overall I had a less then moderate time working for them.
Pros
Good People
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace, Retail Enviorment
Cashier and Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ONJune 15, 2015
Working here was a great way to gain customer service experience, as well as learn to work well with others.
The only thing is it is to far from home, and I was not getting the hours needed.
Pros
Nice People
Cons
Play Favorites
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time job
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJune 9, 2015
I worked at Giant tiger part-time during my secondary and college studies, I worked the customer service desk and was able to help out in any other store sub departments. The management team was mediocre. The hardest part was getting enough hours, what I loved most about Giant Tiger is it's a Canadian Company and the CEO was an ottawa south local who helped fund a lot of non profit organizations.
Pros
flexible
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 201 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture