Giant Tiger Employee Reviews

Found 286 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor job long term job
Cashier & customer service (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK30 March 2017
great for highschool students.
pays minimum, not a lot of shifts given per week
management fairly understanding of time needed off
customers can be difficult due to area of city
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Lindsay, ON28 March 2017
Great hours, great people to work with, management is exceptional, happy and safe environment, good training program, and great customer service by everyone who works there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, fun and friendly employees.
Retail associate / Cashier (Current Employee) –  Kings Point plaza28 March 2017
Very welcoming community amongst Giant Tiger associates. It's like a family. So many regular customers that you always seem to crack a smile though the your shift. My favourite thing about working at Giant Tiger is that we are very jolly and celebrate almost every holiday and birthday. The team at Giant Tiger is very hard working and dependable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Shelf Stocker (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK27 March 2017
This place was fun to work at. Everyone worked hard and was nice. the manager never gave me a hard time. The work was easy and fun. I would work here again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB27 March 2017
SHow up at least 15/20 minutes before my actual shift.
I learned about handling cash.
Managment was good.
The hardest part of the job is showing up each day working different shifts.
The most enjoyable part of working there was meeting new people.
Pros
Meeting new people.
Cons
Working various shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON24 March 2017
This was a nice placement. Mmy co-workers were very helpful. My manager helped me learn how to do my job with efficiently. We wirked as a team and got through the day with little issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Family Enviorment
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 March 2017
In my time being part of the Giant Tiger Express family I have built a strong work ethic and interpersonal skills. It is a very welcoming community with a wide range of people of different ages and ethnicity. The staff is always willing to help one another out to produce a fluid and efficient store experience. I have gathered a great deal of skills from my time here and built many strong relationships.
Pros
Friendly Enviorment
Cons
Low amount of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with the staff there.
Stock Clerk (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 March 2017
Duties Include:
Stocking shelves
Maintaining an overall clean & tidy appearance in the store
Assisting customers in locating products
Assisting with receiving shipments including unloading and unpacking of merchandise
Collect & organize shopping carts from the store parking lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environment negative
Cashier (Current Employee) –  St. Paul, AB22 March 2017
Le pire endroit pour travailler im un étudiant d'école de hight et quand j'ai besoin des jours de congé pour mon éducation le directeur toujours outs moi vers le bas à son sujet. Elle me fait manquer mes événements scolaires et je ne me sens en sécurité au travail ive lui a dit et ils ne se soucient pas. Mon safty n'est pas là problème comme elle m'a dit
Pros
aucune chose positive
Cons
the gestion et comment les gens se fon traité
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good student job
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Alliston, ON16 March 2017
Worked here for 3yrs as a student. Went from a stocker to supervisor in a short time as a student. Learned valuable job competencies to further my self for other jobs. Flexible with school and good management. Min. wage job but as a student no complaints ever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers, terrible management
Cashier/Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON16 March 2017
Managers need updated training on how to handle certain situations. They are all about making money, not about the employees or customers. The customers are great.
Pros
co workers are fantastic people
Cons
Managers don't care, not many hours each week because it cuts into the managers bonuses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and pleasant workplace
Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON13 March 2017
The staff and workplace was great, everybody was always happy and there were many things to do throughout the day without it becoming mundane. People were very nice to work with daily.
Pros
Friendly Staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, family-like store
Part-time 2 shifts per week (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON13 March 2017
At this job, I learned different human interaction skills, I learned more than just job oriented skills, including self- confidence, independence, and how to work with others. My workplace was a safe, family- friendly facility that helps students like me, receive their first job, which overall helps better their future and give them experience.
Pros
great facility, up to date programs
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 March 2017
everyone is so welcoming at Giant Tiger, and I loved working with everyone there. If I had the chance I would defiantly go back with them............
Pros
free lunches
Cons
having to leave
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with friendly people
General labourer (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ON10 March 2017
An enjoyable place to work, a large variety of tasks to accomplish that allow you to go at your own pace and feel a sense of accomplishment for completing each one. The friendly staff and overall positive work environment made it a great place to be.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
had to work most weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff
Soft goods Associate (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON6 March 2017
cashier
fashion department
to stay on task and get things done
costumer service
excellent workplace
hardest part was getting things done efficiently
Pros
easy job
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Experience
Self-Advocates Advisor (Current Employee) –  Orillia, ON6 March 2017
An Enjoyable Experience Indeed

Management are flexible and easy to get along with.

If you have a good enough reason for being late, your supervisor will go easy on you.
Pros
Positive Environment
Cons
Too short hours for some
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent workplace and welcoming people
Cashier and sales floor associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON4 March 2017
The breaks were good, co- operation was important, co-workers got along, the expectations on you job tasks were just right and there are chances for recognition on you hard work
Pros
hour long lunches
Cons
hard to book off days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON2 March 2017
start at 6 am trucks arrive skies are put on the floor. Then we start to put stock on the shelves. That is for Health and Beauty and Pets section.Then make sure all stock is out labeled and prices are right
When we finish we go to next department and help them..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management is not very good
Grocery associate- Stocked (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON24 February 2017
while the work itself was fine, management was not. often either having too many people working one day then not enough the next. they also were very short tempered and when workers asked for dates off it would be unusual to get said dates off without hassle. i only worked here for 4 months but saw over 6 people quit and i was constantly training new people shortly after i was trained.since i left i have heard that many of the managers have been fired so hopefully better things can come from giant tiger st thomas.
Pros
lots of shifts
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Giant Tiger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 287 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8