Giant Tiger Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very upbeat place to work
Fashion Associate (Current Employee) –  sales associate and key holder15 September 2017
Friendly and good working environment. Structured days with opportunities to be innovative. Working as a team, and working directly with customers to provide a great customer experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environmnt
Frontend supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 September 2017
I enjoyed working there but I had moved to far thought about transferring to a closer location to where I had moved but they did not have the job title I had at the other location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working team environment
Grocery Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS11 September 2017
Hard working team environment, was a grocery associate and cashier, as grocery associate helped stock shelves, costumer service, as well as working in the back setting up and putting up palates
Pros
breaks, friendly staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started when I was 16
Employee (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 September 2017
Was my first job and taught me alot about sales,people,wearhouse work. Shipping and receving,customer service,and much of the everyday employee. Would go back for sure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK6 September 2017
Great work environment, fun staff. Enjoyable atmosphere. Room for adavancement. Resonable wage. The area could use improvement but overall it is a great place to work,
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a retail job
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Acton, ON5 September 2017
Good owner. Pretty flexible with your schedule. Small store so not so many employees that you feel like you're just a useless shelf stocker. Pretty easy job
Pros
Nice work environment
Cons
Low pay, but it's retail
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB4 September 2017
Overall 3 star review the atmosphere was well there, break room sucked. Management treated me like i was dirt because i was the only male cashier. I worked harder every day i worked there incase future employees read this take note of management expertise cause there it will bite you.
Pros
Positive Atmosphere
Cons
Poor pay, management problems, nasty break room.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day was a different day
Retail Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON31 August 2017
If you get into the click at the store your good. If you work hard others will slack off so why work so hard?

Hours are good one week then not so many the next. So wish I had the same amount each week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
sale associate (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON24 August 2017
Giant Tiger is a great place to work. They are a good company which support community and their staff. They provide great training and provide amazing support to their customers. they sell and over great products.
Pros
great training
Cons
sometimes crowding in stock room
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 July 2017
I really Enjoyed working here it was my favorite job so far , I would make up every morning be excited to work a 8 hour shift everyday co-workers were nice and we got a long very well
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
someday its not busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON24 July 2017
I worked here for 3 years. It was good at first, but then found that our owner and the management didn't really care for their staff. Everyone was/is treated poorly. We were never thanked or shown appreciation towards anything good we did, only were scold and told how bad we are when we did something wrong.
Pros
made good friends
Cons
stupid management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
giant tiger
Supervisor/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NS24 July 2017
I love the front end manger she was the best, but over all didn't like how some people got away with stuff and the treaded me like i was an outsider, not happy with the one in amherst
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job for a student
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Alberta12 July 2017
It was pretty slow paced, this job is more for elderly or students. There was no way to advance, everyone is cashiers and their is a manager of the store.
Pros
The deals
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Yarmouth, NS8 July 2017
Very stressful place to work. The bosses were wonderful, but the co-workers were constantly after each other. Dealing with the stress was bad on my health. Helped set the store, was probably the best part of my experience with the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique work environment where you meet interesting individuals. Good workspace.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK6 July 2017
I enjoyed working here as the management team was very strong and supportive. A typical day is busy and then slows down in periods. A very productive workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Clothing Associate (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON30 June 2017
Giant Tiger was a great first work experience I learn a lot about myself there. I learned many different skills and my co-workers were great. The customers were great to very understanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but productive days as Supervisor
Supervisor and Authorizer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON28 June 2017
Day's at Giant Tiger were always busy and unpredictable. As an employee I learned many management skills as Supervisor such as interpersonal communication skills, adapting to pressure, maintaining a professional image during conflicts, problem solving skills, tracking and recording inventory, setting tasks and meeting deadlines, processing transactions efficiently and effectively and maintaining a clean atmosphere. The most enjoyable part of my day was resolving problems and bringing fourth customer satisfaction by showing loyalty and respect.
Pros
Clean enviornment, friendly employees, good management
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK6 June 2017
Cleaning up workarea
Providing costumers with customer service
the hardest part of the job was trying to explain why certain items that looked the exact same were different prices
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So-called "Family environment"
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON29 May 2017
• Giant Tiger does not accommodate an employees physical or mental limitations
• Workers are given zero trust (Bags and belonging s are checked upon departure)
• Proper training is not provided for employees
Pros
Good discounts
Cons
The people are fake
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carleton place GT have the best staff and management
Grocery Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Carleton Place, ON25 May 2017
I absolutely loved working at GT in CP. The staff and management are excellent and very understanding. The owner Ray is the best. It's just a shame that I couldn't do the 45 minute commute anymore. They were and still is my GT family.
Pros
Fun staff days
Cons
The 45 minute commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Giant Tiger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 327 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7