Find companies:
Giant Tiger
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
107 reviews

Giant Tiger Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), London, ONMarch 7, 2014
Nice place to work seasonally but more closed off then most retail chains
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always busy and fun
Cashier/FT Seasonal Department (Former Employee), cambridge, onMarch 7, 2014
you always had something to do at work, the employees and great friends still and customers were always a treat to meet
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great work Staff
SALES (Former Employee), Embrun, ONMarch 6, 2014
Pros: discount on merchandise
Cons: shift work and weekend
Start off with restocking merchandise, and maintaining the dept. insuring product availability, greet and assist customers. Had a great team of co-workers, we worked planograms and set ups at times when needed.
Hardest part of the job was the hours, shift work is hard on the family life when you have children. there are time where you go a day and half – more... before you able to spend real time with your kids
the best part of this job was working with my co-workers, they were a strong and positive team. everyone was helpful when needed, and I would work with them knowing we'd have a successful day – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
...
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 6, 2014
Pros: good staff
Cons: dramatic hour cuts. horrible annual raises
The job offer terrific hours during peak season but when the season ends hours drop dramaticly and you are vertually making nothing.You also get experience in all departments which is great for your resume. Perfect job for students but wouldn't recommend it for a single parent or independent person with bills and responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee in st.catharines
customer service in department (Current Employee), st.catharinesMarch 4, 2014
Management is horrible. It is like high school. Each manager is double standard. Owner is not great with employees. You can do anything and call in five mins before shift or do a no show still keep a job. Never worked in a un organized company. Department managers socialize in back when staff needs help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 27, 2014
Working at Giant Tiger was a very fun and enjoyable environment to work in. I had a great team to work with that tough me alot about their products and services and how to help customers efficiently. On the job i had fun every day and I never had to deal with a situation I couldn't handle on my own
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company and employers
Cashier (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONFebruary 18, 2014
My experience at giant tiger was wonderful
they have a great company and morals that i can stand behind
i was proud to work for them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Attendant/Supervisor (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: great learning experience
Cons: retail....
Overall this company gave me a lot of experience in different part of the company which I can now take and apply to a new career
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is like any basic retail company, however the people that you work with are what makes it enjoyable
sales associate (Current Employee), sudbury,onFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: the job itself gets to be frustrating after a long period of time
A typical day at work involves merchandising stock as well as preparing it for the floor and at the end of the end of your shift it is required to clean your sections to prepare for the next associate coming in or to prepare for the following work day. The management is very flexible around schedules so it is perfect for students. The other co-workers – more... are all friendly and are very diverse and are what make the job enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treated with great respect
Stock Person (Former Employee), Kingston, ONJanuary 31, 2014
Great management
Taught many new skills
Plenty of opportunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giant Tiger
Fashion sales associate (Former Employee), Leduc AlbertaJanuary 24, 2014
I learned from this job how to work unattended for the most part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Realiable staff and helpful management
Supervisor (Former Employee), EdmontonJanuary 22, 2014
Receiving stock and working with customers.
I learned how to do my own purchasing and merchandizing.
The staff I was working with was very easy going and enjoyable to work with.
The management staff was always supportive
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place, Pool tables and cheap snacks!
Order Picker (Current Employee), ottawaJanuary 20, 2014
Good warehouse work. Nice management. a typical day for an order picker is just to build skids off of a list for whatever the store requested. Very easy to do once you get a hang of it. People are great there, a lot of them have been there for 10 yrs +. Hardest part of the job is the amount of boxes you have to do in a day, but it isnt even that hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valued experience
Head receiver of shipments (Former Employee), Perth OntarioJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: gained experience
Cons: repetitive work
I enjoyed my time working for Giant Tiger. I learned the importance of organization and the value of team work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
giant tiger
Retail Sales (Former Employee), thompson MBJanuary 5, 2014
dont feel the need to write a review for this job
it was a terrible place
rude magement
unorganized
unloyal
no trust
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier position
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Chatham-Kent, ONDecember 17, 2013
Pros: had a discount.
Cons: worked most holidays
A typical day at Giant Tiger was to complete orders, take transactions, make returns and exchanges.
I learned more about retail. I learned planograms, shipping and receving, stocking, inventory and what lost prevention means.
I started at Giant Tiger before it opened. The co workers and I set up the store before the grand opening and I continued to – more... work there for 3 years. All of the co workers got along like family.
The hardest part of the job is when you would see shop lifting happening. We had to follow procedure. If we saw shoplifting we would have to report to management right away and we were not to confront the shoplifter for employee safety.
I enjoyed working this position because there were a lot of regular customers that you got to know during the years I worked there. It was a very friendly atmosphere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved learning new things and the customers and it was a fun place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONDecember 6, 2013
Pros: always learning something new
Cons: irrate customers
i loved to work with the customers and all staff i learned alot about the returns and the cash the coworker i had were all very friendly and likable, the customers that that yelled and screamed at you for nothing love to advance in anything i work at and most times the customers were the enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay retail job, not very exciting, repetive.
Fashion Department Associate (Former Employee), Welland, ONDecember 3, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: not engaging.
Worked the fashion department.
Folded and tagged clothes and maintained dressing rooms and racks.
Boring department, repetitive and not very engaging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great plae to work
Cashier (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONDecember 2, 2013
fun days at work did cash,cleaning,stocking,unloading,management is great very nice people to work for
,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and professional place to work
General Laborer (Current Employee), Scott St, St. CatharinesNovember 17, 2013
in the beginning of a normal shift, i grab the list of things to do from my boss. Every shift i end up learning something new either from another employee or a customer. The management at Giant Tiger is some of the best i have ever worked for, they are very friendly and very easy to work with. The same goes for my co-workers, they are all very good – more... people who care for each other. The hardest part of the job is trying to stock shelves while the store is busy, its a fairly easy drive. The most enjoyable part of my job is helping friendly customers who are nice and make your shift a little better. – less

Giant Tiger Photos