Giant Tiger Employee Reviews

Found 286 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK6 June 2017
Cleaning up workarea
Providing costumers with customer service
the hardest part of the job was trying to explain why certain items that looked the exact same were different prices
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carleton place GT have the best staff and management
Grocery Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Carleton Place, ON25 May 2017
I absolutely loved working at GT in CP. The staff and management are excellent and very understanding. The owner Ray is the best. It's just a shame that I couldn't do the 45 minute commute anymore. They were and still is my GT family.
Pros
Fun staff days
Cons
The 45 minute commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Retail, customer service, stocked shelves (Former Employee) –  Sturgeon Falls, ON24 May 2017
I had an amazing experience at Giant Tiger. I wish the hours were flexible to return though. :D The staff and management were amazing to work with and always eager to help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly good place to work at
Cashier/Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON23 May 2017
Friendly staff who are all very welcoming and treat other employees like family. Great location and works well with student hours. They can improve on following requests and not forgetting or messing up shifts but overall great place
Pros
Store discount, great employees
Cons
Not enough shifts, bad scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy to get along workplace
Grocery Associate (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS22 May 2017
easy to get along with other employees with little confrontation, not much opportunity for advancement in position unless a management position opens up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable
Sales associate/ shipping and receiving (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON17 May 2017
It was a very good place to work and just wish there was a way to be transferred and wish there was one in corner brook and the staff is wonderful and understanding
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 May 2017
i would show up for work with a smile and my coworkers were all really friendly to both the people that came in and for those who are new to there work
Pros
discounts
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 May 2017
The manager of this establishment was excellent. I found myself in a situation and he offered to help.Great place to work, friendly environment and great staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Workplace
Cashier/ Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lower Sackville, NS3 May 2017
I was one of the first cashiers working at the Sackville Giant Tiger. It was an exciting experience to be there for the grand opening. I enjoyed working with my co-workers and bonding with customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Sutton, ON2 May 2017
Working at Giant Tiger is very fun and interesting. The other employees are nice and are very easy to work with. Switching a shift is very easy and other co-workers are very understanding, As long as you let a supervisor know.
Pros
Co-workers are nice
Cons
Customer Service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First and Only Job
Department Head/Keyholder (Current Employee) –  Orillia, ON24 April 2017
This has been the first and only company I've worked for and I've enjoyed every minute of it. I enjoy everyone I work with, making my day that much easier. We start by unloading the trucks, putting out our usual stock and finding spaces for new stock going on sale in the new flyer. The management team at my job is fantastic. Easy to get along with, very approachable for anything.
Pros
Staff Contests
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne ambiance de travail
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Magog, QC23 April 2017
le staff interagit bien avec les employés et encourage et aide en tout temps
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lakefield, ON20 April 2017
My boss was always very considerate to everyones schedules and personal needs. If there was ever an issue between employees it was always delt with very proffesionaly. very great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK18 April 2017
It was fun and the people there were very nice to work with, very helpful and respectful. The hourly pay wasnt in my interest, but the co workers were good people. They were somewhat clean. The manager wasnt very talkative and polite looking.
Pros
Nice co workers
Cons
Not long enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad but not good
Store Set Up (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON18 April 2017
Good work environment, bad management, very laid back work environment, no communication between corporate and employees Do not appreciate good staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworkers and responsibilites
Grocery Stocker (Former Employee) –  Orleans, ON18 April 2017
Working at Giant Tiger was a nice starter job. Not too many responsibilities to overwhelm you but enough that you were always busy. Nice coworkers and customers were always friendly as well.
Pros
Good hours, reasonable pay, nice benefits
Cons
if not a starter job minimum wage is not very good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Place To Work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 April 2017
this company was a great one to work for, everyday working there was enjoyable. the management was supportive in teaching you things you were interested to learn about to further your knowledge about the company. You would be able to grow even more if you had knowledge in French and English both. It was amazing company to work for.
Pros
enjoyabe work environment
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail sucks no matter where you are
Cashier, customer service, stock maintenance (Former Employee) –  Acton, ON13 April 2017
Customers are often rude, the managers are on a weird power trip, cashiers are expected to do everything perfectly every time while the people who work in the back are pretty much just required to show up. Also it is not a very accommodating work place when it comes to management (maybe i just had bad luck), but the owner was a great guy and is very receptive to complaints.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB5 April 2017
I really enjoyed the staff I worked with , and our mascot we have to wear for the kids sometimes , they rerenavated store and fixed Camaras so that's a bonus .
Pros
Free food In break room
Cons
Have to stay later
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Fashion Associate / cashier (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON31 March 2017
prepping the fashion. making sure its hung up and put in its proper department , assisting customers and processing customers orders and recovering the store at end of shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Giant Tiger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 287 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

87%
78 ratings
Add your rating