Find companies:
Giant Tiger
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
94 reviews

Giant Tiger Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the greatest
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brantford, ONApril 18, 2014
staff was very nice but alot of the management were not as welcoming, work was not very enjoyable more of just income not something i could do my wole life
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun safe atmosphere...
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONApril 10, 2014
Pros: routine
Cons: crowded store
A typical day at work was sweeping the parking lot in the morning, then stocking shelves or compressing cardboard, finally doing carts, or dealing with garbage. I also would listen to customers and give them what they want. For example where is this item located.

I learned that it takes time to complete a task and patience.

Management was very pleasant – more... and compassionate.

My co-workers were friendly and good at giving direction. I like leaders.

The hardest part of the job was when their was an angry customer. I had to be in a calm frame of mind to deal with him or her.

The most enjoyable part of the job was completing a very long and hard task. Like for example I started work there and on the first day I had to stock a shelf of cans, it took 3 hours to do and I was very relieved when it was done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful and friendly work enviroment.
Store Manager/ Key Holder (Current Employee), Orillia, ONMarch 31, 2014
I have enjoyed working for this company for the past 2 years, and I very much enjoy the room to grow and opportunities for advancement. I currently hold the title of Store manager, and I truly enjoy my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere, little flexibility.
Cashier (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONMarch 27, 2014
Pros: employee discount, employee promotions
Cons: flexible shifts
Was unable to get shifts that worked around my schooling causing me to decide between the two. Other than that it was a great job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very positive atmosphere, great part time job.
Weekend Manager (Current Employee), Perth, ONMarch 26, 2014
Pros: the staff, customers and the hours of work
Cons: heavy lifting
My typical day at work consists of Unpacking and hanging/ ticketing clothing, doing cashes, and stocking shelves.
I have learned how to close and open the store, do cash balancing, order stock, and work a cash register.
Management at Giant Tiger is excellent. Managers are very well liked and know exactly how to do their jobs. They are very understanding – more... and thoughtful people.
My co- workers are very fun, energetic people who make working at Giant Tiger a very enjoyable place to work. They are very inclusive people and I enjoy all of their company.
The hardest part of the job is simply just lifting the boxes of food, some are very heavy but other then that Giant Tiger was a very easy and enjoyable place to work.
The most enjoyable part of this job was getting to know the staff members and getting to work with people who are considered friends. It wasn't considered work any more, rather a fun place to learn from. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Pembroke, ONMarch 23, 2014
A typical day at work included constant interaction with customers and providing friendly help
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and family workplace
Retail (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONMarch 16, 2014
Pros: always doing something different
Cons: hours cut, shifts all over the place
- cashier
- working customer service
- dealing with customers
- learned merchandising
- learned about tobacco how to sell and handle
- doing returns
- one of the hardest parts would be trying everything to please unhappy customers, complaints, so on.
- feeling satisfied when the customer leaves happy, and merchandising the store to make it customer – more... friendly, and easy to shop – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), London, ONMarch 7, 2014
Nice place to work seasonally but more closed off then most retail chains
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always busy and fun
Cashier/FT Seasonal Department (Former Employee), cambridge, onMarch 7, 2014
you always had something to do at work, the employees and great friends still and customers were always a treat to meet
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great work Staff
SALES (Former Employee), Embrun, ONMarch 6, 2014
Pros: discount on merchandise
Cons: shift work and weekend
Start off with restocking merchandise, and maintaining the dept. insuring product availability, greet and assist customers. Had a great team of co-workers, we worked planograms and set ups at times when needed.
Hardest part of the job was the hours, shift work is hard on the family life when you have children. there are time where you go a day and half – more... before you able to spend real time with your kids
the best part of this job was working with my co-workers, they were a strong and positive team. everyone was helpful when needed, and I would work with them knowing we'd have a successful day – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
...
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 6, 2014
Pros: good staff
Cons: dramatic hour cuts. horrible annual raises
The job offer terrific hours during peak season but when the season ends hours drop dramaticly and you are vertually making nothing.You also get experience in all departments which is great for your resume. Perfect job for students but wouldn't recommend it for a single parent or independent person with bills and responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee in st.catharines
customer service in department (Current Employee), st.catharinesMarch 4, 2014
Management is horrible. It is like high school. Each manager is double standard. Owner is not great with employees. You can do anything and call in five mins before shift or do a no show still keep a job. Never worked in a un organized company. Department managers socialize in back when staff needs help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 27, 2014
Working at Giant Tiger was a very fun and enjoyable environment to work in. I had a great team to work with that tough me alot about their products and services and how to help customers efficiently. On the job i had fun every day and I never had to deal with a situation I couldn't handle on my own
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company and employers
Cashier (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONFebruary 18, 2014
My experience at giant tiger was wonderful
they have a great company and morals that i can stand behind
i was proud to work for them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Attendant/Supervisor (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: great learning experience
Cons: retail....
Overall this company gave me a lot of experience in different part of the company which I can now take and apply to a new career
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is like any basic retail company, however the people that you work with are what makes it enjoyable
sales associate (Current Employee), sudbury,onFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: the job itself gets to be frustrating after a long period of time
A typical day at work involves merchandising stock as well as preparing it for the floor and at the end of the end of your shift it is required to clean your sections to prepare for the next associate coming in or to prepare for the following work day. The management is very flexible around schedules so it is perfect for students. The other co-workers – more... are all friendly and are very diverse and are what make the job enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treated with great respect
Stock Person (Former Employee), Kingston, ONJanuary 31, 2014
Great management
Taught many new skills
Plenty of opportunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giant Tiger
Fashion sales associate (Former Employee), Leduc AlbertaJanuary 24, 2014
I learned from this job how to work unattended for the most part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Realiable staff and helpful management
Supervisor (Former Employee), EdmontonJanuary 22, 2014
Receiving stock and working with customers.
I learned how to do my own purchasing and merchandizing.
The staff I was working with was very easy going and enjoyable to work with.
The management staff was always supportive
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place, Pool tables and cheap snacks!
Order Picker (Current Employee), ottawaJanuary 20, 2014
Good warehouse work. Nice management. a typical day for an order picker is just to build skids off of a list for whatever the store requested. Very easy to do once you get a hang of it. People are great there, a lot of them have been there for 10 yrs +. Hardest part of the job is the amount of boxes you have to do in a day, but it isnt even that hard.

1 2 3 4 5