Giant Tiger Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was my second home and my second family
Sales / Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON20 October 2017
Giant tiger was a place full of friendly faces and we made eachother family. We had lots of regular customers who we all just loved! the prices are great for people living with low income.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was enjoyable but employees werent accpetable
Fashion Associate (Former Employee) –  Simcoe, ON17 October 2017
I loved working at Giant Tiger because I met so many new people each and every day. Employees weren't as acceptable as id like. I like a diverse and acceptable workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giant Tiger
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Saugeen Shores, ON11 October 2017
Typical first job for a high school student. Most days were an early start for unloading trucks for produce and stock. Since it was a small town a lot of the students working there were friends throughout school.
Pros
Flexible work scheduling
Cons
Poisonous work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good prices
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON2 October 2017
Always a pleasure to help coustmers and have a productive day. A lot of growth opportunities and always ready for new experience. Very great learning experience
Pros
I am a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of Bad, Not Enough Good
Retail - Fashion Fitting Room Associate (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON29 September 2017
- Coworkers were mostly friendly
- A lot of hard work for very little advancement
- Overall, friendly customers
- Generally a clean store
- Terrible parking lot
- Good location for the store itself
- Women only for fashion department and cashier positions
- Men are placed in grocery and seasonal, not as cashiers or other positions
- A lot of theft in the store
Pros
Good location
Cons
A lot of hard work for very little advancement, a lot of theft in store, higher ups think little of staff it seems
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management, productivity and accomodating,
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 September 2017
I have worked on and off as a part time cashier at the same Giant Tiger location. It has been very accommodating to me as I have had multiple jobs at one time and have also been a student. It is a high volume, fast paced location where I developed many skills that include--detail orientation, customer service, leadership and working as a team.
Pros
Good management, good relationships, good hours.
Cons
Can get hectic
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 September 2017
Benefits are available, hours and pay are decent, the work environment is amazing the employee are great, room for growth in the company. Working at Giant Tiger was a great experience.
Pros
benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very upbeat place to work
Fashion Associate (Current Employee) –  sales associate and key holder15 September 2017
Friendly and good working environment. Structured days with opportunities to be innovative. Working as a team, and working directly with customers to provide a great customer experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environmnt
Frontend supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 September 2017
I enjoyed working there but I had moved to far thought about transferring to a closer location to where I had moved but they did not have the job title I had at the other location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working team environment
Grocery Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS11 September 2017
Hard working team environment, was a grocery associate and cashier, as grocery associate helped stock shelves, costumer service, as well as working in the back setting up and putting up palates
Pros
breaks, friendly staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started when I was 16
Employee (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 September 2017
Was my first job and taught me alot about sales,people,wearhouse work. Shipping and receving,customer service,and much of the everyday employee. Would go back for sure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK6 September 2017
Great work environment, fun staff. Enjoyable atmosphere. Room for adavancement. Resonable wage. The area could use improvement but overall it is a great place to work,
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a retail job
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Acton, ON5 September 2017
Good owner. Pretty flexible with your schedule. Small store so not so many employees that you feel like you're just a useless shelf stocker. Pretty easy job
Pros
Nice work environment
Cons
Low pay, but it's retail
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB4 September 2017
Overall 3 star review the atmosphere was well there, break room sucked. Management treated me like i was dirt because i was the only male cashier. I worked harder every day i worked there incase future employees read this take note of management expertise cause there it will bite you.
Pros
Positive Atmosphere
Cons
Poor pay, management problems, nasty break room.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day was a different day
Retail Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON31 August 2017
If you get into the click at the store your good. If you work hard others will slack off so why work so hard?

Hours are good one week then not so many the next. So wish I had the same amount each week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
sale associate (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON24 August 2017
Giant Tiger is a great place to work. They are a good company which support community and their staff. They provide great training and provide amazing support to their customers. they sell and over great products.
Pros
great training
Cons
sometimes crowding in stock room
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 July 2017
I really Enjoyed working here it was my favorite job so far , I would make up every morning be excited to work a 8 hour shift everyday co-workers were nice and we got a long very well
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
someday its not busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON24 July 2017
I worked here for 3 years. It was good at first, but then found that our owner and the management didn't really care for their staff. Everyone was/is treated poorly. We were never thanked or shown appreciation towards anything good we did, only were scold and told how bad we are when we did something wrong.
Pros
made good friends
Cons
stupid management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
giant tiger
Supervisor/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NS24 July 2017
I love the front end manger she was the best, but over all didn't like how some people got away with stuff and the treaded me like i was an outsider, not happy with the one in amherst
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job for a student
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Alberta12 July 2017
It was pretty slow paced, this job is more for elderly or students. There was no way to advance, everyone is cashiers and their is a manager of the store.
Pros
The deals
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Giant Tiger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 312 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7