Find companies:
Gerdau Ameristeel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
240 reviews

Gerdau Ameristeel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and some days fun
Mobile Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Guelph, ONApril 5, 2014
Pros: year round work, straight days
Cons: no overtime
A typical day would be doing inspections on equipment, loading trucks, receiving material,some warehouse work.
I have learned work in a safe and efficient manner.
The management is good.
My co-workers are good to work with.
The hardest part of the job is keeping all customers safe while on the property.
The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting – more... new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Technical Analyst (Current Employee), Whitby, ONApril 2, 2014
I can not recommend this company. Especially the IT department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
General Labourer (Current Employee), Cornwall, ONAugust 19, 2013
A great job to learn about the scrap metal and steel industry. Get to enjoy working with people and a great team of employees. Management always took great care and looked out for co-workers. Amazing benefits and overall a great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good CO-OP placment
Co-op Student (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONJuly 31, 2013
Pros: amazing people
Cons: co-op and wasnt payed
Amazing place to get to learn about industrial plants.
Also really cool to get to see an arc furnace at work. and getting to see all the computers that go into making it all run.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for younger man
Shearman (Former Employee), Whitby, ONOctober 18, 2012
Pros: it was challenging and well paying
Cons: it was long hours of repetitive labour .
It was a great place to work when I was younger , But after 35 years the 12 hour shifts were getting to be too long . Also it was time for a change . I am recieving a pension from Gerdau Ameristeel but am looking to suppliment this with either full or part time work .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gerdau-Cambridge Mill upper mngt need better engagement to ordinary employees.
Maintenance Planner (Former Employee), Gerdau - Cambridge MillOctober 9, 2012
They have a very good culture and training for new employees. Only noticed that there was a time when management fail to conduct appropriate investigations nor communicate to concerned persons when situations arose to the detriment of the poor guy who was new and didn't have influence to upper mngt. Seeing the good rather than being always critical – more... on a person actions would have been better. Unbalanced info was given to upper mgnt behind the back of the poor guy. Hope they get better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Management Facilitator (Former Employee), Whitby, ONJuly 24, 2012
I enjoyed my employment and short career with Gerdau, but family health issues became more important, I would recommend this company to anyone seeking employment in this field
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was appart of my Field placement Class.
Student Credit Assisstant (Former Employee), Whitby, ONMay 21, 2012
I volunteered 225 hours of my time to Gerdau to assist them with Annual Account Reviews.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a steel mill.
millwright (Former Employee), Whitby, ONApril 4, 2012
Pros: good times there
Cons: baghouse, worst place ever
Working there the longest and went thru the good and bad times there. Did my trade there and worked on almost every piece of equipment in there over the years.
Was from one end to the other over the years and up above and down underneath.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of employees who were very good at their jobs.
Back-up Site Manager (Former Employee), martinsville, VASeptember 7, 2014
Pros: filled in for site managers that were on vacation or out for town for awhile.
Cons: the enviroment: very hot, cold, dusty, dealing with the weather in general
Checking inventory, daily equipment maint. reports, morning meetings w/ employees discussing job requirements for the day, work closely w/ Site Manager reviewing new projects and how to meet operational goals.

Safety training was a high priority for the company, the training was very helpful in keeping our employees safe.

Immediate management was – more... very good and insightful

I managed 5 equipment operators and field workers and all were very good at what they were required to do.

Keeping up with all the new requirements sent to us from the Corporate Offices in Brazil.

All the employees. We all got along very well, had our disagreements from time to time, worked them out, then moved on and worked as a team to complete the required tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Petersburg site is a joke
Production Worker (Former Employee), Petersburg, VAAugust 31, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: little to no breaks and everyday wondering if you will have a job
Petersburg management is a joke and HR dept is for management. You are just a number to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no advancements
Senior Operator (Former Employee), Petersburg, VAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: everything
bad management......lots of favoritism in departments. lots of time off during the month. only work 15 days swing shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sell your self to brazil
stand guide builder (Former Employee), Cartersville, GAAugust 23, 2014
Pros: money
Cons: dangerous job
great job for the money, but everyday could be your last if someone makes a mistake. hard hot sweaty long 12 hour days but the money is great. Advancement isn't great takes years to move up and everyone is cutting each other down to move up. It could be called a shark tank environment. cell phones are allow and make it very deadly enviroment. I loved – more... this job and have many friends that work here but it is only for the money. everyday could be your last day isn't an scare tactic you except it and learn to live with your choice or you don't work here. Over 300 near miss a month and thats a guarantee fact. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice business to work for if you can handle hard, manual labor for 8-12 hours a day.
Rebar Fabricator (Current Employee), Decatur, ILAugust 18, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long hours
Gerdau is a nice business to work for if you can handle hard, manual labor for 8-12 hours a day. They offer great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal Oriented
Foreman (Current Employee), Midlothian, TXAugust 13, 2014
Goal oriented productive environment focused on results driven by safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large steel mill in st paul minnesota
set up shop (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNAugust 6, 2014
I started in the bundling pit which is the starting point for most rookie employee's. I then worked my way into the bundling pit and the crane. a position came open in the set up shop so I put a bid on it. my trainer was the best in the set up shop. we proved how good we were by very seldom making mistakes and it became our job to also double check – more... the other shifts mill stand that they set up in order to ensure they were up to specs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work place
Quality Control First Inspector (Former Employee), Perth Amboy, NJJuly 30, 2014
Productive and challenging work place. inspection, dangerous, very hot but learned alot
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Scale Clerk (Former Employee), Jackson, MIJuly 27, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: no room for advancement and growth within the company
Working for Gerdau is very fast paced, you are always learning something new. They send you to a lot of meetings and training classes depending on what position your in some are daily some are a few times a month. Most of the co-workers are friendly and willing to help out if needed others are back stabbing especially the supervisors they expect you – more... to do there job to make them look better. Most challenging part of the job is the constant change but for me it was the best part of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Logistics Coordinator (Current Employee), King George, VAJuly 13, 2014
Poor management, no advancement opportunities, salary is low, NO work/life balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive place
Fabricator (Former Employee), Decatur, ILJuly 9, 2014
Met alot of great people. Incentive check each month. Benefits second to none

1 2 3 4 5

About Gerdau Ameristeel

Gerdau Ameristeel puts its stamp on the steel business in the US. The company is one of the largest minimill steelmakers in North – Read more