Gerdau Ameristeel Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 12 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met a lot of good people and made good money
Scrap Inspector (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ONOctober 27, 2014
Weighed in and out of scrap trucks and safely spotting the dump trailers in the scrap bay and outside. Communicated with scrap crane operator both inside and out. Deducted when necessary when not within specs. At times the job was challenging which made the day go by fast and enjoyed meeting a lot of good people.
Pros
good benefits, steady days
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes13No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A unique environment and a learning experience
Buyer - (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONSeptember 1, 2014
This was a contract position for the implementation of SAP. The position was to assist with the heavy work load during transitioning to SAP application
Was this review helpful?Yes11No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and some days fun
Mobile Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ONApril 5, 2014
A typical day would be doing inspections on equipment, loading trucks, receiving material,some warehouse work.
I have learned work in a safe and efficient manner.
The management is good.
My co-workers are good to work with.
The hardest part of the job is keeping all customers safe while on the property.
The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people.
Pros
year round work, straight days
Cons
no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Technical Analyst (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ONApril 2, 2014
I can not recommend this company. Especially the IT department.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
General Labourer (Current Employee) –  Cornwall, ONAugust 19, 2013
A great job to learn about the scrap metal and steel industry. Get to enjoy working with people and a great team of employees. Management always took great care and looked out for co-workers. Amazing benefits and overall a great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good CO-OP placment
Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ONJuly 31, 2013
Amazing place to get to learn about industrial plants.
Also really cool to get to see an arc furnace at work. and getting to see all the computers that go into making it all run.
Pros
amazing people
Cons
co-op and wasnt payed
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for younger man
Shearman (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONOctober 18, 2012
It was a great place to work when I was younger , But after 35 years the 12 hour shifts were getting to be too long . Also it was time for a change . I am recieving a pension from Gerdau Ameristeel but am looking to suppliment this with either full or part time work .
Pros
it was challenging and well paying
Cons
it was long hours of repetitive labour .
Was this review helpful?Yes18No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gerdau-Cambridge Mill upper mngt need better engagement to ordinary employees.
Maintenance Planner (Former Employee) –  Gerdau - Cambridge MillOctober 9, 2012
They have a very good culture and training for new employees. Only noticed that there was a time when management fail to conduct appropriate investigations nor communicate to concerned persons when situations arose to the detriment of the poor guy who was new and didn't have influence to upper mngt. Seeing the good rather than being always critical on a person actions would have been better. Unbalanced info was given to upper mgnt behind the back of the poor guy. Hope they get better.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Management Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONJuly 24, 2012
I enjoyed my employment and short career with Gerdau, but family health issues became more important, I would recommend this company to anyone seeking employment in this field
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was appart of my Field placement Class.
Student Credit Assisstant (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONMay 21, 2012
I volunteered 225 hours of my time to Gerdau to assist them with Annual Account Reviews.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a steel mill.
millwright (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONApril 4, 2012
Working there the longest and went thru the good and bad times there. Did my trade there and worked on almost every piece of equipment in there over the years.
Was from one end to the other over the years and up above and down underneath.
Pros
good times there
Cons
baghouse, worst place ever
Was this review helpful?Yes19No14

See more Gerdau Ameristeel reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 426 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture