Find companies:
Gerdau Ameristeel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
347 reviews

Gerdau Ameristeel Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met a lot of good people and made good money
Scrap Inspector (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONOctober 27, 2014
Pros: good benefits, steady days
Cons: n/a
Weighed in and out of scrap trucks and safely spotting the dump trailers in the scrap bay and outside. Communicated with scrap crane operator both inside and out. Deducted when necessary when not within specs. At times the job was challenging which made the day go by fast and enjoyed meeting a lot of good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A unique environment and a learning experience
Buyer - (Contract) (Former Employee), Whitby, ONSeptember 1, 2014
This was a contract position for the implementation of SAP. The position was to assist with the heavy work load during transitioning to SAP application
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and some days fun
Mobile Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Guelph, ONApril 5, 2014
Pros: year round work, straight days
Cons: no overtime
A typical day would be doing inspections on equipment, loading trucks, receiving material,some warehouse work.
I have learned work in a safe and efficient manner.
The management is good.
My co-workers are good to work with.
The hardest part of the job is keeping all customers safe while on the property.
The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Technical Analyst (Current Employee), Whitby, ONApril 2, 2014
I can not recommend this company. Especially the IT department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
General Labourer (Current Employee), Cornwall, ONAugust 19, 2013
A great job to learn about the scrap metal and steel industry. Get to enjoy working with people and a great team of employees. Management always took great care and looked out for co-workers. Amazing benefits and overall a great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good CO-OP placment
Co-op Student (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONJuly 31, 2013
Pros: amazing people
Cons: co-op and wasnt payed
Amazing place to get to learn about industrial plants.
Also really cool to get to see an arc furnace at work. and getting to see all the computers that go into making it all run.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for younger man
Shearman (Former Employee), Whitby, ONOctober 18, 2012
Pros: it was challenging and well paying
Cons: it was long hours of repetitive labour .
It was a great place to work when I was younger , But after 35 years the 12 hour shifts were getting to be too long . Also it was time for a change . I am recieving a pension from Gerdau Ameristeel but am looking to suppliment this with either full or part time work .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gerdau-Cambridge Mill upper mngt need better engagement to ordinary employees.
Maintenance Planner (Former Employee), Gerdau - Cambridge MillOctober 9, 2012
They have a very good culture and training for new employees. Only noticed that there was a time when management fail to conduct appropriate investigations nor communicate to concerned persons when situations arose to the detriment of the poor guy who was new and didn't have influence to upper mngt. Seeing the good rather than being always critical on a person actions would have been better. Unbalanced info was given to upper mgnt behind the back of the poor guy. Hope they get better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Management Facilitator (Former Employee), Whitby, ONJuly 24, 2012
I enjoyed my employment and short career with Gerdau, but family health issues became more important, I would recommend this company to anyone seeking employment in this field
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was appart of my Field placement Class.
Student Credit Assisstant (Former Employee), Whitby, ONMay 21, 2012
I volunteered 225 hours of my time to Gerdau to assist them with Annual Account Reviews.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a steel mill.
millwright (Former Employee), Whitby, ONApril 4, 2012
Pros: good times there
Cons: baghouse, worst place ever
Working there the longest and went thru the good and bad times there. Did my trade there and worked on almost every piece of equipment in there over the years.
Was from one end to the other over the years and up above and down underneath.

About Gerdau Ameristeel

Gerdau Ameristeel puts its stamp on the steel business in the US. The company is one of the largest minimill steelmakers in North – Read more