Find companies:
Gerdau Ameristeel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
275 reviews

Gerdau Ameristeel Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met a lot of good people and made good money
Scrap Inspector (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONOctober 27, 2014
Pros: good benefits, steady days
Cons: n/a
Weighed in and out of scrap trucks and safely spotting the dump trailers in the scrap bay and outside. Communicated with scrap crane operator both inside and out. Deducted when necessary when not within specs. At times the job was challenging which made the day go by fast and enjoyed meeting a lot of good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A unique environment and a learning experience
Buyer - (Contract) (Former Employee), Whitby, ONSeptember 1, 2014
This was a contract position for the implementation of SAP. The position was to assist with the heavy work load during transitioning to SAP application
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and some days fun
Mobile Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Guelph, ONApril 5, 2014
Pros: year round work, straight days
Cons: no overtime
A typical day would be doing inspections on equipment, loading trucks, receiving material,some warehouse work.
I have learned work in a safe and efficient manner.
The management is good.
My co-workers are good to work with.
The hardest part of the job is keeping all customers safe while on the property.
The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting – more... new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Technical Analyst (Current Employee), Whitby, ONApril 2, 2014
I can not recommend this company. Especially the IT department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
General Labourer (Current Employee), Cornwall, ONAugust 19, 2013
A great job to learn about the scrap metal and steel industry. Get to enjoy working with people and a great team of employees. Management always took great care and looked out for co-workers. Amazing benefits and overall a great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good CO-OP placment
Co-op Student (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONJuly 31, 2013
Pros: amazing people
Cons: co-op and wasnt payed
Amazing place to get to learn about industrial plants.
Also really cool to get to see an arc furnace at work. and getting to see all the computers that go into making it all run.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for younger man
Shearman (Former Employee), Whitby, ONOctober 18, 2012
Pros: it was challenging and well paying
Cons: it was long hours of repetitive labour .
It was a great place to work when I was younger , But after 35 years the 12 hour shifts were getting to be too long . Also it was time for a change . I am recieving a pension from Gerdau Ameristeel but am looking to suppliment this with either full or part time work .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gerdau-Cambridge Mill upper mngt need better engagement to ordinary employees.
Maintenance Planner (Former Employee), Gerdau - Cambridge MillOctober 9, 2012
They have a very good culture and training for new employees. Only noticed that there was a time when management fail to conduct appropriate investigations nor communicate to concerned persons when situations arose to the detriment of the poor guy who was new and didn't have influence to upper mngt. Seeing the good rather than being always critical – more... on a person actions would have been better. Unbalanced info was given to upper mgnt behind the back of the poor guy. Hope they get better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Management Facilitator (Former Employee), Whitby, ONJuly 24, 2012
I enjoyed my employment and short career with Gerdau, but family health issues became more important, I would recommend this company to anyone seeking employment in this field
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was appart of my Field placement Class.
Student Credit Assisstant (Former Employee), Whitby, ONMay 21, 2012
I volunteered 225 hours of my time to Gerdau to assist them with Annual Account Reviews.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a steel mill.
millwright (Former Employee), Whitby, ONApril 4, 2012
Pros: good times there
Cons: baghouse, worst place ever
Working there the longest and went thru the good and bad times there. Did my trade there and worked on almost every piece of equipment in there over the years.
Was from one end to the other over the years and up above and down underneath.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good compensation, great people
Manager (Former Employee), Petersburg, VADecember 16, 2014
Pros: great profit sharing
Cons: too many corporate initiatives that detract from work
Too and way too much time in meetings and doing things not directly related to your job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gerdau is a good company to work for
Senior Operator, Offline (Former Employee), Petersburg, VADecember 10, 2014
Pros: plenty of time off good benifits good employees
Cons: working out side. cold, hot .dusty.
Work 12hr rotating shifts. I learned quite a few skills crane saw mill operations load railcars load over the road trucks to many to list Gerdau is very safety oriented. employees are work well together throwing 70lb dunnage most of the shift was the hardest part of the job working with a team oriented employees was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
SAP IDM and Security Administrator (Current Employee), Tampa, FLDecember 9, 2014
Good experience to work in health care.. old application.. legacy systems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my daily job at work
Laborer/Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Roanoke, VADecember 8, 2014
typical day go work talk to co workers see what jobs need to be done for day then would have strech time, everyday learned something new from saftey to metals to a new way load truck, management was good at first but then seem like they pick the people they like the most then ride others hard, was sad thet where like that but that how the yard manger – more... was faras coworkers got along fine with them enjoyed working with them,hardest part about job when you would work the best you could and they always want more from you the most i enjoyed the most was working with most coworkers the benefits they offer and the job i do knowing i did best i new how – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team environment
Utility Operator (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNDecember 1, 2014
Pros: good helpful team members, great friends
Cons: heat & long days
Everybody who is there is helpful for the most part. They'll show you how do anything or help you. From the newest member to the most experienced they'll jump right in when help is needed. If you don't like heat tho I suggest you stay in the warehouse cause it stays well above 100 in the summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique place to work
Strand Operator (Former Employee), Sand Springs, OKNovember 30, 2014
Pros: working on airplanes.
Cons: unpredictable future.
Odd culture that causes paranoia among different races. Working on planes is the best thing about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my 10-year tenure very much
Buyer/Expeditor (Former Employee), Petersburg, VANovember 19, 2014
Pros: excellent pay and benefits
Cons: none come to mind
Gained a lot of experience, enjoyed my co-workers and was impressed with the amount of community enjoyment that was afforded
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe and unethical business practices
Ironworker (Former Employee), Aberdeen WANovember 13, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: everything about the place. go back to california and stay there.
Worst job I have ever had. Manager never came out of his office. All the foreman where a bunch of young kids that where smart mouthed and never really told you what they expected of you. VERY unprofessional work environment. They also took advantage of break times and didn't give you state mandated breaks. One ten minute break in the morning and a lunch – more... in a 8 hour day? I don't think so. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Shear Operator (Former Employee), Joliet, ILNovember 3, 2014
Gerdau was a great company to be a part of and was very happy during my time there. I was given the opportunity to cross-train and learn every aspect of my job.

1 2 3 4 5

About Gerdau Ameristeel

Gerdau Ameristeel puts its stamp on the steel business in the US. The company is one of the largest minimill steelmakers in North – Read more