Find companies:
Georgia-Pacific
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
522 reviews

Georgia-Pacific Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
mixer man (Former Employee), Caledonia, ONJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: easy going
Cons: job security
productive workplace and hard working that shows results. Every day is challenging with mostly positive results. Management tries to stay positive through these tough times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive team player
Labourer (Former Employee), Englehart, ONMay 1, 2013
- General mill cleanup
- Mill Blowdown
- Cleaning of mill blenders
- Millwright helper
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good ideals, poor execution
Sourcing Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 15, 2014
Within 6 months of starting, the job description I was hired for was thrown out and my hiring manager transferred. I was faced with new management that at first seemed sympathetic to my situation, but then for reasons that still aren't clear to me, I was moved out unceremoniously from my position.

GP is a Koch company and is supposed to operate by – more... the standards of Koch's management philosophy, Market Based Management. The philosophy itself is good, but I saw how it's ideals are often ignored or even abused to justify poor behavior and decisions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked there for 32 years before moveing on spend time with family
Flexo Operator/ Safety and health coornidator (Current Employee), Spartanburg, SCSeptember 14, 2014
Cons: short breaks long hours
My typical work started at 3 :00 in the morning ending at 3:00 in the afternoon for 6days week sometimes 7 working in maint.I learned how to be a team player my co workers are still a big part of my family the hardest part of my day was not being able to help when and if someone was hurt
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Security Guard (Former Employee), Green Bay, WISeptember 13, 2014
Walked and patrolled Georgia Pacific for maritime operations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive job.
Varner Puller (Former Employee), Madison, GASeptember 11, 2014
This job is where i first learned how to work/drive a fork-lift. The employers was very helpful to make sure that I learned everything I needed to know to get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Culture is not for everyone
Enterprise Applications Administrator (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 11, 2014
The Market Based Management style of business is not for everyone. But, if it for you, you can do really well at this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for.
Forklift Operator/ Utility (Former Employee), Peterman, ALSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: the pay was great.
Cons: they closed down due to the economy.
At the start of my shift it was important to make sure our work area was clean from previous shift. I learned about the making of plywood. The hardest part was trying to keep cool in the of. Al my co-workers were nice. Management was great.l
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Workplace
DIECUT OPERATOR (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHSeptember 9, 2014
Enjoyed working for Georgia Pacific. I learned a lot about the corrugated paper industry and enjoyed working with my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salary is good
Machine Operator (Former Employee), MuskogeeSeptember 9, 2014
Dog eat dog world. No advancement opportunities, good ole boy leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun company
employee recognition, The Quality Leadership (Former Employee), green bay wisconsinSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: leaving in 2005
print production

a lot about printing

management was fair

great co-workers

leaving in 2005

outstanding co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn
Buyer (Former Employee), Cedar Springs, GASeptember 7, 2014
Gp provides ample opportunities to learn skills quickly. You will be pushed to achieve results and held accountable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a job to do and I did it !
Supervisor-Mike (Former Employee), akron, ohoSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: teamwork
Cons: non
We worked hard together and the jobs where complted on time . There where very few customer complaints . The accidents where zero. It was a rare place to work , there was no one person there was not cocerned about the job performance and quality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that takes care of employees.
Wetend Technician (Former Employee), Wheatfield, INSeptember 4, 2014
Volunteer overtime most weeks. Benefits are great. Very up to date facility. Everything is plc controlled. Safety oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment and company culture. Great opportunities for advancement.
Procurement Intern (Former Employee), Green Bay, WISeptember 3, 2014
Pros: benefits, culture, management
Cons: frequent relocation in some roles
I was a procurement intern with Georgia-Pacific, and it was a very positive experience. The company has a great culture which is in line with the MBM principles that it employs. While there, I worked on several projects that were meant to add value to the company. The work was very fulfilling, and the work environment made it enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gp
Assistant Operator (Former Employee), Zachary, LASeptember 2, 2014
Learned a lot about the operation of sheeters, case packers, wrappers, and other pieces of equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Corrugator Operator (Current Employee), Denton,TXSeptember 1, 2014
It is shift work. Overtime is required when other shifts are on vacation or sick leave. It is safety oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting work environment
Paralegal Assistant - Defense (Current Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 1, 2014
Pros: knowledge sharing
Cons: healthcare and compensaton
My work day normally starts with reviewing incoming emails concerning document production(s) request. After reviewing the request, I begin the process of reviewing documents.Upon completing the document production(s), I work on other job duties assigned to me. I learn the different aspects of how my team provides defense for Georgia Pacific's asbestos – more... litigation. My manager and supervisor are very approachable. They make it a priority to answer my questions or get answers to my questions that they may not know the answers too. My coworkers are very enjoyable to work with. Some of them help me with time sensitive document productions. I do not find anything hard about my job because I ask questions. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I am giving a chance to learn something new, and work with other teams in the law department. I also enjoy the knowledge shares we have within the department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GP has excellent perks. Yearly shoe vultures, free fruit and bottle water for breaks.
Process Technician (Current Employee), Spartanburg, SCAugust 31, 2014
Pros: excelent benefits and salary
Cons: technicians are required to work twelve hour shifts mon-fri for several months at a time..
A typical day at work consist of working in extreme hot temperatures all year round. Working for GP has strengthen my time management and troubleshooting skills due to being responsible for maintaining my own machine. Management is going through a transitional stage due to splitting time between our Spartanburg,SC and Augusta,GA facilities. As a result, – more... management struggles with providing technicians a hundred percent support because they are available only two or three days a week. My co-workers provide a fun and exciting work environment. The hardest part of my job is creating and maintaining a daily production schedule due to the many responsibilities I obtain. The most enjoyable part of my job is understanding that all production begin and end with my responsibilities. At the end of each shift I feel good about accomplishing the many responsibilities my position poses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No such thing as a boring day.
Mixer Tech (Current Employee), North Las Vegas, NVAugust 26, 2014
Pros: as much overtime as you want and are able to learn any job in department.
Cons: fiberglass
A typical day you are on the go from start to finish with there always being something that needs to be done or helping others to get ahead or caught up. The hardest part of the job is the drive to the job and having to deal with fiber glass. Knowing that my numbers are good with little to no rejects.

1 2 3 4 5

About Georgia-Pacific

What's on Georgia-Pacific's mind? A whole lotta different products, that's what. Georgia-Pacific (GP) is one of the leading tissue – Read more

Georgia-Pacific Photos