Find companies:
Georgia-Pacific
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
501 reviews

Georgia-Pacific Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
mixer man (Former Employee), Caledonia, ONJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: easy going
Cons: job security
productive workplace and hard working that shows results. Every day is challenging with mostly positive results. Management tries to stay positive through these tough times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive team player
Labourer (Former Employee), Englehart, ONMay 1, 2013
- General mill cleanup
- Mill Blowdown
- Cleaning of mill blenders
- Millwright helper
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe work environement and friendly people
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Port Hudson, LAAugust 18, 2014
Pros: shitft work 12 hours
Cons: management
overall great job i loved it but the management and advancing in job placements could have been alot better
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging workplace with highly developed systems
Pulping, Power, and Recovery Maintenance Leader (Current Employee), Palatka, FLAugust 18, 2014
Pros: highly developed systems, secure company with opportunity for growth
Cons: poor personal life balance, 10+ years behind on training programs, low interest in any lms structure
good place to work with very deeply developed systems in all aspects of manufacturing processes. The systems address all aspects of reliability, maintenance, operations, etc. However, lacks one of the most important aspects of tying them all together....training. You absolutely must be self directed and consistently be trying to locate all the available – more... tools. Also, overall GP is not yet dedicated to any lean manufacturing principles. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity for Advancement
Specialist (Current Employee), Green Bay, WIAugust 15, 2014
This company is so big you have plenty of room to grow if you are willing to relocate. Very supportive of higher education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
Temp (Former Employee), Meridian, MSAugust 14, 2014
Pros: long lunch period
Cons: no cons
a typical day at work would be working the assembly line and taking a 3 breaks a day...I learned how to work with people and manage my time.. my coworkers were fun and showed me around and how to work the job.the hardest part about the job was I had to learn on my own...the most enjoyable part of the job was getting payed every week...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in the word of IT!
Exec Asst II - Information Technology (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: growth, challenge, travel, a great company
I came to the IT division of Bldg Products after 9 years in a corporate department. IT was new and different. This position filled all of my preferences in a position - a full schedule, multi tasking, working with numerous people - the opportunity for challenge and growth. The VP I supported had approximately 200 that reported up to him (at the headquarters – more... as well as out in the mills). I traveled with my executive and directors from time to time. A typical day would require me to meet deadlines, handle issues on behalf of my VP, and assist with any department issues that may come up. I had two challenging moments during my time with the position 1) working with the management team to review the department and evaluate during a restructure, prepare for the "layoff" meetings - a total of 80 individuals were laid off. 2) When returning from the Memorial Day holiday weekend we found out that a highly valued co-worker committed suicide over the weekend. I worked at getting a grief counselor for everyone and worked to get details on services, etc., to the department so everyone could attend the services. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall the company was ok because of the benefits they offered immediately upon being hired.
Warehouse II Supervisor (Former Employee), Portland, ORAugust 13, 2014
Pros: recognition of employees anniversaries with the company and birthdays.
Cons: forcing overtime at the end of the shift, micro-management
This job most of the time was enjoyable because of the love of the job and the employees that I supervised. It probably could have been a better work place if upper management treated all supervisors equally, and not base consideration on past relationships within the company. A typical day at work started with opening the warehouse and crew up of job – more... assignments, once the day started flowing it was always a challenge to answer the multitude of questions we might receive throughout the day from the forklift drivers, clerks and outside customers, knowing the answers or working with other co-workers to resolve the problems or question made the day worthwhile. I learned a lot from hands on and on the spot decision making. The hardest part of the job was laying people off for the day or days when the work was slow, because they where hourly and depended on their hours to support their families. The most enjoyable part of the job was the friendships built from working as a team and making things happen to get the work out in a timely manner, everyone stepping up to get it done showed respect for each other and the supervisors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Money but.......
Utility Worker (Former Employee), DeQuincy, LAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: money was great, and the people i worked with were great.
Cons: benefits are costly.
They show no concern for their employees health or safety.The work there is pretty easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Work Work
Utility (Former Employee), Corrigan TexasAugust 8, 2014
Pros: insurance / paper products on holidays
Cons: manditory overtime / working days off
I discovered this is not a job for anyone with a family or an outside
life having poor life balance and also departmental management has issues with favoritism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slave drivers not a good place to work
manager (Current Employee), Albion miAugust 7, 2014
Cons: everything this place is
I currently work here going on 10yrs if I knew what I know now about this place I would have never applied for a job. they work you like a slave. you do not get raises. you can not count on cost of living raise because they don't give you that. they don't care about you or your family. if you have any family issues and you do not ever call in but need – more... to they will not work with you no matter how much you ask them too. they always take but never give. this is the very worse company I have ever worked for. I recommend that if you have a choice do not come to work for Georgia pacific. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work had a lot of ways the empolyee could advance
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GaAugust 6, 2014
Pros: they provided us lunch on fridays
Cons: short breaks
My day consist of bringing materials to work stations. and I also was able to learn how fix machine when broken. My manager was very nice guy that allowed us to learn new thing and to able to advance at them. There was not anything hard about this job at all if it had not closed I will still be working there ,I loved that job hated for it to have ended.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Functions
EHS Manager (Current Employee), Spartanburg, SCAugust 5, 2014
•Maintained & audited OSHA health and safety compliance.
•Coordinated and maintained site-security via software, hardware, security badges, and training.
•Coordinator Contractor management, maintained and lead community awareness and local awareness and local emergency planning.
•Served as Industrial Hygienist
•Project Manager for life, fire, and safety – more... protection equipment.
•Perform investigations, root cause analyses, and provide guidance on corrective actions.
•Ordered and maintained personal protective equipment.
•Oversee leading and lagging indicator reporting system and ensure it is utilized effectively to ensure proper tracking of metrics.
•Ensure root cause and corrective actions are identified and implemented
•Develop and present monthly safety training and new hire orientation training.
•Ensure there is a system in place for the facility to sustain and improve performance.
•Perform ergonomic and Job Safety Analysis – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellant company
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Crossett, ARAugust 3, 2014
Pros: great benfits
Cons: closed down
loved this job great money and benfits great pay the people were very family oriented
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun & safe place to work
Sheeter/Waxer Operator (Former Employee), Parchment, MIAugust 3, 2014
Pros: clean enviroment, friendly workers
Cons: not so busy. lay off's at times.
Prep rolls for waxing & cutting

communicating with others with the machine work

multitasking and a lot of troubleshooting

work well with your co-workers. Makes the job easy,fast and efficent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of equipment to work on
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee), Pennington, ALAugust 1, 2014
good place to make a living. lots of opportunity to work. Production people are good to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Line-Person (Former Employee), Monroeville, ALAugust 1, 2014
Pros: no free lunch. we brought our own lunch to work.
Cons: breaks and lunch hour were fine. ins. ok
Enjoy working at GP. Work there nearly 30 years. Never laid of work. I went to work every day. If I had to be off it was only for sickness, death and if the company let me off due to something going on with the plant on there part. Didn't like missing days off work for foolishness. Would still be if it hadn't been a shut down. no problem with co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productve environment
sheet rock (Former Employee), Sweet water txJuly 30, 2014
The pay was not that great I decided to move into the oilfield
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 28, 2014
Very nice place to work. Staff and customers were always a pleasure to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits
MACHINE OPERATOR & QUALITY CONTROL SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 25, 2014
I have been here for a a few years and enjoy the workplace. The benefits are outstanding and safety is a priority here.

1 2 3 4 5

About Georgia-Pacific

What's on Georgia-Pacific's mind? A whole lotta different products, that's what. Georgia-Pacific (GP) is one of the leading tissue – Read more

Georgia-Pacific Photos