Find companies:
George Brown College
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
56 reviews

George Brown College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced personell
Peer Tutor (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 13, 2013
nice place to work with lots of fun staff
easy to get into your job
nice peers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome teaching experience
Professor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: ability to teach
I have always loved teaching because of the ability to exchange ideas and educate the younger generation who are the leaders of tomorrow.

In George Brown, in addition to teaching, I was also opportune to assist with updating the Mathematics text book for Basic Maths program in the Hospitality department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat, fast paced work environment.
Restorative Dental Assistant Instructor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: fun to share knowledge with others. conversing with students and fellow team members.
Cons: hectic at times.
Sharing knowledge and teaching students new clinical skills. Learned to speak in front of a lot of students. Enjoyed working with team members. Well managed. Hardest part was trying to get to each individual student in a timely fashion in order for them to carry on with procedures. Enjoyable part was working in an educational setting...teaching, demonstrating – more... and testing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace and suitable for my schedule
Peer Notetaker (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 14, 2012
- Attend and take notes in lectures as allocated by the Disability Advice Assistant
- Learned to work in a fast paced environment, listen and pay attention to detail
- Management works to provide a safe and well balanced work environment
- most enjoyable part of the job is that I get to sit in other classes and there is always something new to learn
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to make mistakes
Web designer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 3, 2012
This job required an outcome and it gave me freedom to make mistakes. I worked in a team of three. We communicated with each other but otherwise had no fixed schedule. The project was done on time and I had a great experience using the full suite of Microsoft Internet Development platforms. It was the most up to date software at that time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dysfunctional organization
former employee (Former Employee), TorontoNovember 25, 2012
Pros: salary
Cons: rigid managers, petty politics and ego games
Stay away from this place. This job is not what it is appears to be. They are just on a fishing expedition now and aren't really hiring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Administrative Duties (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 7, 2012
I have thoroughly enjoyed every position ever obtained at George Brown College. Great staff makes for a friendly and productive environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I use to cell TTC subay tickets to the college students
TTC sales Representative (Current Employee), Toronto,onOctober 12, 2012
Pros: free passes
Cons: we work on weekends too
Presently doing Part time job in Gerogr brown college as a TTC sales Representative .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
every six month
Cleaner(striping,waxing,carpet cleaning) (Former Employee), 300 addleait,tor,ontSeptember 29, 2012
weekend working, learning about my coworkers,and good friendship work, good attitude management,i take all the work like easy mind,i finish my all job that my enjoy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-worker and manager communication
Lab monitor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 3, 2012
Great working clean environment, with great co-worker communication. The responsibilities of each co-worker was clearly with a great teamwork ethic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place with a supporting staff and creating learning opportunities at each stage
Instructor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 23, 2012
Pros: good salary, supporting staff, well reputed
Cons: mostly the jobs are part time
My typical day the work was when I started teaching in George Brown. It was a completely new environment for me to handle such a big diverse group in the classroom. There were different kinds of students, the students from different places, culture and with different backgrounds. They were not even interested in talking to one another. So It was hard – more... for me to involve them in group activities. So What I did, I palnned an icebreaker, during which each student was supposed to go and meet atleast 5 people in the class and collect the information about their place, interests, and something interesting in their culture.
I was so happy after this because it gave a lot of loving atmosphere in the class and durung the end of teh semester, my students came to my office and thank me for creating such a friendly and loving atmosphere in the class. They all passed my course with good grades. From this I learned, a classroom could be great and teaching would be enjoyable if your students are intersted in listening to you. My management and coworkers also appreciated me on handling such a diverse group

The most enjoybale part for me would be the day when we were performing group discussions and open discussions of specific topic. It gives a lot of lot of reasons to a professor to solve the doubts that the new generation wants to solve about current issues or topics. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Experience
Ryerson Campus Director (Former Employee), Student AssociationJuly 20, 2012
Pros: free dinners, trips to ottawa, flexible schedule.
Cons: on the clock all day, everyday.
Working for George Brown College provided me with the opportunity to meet new people everyday from our school and different schools across Canada. Working for them I was also given the opportunity to go to Leadership Academy and successfully receive my certificate. Very friendly and helpful environment. The most enjoyable part of the job was going to – more... National meetings in Ottawa, and being able to make new friends across Canada. The hardest part about the job was maintaining contact with other employees who were not serious about their jobs, and made it difficult to stay in contact. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free school for staff
Staff and Faculty Payroll Coordinator (Former Employee), Casa RomaJuly 11, 2012
Pros: free lunch in college or at cooking school
Cons: christmas will work long hours, we do 2 payrolls run.
I have been working in George College for three years as Staff and

Faculty Payroll Coordinator. And I have achieved customer Service

Award and Awards of Excellence. We have five co - worker work

together 500 personal of 2500 employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my typical day at work
Library's Student Advisor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 23, 2012
on daily basis i had to help students with computer related issues as well as helping them in printing, setting the passwords for college accounts.the one thing i enjoyed about this job is to helping the students with assignments because when i was not working their i always want to do a job in which i can helping other students who have any issues – more... in submitting their assignments on time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning new knowledge from students and teachers
Computerized Notetaker (Current Employee), TorontoOctober 31, 2012
Pros: knowledge
The most valuable part of the work is learning new knowledge while helping someone in need. My co-workers are generally quite social able and friendly. I love this job.