George Brown College Employee Reviews

Found 161 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very Productive, respectful and positive environment to work in.
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 January 2017
Working at George Brown College Finance department was the best working experience I have gotten so far in my new accounting career it would be an honor if I could secure future employment at this organization because it is a great place to work at. I was treated with the utmost respect and professionalism.
Pros
Friendly staff and very good training program.
Cons
My employment was on a contractual basis
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i already reviewed GBC
King's Lounge Hospitality bar team Leader (Current Employee) –  Leader, SK16 January 2017
read my other review i just want a job i went to school here of 2 years went to some partys but got all my homework and assignments finished and ended up just missing honours by 2%
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thanks
SECURITY GUARD (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 January 2017
Nice work experience, I met lots of good people and both teachers and students were very nice to deal with. The location was also perfect for me getting to and from work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching
Welding Instructor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 January 2017
Teaching students the aspects of welding.
Teaching the modules and metals.
Showing the students the proper way how to weld and grind.
Helping students with there resumes when applying jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massive learning of new technology
Technical Support (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 December 2016
Due to working in IT labs always ahead of market, as soon as new course launched the relevant lab also prepared and which provides enormous learning of cutting edge technology.
Coworkers are cooperative and supervisors are supportive. A heaven for knowledge seekers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience.
Poll Clerk (Student Association By-Elections) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 December 2016
Had a good time with them as an employee. Learned new things and enjoyed a lot. Basically, I was enrolled in the election process and managed everything deeply. We all tried our best to engage more and more students to vote.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In this environment it is easy to find like minded people
Human Rights Advisor (Current Employee) –  Greater Toronto Area, ON5 December 2016
A typical work day at George Brown College depends on the Campus. Each location has its own unique culture and that is what makes GBC a good place to work
Pros
a variety of job possibilities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Clinical Instructor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 December 2016
Excellent working environment and culture
Learned how to effectively engage students in their learning
Worked collaboratively with teaching team to develop/revise curriculum
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization
PROFESSOR (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 November 2016
Energetic, competent staff and supportive culture.

Strong culture of collaboration.

Opportunities for advancement.

Great resources for new employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hands on experience
Team Lead Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 November 2016
Great company and placement to get a lot of situational hands on experience from medicals, dealing with small children (day care center), disputes/assault, harassment etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convinient workplace
Student Monitor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 October 2016
Convinient with school schedule
Replenish papers for printers
Learned how to use scanner machine and other software in computer
Fun workplace
Fun co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
George Brown
Customer Service Rep/Membership Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 October 2016
Its a great environment especially when you play sports.
Working on campus between classes also kills time.
Benefits are also good too, you get lots of clothing
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high energetic environment to work in
Winners manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 October 2016
working for george brown is interesting, the fact that i got to work in a multiculture environment. the work space always had a positive vibe.
therefore, i learn how to interact with people, and how to work under pressure without stressing. on the other hand, working with people that you get along with the job is always fun, and interesting. so you get things done on time and you complete the job 100% without mistakes.
Pros
free
Cons
reasonable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start for students
STUDENT AMBASSADOR (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 October 2016
Fun environment to start as an administrative assistant job, specially being an immigrant student. It was a great way to start my office experience in Canada.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-op work experience at GBC's College Cafe
Line Cook - Pastry Chef (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 September 2016
My co-op at my school's Cafe on the Run promoted live lab learning environment where us students developed lots of knowledge and skills that needed to be learned to be prepared for the industry. We were working under chef technologists who always encouraged us to be creative and that made my experience there even more fun and enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Building Renovator Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 September 2016
it was a great place. i found it to be good for coop. a fun environment. location is close to transportation. opportunities for growth. great management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Event Coordinator (Former Employee) –  casa loma7 September 2016
awesome experience
I met many nice people
I was able to coordinate the tournaments in the shortest time period using the least technological equipment
such a great experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Note Taker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 August 2016
George Brown College is a great workplace where you can build a great network. It offers great benefits as well as a fun work environment with many events going on all the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking, trustworthy and committed
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto ON23 August 2016
Typical day include assisting the director and manager with student, faculty, staff, agent and partner enquires. I have learnt to effectively communicate with students and superiors. I manage the day-to-day operations of the office and work well with my co-workers. The hardest part of the job, none to really mention but I do my utmost best to stay on top of my work schedule. I enjoy working with my team everyone is supportive and share the same values.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
West 49
Senior Contact Agent (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON17 August 2016
West 49 had a very comfortable and inventive office environment. Every day brought a new challenge that made the position very exciting. The management gave you structure, but also gave you the space to be creative.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 165 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.1
Culture
4.3