George Brown College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
GAS TECHNICIAN II INSTRUCTOR (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 January 2018
I love it.i love it so much.cool people.helpful. understand you. very welcoming welcoming. cool place to work for and nenefits are amazing unheard of recommended
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rotation
Assisting Restorative Dental Hygiene Student (Former Employee) –  student3 January 2018
I love GBC. It made me feel confident in doing my job. It gives you a lot of time to practice and gives me practice to gain relationships with patients and how to handle stress.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
George Brown College
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 December 2017
I worked for George Brown College for 18 years in their Continuing Education Division....

In the very beginning it was great in every way...however, over the years the management changed..so, after many years I decided not to continue with George Brown and I found fulfillment in the private education sector.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun environment with really hard work
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 December 2017
Waking up early, and commuting to go this campus was one of the most fulfilling moments in my life. I enjoyed the staff and teachers. They were very knowledgeable and kind. You must be quick and clean in these kitchens. They taught us a great work ethic. I finished working the non paid internship and now i'm ready to work hard for some compensation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace
Math Instructor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 December 2017
Very good work culture
Management is very mature and organized.
There is no hardest part of the job.
The most enjoyable is helping the students.
great location
Relaxed atmosphere, educational, fun, balanced work life with plenty of options to develop and travel.
great colleagues, compensation reflects education and experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace
Computer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 November 2017
Usually turn on the printers and computers.
Help the students with any programs on their computers.
I learned about 3D printing and many autoCAD, photoshop etc. experiences.
Management is very mature and organized.
There is no hardest part of the job.
The most enjoyable is helping the students.
Pros
Enjoyable shifts
Cons
Sitting most of the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
as a student
Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 November 2017
great work with great chefs
great location
great opportunities with other students from all over the world
too painful with tuition fee as an international
Pros
working environment with great chefs
Cons
too high tuition fee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Chef, Professor, Coordinator, culinary (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 November 2017
Relaxed atmosphere, educational, fun, balanced work life with plenty of options to develop and travel. With 16 years of teaching experience if one is looking to share your cooking teaching passion this is the place to work.
Pros
Flexible hours, geat work life balance
Cons
lack of advancement oppourtunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great colleagues
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 October 2017
great colleagues, compensation reflects education and experience, ability to work independently is necessary, as well as excellent written and oral communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for professional advancement
Computerized Notetaker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 October 2017
Working at George Brown is great if you want access to some discounted college courses to advance yourself professionally. However there isn't much culture to speak of unless you're full-time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Fundraiser Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 October 2017
It was Fun to raise money for a good cause. Our Coordinator gave us proper training and Material that helped us raise funds for our association and I improved my communication skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 September 2017
Good networking skills required but overall fun place to work. the students are kind and respectful. Being on time is a must and for students, its a bonus if you go to school there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Experience
IN-CLASS ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 September 2017
Contract in-class assistant with an adult with special needs. Working at George Brown College was a great experience and would recommend applying there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
George Brown college summary
GBC INSTRUCTOR (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 September 2017
This was a great job, flexible hours and amazing benefits. The focus was staying positive in an academic environment which kept employees like myself educated and willing to work hard.
Pros
training, opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place as it was on the casa loma campus of george brown college
Customer Service Skill and Knowledge (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 August 2017
A typical day at work would be dealing with the paper work and meeting new clients everyday and getting them register or booking legal aid appointments for them. I learnt about the communication skills and complexity of the working environment. There wasn't really any hard part about it because the most enjoyable part was more important as any part will be had only until you don't have the knowledge about it and my supervisors were really nice as i was given the right training and knowledge to complete tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunties
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 August 2017
Wonderful place to work for. The management is excellent and provides constant feedback and support. If one work's well, there is no issue working with the bosses!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for students
Pre-Health Science Tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 August 2017
This was a part time job that helped me as a student to make money while still balancing my student life. Was able to still keep up with my own work/studies while helping fellow friends and students.
Pros
working while studying, making money while doing my own work
Cons
not really any cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Student Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 July 2017
George Brown International Centre is a great place to work. All my colleagues and managers are very supportive especially to student workers. They are very generous enough to allow student workers to pick their work schedules any time you need it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 July 2017
enjoyed working there, flexible hours, nice work environment, great culture. Customer service focused.Management is cooperative. Learned internal software.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic!
student mentor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 July 2017
I interned at the dental school and it was an amazing place to work. Great staff, lovely atmosphere. It was a very nice place and I was sad to leave after my time was up as an intern.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at George Brown College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 207 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.2
Culture
4.3