Find companies:
Genzyme
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
101 reviews

Genzyme Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its the people that make the place
Safety Associate (Current Employee), MAMarch 22, 2014
Pros: fellow employees
Cons: work hours
Lots of change since 2011. Priorities have changed from patients to meeting production demands.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work balance but no advancement opportunities
Validation Lead SME (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAMarch 21, 2014
Genzyme was an awesome company to work for, but it all shattered when we started integrating with Sanofi. There was no advancement opportunities. There was no Job security as Sanofi was always looking to cut down jobs lay off departments to cut costs. For Sanofi every employee was just a number and it did not matter how much importance they would bring – more... to the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Folks with a great work ethic
Senior Functional Support Administrator (Current Employee), Allston, MAMarch 18, 2014
Genzyme tries to balance work and life and it gets tricky. There's room for improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Great, Department not so much
Quality Control Analyst I (Current Employee), Framingham MAMarch 4, 2014
The company is great and the benefits are great. The department i work in is stuck in the 90's and run by a narsicistic manager. So don't apply for any positions with in QC Biopolymers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Change Control Project Coordinator / EA (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAMarch 3, 2014
Pros: great team work
Working at Genzyme was a great experience. The one thing I will take away is I was exposed to different technologies, working on multiple projects and project teams and being able to utilize my skill sets to contribute to the projects success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and great improvement
QUALITY CONTROL ANALYST (Former Employee), Allston, MAFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: great pay/salary
Cons: can be crazy at times in terms of workload
Overall, This place has done a great job in improving itself and pay/benefits are extraordinary. Much of all information there is logged in one way or the other where certain information always needs to be recorded. At times, the amount of documentation required for certain tasks outweighed the efficiency of the purpose in documentation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Biotech company
Data Analyst (Former Employee), Framingham, MAJanuary 29, 2014
Moves at a slow pace, if one likes that so be it.
Things take time worked for a short duration so cant say much
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer.
Medical Information Associate (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAJanuary 28, 2014
Genzyme is a great employer. My co-workers are all enjoyable to work with and I have learned a lot from them and the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice company
CAD Drafter / Designer II (Former Employee), Framingham, MAJanuary 9, 2014
CAD Drafter / Designer II
• Provided engineering design and CAD drafting functions; including Process and Instrumentation Diagrams, Floor Plans, and Equipment and Piping drawings
• Provided specification and document production & review
• Maintained company’s software and network applications and tools, revisions/documentation, and control practices
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Engineering Documentation Specialist Associate (Current Employee), Allston, MADecember 15, 2013
Everything is great.
Interesting people.
Interesting work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I Learned
QA Sr.Inspector (Former Employee), Northborough, MADecember 12, 2013
Since I was part of Genzyme since 2001 till 2013 has been the best years of my life not just what i learned, but the people that i work with and the time we spend working as a team and family, getting to know one another an accomplish a lot, with up and low with mistakes and human errors but we all understand that we were there for a purpose
to help – more... the patients and their families, we learned that we needed to help out by doing everything, checking to make sure everything was in compliance, and we learned that we work as a team and to help our customers and the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People I work with are very nice
Quality Assurance Specialist (Current Employee), Northborugh, MADecember 9, 2013
People I work with are very nice. Company has very good benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of People Skills by Management
Material Handler II/Inventory Control (Former Employee), Woburn, MANovember 10, 2013
Pros: great coworkers, hard working
Cons: management lack of people skills
US Veteran hired as a contract employee. Worked 8 months, went to work every day. Over 25 years of experience. Excelled in my position, promoted Teamwork with my fellow employess. Daily deliverables were done on time. Inventory accuracy was mainted in the stockroom, worked with site Finance Manager to reconcile invoicing issues, assisted Buyer/Planner – more... on resolving shortage issues Interacted with GNOC on internal material transfers and resolved inventory discrepancies, Worked well with other Department Managers. Site Operations Director consitantly spoke of Teamwork and Communication since he came on board in Julu 2013. No people skills, no communication, some Teamwork and lack of people skills, Coworkers were great...small site in Woburn, MA needs work. Lack of space, safety issues. Contract was not renewed for no reason and never communicated to me as to the reason why. Let go on Veterans Day weekend in Woburn, MA. I have worked for a Giant Company larger than Genzyme/Sanofi and when they fell...they fell hard and are no longer in business. I would rate Genzyme/Sanofi as a transitrioning company with poor people skills in upper management,
They truly do not support Military Veterans. HAPPY VETERANS DAY! Unemployed! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent team player
Material Handler (Current Employee), Northborough, MANovember 8, 2013
Pros: shoes and clothing were free and safety classes were the best
Cons: cons are layoffs and trainning not done professionally
my co workers are the best team players i have worked with...i learned a lot from them and i taught whereever possible...the best part of the job is learning something new everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team of people to work with, healthy atmosphere for growth.
Process Engineer (Former Employee), MANovember 7, 2013
Interactive co-workers, no micromanagement, open to new ideas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent, strong positive value-drive company.
Pharmaceutical Technician (Former Employee), Cambridge, MANovember 1, 2013
Pros: nice environment. stable company with a humanitarian mission statement and great management.
Cons: sometimes stressful. all-nighters required at times, but not very often.
Genzyme develops critical, specific medications for a small segment of the population. They donate a percentage of their efforts to research and funding those who can't help themselves. The environment is clean, orderly, regulated. Management is stable and fair. I would have stayed on, but needed to join my fiancee in her hometown.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is Allston reject click boys club
Manufacturing (Former Employee), FraminghamOctober 26, 2013
Pros: free nude pics
Cons: miserable environment
HR is almost as incompetent as management. HR allows QA women to send nudes though!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Net Programmer (Current Employee), Boston, MAOctober 25, 2013
Great work atmosphere.Nice colleagues. Learn lot of new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Accounting Manager (Former Employee), Framingham, MAOctober 23, 2013
co-workers are fun and professional, work life balance; work is chanllenge but very fullfilled
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers and fast paced environment
Quality Assurance Principal (Current Employee), Boston, MAOctober 8, 2013
Pros: flexible environment
Rewarding fast past paced work. Co workers both with in and outside department work well.