Find companies:
Genworth Financial, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
74 reviews

Genworth Financial, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Process Associate (Former Employee), gurgaonMarch 23, 2014
Good process to start your career, best for learning and grooming
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Benefit Analyst
Senior Benefit Analyst - Life Insurance Division (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: customer contact and issue resolution opportunties
Cons: limited growth
Accountable for obtaining, identifying, investigating, and evaluating critical information required to accurately and objectively adjudicate Long Term Care Insurance claims. Effectively manage and prioritize work with aggressive deadlines; Working within a structured environment with standard operating procedures to ensure consistency of claims practices – more... and resolution. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you have a natural market
Independent Insurance Agent (Current Employee), Durham, NCMarch 3, 2014
Pros: create your own schedule
This is a great position for an individual whom has an already established natural market. Leads are a thing of the past. Strictly commission is also tough on someone with little savings and in this economy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly place to work with a cooperative atmosphere
Servicing Coordinator, Institutional Markets Group (Current Employee), Richmond, VAFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: on-site cafeteria, bank, gym, medical facility
Cons: extremely conservative corporate enviroment
A typical day at work in this position usually consisted of assisting new and existing customers make changes to or understand their accounts. My co-workers were all extremely friendly and professional at all times. The hardest part of the job was the tedious repetition. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that you were helping people receive – more... retirement benefits that they often times didn't even know existed. As a contractor, I didn't receive any of the corporate news or e-mails so I may not have an accurate grasp on the pulse of the company as a whole, but from my time there it has seemed like a friendly and professional place that seems to have many long-term employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Project Management Analyst (Former Employee), Richmond, VAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
• Facilitated several implementations, while developing and organizing projects for a team of directors and supervisors, which includes charts to track directives, policies, plans, and charters.
• Worked with Senior Project Manager in order to set-up System Administration and template customization.
• Managed and maintained $200k project budget for – more... the purchase of hardware, software, systems modules, and ongoing maintenance and upgrades. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3rd best place i ever worked
Forensic Fraud Investigation Specialist (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: working there
Cons: contract work
Love them and recommend highly if you can get on with them. Managers were great whole team was fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, allowed me to grow.
Office Manager (Current Employee), Richmond, VAFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: health insurance, 401k and yearly bonus' provided by employer. flexible work schedules.
Cons: health insurance was not as good as i had previously.
I was allowed to learn all aspects of business that interested me, trusted to work independently, and was assisted with suggestions and mentoring when requested. I was encouraged to aspire to higher goals and given the proper tools and assistance if needed. I was respected by my peers and management. Work schedules were flexible when needed as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Company to Work For
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: benefits, peers, culture, diversity
Cons: micro managed, clicky, disrespectful, underpaid
Worked for this company for 25+ years, was a subject matter expert, admin system specialist and more. Company in last 2 years has gone down hill fast. Very clicky, knowledge means nothing, managers and seniors (Leads, Analysts etc) micro manage to the point they should do the work themselves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and professional workplace
Senior Desk Side Support (Former Employee), Encino, CAFebruary 7, 2014
Fun and professional workplace. Great co-workers, very understanding manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Company with smart and dedicated staff
Director (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: pleasant work environment, free parking, benefits, life/work balance.
Cons: no formal cafeteria onsite.
I started working at Genworth a week ago and my experience so far has been very positive. I worked at 6 financial institutions in the last 25 years and never had such a productive first week. Help desk and staff are very helpful and efficient in the initial set-up process for new employees. Furthermore, all my colleagues are extremely pleasant and resourcefull, – more... helping me adjust to a new city and settle in my new role. I am extremely pleased to work here and would highly recommend Genworth to all my friends! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Genworth Financial
Application Support Analyst II (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAJanuary 30, 2014
Genworth Financial provides a mix of working with onsite IT professionals as well as professionals overseas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAJanuary 26, 2014
A wonderful place to work. Good working environment nice people great benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the investment
Long term care representative (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAJanuary 21, 2014
This company recruits people continuously for a week or two at a time, and then releases them. I was signed for a one year contract, released after three weeks, along with my entire class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management style
Team Leader (Former Employee), SydneyJanuary 6, 2014
I worked for Genworth for just over a year as a Team Leader as did 2 others. In the final 8 months of my time there, all 3 Team Leaders working under our manager left. There is no work life balance regardless of the "policy". I stayed for my staff, who I miss.

The amount of emails received daily was incredible. I was away sick for 2 days and came back – more... to 168 emails. The focus is expected to be on upper management and not on the staff. As a Team Leader, I found that hard. Without the staff, the company would come to a grinding holt. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace.
Premier Services Representative (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJanuary 1, 2014
I learned a great deal about the insurance industry and this was a nice place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship Experience
Community Relations Intern (Former Employee), Richmond, VADecember 29, 2013
Genworth took really good care of their interns. The cohort had a lot of training, and participated in events outside of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great position
Florida Operations Manager (Former Employee), North Port, FLDecember 27, 2013
Pros: stable and friendly environment
Cons: was not able to provide health insurance
I managed and assisted 30 plus agents in which I had the pleasure of talking too. I was working with the General Manager and being his right hand was important to me as well as, learning and being mentored as an Operations Manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not upfront
Transaction Management Rep (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VADecember 10, 2013
Working as a temp you were not provided direct answers. I was lead on to believe I interviewed for a position with Genworth. However they advised it would still be temp. A couple days later our group was let go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temps are treated very differently than permanent staff
Borrower Outreach Specialist - Temp. Contractor (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCDecember 8, 2013
Permanent employees are golden and treated very well. Temps are not permitted to share in any of their many celebrations, parties, catered lunches, etc. Temps are sent home without pay when they have many of these occasions. If you are a permanent employee, it's a good place to work, but they have MANY temp contractors there, many of those have been – more... there for years. They avoid giving them decent pay and benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay and Benefits
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Richmond, VADecember 4, 2013
Pros: benefits, pay, community service
Cons: micro management and favortism amongst management
Genworth was overall a good company to work for. The company cared a lot about the community and encouraged employees to get involved. There was often little incentives like ice cream socials and fall festivals for employees that made you feel valued. The work was challenging yet rewarding. The management team was not the best and the work life balance – more... sucked during year end and quarter close. – less

1 2 3 4

About Genworth Financial, Inc.

Genworth Financial, Inc. is a leading Fortune 500® insurance holding company dedicated to helping people secure their financial – Read more