Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Employee Reviews

Found 48 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced day with many responsibilites that were prioritized
Owner (Former Employee) –  Bolton, Ontario5 June 2013
The day would start off fast as many garages would be calling to place orders for automotive parts. This would require quick part look up in our system of the vehicle, billing of the merchandise, picking the parts and dispatching a driver to deliver. The day would continue with walk in customers as well. As certain times of the day would slow down, I would move on to the accounting side of the business. Managing acoounts receivable and payable, pst and gst remittances, source deductions, payroll, and bank deposits. I used Simply accounting to maintain the accounting records and invoices. I would also make regular sales visits to new and existing customers to form relationships and promote sales incentives. At the end of the day I would run the reports, close cash and debit machines and lock up. My day was always different and always interesting.
Pros
Self owned and and a continuous busy day.
Cons
Too much responsibilty for one person in such a large scale business.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding and good environment
receiving supervisor (Current Employee) –  Moncton NB11 September 2015
I like the social club and interacting with other staff. I have been on safety committee and social club. The company has given me the opportunity to take the first aid training. Also was proud to be a part of Day of Caring, with The United Way.
Pros
social club, safety commitee, Employee involvement commitee
Cons
I work every Saturday
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Counterman (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB23 September 2015
I worked there for 6 years. The man who owned an ran the particular store I worked in was and probably will always be the greatest man I have and will ever work for. Everyone was treated in a way that is definetly more than fair. Greatest job I've ever had
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NAPA was a good summer job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON16 August 2015
While I was at NAPA I learnt how to look up parts. My typical day at work involved delivering and picking up parts, putting parts away as well as finding parts for people. My co-workers were all nice. There really was not a hard part to this job. I enjoyed this job because I got to drive almost all day.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn things
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON14 September 2015
Great people to work with and for. You learn a lot of new things and you have the opportunity to use your existing skills and experience.
Pros
The people
Cons
Weekend work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
showroom consultant
Parts Driver (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB28 September 2015
great company the staff is a very tight nit family.

Training was very in-depth and they really helped you understand the product and companies you are working for.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NAPA review
delivery (Former Employee) –  Steinbach, MB27 November 2012
I get to work at 8:30, and I put away parts. But at any time in the day that there is a delivery I must drop what I am doing and go there. There is a dispature who tells me were to go when there is a delivery. When there is nothing left to put away I make sure that there is parts in the front of the store. There is three delivery drivers including me. I would keep the delivering going till 5:30 which is when I get off work.
Pros
hour lunches, good peaple
Cons
don't usualy know what to do since i finish what i need to do (exept delivering).
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers, and a car nuts dream job.
Front Counter Parts Technician (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB18 October 2012
Shift hours were standard, and the pay, average, but as far as a casual, fun loving work atmosphere goes, this was the place to have it.

Great customers, some pretty intricate problems, but satisfaction from a job well done came not from the pay, or pats on the back from the manager (of which there were few if any) but the looks on the customers faces, and their satisfaction with our work, and fair prices on parts.
Pros
hour lunch, fun atmosphere, good clients
Cons
manager
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace was easygoing and friendly
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Powell River, BC14 October 2012
Each day I checked in freight and entered it in the stores system, and delivered goods to many shops in Powell River. I learned how to find my way around the store, and also how to treat customers. My coworkers were friendly and very much like a family. The hardest part of the job was getting to know how to use the computer programs. I found the most enjoyable part of the job was getting to go out and meet all the owners and employees at shops around Powell River.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty easy going job with friendly people
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 May 2013
Shifts were always 8am to 5pm, Monday to Friday. Team of drivers were friendly and generally laid-back. Certain hours of the day could be stressful when a lot of orders are coming in but most of the time it was fine. Decently fun job, but the delivery car could get extremely hot since it had no AC which was the least enjoyable part of the job. The most enjoyable part was learning the city and driving can be very relaxing at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fasted paced atmosphere
Warehouse Employee (Former Employee) –  Cambridge Ontario3 June 2014
Used scan gun to identify product with loading bin and sent down conveyor belt. Learned to pick orders in every picking zone. Loved the fast paced atmosphere in the warehouse. Hardest part of the job was getting used to the heat in the warehouse in the summer. Most enjoyable part was always being busy, getting the orders done and stocking shelves with new product.
Pros
Overtime easily available
Cons
Summertime warehouse heat
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful job for those content with driving.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  London, ON14 July 2012
Frequent stops, need to be familiar with surrounding businesses. There was 4 different managers hired over the time i was there. your experience really depends on your co workers.
Pros
very cheap auto parts
Cons
lots of drama between workers, and between customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Timed deliveries and busy
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB6 April 2014
My most enjoyable part of this job was communicating with the customers that ordered parts keeping them happy making sure I was on time. I liked being productive with my time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place for giving me the opportunity to gain experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Fairview, AB4 April 2014
Co-workers were great, was able to learn how to use the computer more with the parts program that no other student was able to do while attending the Transitional Vocational Program.
Pros
gaining experience
Cons
not getting paid
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 June 2015
I worked part time so i only worked 4 hours a day from 2-6. Driving around delivering car parts to mechanic shops around the city.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable job
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 October 2014
A great place to learn and grow. Great people to work with. Customers challenge you to do the best job possible in locating and delivering the right part within an acceptable amount of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Shipper Receiver (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON1 October 2014
My job experience ar NAPA was a great one i learned many aspects of the auto industry.I was able to gain much experience in warehouse procedures.
Pros
great teamwork
Cons
not a high paying job
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Work
Senior Counter Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 August 2012
Challenging Work enviroment. Fast paced and enjoyable.
Wanted to have a more challenging and fast paced work place. Love the hours and people I work with
Pros
great hours
Cons
pay could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Work Hors
Auto Part Sales (Former Employee) –  Montreal, Que8 April 2013
Yo Never Sleep With This Position... Always on call. Never paid commission on time...
Pros
discount auot parts
Cons
long hors
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace, poor pay and difficult co-workers
Parts Person (Former Employee) –  Westlock, AB14 May 2014
The owner and manager was great at times, and made working fun. Some of the co-workers were difficult to work with. overall was a decent place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 810 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Reviews by Job Title

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Reviews by Location