Find companies:
Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
437 reviews

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Work
Senior Counter Associate (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 27, 2012
Pros: great hours
Cons: pay could be better
Challenging Work enviroment. Fast paced and enjoyable.
Wanted to have a more challenging and fast paced work place. Love the hours and people I work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needed a Change
Parts Department Associate (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONJuly 14, 2012
>Delivering Parts to Multiple Customers
>I learned how to time manage very well
>The management was very laid back
>Distant but Friendly
>The hardest part of the job was not having enough hours and pay
>The most enjoyable part about the job was that I was always done by 4pm and never had to work a weekend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful job for those content with driving.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), London, ONJuly 14, 2012
Pros: very cheap auto parts
Cons: lots of drama between workers, and between customers
Frequent stops, need to be familiar with surrounding businesses. There was 4 different managers hired over the time i was there. your experience really depends on your co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee), Williamsville, NYAugust 28, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: healthcare
I worked for this company for 12 years and was promoted numerous times in my 12 years with them. I learned a lot about Customer service and enjoyed the relationships that I built and maintained over the years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and well-balanced
Salesman / Delivery driver (Former Employee), Cookeville, TNAugust 27, 2014
Pros: long lunches
Cons: scheduling
A typical day at work is where I deliver auto parts to mechanic shops. I learned a lot about cars, how they worked,and how they were put together. Management was very excellent. I enjoyed my managers, and the way the day flowed together. My co-workers were very respectable and energetic. The hardest part would have been learning about all the different – more... parts on a car. Every car is different, so that was difficult. I enjoyed interacting with my co-workers the best. They were all very friendly and helpful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for straight out of high school
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Pelham, ALAugust 27, 2014
Pros: growth opportunity
Cons: a few bad managers can make the job awful
This was my first real job straight out of high school and I loved it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver
Driver (Former Employee), Ogdensburg, NYAugust 25, 2014
All in All its a ok job. needs better training. i learn time management and warehouse, the hard part is no training, getting outside
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun driving around.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Millsboro, DEAugust 22, 2014
Pros: hour lunch
Cons: low pay
Woke up, brought stock from back of store up to front of store, delivered parts ordered from previous days to their desired destination. Cleaned up shop, Stocked store shelves, and warehouse shelves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and management
OUTSIDE SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Roosevelt, UTAugust 14, 2014
Outside sales rep visiting and selling oilfield and automotive related supplies and equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Store Manager (Former Employee), Woodside, NYAugust 8, 2014
co workers were great , strong team , ran a lot of reports, inventory, receiving , special orders
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small business - No room for growth no matter how qualified
Retail Sales, Occasional Inventory and Driving (Former Employee), Conroe, TXAugust 8, 2014
Pros: excellent starter job, great learning experience
Cons: family owned, no benefits, small business
Management is very knowledgeable, and a wide variety of parts and service at descent pricing. Average entry level retail job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely understaffed, Upper management moves too slow to hire replacements for people who left or got discharged
Assistant Store Manager/ Counter Sales (Former Employee), Tucson, AZAugust 7, 2014
Pros: compensation, company products, safety program
Cons: upper management, working conditions, under staffed
Every other week upon opening on the weekends I was the only one answering calls and helping customers. Only one driver was scheduled at times. We still had left over freight to put away by end of day Sunday and still had to recieve over night freight from Friday. Too much for one guy at times. On the other hand, this company has wonderful programs – more... and incentives for both the customers and the employees. They have a great safety program in which every month a prize was given out to one of the employees at our site. Bonuses were nice and so were the of hours of overtime I was alotted as an assistant manager. I learned alot about managing time to do everything that needs to get done and still help out customers with a smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and fast paced
Auto Parts Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCAugust 5, 2014
I learned a lot about the area of Myrtle beach and north myrtle beach
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a great environment
Counter Sales (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCAugust 4, 2014
Pros: work with school schedules, benefits, consist on breaks
A typical day at work would consist of checking in freight, stocking shelves, answering phones from commercial clients and balancing walk in customers automotive needs. I've been able to learn the ins and outs of management as a whole and how to balance tough situations with difficult clients. Management is always there to promote within given there – more... are opportunities available. Most co-workers I have dealt with always seem to heave a great attitude and enjoy what they do and a day to day basis. The hardest part about the job is not so much balancing your time, but being able to balance your time as well as the clients time so that they can build a relationship with their customers as well. The most enjoyable part about the job as a whole is that you are around automotive parts all day long. To a gear head its always fun to work in a parts house. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good an exciting job
warehouse work (Former Employee), Jackson, MSAugust 2, 2014
they were good to me regardless how i may feel some people run things different maybe its just me but thank them for the opportunity they gave me but now i must move on good company thank u
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management/ Unorganized/No training
Internal Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 29, 2014
Cons: poor management/no training program/unorganized
If you are considering working here you need to have some prior knowledge of distribution and automotive parts and products. Do not anticipate any training or assistance in this position. You will be placed randomly in some sector/department that you wont know about till the day you start. The worst part about this branch is the management. There are – more... extreme expectations and management is never available to help. The management here "plays favorites" giving employees unfair treatment based on their personal preferences. There are a few good employees and friendly people in the office and warehouse but beware the management here is the worst I have ever seen in any call center. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Counter/Driver (Current Employee), Seabrook, NHJuly 29, 2014
Pros: great boss
Cons: no benifits
flexible work hours
learned about car parts
learned new things
met new people
enjoy the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Challenge
Driver (Current Employee), Columbia, SCJuly 27, 2014
Cons: its a job. not a career.
The best part of my job is my relationships with my coworkers as well as my customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Napa is becoming like all the rest
Parts Specialist (Former Employee), Pacific NorthwestJuly 22, 2014
Pros: some good customers that were great people, co workers
Cons: wages, health care, constantly changing schedule, you can be fired at any moment without any warning
To start, I worked for several "privately" owned Napa stores. The GPC stores are NOT what I will be talking about. I have no experience in a GPC (corporate) store.
I was "let go" because of a supposed customer complaint. A complaint that was never substantiated, nor even described. I was one of the higher paid employees for an owner that had 7 stores. – more... In 4 months time, around 10 people were "let go" for the same exact reason, with no explanation given to a single one of them.
They were also some of the highest paid.
Our replacements were all entry level, minimum wage employees.
In general, after working for 3 different owners in 3 years I found that there were maybe 1 in 20 employees that were happy.
My advice: Do not work for napa. They used to be better than their competitors, but are now quickly falling in line with their competitors.

Read other peoples reviews before you consider a career in aftermarket Auto Parts sales. And if you still want to work this type of job, find yourself a decent car dealership to work at. You will have a much happier life.

The above was my experience, and I have met hundreds of former employees that have similar stories. Do some research and save yourself a few wasted years of your life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transported parts ti customers.
Driver (Former Employee), Melbourne, FLJuly 22, 2014
I delivered auto parts all day every day. Great way to stay in shape and learned a lot about vehicles. Co workers were great and helpful. Loved the physical part of the job and kept me in shape. There were no bad parts of this job.

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Photos