Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 46 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people who worked there
Driver (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BCApril 17, 2014
For the most part people working there were affable and easy to get along with. I didn't spend much time there on a typical day, the route I drove would have me in the Richmond store only 4 times a day. The manager brought in in 2006 was brought in to help clear a substantial loss. His style was a little difficult to take sometimes. Ridicule and taking shots at people, always done in a "fun" atmosphere. The most difficult part of the job was trying to maintain a schedule that sometimes was at the mercy of traffic and road construction. At the end, I enjoyed the people I worked with.
Pros
good benefit package, discount on auto parts
Cons
hours could change on what seemed a whim
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced day with many responsibilites that were prioritized
Owner (Former Employee) –  Bolton, OntarioJune 5, 2013
The day would start off fast as many garages would be calling to place orders for automotive parts. This would require quick part look up in our system of the vehicle, billing of the merchandise, picking the parts and dispatching a driver to deliver. The day would continue with walk in customers as well. As certain times of the day would slow down, I would move on to the accounting side of the business. Managing acoounts receivable and payable, pst and gst remittances, source deductions, payroll, and bank deposits. I used Simply accounting to maintain the accounting records and invoices. I would also make regular sales visits to new and existing customers to form relationships and promote sales incentives. At the end of the day I would run the reports, close cash and debit machines and lock up. My day was always different and always interesting.
Pros
self owned and and a continuous busy day.
Cons
too much responsibilty for one person in such a large scale business.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Experiences
Customer Service Professional (Former Employee) –  London, ONSeptember 11, 2014
At NAPA I learned many things about customer service. This company was great for learning how to professionally and respectfully deal with customers, and distributors alike. There were many things learned that will apply throughout my entire career.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needed a Change
Parts Department Associate (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ONJuly 14, 2012
>Delivering Parts to Multiple Customers
>I learned how to time manage very well
>The management was very laid back
>Distant but Friendly
>The hardest part of the job was not having enough hours and pay
>The most enjoyable part about the job was that I was always done by 4pm and never had to work a weekend.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Inside Sales Person (Former Employee) –  London, ONJanuary 9, 2013
Over the counter sales, matching and mixing automotive paint for customers. Learned how to deal with unhappy customers. I had great management there even though it was constantly changing. Co-workers were great. Making customers happy was probably the hardest part of the job and the most enjoyable.
Pros
discounted auto parts
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NAPA review
delivery (Former Employee) –  Steinbach, MBNovember 27, 2012
I get to work at 8:30, and I put away parts. But at any time in the day that there is a delivery I must drop what I am doing and go there. There is a dispature who tells me were to go when there is a delivery. When there is nothing left to put away I make sure that there is parts in the front of the store. There is three delivery drivers including me. I would keep the delivering going till 5:30 which is when I get off work.
Pros
hour lunches, good peaple
Cons
don't usualy know what to do since i finish what i need to do (exept delivering).
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers, and a car nuts dream job.
Front Counter Parts Technician (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, ABOctober 18, 2012
Shift hours were standard, and the pay, average, but as far as a casual, fun loving work atmosphere goes, this was the place to have it.

Great customers, some pretty intricate problems, but satisfaction from a job well done came not from the pay, or pats on the back from the manager (of which there were few if any) but the looks on the customers faces, and their satisfaction with our work, and fair prices on parts.
Pros
hour lunch, fun atmosphere, good clients
Cons
manager
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace was easygoing and friendly
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Powell River, BCOctober 14, 2012
Each day I checked in freight and entered it in the stores system, and delivered goods to many shops in Powell River. I learned how to find my way around the store, and also how to treat customers. My coworkers were friendly and very much like a family. The hardest part of the job was getting to know how to use the computer programs. I found the most enjoyable part of the job was getting to go out and meet all the owners and employees at shops around Powell River.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fasted paced atmosphere
Warehouse Employee (Former Employee) –  Cambridge OntarioJune 3, 2014
Used scan gun to identify product with loading bin and sent down conveyor belt. Learned to pick orders in every picking zone. Loved the fast paced atmosphere in the warehouse. Hardest part of the job was getting used to the heat in the warehouse in the summer. Most enjoyable part was always being busy, getting the orders done and stocking shelves with new product.
Pros
overtime easily available
Cons
summertime warehouse heat
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales rep
Parts Clerk (Former Employee) –  Labrador City, NLFebruary 4, 2015
sales , warehouse, runner
took orders found parts ,handled cash.
put stock on shelves , did inventory checks
picked up goods and delivered them
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty easy going job with friendly people
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBMay 8, 2013
Shifts were always 8am to 5pm, Monday to Friday. Team of drivers were friendly and generally laid-back. Certain hours of the day could be stressful when a lot of orders are coming in but most of the time it was fine. Decently fun job, but the delivery car could get extremely hot since it had no AC which was the least enjoyable part of the job. The most enjoyable part was learning the city and driving can be very relaxing at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCOctober 1, 2014
good
rebuilding of customer base
good hours
good structure
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Napa Auto parts
Parts Technician (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, ABJanuary 5, 2015
I did inventory control. Stock orders. Parts deliveries. Dealt with customers who needed help with there vehicles. Didn't like the 7 day work week.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable job
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABOctober 30, 2014
A great place to learn and grow. Great people to work with. Customers challenge you to do the best job possible in locating and delivering the right part within an acceptable amount of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Shipper Receiver (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ONOctober 1, 2014
My job experience ar NAPA was a great one i learned many aspects of the auto industry.I was able to gain much experience in warehouse procedures.
Pros
great teamwork
Cons
not a high paying job
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Work Hors
Auto Part Sales (Former Employee) –  Montreal, QueApril 8, 2013
Yo Never Sleep With This Position... Always on call. Never paid commission on time...
Pros
discount auot parts
Cons
long hors
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful job for those content with driving.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  London, ONJuly 14, 2012
Frequent stops, need to be familiar with surrounding businesses. There was 4 different managers hired over the time i was there. your experience really depends on your co workers.
Pros
very cheap auto parts
Cons
lots of drama between workers, and between customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place for giving me the opportunity to gain experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Fairview, ABApril 4, 2014
Co-workers were great, was able to learn how to use the computer more with the parts program that no other student was able to do while attending the Transitional Vocational Program.
Pros
gaining experience
Cons
not getting paid
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Timed deliveries and busy
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABApril 6, 2014
My most enjoyable part of this job was communicating with the customers that ordered parts keeping them happy making sure I was on time. I liked being productive with my time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace, poor pay and difficult co-workers
Parts Person (Former Employee) –  Westlock, ABMay 14, 2014
The owner and manager was great at times, and made working fun. Some of the co-workers were difficult to work with. overall was a decent place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 763 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Reviews by Job Title