Gentek Building Products Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work for
Branch Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 July 2017
Very negative atmosphere. Poor and unprofessional management, awful salary, sexist comments and no room for growth.
I do not recommended working for this company to anyone.
Pros
M-F 8-5 work
Cons
Salary, culture, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 May 2017
Gentek was good as far as flexibility as well as the staff. It provides a real close family feel to it...However, trying to obtain the smallest raise is bare near impossible. Worked there for over three years and didn't even receive a cost of living raise..absolutely pathetic, if you're looking for a job where money isn't an issue. Then Gentek is that place for you...
DO NOT WORK HERE
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Can't get a raise to save your life
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A beautiful place
Millwright Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON24 May 2017
We love to work and we are enjoying life here. It's a job and I am employed. I get weekends off and I get to start work on start up 3 hours before anyone else on Mondays.In the winter months because of layoffs we get to work short weeks.
Pros
They pay us
Cons
The place is there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job and all the people I worked with were friendly to work with.
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Screen Department11 December 2016
Job was easy to catch onto. Co-workers were very helpful in training me easier ways to do the job. I was able to learn different jobs in the area I worked.
Pros
Short breaks
Cons
Able to drink at work station
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days never finished on time
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON30 August 2016
Picking and shipping orders
How to better read barcodes
Management was ok
Co workers are great
Lifting 100lbs
Joking with co workers

I would not work here again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful management, poor wages,
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON29 April 2016
Gentek's management is in need of some professional help. They are very unapreciative towards their employees as well as their customers. The general manager is very unprofessional and doesn't deserve to be in his situation. Wages are also very poor. No room for advancement either. ... Very poor company to work for. I'll save you the hassle .. Don't work for them. And don't buy off them.
Pros
Steady hours
Cons
Management's unprofessional, no room for advancement, wages are poor and be prepared to be treated unprofessionally
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good steady work, very busy in the summer season, but slower in the winter.
Senior Branch Administrator (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB18 September 2014
There is opportunity for advancement. The work is a little different everyday, which is a challenge.
Company has good benefits and offers a yearly bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced during busy seasons can be stressful. Organization & attention to detail req'd.
Branch Administrator (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON7 July 2014
Very busy mornings with phone calls and customer pick ups and orders.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
every day it is diferent experience
JR Process Engineer (Former Employee) –  London, ON10 March 2013
each day has its challenges and highs and lows
a place with a lot of potential , several areas to improve,

people on the line can be very agreeable .

a hard thing to do is to manage time around production
Pros
work environment.
Cons
long drive from housing areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced working enviroment
Accounts Payable/Administrative Clerk (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, Ontario16 January 2013
Typical day at Gentek was from 8am to 4pm that consisted of the following duties:
• Data entry of vendor invoices in a timely manner
• Regular maintenance of vendor accounts
• Managed various vendor inquires
• Responsible for distribution and mailing of vendor cheques
• Managed all incoming and outgoing mail and courier
• Other administrative duties as assigned

Management was approachable.
Co-workers were all very friendly and had a great team oriented attitude.
Pros
home product discounts
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awsome place to work
Order Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON22 November 2012
alway's happy to go to work,previous manager couldn't ask for better alway's happy and very helpful
Pros
free lunch once a month
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management was super good
Data Entry / Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON6 June 2012
i realy enjoyed this job ,my priority are my customers,they are the reason why we all have jobs.very important to enjoy working with the public.my manager was the best manager i ever had.
Pros
friendly atmosphere
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report

See more Gentek Building Products reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gentek Building Products. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
3.2
Culture
3.0

Gentek Building Products Reviews by Location