General Mills Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Retail Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 October 2015
Go to market strategy in light of CPG changes may be more difficult using a 3rd party.

Customer teams will be challenged for display execution excellence with 3rd party reps because retailers generally do not appreciate 3rd party providers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with alot of career opportunities
Bilingual CSO operations specialist (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON19 April 2015
Fun workplace, very people oriented. Even though you have a job title you will not be doing the same tasks everyday. Management is very friendly and always rewards their employees with bonuses, free lunches and summer schedules!

Great atmosphere, people make you fit in if your new. I was on a contract job there.
Pros
Summer schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but productive
Field Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON17 April 2015
Great work culture and management

Targets and goals realistic and achievable

Great products and innovation teams

Benefits are very good
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Mills is a great company to work. Their employees enjoy an atmosphere of family, commitment to being a participant of enriching the lives of
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, Ont15 April 2015
General Mills is a great company to work. Their employees enjoy an atmosphere of family, commitment to being a participant of enriching the lives of not only those that work for General Mills but also the consumers.
General Mills not only sponsors, but contributes to many educational, social, health and cultural programs, including Breakfast Club which I was privileged to be a part of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A progressive company which challenges you.
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ON13 April 2015
General Mills has all aspects of management structured to help develop you and provide challenges that will make you a more skilled individual. The way that they develop you enhances your self confidence and also causes you to feel positively about the company.
Pros
lots of support
Cons
horrible shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most mismanaged company
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Regina15 January 2015
From upper management to account team
No organization and aggressive managers. Completely dysfunctional with direction. No chance for advancement or growth. No monatary support for home office or cell phone for customers to reach you. Rescheduled holidays many times do to work demands. Unrealistic expectation with territory travel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passion working as a team to provide solutions and add values
QRO Director of International COE (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON19 October 2014
Love to work with team or work with external partners to provide technical or regulatory solutions to company challenges or problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing comany to work for.
Systems Training and Development Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, Ont8 September 2014
General Mills is a great company to for. The culture is one of the best. The people are warm and friendly, always willing to help and support when needed. Every aspect of my job was truly a pleasure.
Pros
Summer Hours
Cons
There are no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working with, no dull moments
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB21 July 2014
This employer is a productive and fun working with especially the employees and management
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of chances to try new food
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga15 July 2014
Co-workers are not bad

lots of chances to try new food

can have summer working time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautifull Culture
Global Business Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga25 June 2014
Empowering employees to do more
great management
Work life balance
Employees matter
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workpalce
Position: Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB24 June 2014
I liked my job and I was a great worker and now just wanted to change my job and my career
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great inviroment
Shift Analyst (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ON17 January 2014
chances for advancement, learning in the workplace, continue training, diverse culture
Pros
great workplace
Cons
US based moved division back to USA
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production line
Back up line operator/ labourer (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ON29 April 2013
Excellent supportive work environment. Excellent advancement opportunities, wages, clean working conditions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Account Manager, fast paced and innovative
Sales, Account Development Manager, Yoplait (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON18 February 2013
I work in the Sales Organization at General Mills Canada, I manage the Yoplait Brand at Sobeys Ontario. This entails the following:

- Merchandising Plan for all Yogurt Segments
- Analysis to understand optimal price points, durations of ads, timing of ads, customized promotions to drive sales growth
- Manage Relationship and Negotiate with buyer from Sobeys ON
- Analyze performance of activity and work closely with Demand and Supply Planning for inventory requirements and control
- Create tools, guiding principles and set weekly priorities for the 60 employee Yoplait Retail Team in Ontario

Lots of working with internal Marketing teams and communicating results of initiatives to Directors and Vice Presidents. My favorite part of my job is the people I work with and the relationships I have formed with them. My team acts like a family and I enjoy this culture.
Pros
tones of training and learning. a lot of focus on self development and growth
Cons
long hours, long commute to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding, long hours. Very difficult to advance within.
Financial Administrator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 January 2013
Very demanding, long hours. Very difficult to advance within. Worked a few stat holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the daily different tasks i had to encounter.
Multi-Pack Operator (Former Employee) –  Carson, CA8 January 2013
I enjoyed my job duties. I learned to be open to new ideas. Management always emphasized on safety. My co workers where very special. My job wasn't hard at all. I enjoyed producing a food for consumers and knowing at the end of the day it was enjoyable.
Pros
good pay and benefits.
Cons
to many days of work before a day off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid off frequently, management always talking about the place closing
Machine Operator/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON6 October 2012
I had a supervisor break a piece off one of my machines and then write me up and supend me for three days. When I made a harassment claim through the union the company agreed to pay me for the three days I was suspended... And take thR suspension off my record.
Pros
pay is good when you actually work
Cons
always laid off. expected to be waiting by the phone in case they call
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp agency, found different job
Sanitation worker (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ON2 October 2012
General Mills was a good company to work for and they offered competitive wages and benefits. I enjoyed the people I worked with, very relaxed environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Food Mixer (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON30 September 2012
A typical day at work would include alot of weighing and dumping.
I learned alot about food with allergens.
Mangement were part of our team to help produce great products.
Team work enviroment. Very helpful.
Hardest part of job was alot of heavy lifting.
Most enjoyable i'd say was punch out time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at General Mills. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,123 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7