General Mills Employee Reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no life or family
Maintenance /Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB17 October 2016
it was more like a soap opera always being pushed back of my goals and being stabbed in the back and every year to lose a friend
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Packaging Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Midland, ON20 April 2016
Fast paced work environment and very conscious about food quality and good manufacturing standards.
Great company to work for unfortunately U.S. based company and they are closing this plant in Midland.
Most of the employees are 20+ years
Pros
Steady work for 20+ years
Cons
Plant is closing
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellente compagnie, productive et plaisante à y travailler
Coordonnateur d'inventaire Liberté (Current Employee) –  Saint-hubert, QC3 December 2015
Les journées sont bien rempli et structuré, les patrons sont à l'écoute et toujours disponible pour du soutien. Les avantages sociaux et autres sont très bien.

Compagnie axé sur le développement des employés et les formations.
Pros
Ambiance, Formations, Avantages sociaux, Salaire
Cons
Contact outremer, Beaucoup de personne dans l'organigramme
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the daily different tasks i had to encounter.
Multi-Pack Operator (Former Employee) –  Carson, CA8 January 2013
I enjoyed my job duties. I learned to be open to new ideas. Management always emphasized on safety. My co workers where very special. My job wasn't hard at all. I enjoyed producing a food for consumers and knowing at the end of the day it was enjoyable.
Pros
good pay and benefits.
Cons
to many days of work before a day off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great inviroment
Shift Analyst (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ON17 January 2014
chances for advancement, learning in the workplace, continue training, diverse culture
Pros
great workplace
Cons
US based moved division back to USA
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautifull Culture
Global Business Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga25 June 2014
Empowering employees to do more
great management
Work life balance
Employees matter
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A progressive company which challenges you.
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ON13 April 2015
General Mills has all aspects of management structured to help develop you and provide challenges that will make you a more skilled individual. The way that they develop you enhances your self confidence and also causes you to feel positively about the company.
Pros
lots of support
Cons
horrible shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Mills is a great company to work. Their employees enjoy an atmosphere of family, commitment to being a participant of enriching the lives of
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, Ont15 April 2015
General Mills is a great company to work. Their employees enjoy an atmosphere of family, commitment to being a participant of enriching the lives of not only those that work for General Mills but also the consumers.
General Mills not only sponsors, but contributes to many educational, social, health and cultural programs, including Breakfast Club which I was privileged to be a part of.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workpalce
Position: Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB24 June 2014
I liked my job and I was a great worker and now just wanted to change my job and my career
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid off frequently, management always talking about the place closing
Machine Operator/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON6 October 2012
I had a supervisor break a piece off one of my machines and then write me up and supend me for three days. When I made a harassment claim through the union the company agreed to pay me for the three days I was suspended... And take thR suspension off my record.
Pros
pay is good when you actually work
Cons
always laid off. expected to be waiting by the phone in case they call
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Food Mixer (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON30 September 2012
A typical day at work would include alot of weighing and dumping.
I learned alot about food with allergens.
Mangement were part of our team to help produce great products.
Team work enviroment. Very helpful.
Hardest part of job was alot of heavy lifting.
Most enjoyable i'd say was punch out time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of chances to try new food
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga15 July 2014
Co-workers are not bad

lots of chances to try new food

can have summer working time
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Défi à profusion
Chef, approvisionnement et planification (Former Employee) –  St-Hubert, QC27 January 2016
Le monde du yogourt bouge très vite, j'ai appris à prendre de bonne décision rapidement dans un environnement changeant et avec des défis constants.

Ce fut mon premier contact dans le poste de manager, j'ai appris à gérer une équipe incluant les conflits pouvant avoir les gens de mon équipe.

L'aspect le plus difficile à été de laisser faire le travail par mon équipe. Puisque j'ai déjà occupé les postes de planificateurs, approvisionneurs, analystes... j'ai une tendance à vouloir faire le travail. J'ai appris à "coacher" au lieu de faire le travail à leur place.
Pros
Yogourt gratuit, vendredi pm de congé
Cons
Patrons loin de nous à Toronto; ne comprennent pas les enjeux local
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

See more General Mills reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 576 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7